Triumph Tiger Motorcycles Reviews (35)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Tiger Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Tiger Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-08-29 2009 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is superb, I never any mechanical problems. It still brings a huge grin after three years. But what a superb machine! It is the most comfortable and capable of my bikes.
- Pierre Andrade, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-12 2009 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a new 2007 Tiger in February 2008. I traded my older model GS on this 'kitten'. Turns out, this kitten is quite the cat. It's quick, nimble, fun to ride. I put on a Russel Daylong, big Givi's, tallest calsi windshield, crash bars, etc. I took 21 days and rode it to Prudhoe Bay (Dead Horse, Alaska). I currently have around 32,000 miles on it. I have only had two problems ever. (1) i didn't keep my forks clean going through Alaska and thus lost both fork seals. (2) I have to once a year tighten all the motor bolts underneath. It gets good gas mileage and also gets good mileage out of the chain and tires even though I put a trailer hitch on it at times. It's a home made job that works rather well. I use that when I go camping with my youngest son. Very Versatile! Take the bags off and its almost like having a race bike. It can handle a load all day long. I really enjoy this bike and I have had a few over the years. It's a great deal for the money.
- Wes Bauket, Louisburg, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-30 2009 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put just about 15,000 trouble-free km. on my Tiger. I've been through British Columbia a couple times and Alaska once. It hasn't let me down once. It's very quick, very fast. It's not the best seat for just sitting there. It hurts after a couple days in the saddle. I must ride spiritedly, moving around a bit, to not get sore on week-long rides. It has lots of passing power and nice nimble handling. It does dip on breaking though. It does not seem to adversely affect the handling too much, but it does make coming into a corner too hot that much more exciting.
- Marty, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-08 2000 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Tiger this summer with 15,500 miles on it. Finally at 18,000 miles in November, I took the bike to my Triumph dealer for service. Not having a history on it, I scheduled a 12K service to be done (valve clearances and a few fuel fitting/line upgrades) along with new oil, coolant and filters. They also discovered a new chain and sprockets were due. It was salty but now I know where I am with it. The bike runs great, has decent power and is definitely not a cookie cutter model. I did drop it in the drive by not paying attention to what I was doing, but no major damage. It shook my confidence some, but it is top heavy. Not much for dirt roads yet, but it'll do it I'm sure. I can't wait until next summer for a trip to Vermont on this beast.
- crinker, E-town, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-28 2008 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have read the other reviews and I think when a bike first comes out the new owners are excited and have a built in bias. After puting some miles on a bike an owner can be more objective. This bike is an all around bike and therefore not a perfect tourer or a sport bike and is no longer marketed as a dual purpose off road bike. What it is, is a bike that can do most everything, except off road, much better than any thing else. I have owned more than 35 bikes over the years. The cons of this bike are the stock lighting, pillion comfort, height, and for some, suspension. All of these issues can easily be addressed for not that much money. Less than $600 if one is so inclined. The stock suspension, once adjusted, will be more than acceptable for the average rider. Lowering plates about $100, Hid lights $80.00, Seat $3-400. Unlike earlier Tigers, luggage is an option and to each his own. Many options available. There is a goodly amount of after market farkels to be had now, but not much by Harley standards. Enough to make it any kind of bike you want. The pros are a strong, well proven engine that gives the average rider all the grunt one needs. It handles on a par of some sports bikes and a decent rider can go through the twisties with best of them. It does have 115hp. but can be kicked up fairly easily if one desires it. The ergos are very good for long range touring and the stock seat is one of the best I have ridden. The wind protection works for some but others find it noisy. Finding the right screen for any bike is a constant trial and error as it is for any bike but there are options available on the aftermarket. The market for Tigers is strange since many are not sold in the U.S. but overseas it has gotten great reviews even 4 years after its introduction. I can say that I know 5 Triumph mechanics and 4 of them own Tigers. A used one is very good deal.
- JFD, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-28 2008 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the tiger for 10 months and have enjoyed the ride a bunch! The tiger is truly an all round ride with plenty of power, good ergos, and decent mileage. The riding position is comfortable on all day rides, and with aftermarket windshield, the air flow is clean and enough to feel like a motorcycle, but without beating you to a pulp with buffeting. I would recommend the tiger to anyone who is in the market for a commuter, road bike or to just putter around locally, it does it all and very well. I am consistently getting 50ish/gallon, depending on the right wrist, and better on longer rides. The only down thing is the H7 and H9 bulbs in the headlamps, and they can easily be replaced without a major undertaking. 4 screws for each bulb, and no disassembly of the fairing, a 5 minute fix.
- david guy, refugio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-29 2006 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding heavy cruisers for 17 years, I craved the ability to sweep a corner without scraping hard parts. Enter the Triumph Tiger. The riding stance is very comfortable and the view on-high is awesome for city streets. The soft front end was expected, but still caught me off guard initially. Within no time, I have grown accustomed to a bit more front end drive. For my riding style, it hasn't affected my fun meter while riding. Very predictable handling and great motor/transmission. Definitely would make the same choice again. I love this Tiger!
- Tiger Convert, York, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-06 2006 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up one of the last 06 Tigers and am done buying bikes. This one fills the bill between my cruiser and my dualsport. It has grunt and you can short shift or wind it out and play super bike. AND the 06 come with bags included!!! Only bug is a badge fell off left bag in the back of the truck on the way home. What the?
- flying tiger, laguna hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-30 2006 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it just over a month ago, and have put on 3700 km. I love it, comfort, power, handling, and uniqueness. I did not want the cookie cutter crusier or the dime a dozen crotch rocket. This bike is solid, for one or two. The only thing I am not happy with the quality of the stainlless steel exhaust. It started to show signs of rust pitting only days out of the show room. This is my second bike and I have no regrets buying this one.
- Rob, Duncan, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-10 2004 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Riders in the USA don't seem to get this bike, as a result they don't know what they are missing. Yes, it's tall. It handles like a sportbike in the twisties, and is very comfortable for 700 mile days. Enough front end protection from the elements, but not so much you feel like your in a cocoon. A big improvement were the tubless wheels, it still needs better breaks and suspension (both addressed effectively on the '07 model). I love this bike and would highly recomend it to those that want only one bike, but need it do many things quite well. My Triumphs have proven to be as reliable as anything available today.
- William M. Murphy, Santa Clara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2002 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Formally Bob from Boynton (see earlier review). Still love my Tiger. I've run 500+ mile sport touring days with no problem. The only minor problem I have had was a temp sensor that went bad...very easy fix. Add'l upgrades include GPS,CB,Thunderbike Pipe (a most-19 hp gain with tune!), re-map, sliders and a rear hugger. My butt does get a little sore after a long day-could use an aftermarket seat. I have two other bikes, but this bike is flat out fun. It gets plenty of attention and handles very well. I do plan on getting stiffer front springs as the suspension is a little soft...especially for 99% road riding. Unless you are superman, off roading should be limited to fire roads. The bike can get a little squirly in soft soil and it's toughto pick up a 500 lb bike on the trail.
- Bob, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-13 2004 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at the Tiger for several years and compared an awful lot of different bikes before I bought my 2005 Lucifer Orange Tiger. My biggest concern was wind protection. I had a Harley Electra Glide for 14 years and was not used to riding with a helmet. My dealer turned me on to Cee Bailey's windshields and I put their highest one on. I still get more wind noise than I would like, but it comes from not having a larger fairing. That being said, the Tiger is an awesomely fun bike to ride! I challenge anyone to test drive one and not be very impressed. Acceleration? Got it. Power? Got it. Ride? Got it. Luggage? Got it. Fuel economy/range? Fantastic! Handling? Wide bars are wonderful. Value? 4K cheaper than a BMW GS plus it comes with sidebags! It's a little windy on the passenger but the bike does so well in everything else that it's just a matter of getting used to. For a commuter, I don't think it can be beat with the high riding position. The high beams light up the countryside. We're talking about practicality and performance here. This class of bikes has it in spades and the Tiger gives a lot of bang for the buck. If you want to be like everybody else, buy a Harley and enjoy high prices and endless accessorizing costs. If you want to stand out from the crowd, hop on a Tiger and get ready to grin!
- Mike Jorgensen, Fargo, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-18 2002 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have a few more miles now and still love the bike. Bought the top trunk with back rest and it is very nice and handy, my daughter rides with me everytime I ride. I just got the cramp buster for $10 and it is worth its weight in gold, I highly recommend one. The center stand and higher windscreen is a must. The headlights at night are very good. High octane 92 gas is a must or when you get on it, the engine will ping. I have rode bikes all my life and this is the most bike for the money, period.
- M. Smith, Appleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-13 2004 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Growing up with a dirt bike backround my first street legal machine was the Suzuki DR650 which I proceeded to take cross country. The 650 beat the crap out of me and needed some mechanical attention along the way...simiply not built to keep up with road bikes. Though it was very rewarding when the road ended for some off road mountain fun. Tiger's have always peaked my interest but I knew how well the BMW GS models were built. Dollars limiting my decision, I jumped for the Tiger. THIS BIKE DOES NOT DISAPOINT! Plenty of throttle to lift the front end and keep up with sport bikes in fast paced group rides with all the confidence you need for the twisties. Very dependable though not much fun to work on...removal of the tank and top of the engine to get to the plugs. That said my Tiger has never missed a beat and she's regularly serviced by the pro's. On a trip down to the Key West my best friend joined me on his GS1150 which we both felt was bullet proof and worth every penny. The Tiger is quicker but tops out faster, the GS and it's lower center is better in the turns. The Tiger wins the fun to ride catagory as it feels more like being on a big dirt bike off road in the Everglades where as the Beemer felt like an automated tank. The Beemer lacks the zip the Tiger has so much of. I sold my Tiger for financial reasons but am now in the position to get the new GS1200 or another Tiger...It will be another Tiger...they are too much fun!
- HJW, St Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-13 2004 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 6'1" and come from the enduro world riding Honda XR's and the last is an XR400. Then, since I was going to turn 40, I decided to go into the Cruiser world and bought a beautiful Yamaha Road Star 1600. The Roads in my latitude are in bad shape and lots of turns, so, after a while, I decided to search for the best bike for a combination of City, Highway, Fire Roads, Mountain Roads with turns that you see your own license plate, etc. The only local choice was the BMW 1150 GS which many friends of mine gave me excellent references. There are no Triumph dealers in Panama, but I had seen one in our neighbor country Costa Rica. I fell in love with the bike and bought it in Palm Beach and shipped it down. The bike is much better that I thought, my BMW friends have rode it and they are very well impressed that for less money is a faster, lighter and better bike. For me it is great that I don't have to worry about little holes on the road, or being left behind in the turns or unable to go into fire roads, in other words, I'm fascinated. I 100% recommended for tall riders, but for short ones.....buy something else or you will drop it and will hay to pay $$$ for broken panniers, steering, levers, etc....
- Emanuel Lyons, Panama, Panama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-21 2002 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 Tiger 955i in Nov 2003 after my local dealer encouraged me to take a test ride. The test ride sold me on the bike. I now have 1650 miles on the my Tiger The bike has a hooligan/naked/dual sport style, which is unique. There's not many other bikes like it. It also looks great with the optional hard bags (mine came with them). Plenty of power, large gas tank, liquid cooled, oil cooler, liquid clutch, rear rack, good fairing, great lights, under 500 lbs, option port, 105 hp.... The Tiger has very comfortable sitting position and seat. It's a great bike for the long haul and commute. The Tiger has a high sitting position, which allows for an SUV-like view of the road ,but it may be a little hard to handle for a rider with less then a 30" inseam. If you want to see this bike in action, check out he movie "Romeo Must Die." Great chase seen. My last two bikes were a '02 Ducati ST2 and a Honda ACE. Loved them both (the Duc much more) but the Tiger is a better all-around bike and the most comfortable for me. One draw-back is that is not a great amount of accessories available. I plan on adding a new can, center stand and some crash bars, but that is about it. I don't plan on any real dual sport action with this bike, just some fire roads. It handled fine on the lite off-roading that I've done so far.
- Bob, Boynton beach , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a used '01 Tiger 955i with 8,000 miles on it. I couldn't be happier. At first, I was taken back by the bright lime green color - but I quickly got used to it and now really love it. The handling of the bike is superb. Quick steering, this bike is definitely a confidence builder. Plenty of horsies under the tank deliver the power needed for any type of riding. This bike is king on the freeway, with its 6 speed gear box cruising at a smooth 5,000 rpm and 75 mph. Braking is good, as well as the ergonomics. Quite comfortable for the long haul, yet easy on the back side in the city. I give this bike two thumbs up (and 5 stars).
- Timothy Fillpot, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-15 2000 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have 12,250 miles on my 2002 955i Tiger. Longest trip was from Fl to Mn. With the hard saddlebags and a soft tailbag on the rack, this is a great touring bike. Unless it's a steady rain, I ride all season long to work. With the state of the roads in WI (frost heaves, potholes, patches), the long travel suspension really pays for itself. The motor is awesome-lug it from 2500rpm, roll-on at at 4000 (~60mph), or pulling on a downshift from 6-9000 rpm- This motor is perfect for commuting. Only gripes would be the seat height is tall for me (32" inseam), CG takes some getting used to, gas gauge is conservative (on E by 200miles. usually get 260 miles per tank).
- 29 yr old male, Mayville, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-09 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Triumph and it will be my last. I should have learned from my first experience with my 1995 Triumph Thunderbird. It had many problems during its 86,000km life with me and I was, on more than one occasion, highly annoyed with the high cost of parts and service. My 2001 Tiger shows signs of giving me the same level of grief. After only 44,000km it has blown an alternator, is plagued by a squealing fuel pump, constantly vents coolant from the overflow tank after being filled to the proper level, has snapped a clutch cable, broken one of the cheap plastic quick disconnect fuel line couplings, suffered a plugged gas tank vent valve and still doesn't run right after the latest of several software update tunes has been downloaded to the F.I. management system. Some of the design issues include an overly soft front suspension, poor quality powdercoat finish on the engine cases and handlebars, and most frustratingly requires expensive radial tires with INNER TUBES. A flat tire on this bike will cost you upwards of $400CDN. Parts are very expensive and there are very few aftermarket items available for this model and for the entire Triumph lineup. A limited dealer network makes you think twice about taking any long trips; most mainstream bike shops will not have the required special tooling and diagnostic software to affect an emergency repair should you break down miles away from home. On the plus side, the bike has unique looks, a powerful engine, good brakes and is quite comfy on long rides.
- Mike, Kingston area, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-14 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Somwhere way back in my youth i learned never to rate anything a 10, in this case a 5; supposedly because it would cause the thing or person you were rating to stop trying to be better...don't ask me! I just got my Tiger a little over 60 days ago, so I can't give you one of those "long term perspectives." But i will tell you that i can hardly keep off the thing! I have never owned nor ridden a motorcycle that was anywhere near as fun and sxciting to ride as my Tiger. I do own and have owned many of the other MAJOR brands of motorcycle and my feeling is they all fail in comparison from a fun-factor standpoint. This machine is part sportbike, part touring machine, part drag bike and part enduro and somehow, someway Triumph pulls it off in one package. The bottom line is I am absolutely mystified way every motorcyclist doesn't own one of these things and I mean that.
- Steve Brandt, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-21 2000 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just turned 20,000 miles on my 2000 Tiger and would only think of giving it up for the 995cc Tiger ; the two are identical except for the engine size (885cc). This bike does it all, is forgiving on the gas, and costs me less than $300 for full insurance. At 90, the tach sits comfortably at 6000, well below the red line. Stop and go grunt, however, keeps the Tiger well in my heart and it can hold high revs while holding solid torque throughout the mid-range. With a superior view-line of the road (this bike is tall), you are able to see around and ahead of those *!&%!$* SUV's. The forks are a little spongy, but this can come in handy on poor roads and can be corrected with stiffer springs. I've seen some Tigers that have even been lowered. Stock tires are sticky (7,000 miles avg.), fuel injection flawless, and overall craftsmanship superior. Maintenance is app. $1,000 a year, so be ready. Included in this cost, however, was a tank bag (which is essential to the bike - it allows an amazingly comfortable leaning position), and a new can that has growl and bumps up the power.
- Matthew Quigley, Millbrae, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-24 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this machine midway through a trip from Alaska to California to Colorado and back home. I had a serious case of buyers remourse initially (I didn't really NEED a new bike, payments, etc.) but that left very quickly. This is an excellent bike for long distance touring, around town hopping, and two track offroading. It's too heavy for real serious dirt work. The windscreen and seat do need help for long distance comfort though that hasn't stopped us from doing 1055 miles in 18 hours. Fuel economy has ranged from a low of 49 MPG to a high of 57.5 MPG. I did drop the rear sprocket 5 teeth for better over-the-road performance and mileage. Would I purchase the Tiger again? Oh definitely YES!
- Darrell, Seward, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-23 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, so far so good. I bought a used 2001 with 210 miles on it and have only ridden it 400 miles, so my review doesn't hold alot of weight, but I will write in later with a more detailed review when I've put some miles on it. It is really very comfortable to ride and provides awesome power in a smooth and non-japanese way. I had a VFR and decided the tiger riding position was awesome for all types of riding, from long hauls to short sprints. It's not a sportbike but it can keep up with some, don't let the high center of gravity look fool you. It attracts alot of attention when you are riding, you don't see many and they are a blast to ride. Every time I get off mine, I have a smile on my face. I will write back in after some well ridden miles. Thanks for reading. Get one if you want a comfortable, sport oriented machine that has class!!
- Scott H., Rock Hill, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-09 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the first bike that hit my dealers floor and it's great. I have had a few minor problems, but they were all warrantied no problem, and the bike never left me anywhere. The new motor has more power and runs smother than the 885
- traceywe, klamath falls

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-12 2000 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2001 Tiger with the factory hard bags, centerstand, and performance exhaust, and these additions transforms a very good bike into a truly great bike. The sound is good without offending any of my neighbors, the power increase is about 11 hp at the rear wheel, and it really wakes up the upper half of the powerband, in addition to fattening up the midrange torgue. The centerstand makes maintenance much easier, and the bags are quite useful, good-looking, and provide huge ground clearance. I find the engine smoother and stronger than the BMW air and oilhead GSes I have owned or ridden, and wonderfully versatile in the city, the twisties, or touring. The handling is great, with gobs of ground clearance, and the suspension just soaks up the bumps even when riding quickly on twisty roads. I think the brakes are quite good, but fall short of true sportbike quality, although I notice less frontend dive under braking than on other long-travel suspensions I have ridden. I find my bike handles quite comfortably on dirt roads, with predictable powerslides easy as the front end stays fairly well planted. However, it is a real handful on really crappy jeep trails. Mileage is about 50mpg, oil changes very easy to do, chain is a breeze to maintain with the centerstand, and my bike has been dead reliable. I find the seating position great (I'm 6'4"), but the seat is not comfortable for long rides. This is one of the most versatile bikes I have ever owned or ridden, and I recommend it to anyone who lives in an area with paved and dirt twisty roads, or anyone who wants one bike that does a great many things very well. Ride safe.
- Bob Dickerson, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: