Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Triumph Tiger reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

35 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Pierre Andrade

Tacoma, Washington

Reviewed on 2011-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It is superb, I never any mechanical problems. It still brings a huge grin after three years. But what a superb machine! It is the most comfortable and capable of my bikes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wes Bauket

Louisburg, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2011-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought a new 2007 Tiger in February 2008. I traded my older model GS on this 'kitten'. Turns out, this kitten is quite the cat. It's quick, nimble, fun to ride. I put on a Russel Daylong, big Givi's, tallest calsi windshield, crash bars, etc. I took 21 days and rode it to Prudhoe Bay (Dead Horse, Alaska). I currently have around 32,000 miles on it. I have only had two problems ever. (1) i didn't keep my forks clean going through Alaska and thus lost both fork seals. (2) I have to once a year tighten all the motor bolts underneath. It gets good gas mileage and also gets good mileage out of the chain and tires even though I put a trailer hitch on it at times. It's a home made job that works rather well. I use that when I go camping with my youngest son. Very Versatile! Take the bags off and its almost like having a race bike. It can handle a load all day long. I really enjoy this bike and I have had a few over the years. It's a great deal for the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marty

Calgary, Alberta

Reviewed on 2011-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have put just about 15,000 trouble-free km. on my Tiger. I've been through British Columbia a couple times and Alaska once. It hasn't let me down once. It's very quick, very fast. It's not the best seat for just sitting there. It hurts after a couple days in the saddle. I must ride spiritedly, moving around a bit, to not get sore on week-long rides. It has lots of passing power and nice nimble handling. It does dip on breaking though. It does not seem to adversely affect the handling too much, but it does make coming into a corner too hot that much more exciting.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

crinker

E-town, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-12-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Tiger this summer with 15,500 miles on it. Finally at 18,000 miles in November, I took the bike to my Triumph dealer for service. Not having a history on it, I scheduled a 12K service to be done (valve clearances and a few fuel fitting/line upgrades) along with new oil, coolant and filters. They also discovered a new chain and sprockets were due. It was salty but now I know where I am with it. The bike runs great, has decent power and is definitely not a cookie cutter model. I did drop it in the drive by not paying attention to what I was doing, but no major damage. It shook my confidence some, but it is top heavy. Not much for dirt roads yet, but it'll do it I'm sure. I can't wait until next summer for a trip to Vermont on this beast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JFD

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2010-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have read the other reviews and I think when a bike first comes out the new owners are excited and have a built in bias. After puting some miles on a bike an owner can be more objective. This bike is an all around bike and therefore not a perfect tourer or a sport bike and is no longer marketed as a dual purpose off road bike. What it is, is a bike that can do most everything, except off road, much better than any thing else. I have owned more than 35 bikes over the years. The cons of this bike are the stock lighting, pillion comfort, height, and for some, suspension. All of these issues can easily be addressed for not that much money. Less than $600 if one is so inclined. The stock suspension, once adjusted, will be more than acceptable for the average rider. Lowering plates about $100, Hid lights $80.00, Seat $3-400. Unlike earlier Tigers, luggage is an option and to each his own. Many options available. There is a goodly amount of after market farkels to be had now, but not much by Harley standards. Enough to make it any kind of bike you want. The pros are a strong, well proven engine that gives the average rider all the grunt one needs. It handles on a par of some sports bikes and a decent rider can go through the twisties with best of them. It does have 115hp. but can be kicked up fairly easily if one desires it. The ergos are very good for long range touring and the stock seat is one of the best I have ridden. The wind protection works for some but others find it noisy. Finding the right screen for any bike is a constant trial and error as it is for any bike but there are options available on the aftermarket. The market for Tigers is strange since many are not sold in the U.S. but overseas it has gotten great reviews even 4 years after its introduction. I can say that I know 5 Triumph mechanics and 4 of them own Tigers. A used one is very good deal.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

david guy

refugio, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the tiger for 10 months and have enjoyed the ride a bunch! The tiger is truly an all round ride with plenty of power, good ergos, and decent mileage. The riding position is comfortable on all day rides, and with aftermarket windshield, the air flow is clean and enough to feel like a motorcycle, but without beating you to a pulp with buffeting. I would recommend the tiger to anyone who is in the market for a commuter, road bike or to just putter around locally, it does it all and very well. I am consistently getting 50ish/gallon, depending on the right wrist, and better on longer rides. The only down thing is the H7 and H9 bulbs in the headlamps, and they can easily be replaced without a major undertaking. 4 screws for each bulb, and no disassembly of the fairing, a 5 minute fix.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tiger Convert

York, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2008-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After riding heavy cruisers for 17 years, I craved the ability to sweep a corner without scraping hard parts. Enter the Triumph Tiger. The riding stance is very comfortable and the view on-high is awesome for city streets. The soft front end was expected, but still caught me off guard initially. Within no time, I have grown accustomed to a bit more front end drive. For my riding style, it hasn't affected my fun meter while riding. Very predictable handling and great motor/transmission. Definitely would make the same choice again. I love this Tiger!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

flying tiger

laguna hills, California

Reviewed on 2007-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked up one of the last 06 Tigers and am done buying bikes. This one fills the bill between my cruiser and my dualsport. It has grunt and you can short shift or wind it out and play super bike. AND the 06 come with bags included!!! Only bug is a badge fell off left bag in the back of the truck on the way home. What the?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Duncan, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2007-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it just over a month ago, and have put on 3700 km. I love it, comfort, power, handling, and uniqueness. I did not want the cookie cutter crusier or the dime a dozen crotch rocket. This bike is solid, for one or two. The only thing I am not happy with the quality of the stainlless steel exhaust. It started to show signs of rust pitting only days out of the show room. This is my second bike and I have no regrets buying this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William M. Murphy

Santa Clara, California

Reviewed on 2006-12-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Tiger

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Riders in the USA don't seem to get this bike, as a result they don't know what they are missing. Yes, it's tall. It handles like a sportbike in the twisties, and is very comfortable for 700 mile days. Enough front end protection from the elements, but not so much you feel like your in a cocoon. A big improvement were the tubless wheels, it still needs better breaks and suspension (both addressed effectively on the '07 model). I love this bike and would highly recomend it to those that want only one bike, but need it do many things quite well. My Triumphs have proven to be as reliable as anything available today.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 35 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: