Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles Reviews (48)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-08-20 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a good, with a comfortable ride. Its suspension is a bit soft, but it only makes a difference with big bumps, or riding 2 up. It could also use a gas gauge and a clock.
- Johnobody, Central Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-16 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is an example of good "engineering". It's 10 years old, and she is still "Going Strong"!! Thank You Thunderbird For the "Craftmanship"!!!
- Thommy, Landskrona, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-12 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been very happy with my 2010 Thunderbird. My mate in England provided be with just enough Union Jacks to set it apart from others. The handling is superior to any other bike like this. Mine has the Triumph shorty pipes, which sound good, but I will upgrade when the warranty is out. It has great power and outhandles any other bike in its class. As with other reviews, the touring seat is a must - mine came with the promo pack last year. I come from a sport bike background, and this is the perfect cruiser for someone who still cares about how his bike handles.
- Don Tomas, Seminole, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-16 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really was ready to get a Harley this time just to tick that box. Over the last years I have had five Kawasaki Vulcans, a Yamaha 1900 Roadliner, a Honda VTX 1300, a Royal Enfield, an ERN 6 and a Triumph America. All were great rides but nothing prepared me for the absolute perfection of the Thunderbird. The Harleys just didn't get me but I loved the whole heritage thing. With the Triumph you get the street cred and the heritage but more importantly a better overall bike for similar or less money. It is completely faultless in my opinion with awesome finish, great ergonomics, great handling and terrfic comfort with their gel seats. I have changed the pipes and love the sound which sounds to me like a V8 at idle all the way to that brilliant over run crackle when you back off. The wife just loves it also and we get out every week because where we live in Perth there is no real winter!
- Iain Tait, Perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-28 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Thunderbird brand new last year. I had the shop add some accessories including the 104 cubic inch big bore kit. This is a fast bike with great acceleration. I get a lot of comments from Harley riders on the power of the Thunderbird. I'll never sell it. I would love to see Triumph bring out a cruiser with a 250mm OR 300mm rear end along the lines of the Harley Rocket Custom. I'd snap one up straight away.
- dean amalfitano, perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-18 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Triumph Thunderbird for almost one year now. I was 55 years of age when my Thunderbird was first purchased. I looked at Harley-Davidson and Victory and rode many of their stated upmarket models first. I went to the Triumph dealer here in Brisbane Queensland, the largest motorcycle network on the eastern seaboard of Australia, and I was sold on Thunderbird. The bike is a work of art with real quality finish. They were certainly thinking of me when they designed it. That motor is spectacular with the 270 degree split crank and chrome everywhere. We oldies just love getting out the Goddards Glow and polish rages just to run our fingers over our new toys. She sounds like a muted pussy cat with the original exhaust pipes. The short and open Triumph accessory pipes turn her into a beast. It sounds wonderful on acceleration, and sounds just as good on deceleration with those explosions in the cat collector box catalytic converter. With the open pipes the dealer fitted the chip and the air cleaner conversion. This option package is the best value for money. Initially, the front brakes were rather wooden but as they bedded in, bite and feel arrived, and now the brakes are another outstanding item on the Thunderbird. This bike accelerates well and brakes well, and the handling is very precise because the geometry is just right. Remember these Triumph people have sorted this package out over many long years in its little brothers Speedmaster and America. So if you have a Speedmaster or an America, you are just now ready to upgrade to Big is Better. And how much better can it get. Actually, the center of gravity feels even lower in the Thunderbird. How predictable and manuverable can a bike be? It belies its true weight because that center of gravity is just right. Add the Touring gel seat for the rider and the same for the pillion and you have a comfort package to go. But because of the sheer torque of this baby, you will need the detachable sissy bar option when going two up, because your lady will complain that she feels the torque on hard acceleration forcing her off the pillion seat. And she was right. Torque is something this bike has in spades full. There is no doubt that the person who designed this bike knew where to place the pencil lines. The fuel tank has beautiful large broad shoulders which lead back to the seat. But it is the sweeping line of the underside of the fuel tank that lets you know that someone knew how to add sex appeal to the package. My Thunderbird is the silver with liquorice black stripe on the front guard, tank and back guard. And as usual Brian, who only has one task on the Triumph production line, a British artisan with his Fitch has carefully and perfectly painted the pinstripes that break between the silver and the liquorice. I saw that master stroke on my Speedmaster and now I see it on my Thunderbird. And only the British do it by hand like when God was designing the human race. We call it handmade. If you want a bike that makes a statement about you and all you ever wanted to be, then you should go out and purchase a Thunderbird. When the missus saw me first riding my Thunderbird, she said that bike suits you perfectly. I think she might have been referring to the Big Man on the Big Bike, or was that the Broad Big Man on the Broad Big Bike. This bike is perfect. Perfection means that you have to look long and hard to find something to complain about and I did and I can. All it needs is rear shocks with adjustable rebound. In Australia, the roads are made out of old corrugated iron and those roads will find any imperfection in suspension if it exists. I fixed it on the Speedmaster with the adjustable Ikons shocks, and it is fixed on the Thunderbird the very same way. So, now at a very reasonable price Thunderbird is the pick of the bunch. Is there any other thing that I need to mention about my new Thunderbird? Yes, the summer screen allows you to cover large distances protected from the wind. I recommend that you purchase that one, too, and then you have one of the best cruiser bikes on the market. Might I say many thousands of dollars less than the opposition and from where I stand, sit, ride, much better finished and better value for money. Go and buy one now. Kind regards from Australia.
- Peter Hanlon, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-12 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in the spring of 2011 and now have over 2,800 miles on it. This is a great handling motorcycle with excellent performance. My girlfriend can certainly agree with other reviews that the stock pillion seat is terrible (narrow and hard), any ride over an hour was uncomfortable - even painful so installing the long haul tour seat is a huge improvement. Aside from a loose coolant hose at the radiator and two recalls to replace some bolts that did not have a thread locker installed at the factory, this bike has required no exceptional maintanence. We just returned from a three-day ride around Glacier National Park (over 700 miles total). She was very comfortable with the new seat and was happy with the handling/performance. This bike is awesome and like everyone else, I am very satified with my decision to purchase this bike over 'just another' Harley, the Victory or the Kawasaki I was considering. I especially enjoy out performing my friends' modified Harley's with my mostly stock (added BC Hogslayer pipes) 1600 Thunderbird w/ABS. Not only does this bike have excellent riding perfomance but it gets attention everywhere...you've been warned!
- J2, Coeur D Alene, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-06 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently have two rides - a 2006 VFR800 and a 2010 T-Bird that I just picked up a week ago. I've already put 500 km. on it and plan to do many more. The power and handling are awesome, especially for a cruiser. You can put it into curves with confidence and can actually spin the rear tire while in second by grabbing a hand full of throttle. The surge of power is incredible. I test rode several Harley's (Fat Bob, Fat Boy Low and Super Glide) - then I test rode the T-Bird. It's by far the more superior ride. So much so that I bought it on the spot. As for appearance, it looks bad ass - pictures don't do it justice. The tank is huge, the back tire is huge, the pipes are huge and the sound is deep and throaty out of the box. It has just enough bark but not too much to draw unwanted attention from the law. The one gripe I have is the stock seat. It's not bad on short rides (1 hour or less) but on a 300 KM ride, both my wife and I were very sore. That said, I have the Trimph longhaul touring seat on the way (as a part of an accessory package promotion) hopefully it will provide some relief. If you are considering a Harley, or any other cruiser for that matter I would suggest taking a T-Bird for a ride before you buy.
- Moe, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-29 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came off a 2007 GSXR 600 and fell in love with the T-Bird. It all started when I was looking to get off the GSXR. The Rocket3 Roadster grabbed my attention quick, I went to the dealer to check it out in person and the second I saw the T-Bird, I knew it was the bike for me. I went to one of Triumph's Demo Days here in New Jersey a few weeks later to test ride a Bird. I ended up leaving with one. Two months later you still can't get me off it. It's a comfortable, powerful and most importantly great handling bike. The bike has gobs of power and amazing brakes, just as good as the sport bike. It's extremely stable turning (scraping pegs at 50 mph stable). It's biggest downfalls are a lack of aftermarket support and the passenger seat.
- chris, union, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-16 2010 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2005 Triumph Rocket III. A friend I ride with purchased a 2010 T-Bird, giving his Harley Sportster to his daughter (she is new to riding) since he doesn't ride it anymore. After it was broke in for a while, we swapped rides. The T-Bird rides like silk. It's so smooth on the road. The ABS stopping & braking is super good! This bike flicks and handles like it not there. It really took me by surprise. The balance is more on the lines of a sports bike, light and nimble. The Rocket III is no slouch in the curves, even though it is a big bike and a bit harder to flick! The power surprised me. I was up to speed hitting red line in 1st, 2nd, 3rd. This bike moves, don't be fooled. Some of the owner's comments after riding the T-Bird for a week: I didn't know motorcycle riding technology advanced this much! Test ride one, see how technology rides instead of having a wannabe ride! Cons: The Clutch pull was adjusted right. The lever clutch release at the end takes a bit to get use to (10 minutes). It could snap your neck back unexpectedly.
- Wayne, Brandon, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-19 2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike! Mine is colored precisely like the picture: Sunset Red/Opal White. I use the stock seat for looks and for the ability to hang off on the fast curves, but any long trip would require a decent seat. I'm 48 years old, and yet I have passed young punks on sport bikes on curvy roads. So happy was I with this Triumph, that I became the first RAT Pack leader of the local dealership.
- Bryan Lovejoy, Katy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new. I traded a Sprint ST for it. My wife wanted a more comfortable riding position. It was a big step down in power, but much to my surprise I found I was taking turns faster. My first long ride was from LA to Tucson. When I arrived I was disappointed that the ride was over. I had done the same ride on the Sprint and didn't feel that way. I have taken the wife as far as Utah on one trip and Colorado on another. The Thunderbird is a very comfortable and capable bike. Four weeks ago I made a solo trip to Colorado. On day two of the ride back I crossed 8 passes, two of which were dirt roads and one a jeep trail. The following day I put in 920 miles. The more I ride this bike the more I love it. The only problem the bike has had was a broken speedo cable about 3 years ago. The Thunderbird is very capable in all riding conditions from Interstate to forest service roads, canyon carving or riding two up. Perhaps it is my size but I find this the most comfortable and rider friendly bike I have ever had. It is my 5th bike and probably will be my last, but that was what I thought of my BMW before it blew a tranny in Tucson, a drive shaft on I-15, and the alternator in San Diego. Last but not least it is a real show stopper. I have had more praise about the bikes looks than all the other bikes combined.
- Gary Lyons, La Quinta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-19 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2000 Thunderbird for a year and a half and ridden in all kinds of conditions and many types of roads (all flat land). I can testify to this - This is the perfect bike for my size and riding style. Except for a new battery, I have not touched it other than standard maintenance. I ride with a verity of other makes and am able to out run almost all of them. The brakes are very good but I would rather have had dual front disc. It handles corners as if they were straight. By far the best all around I have ever ridden. The ergonomics are correct for me as they come from the factory but the seat can become uncomfortable on long runs. The fit and finish are almost 100% and the "look" is enviable. A friend parked his brand new 100th anniversary $27,000 HD next to my Thunderbird recently and everyone that passed by was looking at the Thunderbird. He was not happy. I waited quite awhile to share this review so that I truly had an overall perspective on the bike. In my opinion, this is the greatest value in motorcycles today, especially if you like the classic style. Too bad Triumph has decided to cease production of the Thunderbird.
- Joe M. Carriere, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of three bikes I own. It's what I call my serious, city, highway do anything bike. If I want to go on a long trip, this is the one. If I'm going downtown L.A. and need to white line, this is the one. If I'm running errands around town, nope, I'll use the Ural sidecar rig. I sold a Harley Low Rider Sport to buy this and have never regretted it. Everyone's got a Harley, but you don't see a whole lot of T-birds. On bike night there's more people looking at my $8,000 Triumph than at the dime-a-dozen $30,000 H-D's. It's got excellent speed and power, handles superbly, super reliability, great comfort (I've got the King/Queen seat), and looks darn good, too. Mine's four years old, and I plan on keeping it forever. This is the first bike I've had that I didn't get tired of.
- sjm, pasadena, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-25 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put a few thousand miles on a used T-Bird. Previously owned a Honda Shadow. The paint and chrome are excellent and I always get compliments when out and about. The aftermarket seat , winshield and bags have been added. Forward pegs from Great Bay and Kurakyn grips have completed the package. Pickup, lack of vibration and smoothness are positive features. The bike handles well with two up with little loss of pickup. A great choice.
- Chuck Hoesel, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-24 2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 30+ years of riding and eight motorcycles this one ranks at the top. It currently hast 32K miles on the clock and the engine feels stronger now than it did when I bought it. Smooth operation and plenty of torque. This bike doubles as a cruiser and a tourer. I've been on several 3+ day rides and the T-Bird always functioned flawlessly. Stock seat was way too hard. Triumph King/Queen seat fixed that problem so staying on the bike all day now is no problem. Only down side is I haven't figured out how to adjust the chain without removing the mufflers.
- Richard Gatlin, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-27 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 1st one in 2002 and liked it so much that I convinced my son to get one. He is not into cruising and wants a sport bike. Now I have 2, one is set up with bags and fairing the other stock with a little extra chrome. I love them both and can't bring myself to sell either of them. Thunderbirds are great touring bikes for twisty Mt. roads. Harleys are a dime a dozen, but if you stop with one of these t-birds everybody wants a good long look.
- Maynard Sweigard, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-23 2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rode a Yamaha 1100 for 20 years - Now that I have the Trumpy, I dont know how I survived!! Great Handling, nice finish. Minus side - no self cancelling indicators, low fuel light, helmet lock & centre stand. King/queen seat is essential for long trips. Will add "competition" silencers for the Triumph sound - and to get rid of the high pitched whistle it does when backing off under compression. Im very happy! Lots of admiration from older generation ex-Triumph owners.
- Steve Olah, Eumundi, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-25 1995 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first real bike and I must say I have enjoyed every mile. Handles exceptionally, great looking and also very comfortable riding position (I am 6') I also find that the bike could use another gear at highway speeds but it does very well. Great buys on these bikes too. Safe riding.
- David Herzing, DuBois, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-06 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After twenty years on middle weight japanese machinery this is a definite step up. I'm not a cruiser or crotch rocket rider. This is a serious motorcycle. The triple is a terrific powerplant. Very smooth, excellent quality. Suits my style of riding. Handling is fine for the real world. Although I would like the dbl disc upfront like on the Sport. I just took delivery so i will update later. You won't see yourself coming & going either. Draws lots of attention even though the Tbird has been around awhile.
- Roy Denny, Rhinebeck, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-18 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2001 Triumph Thunderbird. Wish the foot pegs were lower and the handlebars higher. Does any one know where I can buy a big windshied and faring for it?
- Walter Vanderpool, Avon Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-19 2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best dam bike I ever owned.. at 10k miles it just keeps getting better. Build quality is superb, engine is incredibly smooth , economical and very torquey, and it looks so cool. Oh yeah, and it handles too..and being a low power version the engine has loads of potential for tweaking. Downside ? It's not a shaftie- if it was it would be perfect.
- Tom, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-21 2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great alternative to a Harley or similar. I've put after market pipes on mine so it now sounds as good as it looks. Triumph paniers and a summer screen finish it off nicely. Loads of torque, goes arond corners nicely. Best of all that Triumph badge on the tank. On the minus side? Pegs a little too high, seat a litle hard and difficult to take on and off. However the pluses easily outweigh the minuses. Can't think of anything I'd chop it in for!!
- Robin Wilcox, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-15 2002 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't owned a bike in 30 years, but after riding a friends I was hooked. This is the kind of bike I wanted in my teens but could not afford. The Thunderbird is beautiful and other than a seat that hurts after 1 hour I love the bike. Will order a seat this winter and probably get a fairing too.
- Steve McPeake, Richfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-13 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a young bloke I used to ride a Lambretta scooter and quite a few of my mates would ride Triumph's, ufortunately they would spend most of their weekends trying to get them to run. But I always loved Triumph's(being English) and wanted to get one, instead I got married and the bike was put on the backburner. Then of course children came on the scene and there was definitly no funds available for a motorcycle. One day I said to my wife, "I'm going to have a Triumph by the time I'm 40". Then I said, "I'm going to have a Triumph by the time I'm 50". I am now 48 years of age and the proud owner of a 99 Thunderbird, which in my opinion is the best looking bike on the road (lots of beautiful chrome to polish). The only downside to the bike is the removal of the seat and the seat being a bit uncomfortable on longer trips. But I can put up with that.
- Robert Ibbeson, Bunbury, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: