Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-10-12 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, my first being a 1986 Honda VFR fixer upper. I researched for 2 years before I bought my 2005 Thruxton and I am not disappointed. I chose this bike over any other bike simply because it offered the very best combination of the features I wanted. Sure, there are faster, louder, meaner, more agile bikes out there, but most bikes that excel in one category fall way short in the others. The Thruxton actually manages to put it all together quite successfully. Want power? Plenty of acceleration here for me. Something that looks good? In my opinion, no bike looks sweeter than a classic (or classic-looking) Triumph (I'll admit the Ducatis are pretty sexy looking too). Want a mean sound? You've got a variety of non-EPA approved aftermarket pipes available. Got twisties? This bike is not bad at all. Reliability? So far, everything is rock solid (no leaks, no repairs, no problems of any kind). How about something intangible? Triumph is the oldest motorcycle marque still in production (yeah, even older than Harley) and what an illustrious history it has had over (most of) its 100+ years. Put it all together and the Thruxton is a bike you will enjoy riding, looking at, and talking about for a long, long time. The only shortfall I can come up with is maybe comfort. The sitting position is more aggressive than a cruiser's or even Triumph's own Bonneville, and your wrists can take a while to get used to it. Also, the gas tank is smallish (about 3 gallons), so this would not be my first choice for a touring bike (but people still use it for that). But bottom line, I could't be happier (Oh, mine is racing yellow with checkered stripes, gorgeous).
- Magnus, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-26 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a HD XL 1200R for 9,600 miles, I decided I wanted something more maneuverable. I test rode the 06 Thruxton for about an hour. I fell in love with it the first 15 minutes. It maneuvers excellently with great lean capacity. I've taken it to 90 miles per hour (don't do it-it's stupid to go so fast) and the stability is great. But I want to emphasize again that the maneuverability is wonderful in corners, weaving roads, or tight spots. It took me about 3 weeks to truly enjoy the riding position. My wrists, forearms, neck and shoulders were sore at first. But soon the discomfort disappeared. And although I have a very bad lower back, the lean position is great. The low-back pressure I experienced in an upright riding position is greatly minimized in a leaning position. I can ride for about 3 hours before needing a brief break.
- Alex, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2004 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 04 Thruxton as soon as it got to the dealer. I fell in love with the look and the retro style immediately. Comfort is the biggest problem with bike, riding it for more than an hour is a ball breaker and puts a heavy strain on the lower back. It developed an oil leak after the first year wich was fixed by the dealer. Having said that I get lots of positive comments from HD owners and you are the coolest thing on the road.
- Ken, Barrie, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike was a demo that only had 55 miles on it at the time, so I bought it. The bike bothers your wrist at fist but I put a lot of miles on since May of this year. The bike now has over 8600 miles, and I must say I have no wrist problems now. The position is very nice it helped in getting rid of the tendonidus in my shoulders. The bike just takes a little bit to get use to and I will tell you people love to look at it.
- Jeremy Kieler, Madison , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-04 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got one of these little doozies this year, I absolutely love it, the wrist factor isn't all that bad, takes getting used to, but I found that strecthing really good before any long ride helps a ton. It handles like a madman, very nice in corners, and the looks, well.....lets just say I get more looks on this bike than HD's I see out there.
- ed cendejas, seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-11 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike new in 04 and it was my first street bike, I have put over 10000 miles on it already and I am lovin it. The bike corners like my dads monster yet rides as comfortable as a sport touring. The seat is lower but ok for the taller fellas. Super comfy. CONS: not enough torque however for a first training bike, thats about it. I have since upgraded the intake, exhaust, carbs, mirrors and filters along with removing the emmisions kit and now I got a deap throaty sound with more torque and a topspeed of about 128mph. not bad. It jumps up there well fast enough but lacks the power to lift the heavy front end. I would trust this bike with my life.....
- Ian , Duvall, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike it is perfect for someone who wants to start out. I had a Suzuki sv650 but it always wanted to drive at around 80mph. The Thruxton however feels more comfortable at 65mph. It feels like a sport bike, looks like a cruiser and gets compliments from everyone. I am very happy with this bike. The only thing is that you should remove the air injection kit right away it makes the bike run hot. The headers were so hot they were red at night. I removed the air injection right after the maiden voyage even the dealer recommends it be removed.
- Ben Magee, Santa Rosa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-28 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike. It feels so great to ride around on. The riding position is excellent and once you get used to the pressure on the wrists, you won't have any complaints. I do wish it had just a little more power. I haven't added anything just yet, so I'm sure that will help. It is just a fun bike. Nothing beats pulling into a Harley dealership and having all the hog riders inside come out to look at your $8000 bike. Very satisfying.
- Ryan Woodall, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-23 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In my younger days I use to buy a new machine every couple years...even if I didn't need one! I had Laverdas, Bennelli, Ducatis, rice burners..Then I bought a Yamaha Seca 900 new in '84 and I kept it until spring of '05. I had no plans to make a change until I saw a new Thruxton at a dealer. One look and I was hooked and knew I had to have that motorcycle! It reminded me of my Laverda 750 SFII with it's single seat and rear cowl. I read everything I could get my hands on and made the plunge. I'm SO glad I did, it's been better than I imagined! I deffinately recommend this bike to all of you riders out there who are looking for a good bike to set your heart on.
- Bruce Marshall, Concord, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-20 2004 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Out of the box, the Thrux needs a little suspension work and a "real" exhaust sound. Other than that, it is just sweet. Handles so nimbly, with easy maneuvering around town and instant lay over for your corner carving. Power is perfect sans rush. I miss the rush sometimes but really it gives all you need for life under a ton; twist the throttle and it goes. Braking is adequate. don't know why I find it comfortable but there are aftermarket bars are available. Triumph built a minimalist cafe racer, so we will see if they put a little juice into it once Ducati starts rolling out their retro 1000cc with Ohlin cafe racers. For now, though, I am really happy with it. It's my first twin and I will never switch from that type of motor.
- dialysis, san francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-17 2004 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I still love this bike. I've made some changes that have enhanced the bike. Replaced the stock silencers with the Dunstall Style mufflers from JCWhitney. These are great because the baffles are removeable and therefore tuneable. Now this bike sounds as muscular as it looks. Second, I am using a UNI foam filter and the bike breathes a lot easier. The bars are a little low even for me and I'll probably replace those with a higher rise or angle in the near future. This is a very reliable, fun and predictable riding bike. What a great vibe, too.
- Peter Ouellette, Pittston, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-15 2004 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good overall bike but I'm getting killed by the low and forward clip-ons. My other bike is a CBR 600 F4 so I thought I could handle these. However, I get going a few miles and my hands get sore and my right forearm starts burning. The seat isn't so hot either. That said, I think that with some higher bars I'll like the bike a lot more. The twin is nice down low and the handling is consistently nice if you're smooth. The performance is what I wanted and expected, the build quality is good, and the appearance is even better in person than the pictures show.
- Gootch, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: