Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Triumph Thruxton reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gene Stewart

Central California

Reviewed on 2017-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2016 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After riding large motorcycles for the last 15 years, Gold Wings, Rune, H D Softail, I decided on a smaller bike since I live in the mountains of central California. I liked the looks of the Thruxton and bought a nice used one with 3000 miles on it. This bike is quick, light, and has a broad power band. It has a semi sport bike seating position and a rather firm seat. The gear box is smooth and easy to shift with an extremely light clutch. As a rider with 50 years of riding the back roads of California this bike took me back to my youth. If you are looking for a bike that looks different than the run of the mill crotch rocket, with great handling, and an engine that is not fussy about what gear your in, this could be the bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Fort Worth, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I somehow managed to score a 2010 Special Edition (white/red stripe) from a local dealer. So far the dealer experience has been good, the work is done fast and properly, with none of the phony sales I've dealt with at other dealers. Bike Pros: This bike is awesome. Man, its just cool, I mean "cool". I'm almost afraid to put miles on it. It looks good, rides good, and even has the 2011 digital gauge setup. However, I think only the SE has the digital gauges. It's a Hinkley Triumph, so reliability is second to none. You can put a 100k miles on these new Triumphs and they never leave you stranded. Both rideability and build quality are great. Bike Cons: Its got a bit of a weight problem (like most of the 'classic' style Trumpies) and while it looks racey, it can't hold a candle to the modern Japanese and Italian superbikes. However, I would hope that if you're in the market for more cc quantities, you'd be moving more towards the Triumph Daytona, or perhaps something along the lines of a Ducati. Of course, you can always get a rebore kit for the engine, if you're looking for the best of both worlds. I'm still pretty blown away by the attention this particular bike receives. It's one of the few modern motorcycles in which you can wear a pudding bowl helmet while riding and not look like a dork (or at least think you don't look like a dork).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Blaylock

Orrington, Maine

Reviewed on 2010-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed2010 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Back in the day, I grew up with Hondas and Yamahas. My first cafe style was the CB400F, played with it and "unofficailly" raced it against Triumphs. Over the years I grew up, switched to crusiers, then Harleys. When I saw this bike for the first time, I instantly went back to the old days and the sheer joy I got out of the cafe style. I sat on it, took a test ride, then it was on the truck headed home. What I like about this bike, besides its beautiful retro lines, is the simplicity, engineering, and sport-like ride. It handles very well, quick and nimble, along with a smooth engine and good performance - all being very manageable. What I didn't like, is the seat and I found that I needed to put on a larger toothed front sprocket. With the stock setup, at highway speeds, there was a buzzing of mirrors, handle bars, and pegs. The larger sprocket (19 tooth) dropped the rpm's by 500 and makes the 65 to 70 mph very comfortable. Years ago I would have kept stock or even a smaller sprocket but I am happy with this conservative modification. The price may be a $1000 or so high for similiarly built domestic or Japanese models, but Triumph is a great name with very good quality, so it is worth it. I have a Harley Ultra for weekend enjoyment and the Thruxy for weekday excitement.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ivan

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have really enjoyed my Thruxton. It is smooth on the power and ride. I get lots of compliments by regular folks, other riders and even cops. The accessories are great in transforming your ride to the way you want it. The only complaint, like the other reviewers, is I wish there was another ten to twenty horses but only occasionally do I need it. It's more for the sheer thrill of accelerating fast. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Reno, Nevada

Reviewed on 2010-04-06

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Thruxton rides as good as it looks. It has sufficient power to allow you to have fun with it. It could use a little more, but for the most part, I only notice the need for an increase in power when accelerating on the freeways. It handles pretty smoothly, not bumpy like sport-bikes, but it can keep up with them. Everyone that has ridden it marvels at how smooth the engine is and how it doesn't vibrate. The part with the Thrux- pull up next to a group of Harleys, and everyone will be looking at YOUR bike, not the silly Harleys...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

k lardi

coal city , Illinois

Reviewed on 2009-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Very pleased overall with the bike. I used to own a sprint st and was used to a more sporty handling and more horsepower, but now that I have driven a while I really enjoy the ride. I would like it if the bike had more power, so I am adding pipes and open air kit. I also learned a lot from british customs products about performance options on these bikes. The bike gets a lot of looks and I also think the bike is an instant classic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck

Santa Fe, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2009-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I always wanted a Bonneville since I was a kid, but went through a series of Jap bikes (plus a couple of Beemers) before I got the Thrux. This bike is fantastic. Airbox eliminator, K&Ns & re-jet gets me 70+ r/w hp. It handles great, has just the right amount of power, and as is mentioned in most reviews, the bike gets so much attention whenever I stop, no matter what bikes I'm riding with. Mostly I do day rides up through the mountains, but did a 1000 mi. three day trip last Fall OK. I am thinking about bar risers as my 64 y/o neck feels some strain after a few hours.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen Nyberg

Kansas City, Missouri

Reviewed on 2008-09-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love the bike! It stands out in a crowd and does not blend in with all of the other bikes or look-a-like cruisers or the everyday crotch rockets.' It is still sporty and you can also put the saddle time in (Iron Butt from Jacksonville, NC to KC, MO). I can't count the times I have come out to find people looking at the bike and the first thing they usually ask me is what year it is. It is so much fun and I have nothing bad to say about it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

g oma

baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2007-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the most fun you can have with your clothes on. Absolute blast for carving corners. Will probably upgrade to a corbin gunfighter, and change handlebars, as I also like to tour. Got the matching Triumph bags, but am disappointed with the tank bag...should be magnetic instead of straps...already melted straps trying to attach to tank. Great looker though and a real attention getter. Everyone wants to know how old it is...ha ha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew Dawson

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2006-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I drooled, stalked, dreamt and finally placed myself on the best motorcycle I haved owned to date. I have done standard (GS 500), sport (ZX7R, GSXR), naked (S4) and have now found most all of my favorite elements in one modern classic. Thus far I have enjoyed the diversity of feeling like I can ride 10 miles or 100 miles at either 10 or slightly less than 100 miles per hour. I feel confident and inspired in the corners, and smart and sophisticated on the streets. I meet and befriend both riders of modern & vintage makes as well as throwing my young sporty peers an occasional surprise while also one-upping them on style points.(And I'm just getting started...) The thruxton is a unique breed of motorcycle with exceptional character, highly reccomended.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: