Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles Reviews (73)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-03-06 2007 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you like to ride twisty back roads and do long stretches on the highway in comfort bikes, it's unbeatable. The triple cylinder engine is so smooth. It's perfect for those long sweeping turns and the suspension just soaks up the miles in comfort.
- david, rockyhill, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-23 2008 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Sprint is s superb bike in a class of it's own. I changed the seat, but otherwise left it stock. It handles two riders without sacrificing control with just minor preload adjustments. The chasis is very stable, acceleration more than adequate for demanding road duty, brakes are solid and strong, and it flys around a racetrack to most onlooker's amazement. It is the lightest, and I believe most fuel efficient of the sport touring class bikes. Quality of build is excellent. The only thing that could be improved is the range the low beams cover. They do not project out far enough. High beam is excellent. The Dunlop Roadsmart tire is a perfect match for this bike and far better than the Bridgestone 020. The Roadsmart handles better, wears evenly, wears long, holds on the race track, and is sure-footed in rain. The Sprint is a bike that doesn't just ride well and look good, it excels in every area critical to good motorcycling experience.
- J. Agliotta, Jonestown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-30 2008 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a beautiful 08 VERY RED Sprint ST in February 09. Eight weeks later, now that spring is here, have close to 1,000 miles. Bike cuts easily through switch-backs, slices through turnpike and interstate straight-aways, and draws crowds of young and old alike with its distinctive looks and styling. Converted to TOR exhaust at 500 mile service. Use Alaska sheepskin pad to decrease burn during long rides. Will probably also change or modify the windscreen, for more chest and shoulder protection at 70+ mph speeds, and the stock seat. Using a Chase Harper tail bag that sungs with bungies onto the side racks and will expand, when needed. Not using the hard bags since they decrease my ability to cut through congested car lanes. Wish there was a stock rear hugger so less crap on the shock and underside. VERY pleased with the smooth linear power, quick start ups in cold temps with the EFI, superior looks, and sport touring capabilty on this excellent machine. :)
- Jim Comey, Philly Area, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-23 2008 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great all around bike. It has great performance like a sportbike but has the comfort and storage of a touring bike. It feels at home either on the open road or in the twisties. It has great wind coverage and gets good miles between fill-ups.
- Scott Shively, Evansville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-20 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in '01 and have since put 57,000 miles on it. I've gone through 5 chains, lots of tires and a few sets of brake pads. The only problems I have had were all covered under warranty except the speedometer which stopped working after 2 1/2 years and 34,000 miles. The bike has always been reliable, fun to ride and a stronger performer. I would buy one again.
- ML, Walnut Creek, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-09 2004 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
120 horsepower and 456 lbs. of fury. In the real world you don't need more than 100 horsepower. More than that and it is pretty much a waste, but man is it fun to let all that power loose. Quite comfortable for both rider and pillion. What use is a bike if you can't ride it with out having to stop at a chiropractor every 100 miles? The exhaust note is to die for. If you have never heard a triple at full song then that is just sad. In all the Triumph is a do it all bike that can beat most anything on the road in fantastic comfort. BUY IT! You will not regret it at all.
- Triumph lover, Berne, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-28 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Sprint ST is a wonderful choice. I have a 2001 model and its handling and agility are impressive; second to none in my opinion. I have been riding for twenty years and this is my favorite bike so far. The Sprint ST is a great looking bike and it sports plenty of power and speed as well. It's a bit tall for someone of my stature (5'6") but this obstacle is easily overcome with a pair of riding boots which have a generous heel. I have been very pleased with this bike; it's great for commuting to the city and has been a very dependable bike. I would highly recommend it.
- Julie, Becker, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-20 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 28,000 miles on my 2001 Sprint, I moved to the '05. Good bike. Much more power than the old one. 3 things that need improvement: hard starts when cold; roasting in the summer (if you get stuck in traffic it's horrible factory luggage system not to good for a costly option. <br /> The best things are the: looks; headlights (best I've ever had on a motorcycle POWER (dyno'ed 111.4bhp at the wheels)
- Aaron, Washington , District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ST is really a delight to ride. It behaves especially well in town, where it is maneuverable and well-mannered. Its roll-on speed from 60 mph is OK, but I would like a few more horsies to play with. The torque from the engine is impressive, plenty of grunt from the 3-banger. I have several minor gripes:<br /> no place to lock a helmet<br /> takes about 10-15 cranks when cold to get started (the dealership says this will improve)<br /> notchy gear shift<br /> All in all, this is a wonderful all-purpose machine...
- william sell, petaluma, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Sprint St used (2nd owner) and have owned it for over a year now. The first owner got scared, after falling over with the bike at a light when a car honked and startled him and the bike fell over. He bent the front brake handle and scratched the right fairing. I got a great deal, only $3500.00. He just wanted to get rid of it. I was not in the market for a Triumph, I was looking for a Ducati Super Sport but, I ran across this guy and just could not pass it up. Now I realize it was only fate that brought us together. I am sold on Triumph. I mainly use the bike to commute to and from work, now I can't wait to go to work just for the hour ride I have. The only draw back is that my throttle hand goes numb after an hour of riding. Small price to pay in my book to keep the smile on my face!!!
- Cooper, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-18 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a great all around bike this is it. PROS: The power band is smooth all the way up from 3000 to redline. Great transmission, shifts are firm and deliberate. Brakes are par for the course. It is a heavier bike but quickly sheds the pounds when on the road or in the corners. It has an interesting exhaust note, with a gurgly/kind of running rich sound when coming off the gas. Extremely comfortable body positioning for rider and passenger(so my wife says).Deffinately will turn heads and provoke questions and compliments in the parking lots (The caspian blue color helps that). I have averaged 45 mpg so far. The trip computer is awesome especially when questioning how close you really are to empty. Cons: So far the only problem I've had is a weird low idle that has come and gone (asked my local triumph service center and they suggest it may be the throttle positioning sensor. Great all around bike.
- Luke Stewart, Palm Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-18 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for around town or for a 300 mile trip after 3 Hours of riding it starts to feel more like a sports bike and less like a tourer very good suspention absorbs rough roads and bumps well and with sense of control and security even with a passanger the only con. to the bike is excesive heat blowing on my legs and it could use more power for my liking.
- Derek Gieralt, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-12 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up the bike and left for a 1,200 mile ride. Great performance, good comfort, realy enjoyed the ride. Quality of the bags is below the past Triumph units, difficult to open/close and not easy to put a helmet in. Replaced the can with the optional unit from Triumph, helped in power and reduced the heat off the pipes. Still can feel heat at the boot level, but improved.
- Dann Nixon, Ada, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-01 2002 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a handsome bike, with good power and torque, and a comfortable riding position for my tall frame. The Japanese makers are the masters of performance/quality/value, and they deserve great credit. I bought the British Sprint for a little euro-pizzazz, to have something a little different, and to maintain circulation to my legs. It didn't hurt that the dealership let me test ride it before buying, and that they reduced the price to $9000 (well below MSRP). The centerstand and fuel gage are features that are not exciting, but that I find very practical. Reliability has been imperfect...on the one hand, it cranks and runs whenever I turn the key. On the other hand, it's had 2 recalls, required new sprockets and chain at 5000 miles, replacement of leaking fuel fitting, a new speedo sensor, new battery (normal), and now the front brakes are low-speed pulsing at 7000 miles. Not terrible, but not great either. Overall however, it's a great bike.
- James, Bedford, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-05 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really enjoy riding this bike. It handles great and there is enough power to keep you smiling. The one item I am not happy about is the excessive heat from the under-the-seat exhaust pipe. Triumph should come out with a better heat shield and make it available soon.
- D7426@optonline.net, Norwood, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-30 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: Power everywhere Awesome styling great mileage super cool gauge package Incredible color blue Cons: Seat is good but, I am in touch with Corbin.
- Pete, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-27 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine will capture you from the moment you twist the throttle. Ferocious acceleration is a phrase that comes to mind when reviewing this bike. Handling is incredible and the brakes will bring the ST to a halt with confidence. The instrumentation is very clear and easy to read and the LCD readout gives a wealth of useful information. The saddlebags are spacious and simple to get on and off. Rider position may come into play for those over six feet tall. There is a lot of hunching over and it can get a bit uncomfortable for a long distance ride. Mileage so far is around 50-52 mpg in mixed riding. Triumph has really hit a home run with the Sprint ST. If you are sport bike rider, this bike will not let you down.
- PatrickM, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-18 2004 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2002 ST for a little over two years now and plan on keeping it for a long time. The seat, as others have pointed out, does get a little uncomfortable after a while but nothing enough to get me off the bike. Absolutely no problems with the bike in any way. May one day look into a bike I can sit more upright, but for now, I wouldn't trade this off for anything.
- Brett, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2005 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my Sprint ST Today. Feels good, rides good, and looks good! Wow!!! I will check in from time to time and post updates. So far I'm in love and was deffinetly one of the best decisions I have ever made...
- John Petrick, Grand Forks, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-04 2000 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2K "Trumpet" last year, at an absolute steal with hard bags included! This is a bike that really can do it all. Once you toss a leg over, the bike fits great. Risers from the tree give the bars a nice height versus a hardcore SuperSport. The seat is pretty cushy, and the ergos are great for long distance runs; I had a few 300 mile days and with no problems at all. Turn the key, and a little whine from the fuel pump lets you know the fun is about to begin. The triple has a great note to it, unlike any twin or I-4 out there. You just have to hear it to appreciate it. The Sprint is responsive in any gear, even at highway speeds with plenty of torque on tap. Speaking of highways, on the autobahn this thing just flys. I found myself looking at 156 miles per hour in no time, and the Sprint was just as smooth as it was at 80mph. Not to mention there was still a little room left on the throttle! Fuel mileage in normal US speeds is around 45-50 to the gallon, which is superb for a liter bike. The brakes are the same high end models from the Daytona, with lots of feel and power. The clutch is a little stiff, as is the shifting, but missed shifts are an extreme rarity. The bike does take a bit of convincing in the twisties versus a Super Sport, but in capable hands they won't get away from you. Those low set pegs hit the pavement a little before you would think; I've got a scuff where the Sprint touched down ever so slightly while I was reaching out with my knee! Luckily the bike is very forgiving, and the quarter sized scuff on the belly pan was all the damage recieved. The Sprint is very nimble for a tourer, and after riding in the mountains of Europe, I've got a few track days planned for next season. I just can't say enough good things about the bike, and if you have any doubts, go test ride a 2004 before the new 2005 comes out.
- Rod Schulz, Heidelberg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-01 2004 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the perfect bike. I've had no problems. My wife and I have already put a couple thousand miles on the machine. For me it is the proper balance between performance and touring. The price was great too.
- sanford , dillon, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2000 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My ST is awesome! Other than being the biggest bike I have yet to own, it is the most fun! Love the power and how easy it is to ride. I have been to the North Georgia mountains and a trip to bike week in Daytona. Both times I went with a bunch of cruisers, man, they were filling up when I still had 3/4 tank left! I have the three bag set with some other accessories.
- Scott, Roswell, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2004 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my ST for 2 years now and clocked 12,000 miles so far and summer is coming. This machine is very predictable and powerful. You do get a little sore after a tankful of gas (I once did over 200 miles and the low fuel light didn't even come on yet). I have the gel seat, a definite improvement but you have to give it a chance to work in. Also I have the touring screen, and a factory carbon exhaust, that's a must. I've had my trumpet on the toll road in sixth gear full throttle at 150 mph for an extended period of time, this thing stuck like glue. The ST likes to be driven fast she loves the highway. If you want a commuter don't buy, if you want a very capable tourer, buy, you will be happy. The 2002 had 2 recalls, under warranty of course, 2 years unlimited miles. Other than recalls not one single problem with this machine. The only other beef I had was the shifter sometimes sticking between gears at high revs. I purchased an aftermarket shifter which basically simplifies the whole contraption that came stock, works much better, about 100 bucks and worth it. I have the blue one; it's really a nice blue. Hard bags are now standard, I have the soft ones, and I could not justify 1000 dollars for bags at that time. They work very well. I am always looking for something to replace my ST but have yet to find something better in the price range.
- Dan Grajczyk, Clarendon Hills, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-22 2002 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good looks, great handling, plenty of power and you can ride it for hours at a time. I took this bike on a 5000-mile ride to Idaho and back home to Michigan and it never skipped a beat the entire time. It handles the corners well enough to drag a knee and it keeps up on the straightaway as well. I have currently 11,000 trouble free miles under my belt and can't wait for spring.
- David Eller, Saline, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-23 2002 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great all around. Fast, looks good and comfortable. Maybe could use a more comfortable seat? However, the problem I am having is two fold. Firstly the front turn signal lights have a problem with the lens falling off. I will have to go back to the dealer for a second time. Triumph needs to fix this design problem. Secondly, the gas gauge will probably need to be replaced; it does not read all the time. Otherwise an excellent bike.
- Alzee, Mulica Hill, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: