Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-04-20 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A friend of mine and I started looking for bikes in late 2007. Even though I'd wanted a Triumph since 1968 when I rode a friend's Bonneville (damned right side shift), a dealer made me an offer I couldn't refuse on a new 2006 Honda VFR800. I bought it based on reputation and price and thought I was very satisfied with it until my buddy pulled into my driveway on his new 2007 Tiger. One trip around the block on it and I was heartsick. It was so comfortable and capable and...beautiful! Well, anyway, I was committed to the VFR and rode it until last week when I stumbled upon a very reasonably priced, used (2000 miles) 2007 Tiger at a local dealer. Initially I discounted it beause it was white and my rule was that a motorcycle had to be either black or red. But I couldn't take my eyes off of it and finally came to the realization that rules are made to be broken. After a quick test ride (the sound of that engine, alone, sells the bike) they agreed to take my Honda in trade and the deal was done. I'm ecstatic! I finally got it right. Whereas I sometimes had to practically force myself to ride the VFR because I'm 6' 3' tall and found it somewhat uncomfortable, I have not been off the Tiger since I bought it and make up excuses to take it out. I have a daughter who lives 800 miles from us and I'm already planning a trip to visit her. I see no reason why I can't do it in one day. Capable and comfortable! I'm saving up to buy the factory hard saddlebags.
- Jim Hoffman, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my Bonney for this black beauty last Saturday, 7/26, and haven't stopped grinning since. Already put about 300 miles on it just commuting and joy riding. It's quite a bike and, as much as I love it, I really wish I was a little taller. Unless I wear very thick soled boots, I have trouble flat footing it. I'm 70 years old and not as nimble as I once was but still enjoy the bikes. I have owned just about every bike invented but think this one is best all around.
- Bill Montgomery, Waco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-19 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a sporty, sit-up riding position bike that met several needs for me. I wanted a back road prowler, a sport tourer, a 2-up Sunday rider, a city errand bike and a bike that allows me to ride it for more than one hour at a time due to some old physical injuries and conditions due to old age! I found it. This bike is the most terrific all-around bike I have ever owned (35 TOTAL)! Great engine and handling and with the new windshield coming it should be a dynamite sport tourer. I love it.
- Rodger Hoffman, Leeds, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-31 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Triumph and I am impressed! I've been riding for 40 years on many different bikes. I worked in the motorcycle industry for 25 years. I think the new Tiger is the best all around motorcycle I've ever ridden; it handles like a sport bike and has the comfort to be ridden 400 or 500 miles a day without discomfort. And that 1050 Triple engine puts a big grin on my face every time I ride it! I bought my Tiger in April and by Thanksgiving I had over 12000 miles on it. I couldn't leave it sit! I've had no mechanical problems at all, although I really wish Triumph would offer a suspension upgrade like Ducati offers on many of their models, as it's getting a bit spongy with the miles I've got. The stock headlights are probably my biggest complaint as I ride at night a fair amount. Upgraded to HID, much better now! I think for the price the Tiger should come with the optional luggage too as the Sprint does. All in all... a great motorcycle!
- nick phillips, elverson, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-18 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had "Boddington(my scorched yellow Tiger 1050) since April 07. I could not be happier. I will admit I was a bit intimidated at first, with the power and the physical size of the machine, since I was coming from mid 80s, mild mannered street single cylinder machines. I mostly commute, and it does beautifully. I have complete confidence in this nimble machine when being forced to avoid the crazies in their cars to and from work. I did a 4300 mile trip from Atlanta to Sturgis, SD with out a complaint. Wind protection was more than adequate for this 6 ft. tall rider while riding 70-80mph on the interstates and the MPG on this thing was freakishly insane, sometimes getting 300 miles to the tank, riding at a quick constant pace. Even the dual sportiness is not lost with this new version of the Tiger, as I learned on the dirt mountain roads in Colorado that no mere sport or standard bike should tread.
- Drew M, Atlanta, Ga, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me 1st start by saying I live in NYC where there's traffic & cars & people everywhere you turn. Getting comfortable roaming the streets on my Vespa, I knew I had to man up & get a motorcycle...enter the 2007 Tiger 1050 ABS. Went to Saftey School for 2 days & the next morning rode off with my yellow Tiger (ordered it the week prior). The bike is easy to learn on for those (me included) without lots of experience. For the experienced riders I'm sure this will make you feel quite great. A friend of mine took it for a quick spin & couldn't stop raving about it. Hes been riding for 20 years & claims the bike is incredibly balanced with power & handling...perfect for NYC. He rides a Kawasaki KLR650...says this bike blows that away with all you could ever ask for. 900 miles later, I'm CONFIDENTLY going 90+ & don't understand why it took me so long to discover motorcycling. The Tiger can do it all! I drive a 7-series BMW & the guys in the garage don't understand why I never use my car anymore. My work takes me out on to all the boroughs & Long Island. As long as the weather cooperates, I'm RIDING! Next week I'm getting my 1st service done & installing my side bags, top case (all 3 removable) & upgraded exhaust (from Triumph). I got the heated grips (work excellent), the touring screen (not that much bigger than the stock but makes a nice difference)...ordered an after market winter screen so I don't have to get off it at all this coming winter. I'm tall so the wind can hit me hard in my chest & head on the highways if I sit straight up. So the touring screen is important based on your height...buy accordingly. Also ordered new bulbs for brighter headlights (whiter)...like to ride at night. The bike's gears are precise & shift fairly quickly. haven't had an issues with its reliability yet. The engine responds to aggressive riding or just riding at low revs...it can do whatever you need with a flick of the wrist. Makes me smile all the time! I feel as though I can go to Florida & back...maybe I'm too confident but I feel so secure on it. Swallows up ALL the bumps but not mushy feeling. It turns effortlessly. NY terrain is tricky with debris on the roads, potholes, bad pavement, cracks everywhere & don't forget the taxi drivers & pedestrians...the brakes are excellent & I've had to use them several times abruptly unfortunately but never unsure of myself or the bike with how quickly it responds. The longest I've ridden was 4 hours so far (no stopping) & my butt never got sore or numb. The dealer didn't recommend the gel seat from Triumph saying the stock one is more than OK...he was right so far. The exhaust sounds sweet with that great Triple sound but I slightly louder sound would have been better (so others could hear me easier). don't want to make every car alarm go off, just want to be safer. Tiny compartment under the seat barely holds anything so get a backpack or the side bags for the bike (I'll write about the upgrades next month). Great commuter bike, touring bike or even just fun & go for a ride bike. You won't be disappointed at all!
- Kosta, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In recent years I have either owned or had extensive seat time on a CBR600, VFR800, Monster 900, SV1000S, VStar 650, Magna 750, ST1300A and the current K1200GT. Out of all of those bikes, my new Tiger is by far the best all around bike and I still own the K1200GT as well. The Tiger is everything positive you read about it. Extremely comfortable, power is just perfect for real world riding, light, easy to ride and the list goes on. I just cannot get enough of this bike. Everybody from a hardcore sport bike guy to a novice would find this bike ideal. Some complain about the suspension being too soft but I do not find that to be an issue at all unless you are traveling at speeds that should only be done on a race track. For even highly spirited street riding, the suspension for me is the best blend of being plush yet predictable stable. I use the bike for everything from commuting, to evening rides to weekend trips. If I could just have one bike, this is by far the bike I would have. I used to think of the VFR as the ideal all around bike. Now the VFR is a distant memory. The Tiger offers what the VFR does in a more comfortable and more powerful package.
- R Tuck, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-19 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning several BMW GS models I got tired of the expense of ownership, also the new BMW GS's are real expensive. Yikes! Even though Triumph gave up any pretense of off-road capability they more than made up for it by making the bike into an extremely competent sport bike with all the accessories neccessary for touring. The ergonomics (at least for me) are perfect, the seat is comfortable, the suspension is completely adjustable, handling is light and agile, and the power is so much fun. Having owned the bike such a short time I can't comment on the reliability but everything is first rate, comparable to other makes in this category. A VERY FUN BIKE!
- kirk g., simi valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-28 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With only 350 miles saddle time, this review may be a bit premature, BUT...I am SO happy and satisfied, so far, that I had to tell anyone interested I've found my perfect ride! I rode a Yamaha Roadstar(a high-quality and care free motorcycle!)for the past couple of years, however, I felt I was missing out on some fantastic riding experiences...namely being able to TURN in the twisties with out scaring the crap out of myself when the floorboards scraped or feeling like I was in a wrestling match after riding thru the hills. The cruiser was fine for what it was, I just kinda felt like I outgrew the cruiser thing. During my replacement research, I looked at several different bikes..the V-Strom, Honda 1300 Yamaha FJR. I did not even consider the Tiger until the Nov 06 edition of Cycle World had an extensive article about the 07 model (the previous design was just not attractive to me!). I loved the look, the price, the comfort, the POWER! I read a LOT positive stuff about its amazing motor. I KNEW I found the perfect motorcycle for me during the very first mile of my test ride! TONS of torque...incredible linear power; ultra comfy riding position...the rider sits very high compared to a sport bike or Sport Touring models; a seat I can ride on mile after mile without my back or butt cursing me. My Tiger handles turns and traffic like it has a mind of its own. The only two things I wish it had was a helmet lock and some tie-down clips under the passenger seat. Oh, one other thing I enjoy is that I don't see many Tigers being ridden (around my area anyway). I like feeling that I'm not just one in the crowd (like my Roadstar) As time and miles go by, I'll try to update this review. So far I'M LOVIN IT!!
- Don, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-01 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been on many different bikes. I have never seen performance and comfort together in the same package. You can ride all day long, either cruise on a long highway, or go like hell on the curves. Awesome!
- Bryson Wagner Jr, Lewistown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-14 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my new Tiger several weeks ago and all I can say is. . .what a machine! Incredible engine pull in all gears, VERY comfortable positioning, and extremely stable at speed/in the corners. I am still breaking in the bike but got around 45 mpg on the first tank. Triumph is going to sell a LOT of these bikes if people are smart. . .you will NOT be disappointed!
- Steve G, Cave Creek, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-25 2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just took delivery of a 07 blue Tiger which replaces the 2005. I had sent a note to Triumph that they should give up on the off road capabilities of the Tiger and make it a comfortable road bike. I have a bad back and need a cushy bike. The new Tiger is what the doctor ordered. This is my 10th Hinckley Triumph since 1995 and the fit and finish is excellent. Much more nimble than the old Tiger and of course the power is great from the triple engine. Will report more once the bike is broken in.
- lampell, Novato, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: