Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-09-02 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You better get one now because there are no plans for Triumph to continue this model line in 2004. In my personal opinion this is one of the best looking bikes on the planet and there is not another sport tourer on the market that has the luggage capacity of the Trophy (except maybe the Sprint ST). For the money you can't go wrong with the Trophy. There are a few downs which are easily fixed with a taller screen from Clearview (the stock screen is very noisy) a new seat from Corbin and Gen-Mar bar risers create a very comfortable ride.
- Wayne Gale, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold a 13 year old Harley and bought a new 02 Trophy, got a rebate and had enough cash left to replace the seat, (Corbin) and install bar risers. I have about 3500 miles on it and we love it. The last BMW I had was an R100RT. Too hot. Current R1150RT was $7000 more than this bike. (Less HP and it still has surge). Jap bikes are great but wouldn't own one.(No Soul)This machine has been reliable, the dealer was great and again I have to say for the money this is a "Best Buy". Just know you're gonna want a seat. The stock one is awfull and a set of Gen-Mar risers gives you a comfortable riding position. Our last trip thru WV was 1200 miles in 4 days. This thing loves curves but will haul ass down the freeway as well and the best thing we noticed is rain protection is excellent. The media has completely missed the boat on a great motorcycle.
- Ron McElroy, Bradford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-15 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my bike in spring of '03. One test ride sold me. I should say that I have always had cruiser type bikes,and this my first sport-sport/tourer. I wanted something for trips as well as day rides. So far at about 2500 miles on the bike,i have to say i couldn't have done better.Spent 5 days of vacation cruising the Blue Ridge and even ran the famous "Dragon". This thing does it all. Fuel mileage isn't what i expected,about 33mpg,and the seat doesn't do the bike justice.
- Ed Robson, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got a Corbin, solving the seating problem. I had them lengthen the front seat 1 inch.This does shorten the rider's seat slightly but allows for 3 distinct riding positions. However, I am rather tall (6'2"). Took a little getting used to but really like it now. Thanks.
- Tom C., Montgomery, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-14 2001 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my Trophy 1200 (U.S. Specs) in late February 2001 in Germany. It seems as tough my butt has been glued to the seat ever since. The bike is absolutely fabulous. I'm a large man, 6'4weighing 275 pounds, and the Trophy hauls me around with no problem. It sits comfortably but my knee angle could be reduced a little. It s only noticeable after two or three hundred miles continuous riding. Last September my wife and I rode to Enkoeping, Sweden (75 kilometers) northwest of Stockholm. We averaged five hundred miles per day on the way there and on the way back. NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER! We were loaded like it was moving day and that inline fournever even breathed hard. In fact I had trouble keeping the thing under 90 miles per hour on the Autobahns. We ran into some crosswinds going over the bridges in Denmark that were pretty "hairybut even the cars were having problems. In moderate winds I haven't had any problems to speak of. The bike is solid all around and an absolute joy to ride. Crank the throttle and hang on because the bike is very responsive and it doesn't take a lot of twist to find yourself "flying lowdown the highway at speeds well in excess of 120 MPH (and this is a TOURING bike). I'm anxiously waiting for Triumph to bring out the next generation. Gotta have it!
- Emmett Williams, Rammelsbach

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-11 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new in Sept. 2002. Runs great, loads of accleration. Ultra smooth suspension. Paint is awsome.Gas milage with only around 1,300 mi. on the clock is about 35 mpg. I found the handling great for a bike this size. Downs; the seating position places the rider too far forward. Placing the rider a little further back would put the knee position in a slightly more favorable bend and/or positioning the foot controls a bit more to the front. The idiot lites, especially the turn indicator lites are too small and impossible to see in sunlight. All in all I love the bike. Great ride.
- Tom Cooney, Montgomery, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-08 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Trophy 12 in December 2001 as my new bike for use in my motorcycle school as my dedicated training bike. I didn't test ride it before hand but read various reviews. Had never fancied it when it first came out bascically because of the Oakley 'frog-eye' lights. Having thought about the BMW R850RT, (would have been ideal for city riding but BMW salesman didn't want to know me??!!) and also the Pan, and having always used ex-Police BMW to instruct I reckoned that the Trophy offered excellent value for money. I shopped around the UK for best price and with the extras I wanted (heated grips, fender extenders and a top-box) they came up with the figure of around $7000. My local dealer (Shirlaws) met that and took another $100 off. Since January as I was away on holiday at the new year, i have clocked up 22,000 miles (2750pm) and have only had a faulty thermo switch indicating the engine was running hot. She is excellent around the town catching my pupils on the 500cc Kawasaki ER5s up and effortless out on the open road (e.g. Aberdeen to Orkney Islands) and thrives on twistys and scenic sheep occupied single track roads. I am amazed that around the city whilst instructing i still get 200 miles to a tank (approx 44mpg!!), I never have a sore behind and can easily show my pupils a U turn in 15ft. The major difference to my ex BMWs is you can put her into a corner and she'll take it as well as any sports bike. My only complaint is that the screen could be doing with being 2" taller but i hear there are aftermarket ones available. I would recommend the 1200 with all my heart.
- Eric Morgan, Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-23 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have been riding for over 40 years... so you say just and old fart... well my other bike is a ZRX1200..... and my last fast bike was a TOP GAS DRAG bike ran in the low 8's at 170 mph... have owned some 30 + bikes and riden over 100 varried models... need to tell you this TRIUMPH TROPHY 1200 is the BEST all around motorcycle I have ever had the opportunity to ride.. so I purchased it... and the more I ride it the more I love it... what a great machine.. both on the highway and back roads... good power... great breaks... and it handles too..... have had it for 3 weeks and have put 2,800 miles on it.. have not found a weekness... except the seat... Try a test ride on one... and I am sure you will take it home.... Thanks TRIUMPH.......
- Ted, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-06 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Bike during bike week in March. Since then I have added a 45-liter Tour Trunk, mud guards up front and back, a Corbin seat, foam grips, as well as a Scott oiler for the chain, a 5 over Gustovsen shield cured the wind turbulence around my head. The bars still need to be moved back about an inch for the best ride. Maintenance items have been 3 temp sensors replaced, balancer shafts, an annoying Temp light that always comes on on a warm day when stopped for more than about 30 seconds. And normal services. The gas mileage is atrocious unless speed is kept under 70. When tooling around at about 60-65 as high as 45 can be achieved per gallon. When any speed over 75 for extended periods of time are used mileage drops like a rock to around 35-37. Thank God for a big tank. 12,000 miles in about 6 months has showed some of the flaws of the bike, but it's still a good buy for the money. I think the suspension needs some finer tuning but I haven't had the time to really tweak it. Over all the bike seems to run well and the power is good for a bike its size. A trip to Canada In July was great. The luggage is superb as well as watertight. Over all I would say as long as Triumph supports their products I will continue to buy them. And I will recommend them to a friend.
- Randy, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-25 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had many bikes during my 2-wheel riding tenure. I started off on a sl90 and most have remained Hondas. I recently had the opportunity to trade for the 2001 "Triumph Trophy". This 1200 4-cyclinder, is probably one of the best-kept secrets in the world of 2-wheel transportation. I say transportation because I am no longer just a weekend warrior. People choose the bikes they ride for many different reasons. This bike not only is for weekend rides on some freeway. I find it pleasant for mundane everyday transportation to and from work or even to run errands. I had looked at the new gGold Wing but the price and all of the unnecessary do-dads did not impress me. To many things to take your attention from the road. The trophy weight is just over 500 lbs. The engine has a smooth accelerating ride. Its response and handling give a tremendous confidence to the rider. It is remarkably agile in corners as well as accelerating on a long stretch of roadway. The finish consisting of a full fairing and bodywork allow me time for not having to spend hours polishing chrome gadgets. Like most bikes there is some room for improvement. The seat is not the most comfortable. The handlebars are more forward than i would like on a bike made more for a straight up riding position. But all in all the bike is class with a lot character. It is a true workhorse of the industry.
- Mike Byrd, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride a Honda 1100 Shadow. It was great around town and it looked great but, on the highway and on long trips I asked myself why did I buy this thing. So I searched for a replacement, I looked at every thing,( BMW, Harley, Kawasaki Concourse).Then at the annual bike show I saw the Trophy 1200. It had every thing I could want and more. After a couple of months of being a very proud owner, I can never see myself ever owning a different brand of bike. I know longer wish I had someone else's bike.
- Jack Sterling, Downers grove Il

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-03 1997 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best overall combination of power, handling, and reliability in the sport touring field. As much torque and power as most will need. Excellent weather protection and comfortable ride for those 500 mile days. Not for short riders as bike sits up high off ground, so-so gas mileage and glare off gauges in bright sunlight.Extremely fun bike that does it all.
- Anonymous, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Platinum '99 Triumph Trophy near the end of November of 2000. It was barely broken in with 1900 miles so I considered it good as new. I could not be happier. I test drove BMW R1100RTs (nice but - yawn, sorry), Honda ST1100 (too heavy), Kawasaki Concours (dated styling) and a Suzuki Bandit 1200 before my eyes fell upon the Trophy; what a beauty. When I took it for a test ride in light apparel on a blustery 38 degree F day, I was awe struck. Wow - was all I could say. It was quick, handled very well, braked as well as any of the others I've ridden, and oh so smooth. On top of that, after 30 miles of test riding, the only parts of me that were cold were my hands (cloth dealership motocross gloves did not help that much). I now ride in any temperature as long as it is dry without electric gear only because of the great weather protection it provides (the HJC snowmobile gloves keep my fingers toasty down to 20F). This was a big factor in swaying me away from the Bandit as it now gives me at least 2-3 months longer riding seasons. The other factor was the stylish purpose built luggage for packing the requisite gear for the longer tours I like to take. Even though the weather protection is great, it is a little wind-noisy at highway speeds. The updraft from the windscreen lands square in the middle of the face. I ordered a taller Clearview Tour Windscreen to correct the only flaw (if you can call it that) I've found so far.
- Rich Gard, Trenton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Trophy 12 is a very competent, enjoyable ride. Triumph calls it their "touring" bike, but it is too light and powerful, and handles too well to qualify as anything but a sport-tourer. I rode it on several 600-mile days in the eastern AZ mountains last year and found the seat comfortable enough to get me to the next fill-up. Handling was quick and precise, weather protection good (I'm 6'1"), and riding position comfortable. The engine produces a huge power spread and gobs of torque, and the 6-speed trans shifts well and has well-chosen ratios, except that in the interest of fuel consumption I wished 6th had a little overdrive. that's not a complaint, though I experienced fuel milage in the low 30's if I didn't get carried away with the loud-handle. Attention-grabbing paint&styling.
- Mike, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-10 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just returned from Germany where I first saw the Trophy at a bike show. Fell in love. Upon retiring from the Army and returning to US, found the dealers much more disappointing than the bike. Too few and not very knowledgeable of the product, most sell other brands such as Honda, and Triumphs as a side. As far as the bike, purchased about 2 months ago, she's quick, somewhat heavy, and I find the seat just a little too high. Extremely reliable though, and here in S.C. (not to many triumphs around), the Harley riders always ask "where did you find that?", one friend of mine actually sold his Harley to get one! A real head turner! Would recommend to anyone, very smooth and the wife actually loves it. A great motorcycle for mature riders who love riding more than being seen on the latest weekend fad.
- Chuck Harrington, Sumter, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 Trophy 1200 a month ago and my other motorcycle (Kawasaki Vulcan) is up for sale. The Trophy is smooth, powerful and the baggage system is very well designed. It handles like a sport bike but you can carry a passenger and lots of stuff on it also. Windshield/faring work well to protect from the elements. One recommendation - it is difficult to get on and off without kicking the side bags. Take them off until you need them. Love the bike.
- Bill Traer, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-06 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had many different types of cycles in my 34yrs of riding, but nothing that really stirs the soul like my Trophy 1200. As soon as I laid eyes on her I knew it was going to be mine. This bike is capable of far more than I can handle. The engine is strong though out the RPM range, great handling, super brakes,(no ABS) very good wind protection, reasonably comfortable seat, slick shifting 6speed and killer good looks. The only complaints I have and I feel they are minor are, 1) very weak turn signal indicators (in sunlight) 2) Wimpy sounding stock exhaust (I now have D&D slip ons) 3) excessive heat on crotch in summer (eliminated with Triumph accessory fairing inserts) PS great saddle bags
- greg beishir, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-19 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding the 1200 Trophy for a year now and I have found this machine to be great for any kind of riding other then off road. The handling is light and responsive for windy roads as well as down town traffic. The speed and power are pretty awesome and this bike is as smooth as silk, with no noticeable vibration. It has a very comfortable riding position, which works well on short or long rides. The luggage is great for either long trips or trips to the grocery store! In short, this Triumph is great for just about any occasion. And in the year I've been riding mine it has been totally reliable. The only complaint I have is the seat is a little high for my 5'10" height. My feet are just barely able to reach flat-footed, which makes it difficult to walk the bike on uneven surfaces.
- Rider, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 2000 (actually 1999 left over) Trophy 1200. I love it. I traded in my Honda Pacific Coast. I thought that was a great bike. This trophy has it al: style, power, range, and a painful seat. What else could you ask for?
- Mike Guffin, Flanders, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-03 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1998 that I purchased new. There are 12000 miles of which 80% are two up. The seat is not all that great but have a thick sheepskin for this due to being too cheap to buy an overrated Corbin. It has great power and handling. The trunk is a great option. I did not think I would need it but did get it if making any kind of trips. Overall finish is great. Plus it gets a lot of looks and good comments.
- Scott Bruce, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-17 1997 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very excellent, capable sport touring bike. I've put almost 14,000 miles on the Trophy 1200 and have no problems whatsoever. With the hardbags and factory topbox you are able to carry everthing you need to go cross the continent in comfort and style. The 1200/106hp motor has all the power and then some you'll ever need. There are a couple of downsides to the Trophy, gas mileage is est. 34mpg and can get warm behind the fairing on 90 degree days.
- Derek Davis, North Sioux City, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-17 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After six months on my Trophy 1200, I am very pleased with the quality of the bike. The price was a major factor in my purchase. The comparable Hondas or BMWs were significantly more expensive. The real highlight of this bike is the powerful engine with a very broad spread of power. Perfect for touring long distances. Fit and finish are excellent, especially the paint quality. Triumph offers some excellent accessories. The 45L top box, heated grips, and anti-theft device are all useful additions. Ergonomics are good although the reach to the bars may be a little long for smaller riders. The brakes and handling are excellent. Finally, the warantty, 2yrs, unlimited miles, which can be extended, is a great bonus. So far the service from Triumph and my dealer have been great. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a versatile, high speed, long distance mount. I also use it to commute everyday to work, a task the bike is also well suited for. The only drawbacks to this machine are limited aftermarket accessories and the seat is not the most comfortable for long distance (this defect can be fixed by Corbin).
- Anonymous, Durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: