Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Triumph Thunderbird Sport reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim

Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2006-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought mine new in 1998 after test riding a standard Thunderbird then the Sport. I liked the bike for what it does. It cranks, runs good, handles ok and is a Triumph. I have owned older Triumphs with Big Bore kits that are faster than this bike but they were not as reliable. The biggest problem is the air box is not user friendly.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

grinningbear

Greensboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2006-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my bike used in '05 from a Honda dealer out of state. '99 model with only 2200 miles on it. This is my second bike; I held out for a long time until I could afford a Triumph, and I am glad I did. The bike handles well, very agile, quick off the line and fairly comfortable on long rides. Maintenance has been minimal with oil change, coolant change, and a set of new tires in '06, and keeping the chain oiled and adjusted. Whoever owned the bike before me removed the factory air box and put on UNI Filters, also put on a set of Supertrapp Exhaust pipes, which makes the in-line 3 sound great and gets the attention of everyone around, and it seems lower than stock. I love this bike and plan to keep it forever. If anyone is looking for quality and fun in a used bike, you can't go wrong with the T'bird Sport.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Harry Culbreath

Simpsonville , South Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-12-31

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I really like this bike. I saw it first at a Cycle World show last year, and it was love at first sight. I am an older guy (58)and had several Ducatis lately, but spent years on Britbikes (Nortons, Triumphs, BSA) and this one captures the look of that era better than even the new Bonneville series. It handles like a sportbike should, and the brakes are up to the task. I would recommend this to anyone, it is a shame that they are out of production now. The stock seat is pretty bad, but the solo is very comfortable, and the off-road pipes are a must. K&N filters and rejetting the carbs transformed the engine, and I still get 40MPG.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

odoggs

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2004-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a '98, actually, but they're the same bike. I've had this bike for 3 months. I love the bike because it takes a certain involvement to ride it. It always starts, but it doesn't always sound like it will. It's not the fastest bike, but it's fast enough. It's not the quickest through the twisties, but it's quick enough for me. Not many folks own these and I like that, too. My CB1000 Honda vibrates worse. Overall, I like the T-Bird a lot.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith Phillips

Wanganui, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2004-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having written a review some time ago, titled the retro ride of your life. Now I have done 9000ks on the T-bird sports. I can confirm this bike is a keeper. It handles like a dream now that I have the bikes handling tuned up by a road racer pal. Always the head turner and draws a crowd when parked up. Much to the disgust of my mate who has the latest Harley Sporster!! This bike is a winner all round. And well worth the dollars. Also the Triumph holds their value!! Unlike the rice burners. Do yourself a favor and test ride the Thunderbird Sports before buying another bike!! You like myself will be surprised at the performance and handling of it. Only a couple or three improvements Triumph should consider in my personal view. The petrol tank should hold at least 20 liters (15 at present) Fuel gauge or low fuel warning light required. (Neither at present) Side stand is to upright. Right angle Valves to pump up the tires. Impossible the way they are. But having said a few thoughtful upgrades are required you can betcha Triumph Hinckley will be reading this review and will!! Take what I have said aboard. The Thunderbird Sports is a truly great performer!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

alan podsadowski

coquitlam, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2004-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I owned a 1995 T-Bird for 8 yrs. and put on 50,000 trouble-free miles. Only had to replace the tachometer on warranty. Just got the '04 Sport and it does everything better! Brakes, handling, and performance are MUCH improved. Looks just as gorgeous and draws heads everywhere, even non-bikers. This is the bike that us middle-aged codgers wish we had in the 70's. It actually looks like a bike, and not something out of a sci-fi flick, but handles and performs like a modern motorcycle. And that legendary snarl from the "off-road" pipes is magnificent! While it may not keep up with the top sport bikes, it is plenty capable. I had to put on the standard T-Bird handlebars, to improve the ergonomics, and have made minor adjustments to the stock seat. You'll have to play with the ergonomics to make it really fit you. This bike does everything very well, and looks great doing it! Triumph was really only out of production for 5 yrs. out of the last 102 yrs., yet so many folks are still surprised when they see one. They are very reliable, have a great shop network, and are different enough to make you feel special riding one. It's a hard combo to beat. Be prepared that if you test drive one, if you can find one, be ready to buy it. ENJOY!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank rice

Bristol, Indiana

Reviewed on 2003-11-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought new in April '03. Too bad it's the last year for this machine. Fun to ride, fast and smooth. Lotsa compliments on the sound and the looks. Definitely a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bart Meulema

Renswoude, Netherlands

Reviewed on 2003-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a thunderbird sport 1998 on. A reliable bike it is, and never the slightest trouble. The only thing I don't like is the exhaust system. Two cylinders on one pipe, and one cylinder on one pipe makes a brutal sound. It likes if the engine is running well on all cylinders. The one on one pipe sounds louder. I'm working on an extra balance pipe, maybe that will improve the sound. Further NO COMPLAINTS!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Guy Nichols

Queens, New York

Reviewed on 2003-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well it was bought new in fall y2k- I had the summer screen and off road pipes and Chase-Harper saddlebags. breaking in was quick as i ride around 4 of the buroughs of NYC and parkway runs in L.I. the first complaint is the seat SUX BIG TIME, as it slides me foward into tank causing temporary scrotal scrunch that I remedied at a local auto reupholsterer. the second problem was the fuel petcock had leakage replaxed by dealer as ut was new. I had the dealer add the 1 tooth larger sprocket for improved hiway running and had the handel bars replced with the S3 bars due to a minor back problem I have for improved comfort and even improved cruising the streets and malls. At ;ow speeds the bike feels top heavy and its long wheelbase and wide turning radius makes for dancing around in rush hour traffic not as gracefully nimble as the sportbikes can. But on open streets and on the Hiway its even comfortable for 2 up riding (since the seat mods anyway) is good for both my wife amd myself. tho she wants a backrest for longer rides for 65 to the recommended 80mph (as/per manual) is easy-even passing w 2 up is a no problem--even up hills, if more go is needed a downshift is all thats required. Solo hiway blasting is een better . Speaking of Hiway blasting cruising at 110 is a tank after tank comfort-tuck behind the summershield and run tank after tank 80-115 mph no problem ecxept for the hiway patrol.-the cruiser crowd just fades away in the mirrors very fast. Sportbikes and racer clones on the hiway aren't hard to run with until speeds get over 120mph but I believe if my heart beats faster than the speed-I'm going way too fast. It starts everytime--really great gas milrage @40 in city-50+ open road cruise mode. great hi way top gear sprinting past everybody.-the suspension is very good with almost infinite adjustments-for me at 200+ and my wife of 30 yrs since women tend to grow bigger then men do I'll leave the weight alone nut we do meet the max weight when we ride. What I like the most is it looks like a real motorcycle not a plactic toy, old timers bringing them a smile and fond memories os their youth and moderatatly knowledgeable riders like the retro look, The sportbikers are impressed by the performance. especially the torque curve. Brakes are great 2 up and solo. The tires are good on dry but the back reaks in the rain. serivicing os ok but the no centerstand is not what i call good product packaging. I love the triple sound at all speeds-to bad the off raods rusted at the mounting bolt holes-but the dealer kept my original mufflers and i happened to have a 7/8 inch concrete drill bit and hammer drill available. (those mufflers are heavy). Accesspriries are hard to comeuy other than the factory stuff which is a little conservative or hard to come by as well as pricey as most Triumph parts. my minor peve is the 3000-4000 rpm buzz which i believe is from the center carb having a different jet size from the outboards. The orange and cream looks good as well--too bad i'm not into cleaning my rides often--who wants to clean when the road becons?? Would I buy another? Most definately-just with better tires for foul weather riding. When will they make a black knight version?? Guy
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Leslie

London, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2003-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Thunderbird Sport

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having ridden various bikes on and off since I was 16, starting with an LI150 S3, elevating myself finally to a Triumph Trident (96) brand new (my first), I have to state that the Trident was brilliant but getting too heavy for my back to haul in and out of the garage. So looking for another bike, hopefully Triumph I was really taken by the look of the Thunderbird-Sport, particularly in its original "two-pipes one side" form.. but alas with the occasional wife to carry(+baggage?) this was not practical, therefore I settled to look for a later model TSport. 12 months ago I purchased second-hand a 2000 model, just 5000 miles on the clock.... so far in terms of ride it has been excellent (just 2000 miles on admittedly), everything that I could have wanted... starts everytime, easy to move, easy to ride, simple maintenance, great style, my only problem was recently when I had an "oil warning light".... this turned out to be the switch, a quick trip to local Triumph dealer and $11 lighter in the pocket (seems slightly expensive for such a cheap part.. but there you are). To "speak as you find" ... this is my second Hinkley Triumph, my wife also has the "new" Bonnie... I can only recommend them... keep it going Triumph!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: