Triumph TT600 Motorcycles Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph TT600 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph TT600 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-09-05 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike so I don't have much to base it on. I have ridden a CBRF4I, and from what I experience, this bike is very similar. It's comfortable, quick, and handles like a rollercoaster. I've yet to slip in the turns with my pilots and I've seemed to burn the rubber off them a little faster than intended. I'm selling the bike soon to get a new Daytona 600. I'm definitely sticking to Triumph, actually with the jap bikes. When it comes to looks and personality, these bikes come on top. Oh, did I mention the curves? Wow... I'm not one to do tricks on a motorcycle, but the first week I had the bike I accidently did a few. Wheelies seem to be a little too easy if you crack the throttle in 1st and 2nd. If you're looking for a stunt bike, fix your sprocket and this middleweight machine will more than suit your needs. Done typing, I'm going riding.
- G-Dub, The Burg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let's start with STYLING. Unlike the majority of the latest Japanese bikes, it does not look like a stealth fighter. However, form follows function, and neither the TT600 nor the "stylish" Jap bikes can fly, so who cares? The TT600 has only a few decals to begin with; I removed the large TTs on mine to give it an even cleaner look. Anyone who thinks the TT is "dated" should take a look at an original Ducati 916. Believe me, the 916 looks great and always will; the TT looks better. In fact, park a TT600 somewhere, particularly the yellow one, and you'll soon find a bird (British for girl) sitting on it. It's a chick magnet. Yes, the finish is too soft. My Honda magnetic tankbag actually leaves small fabric marks in the paint after a day of riding. They wax out, but it's annoying. Engine performance is marginal at first, but it improves with mileage. Also, the addition of a Remus oval titanium race can makes an obvious improvement; the Triumph race can is good, too, but it's heavier. The K&N filter helps a bit, too. After break-in service at 1015 miles, my TT600 gave 102 rear-wheel hp on a Dynajet. I have heard that a Power Commander will yield even more. Handling is superb. Fiddling with the stock preload settings was required because I weigh 220 pounds (but I'm cutting back on the beer). Another line or two of preload got me dragging a knee on the stock B010 Bridgestones. The TT600 will stick with an Aprilia Mille in any curve, and is able to pull a little distance on it in really tight curves: i.e., 1st or 2nd gear stuff. I was especially impressed by a these particular qualities. First, the TT does not mind changing lines in a curve. Second, trail braking is cool right down to about 40 degrees of lean angle. Third, you can brake in a turn without the bike standing up. Of course, you need a little more countersteer, but not a whole lot - it's almost mental. Easier, in fact, than the aforementioned Aprilia. Fourth, the bike is so responsive that you have to relearn turning if you're currently riding a liter-class bike or other heavier two-wheeler. I got off an Aprilia and onto the TT, and immediately started oversteering at the same speeds. Go figure that one. Recommendation: tape over the digital speedometer. Otherwise the speeds you can hold in the corners will scare the crap out of you! Reliability and maintainability - the bike is simple and easy to work on. The tech manual is great; buy (or steal) one. The lack of unnecessary body and trim panels contributes to easy access. I've got a 2000 F4, and the TT600 is way easier to work on. don't mention my BMW K1200RS. Examples - time to change the air filter: 10 minutes (includes one cup of coffee). Oil and filter change: 25 minutes. Install a fender eliminator: 2 hours (includes one coffee and two beers). Overall quality: except for the slightly soft finish, I found no flaws on the bike. Everything was done perfectly, the assembly was flawless, every piece fit exactly, and the little bike ran without problem from the first mile on the odometer. Price: Should be the same as or cheaper than the Big Four to give new owners an incentive. Triumph needs to contribute a little more to US political campaigns and get the duty reduced just like the Japs have done with theirs. Only downside: It's not Japanese, so the majority of the US motorcycle press automatically slights it just like they did with Ducati twenty years ago or Aprilia four years ago. End.
- Joe Heintz, Manchester, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-26 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE A BLACK/YELLOW 2000 MODEL. I BOUGHT IT WITH 2800 KILOMETRES ON THE CLOCK.I HAVE HAD NO TROUBLE WITH IT AT ALL EXCEPT FOR A FAULTY OIL PRESSURE LIGHT.AT 13000 K'S THE TAPPETS/VALVES NEED LOOKING AT. WITH 16 VALVES AND SHIMS ITS TOO ADVANCED FOR ME SO I WILL GE IT DONE. THE BRAKES SAVED US FROM COMING OFF AT 140KM/H WHEN A KANGAROO BOUNCED JUST AHEAD. I COULD FEEL ITS FUR. I FIND IT COMFORTABLE ON LONG TRIPS EXCEPT FOR THE PEAKY MOTOR AND GEARING.IT HAS POOR THROTTLE RESPONSE UNDER 3000 RPM AND IS ONLY REASONABLY POWERFUL UNDER 7000. HANDLING BRAKES AND FINISH ARE EXCELLENT. THE INJECTION SYSTEM AT SLOW CORNERS OR ROUNDABOUTS INHIBITS RESPONSE.IT WILL FLY THROUGH TRAFFIC. THE LIGHTS ARE PATHETIC AT NIGHT ABOVE 70KM/H.DANGEROUS.A SPOTLIGHT WOULD HELP. I CONSISTENTLY GET NEARLY 60 MPG OR 20 KILOMETRES PER LITRE AND RUN IT OMN HIGH OCTANE FUEL.WYNNS INJECTOR CLEANER NOW AND THEN HELPS SMOOTH OUT THE QUIRKY INJECTION SYSTEM I ENJOY KEEPING IT CLEAN AND I USE SILICON SPRAY FOR A SHOWROOM SHINE ON THE PLASTIC BITS AND THE FRAME.I RUN A PIRELLI TYRE ON THE BACK AND IS BETTER THAN A BRIDGESTONE ORIGINAL, GREATER STABILITY IF SLIGHTLY SLOWER DIRECTION CHANGES. I HAD NOT HAD A BIKE SINCE 1975 AND ENJOY THIS ONE. I INTEND KEEPING IT. I MAY GET A CRUISER OR BONNEVILLE TYPE AS WELL FOR LONG DISTANCE WORK AND MORE MANAGEABLE TWO UP RIDING. NOT AN ALL ROUNDER BIKE BUT NICE TO RIDE THE STREETS ON WITH THAT POWER RUMBLING BENEATH ME. EXCELLENT BIKE FULL OF TECHNOLOGY. FEELS BIT SMALL ON WHILE AT 180 TO 200 KM/H, LIKE A DART. GREAT ON ROUGH NARROW ROADS AT UP TO 140 + NEVER FEELS DANGEROUS OR PLAYS UP. THAT WILL DO SEE YOU ALL OUT THERE MAYBE.
- LARRY, PERTH, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-18 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for all who desire a sport bike.It handles like a champ and seems to have enough power to weight ratio to make any rider pleased.
- THE MAN, KNOXVILLE, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-04 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yeah, Yeah, Yeah. The engine runs hot, the fuel injection has problems, it doesn't start like it should. Guess what.. All of these problems have been fixed. At your local Triumph dealer you can get "Version 10" downloaded into your vehicle computer to fix all of your fuel injection nightmares. I just bought a 2001 TT600 with 2350 miles on it and I asked about all the up grades since production, and wouldn't ya know it, they downloaded the new software right then and there. I was amazed at the difference in software.... This little feature beats buying a high performance chip any day. I will admit the bike has a little torque problem in the early RPMs, but for the love, it red-lines at 14,000 people, USE ALL 14,000.. This stragedy will get ya to 85 in second gear. Just immagine what 6th gear brings.
- Jerod, Chanute, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-04 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2002 Triumph TT600 on July 3rd, 2002 and have sincerely loved every minute of ride time I've had so far. Since then, I've logged over 3,500 miles on the bike and have a few observations about its: character, build quality and styling, and performance. Its Character: As the title of my review suggests, the Triumph TT600 seems to have a bit of an identity crisis when compared to other bikes in its class (in fact, solidly placing the TT600 in any class is difficult). The TT600 is constantly put up against Honda's CBR600F4i, Kawasaki's Ninja ZX6-R, Yamaha's YZF R-6, and Suzuki's GSX-R600, but this in itself is troubling. The Triumph's riding position and seat configuration are more upright than ANY of those bikes, and will remind riders of Kawasaki's ZZR-600 rather than the sharper-edged ZX6-R. It's seat height is lower (by almost a full inch) than any of those bikes, and its clip-on positioning (forward crouching-factor if you will)is less dramatic. The bike is much less front-end biased, but that doesn't mean that the front tire isn't confidence-inspiring. A rider buddy of mine (who owns a Suzuki GSX-R1000)described it this way: "You can't help but sit on your butt on the Triumph, but the thing handles better than my bike. It is amazing how far you can lean the thing over and still have tons of grip." The stock suspension settings are less stiff than its competition, but a little fine tuning on my part remedied that. The brakes are SUPERB; I opine they're a bit better than any other 600 available in 2002. But even then, as a devoted owner, I feel the TT doesn't quite know what it's there for. It's not a super-sharp canyon-carver, but I seem to be able to ride it as quickly (or even quicker) than other 600s when the road gets curvy. It's not a squishy-soft sport-tourer, but it's comfortable enough for 350 mile days in the saddle. Its Build Quality and Styling: The TT600 is not an artistically beautiful motorcycle. Having said that, the longer I own it, the more its odd styling cues seem to soften my judgement. The bodywork is solid (read "friggin' heavy") and seems to be made well. My complaints are as follows: 1)The finish on the paint is too soft. Even with normal riding, I had small scuffs on the sides of my tank within about 1000 miles. Another "high scuff area" is found where the side panels meet at the bottom of the bike directly behind the front wheel. Serious scuffs appeared within 500 miles of riding. 2)The positing of the bodywork requires that you drill large holes (about 2 3/4 inches) in the side panels in order to install bodywork-saving framesliders. What's the point of drilling holes through the bodywork you're trying to protect? 3) Why does the bike NOT COME FITTED WITH A REAR WHEEL HUGGER? Because it lacks one, I get all sorts of road grime up into the underseat storage area. Several IMPORTANT items live there and can seriously be damaged by water, grit, mud, etc.: Owners Manual, Tool Kit, Battery, Computer female plug for tuning the EFI, and main circuits. Triumph basically forces owners to purchase rear wheel huggers in order to simply preserve those delicate items! (I guess I shouldn't complain too loudly: my friend's 2002 Ninja ZX-6R didn't come with one either). Its Performance: The longer I ride motorcycles, the more I'm convinced that less than 1% of regular street riders ever utilize ANY 600cc motorcycle to its full potential. Before you brashly dismiss this idea as the musings of a chicken, consider this: have you ever pushed your current bike to its performance threshold? Are you TRULY that skilled? If so, then you shouldn't buy the TT600. Having said that, overall the Triumph is a solid middle-of-the-road performer that can (with the right rider) keep pace with bikes much lighter & more powerful. Believe me, 95 BHP at the rear wheel is PLENTY! I bought the Triumph because I PREFER bikes that are a little different (I own a 1987 Yamaha TZR250 two-stroke street bike. There are only 3 in the USA.)and I wanted a bike with character. What the TT600 does, it does rather well. Hmmmm, this "superb all-around middleweight" thing might have some validity after all.
- Jonathan Welsh, Greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-15 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I THINK WITH A LITTLE MORE REFINEMENT THIS BIKE COULD BE TOPS I CONSIDER MY SELF TO BE A MIDDLE OF THE PACK RIDER JUST AFTER 3 WEEKS I SMOKED AN R6 AND A ZX6R GOING THROUGH SOME TIGHT TURNS JUST OUTSIDE EASTON PA A PLACE CALLED CEMETARY CURVE THIS BIKE IS SO CLOSE TO THE JAPS IT'S ALL UP TO THE RIDER
- RICHARD, BETHLEHEM, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-08 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If there's a better 600cc sportbike, I've yet to ride it. Handling is precise, engine is spot on and supremely powerful on the street. As far as looks go, this bike has CLASS, a characteristic of most all the new Triumphs. Absolutely love it!
- Harvey Mushman, Flemingsburg, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-11 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished the break in period on my 2002 TT and if the first 500 miles were any indicator of what the bike has to offer,I am a lucky man. Let me start off by saying that the rumors that there is "quirky" mid-range could not be more incorrect. The throttle has fantastic response all the way through the range. A slight drop at 6500, but it is ever so slight and does not last more than 1/2 a second. The handling should be text book for all 600 sport bikes and the braking is nothing short of perfect. In all, once you ride this bike, you WILL buy this bike.
- skip d, philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-03 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just had my 500 mile break-in service yesterday so understand this is still a very fresh bike. The bottom line, though, is that I like it a lot. My last bike was a 2002 ZX-6R. On the down side the TT seems little "buzzier",especially at 4500rpm. That is just a "sweet-spot" though, because it only occurs right there. The pegs feel a little higher on TT. The power band seems a little steeper. Upside: The TT seems a lighter bike. The seat is more roomy. I can actually use it all. On the 6R the slope slides you to the tank and it is hard to sit back on the seat. Not on the TT. This only taste, but it seems gorgeous to me. I don't care for the "busy" paint/decal schemes on the other 600's. This solid yellow TT suits me just fine. The shop I bought it from In Augusta is racing it and doing very well. I predict this bike is going to break out into the spotlight this year.
- Stuart C, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-27 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I told you I was going to get it. But not the one I originally saw as the dealer wouldn't talk a sensible deal, even though I had bought my Fazer from them and I lived 10 mins away. So I rode my Fazer with my partner in tow to On Yer Triumph 80 miles away. I had spoken to them earlier in the week and they had 2 in Racing Yellow to choose from. I did the deal in minutes and now I have my TT600. Love it. Thanks to you all for the positive comments that persuaded me to go for it.
- Rob Chisholm, Oakham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-24 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nothing better anyone who says the looks are bad and the build was wrong is an idiot. all i know is mine was the greatest bike ive ever owned. the person who said it had a bad build most have had a defective bike. and the corosion most have been a lie because i left mine outside in very salty air by the beach and never had any signs of corosion.
- Sea MAn, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-22 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everyone is right on in regards to the handling and comfort of this bike. Spent 7 hours on it one Saturday..no complaints . Unfortunately, my 2001 model has spent more time in the shop than on the road. Two major gas leaks, one oil leak, two faulty batteries, one rear swing arm, new cooling fan, multiple new fuel injection mappings....and it still doesn't like to start right up and yes, as everyone else noted...this bike runs really hot. Something to note...Triumph has covered all the repairs, but the people at Triumph North America don't seem to care about customer service. They hide behind the 2 year warranty. In all, fun bike when it will run though. Just be careful.
- Adam Boothby, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-19 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I write only from my experiences on a lengthy test ride on a 2002 model from earlier this year when considering a replacement for a YZF600R. This bike is let down by mainly two things, build quality and looks. The looks are dated. It looks like Triumph have copied a CBR600 from three years ago but lost the plot along the way. Build quality is also below par in my view. The cockpit is too sparse for my liking with the minimum of inner panels to hide the untidy wiring. The cockpit on the model that I rode, also seem to buzz at certain points in the rev range which was poor. The mirrors are too small and feel very plasticky and fragile. Also on the newly registered model that I tried some of the body panel fasteners had started to corrode which isn't impressive. I also thought the screen was too low and failed to protect my head from the blast. On a positive note I found the engine response instant without glitches and the gearbox sweet and the clutch light. The TT600 suspension is supple (for a sports bike,) but offers sublime handling. I found the bike acceptably comfortable (although I wouldn't tour on it) and whatever you think of the looks at least they are distinctive. I like the understated single colour schemes, especially the silver and black colours. The bike I test rode had a triumph race can fitted which makes the bike sound great. Highly recommended ! J Summing up the TT600 is a great handling bike with a great engine but let down by below par build quality, poor minor detailing, and dated looks. There is no way I would pay full price for one but at a discounted price (which they are sure to be when the new Daytona 600 is launched next year) and with attractive finance I would consider one.
- Dave, UK, Florida, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-11 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went to my local dealer in Bristol with a colleague to buy a pair of summer gloves (I was riding a GPZ500S at the time) - and as I browsed around the store, I saw it. Black and yellow, with a classically and quintessentially British feel to it - the TT600. I knew it was wrong, but with my colleague egging me on, I had to have it - brand new. It was the 2001 spec (and had been uprated by Triumph) - and it was an eye-opener. Smooth power delivery, sharp handling, com- fortable seating position and phenomenal brakes. My colleague who owns an YZF-R1 suggested we go out for a spin (once the bike was properly run in of course), and so we did. The road (known as the Fosseway, running from Bath to Warwick) is in some places twisty and in other places striaght and fast. I had been riding my TT600 for a month, and he his R1 for a year. What happened? In the twisty sections, I left him behind - a long way behind. I have read review upon review of people being scathing about the TT600, but I have to say that I am really impressed with what the Brits have produced - and since it's latest engine mapping (Jan 2002) it is even better in high gear at low revs. I can chuck this bike all over the place with complete confidence - and give the YZF-R6's, GSX-600's, and CBRs a good run for their money.......Next question, do I go for the new and eagerly anticipated TT600R later this year. ...?
- Jonathan Harwood, Bath, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-25 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 model . It is great! The engine is a diamond - 100mph (160kmhr) in third gear is no problem! The handling and braking is brilliant. Reliability and build quality seems excellent. Two gripes are the overheating - fan comes on quite quickly in town (but never on the open road), the lack of low down torque. These mean the TT is best suited to country roads rather than the city. Despite these gripes, I would recommend the 2001 TT600 to anyone.
- Guy Burdick, Exeter, Devon, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There I was at the cycle dealer looking at the Katana and the GSXR600. Then suddenly, I saw this different and unique bike that just forced me to go its way. I straddled the seat and realized I was on a bike that had a 100 year old history. WOW, this thing is different and cool. I loved its unique lines and tremendous style, but I was not happy with the options for color. Not to sound like a whining baby, but I was given a choise between blue and yellow. One would think that with a bike being so unique, that Triumph would want the rider to stand out even more by offering at least 2 other colors like maybe glacier white, or metallic deep forest green. This would be incredible, but the colors they offer are so bland and boring. I rode the bike and it handled really well, but I may opt to go for the GSXR because it is lighter and has more horse power and torque. Dont get me wrong, the bike is beautiful, but they need to lower the price by about 500 bucks and offer more options.
- Denise , Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-02 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding cruisers for a bit and tiring of their impracticality, performance shortcomings, and contrived "lifestyle" image, and finding the Japanese sportbikes a bit gaudy, I decided on the TT600. WOW. Super stiff chassis, awesome brakes, and smooth power delivery combine to make this the most fun bike I've ever ridden. The bike is compact but roomy enough for my six-three frame, and the suspension is spot on. Handling is nearly telepathic and the bike is comfy enough to ride all day. The single color paint is understated and classy, and really stands out among othe sportbikes. Speed, performance, and gentlemanly appearance make you feel like King Arthur on a crotch rocket! I absoloutely love this bike.
- Rob, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-01 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a 17 year old guy who was looking for a great bike to replace my old 1973 honda CB. Rather than getting a CBR or Ninja, I decided to stick with the family tradition and buy a Triumph. I have really liked the TT since it came out and heard all the magazines tear it up. I found one at my local dealer and had to go for it. I am so glad I did. It Handles better than anyother bike I have ridden and after you get the RPM's up it will really go too. One of the best things about this bike is that it isn't one everyone has. Typically a teenager doesn't have the income to pay for a bike of this caliper so I can really enjoy knowing I am the only one on one for quite a distance. As far as looks go, In the first two days of riding it girls that have never paid attention to me started to wave everytime they saw me. Go figure.
- Clint, Dublin, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-25 2002 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a fantastic machine! I had thought about buying a 2001 TT600 but decided to wait until the 2002 became available and I'm glad that I did. For the new model year, Triumph revised the engine mapping and also increased the number of low frictional parts in the engine. I told the service manager this and when he rode my bike for the first time, he came back and said "Wow, you're right, this is more fun." The fuel injection is phenomenally smooth and throttle response is great. A perfect 5!
- A Myrtakis, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-11 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a yellow/black 2001 TT600 and I must say it's the flirtiest and pretties bike on the streets. Triumph did not hold back on design and no one can deny that. The ride is extremely comfortable for a sports bike. I rode it from Florida to New Orleans and absolutely loved the ride. It handles great too. Even at 135 mph you will think you are cruzing at 65 mph :~). Overall, this bike is absolutely phenomenal for the buck. However, I do have a few complaints about it. Other riders will agree with me when I say that the heat from the engine is sometimes unbearable. The temperature gauge reads around 190-205 degrees unless you are riding above 60 mph most of the time. Another problem is starting this baby. I have to open the gas cap to start it most of the time. Quite frustrating at times! Something needs to be done about the fuel flow and air induction I guess. And finally, I am a little frustrated with its take off. This bike is only 300-something pounds and 600+ cc's should provide a much faster take off. It hesitates! This is not good if you are racing, trying to walk a wheelie, or trying to get away from the cops (just kidding about the cops). As you can see most of my frustration about this bike really has something to do with its fuel system. Fix It Triumph, Will You!?! Remove this minor problem from the equation and you have a phenomenal machine. An absolutely outstanding two wheel beast to say the least!
- Terry Parchman, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-11 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where do I start? This bike is fantastic. Yes it can get hot and the fan will run after the ignition is off. I highly recommend this bike beside this quirk. What do you expect the thing runs up too 14,000 rpm and that is before red line? I get comments on it all the time like -"so what kind of fighter jet is that?" or What planet did you buy that on?" all humor aside the bike gets a lot of response for it's design, sometimes people pull over too check out the bike. Besides it's looks the bike is really well balanced and can corner really well even though I haven't maxxed it's real potential. So far there has been no mechanical problems at about 3400 miles, overall the bike feels very stable and tight. Who wants a rice grinder when they have no soul? I am happy to have a bike that you don't see everywhere. Sure I could have had the CBR or the GSX what everRRRRRR, but I went for the style as well as the phenomenal performance, and that is what the TT is all about. Bravo Triumph, thumbs up on a great motorcycle!
- Michael Z. Huber, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-31 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, i have to say that this is by far the best looking bike out there. And to brag, I'm the only one with a 2000 yellow/black TT600 in Salt Lake City. I love the look and feel of the bike. It's extremely comfortable for longer rides and the braking is super. My gripe is that the bike is always running hot. So when the weather here hits 80 or better the fan is constantly running, making it uncomfortable. Second, I've been in the shop more often than Cher if you know what i mean. The front fork seal broke causing my tire to bubble. The company covered the repair but i had to front for the new tire ($150). It's also really embarrassing when you have to wait 10 minutes for it to warm up before you can take off because if you don't then it cuts out on you. Something with the fuel injection i think. It starts slow off the line as well. All in all it's fun as hell and gets lots of looks, but when i bought the TT600 in December i didnt' expect to be in the shop every other week for this or for that. If you don't mind blisters in between your legs from the hot engine and/or waiting 10 minutes to warm up, then go for it. Not everyone has one and they sure do look killa. Ride On Man.
- Andre Smit, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-30 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a TT600 for a 45-minute demo ride while attending the 2001 Honda Hoot in Knoxville, TN. The first thing I said as I dismounted the bike was, "What a blast! That was better than riding the coasters all day at 6 Flags!" My current bike is a Suzuki GS500. I was a bit worried about the seat height of 31.9", as I am only 5'3" tall, and I have had a couple of "incidents" when the bike's shiny side didn't stay pointed vertical. (If you know what I mean.) The seat height and weight of the TT didn't seem to be a factor. Out on the road, handling was a dream, and a rush. Luckily, the route had many twisties, unlike some of the other routes that the other manufacturers use for their demos. I was blasting through the curves faster and with more confidence than on my GS. I thought throttle response was good. I have not ridden many bikes, so I don't have a lot of experience to base this on, and I suppose the bike was a 2001 model with the F.I. fixed. Brakes seemed very good, too. Wind protection not bad, but if you want to tuck down behind the screen, you get personal real quick with the tank. Ergonomics not bad. Only minor negative issues I had with the bike was sometimes I did not get good feedback from the shift lever, which left me wondering at times if it did in fact change gears (up or down). Although I am not sure if there was an adjustment that could be done to the shift lever. And one time at a stop sign I put it into neutral, and it didn't want to shift into 1st, until I let out the clutch lever and engaged the lever and shifted down again. The other item that I did not get to ask the reps about was the high pitched buzzing sound I heard, I guess from the engine. I was usually riding between 4000-5500 rpms. Was that typical for this bike? Last thing I want to add is, I WANT ONE!
- Pam, Bethel, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-03 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for the money. It's a very easy bike to control and corner on and it's a blast at the same time. I agree that all of the things the magazines nit pik at are trivial whether it's this bike or even others. For instance how often do we all get to open our bike up to top speed on our local freeways while driving to work anyway? If you like the bike and can balance it well then go for it. You'll be pleasantly surprised with plenty of power and have a cool looking ride that seperates you from the squadron of Japanese bikes to boot.
- Daren, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: