Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Triumph Trophy 1200 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Wayne Gale

Tallahassee, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
You better get one now because there are no plans for Triumph to continue this model line in 2004. In my personal opinion this is one of the best looking bikes on the planet and there is not another sport tourer on the market that has the luggage capacity of the Trophy (except maybe the Sprint ST). For the money you can't go wrong with the Trophy. There are a few downs which are easily fixed with a taller screen from Clearview (the stock screen is very noisy) a new seat from Corbin and Gen-Mar bar risers create a very comfortable ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron McElroy

Bradford, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I sold a 13 year old Harley and bought a new 02 Trophy, got a rebate and had enough cash left to replace the seat, (Corbin) and install bar risers. I have about 3500 miles on it and we love it. The last BMW I had was an R100RT. Too hot. Current R1150RT was $7000 more than this bike. (Less HP and it still has surge). Jap bikes are great but wouldn't own one.(No Soul)This machine has been reliable, the dealer was great and again I have to say for the money this is a "Best Buy". Just know you're gonna want a seat. The stock one is awfull and a set of Gen-Mar risers gives you a comfortable riding position. Our last trip thru WV was 1200 miles in 4 days. This thing loves curves but will haul ass down the freeway as well and the best thing we noticed is rain protection is excellent. The media has completely missed the boat on a great motorcycle.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Robson

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2003-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my bike in spring of '03. One test ride sold me. I should say that I have always had cruiser type bikes,and this my first sport-sport/tourer. I wanted something for trips as well as day rides. So far at about 2500 miles on the bike,i have to say i couldn't have done better.Spent 5 days of vacation cruising the Blue Ridge and even ran the famous "Dragon". This thing does it all. Fuel mileage isn't what i expected,about 33mpg,and the seat doesn't do the bike justice.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom C.

Montgomery, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Got a Corbin, solving the seating problem. I had them lengthen the front seat 1 inch.This does shorten the rider's seat slightly but allows for 3 distinct riding positions. However, I am rather tall (6'2"). Took a little getting used to but really like it now. Thanks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Emmett Williams

Rammelsbach

Reviewed on 2003-04-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I took delivery of my Trophy 1200 (U.S. Specs) in late February 2001 in Germany. It seems as tough my butt has been glued to the seat ever since. The bike is absolutely fabulous. I'm a large man, 6'4weighing 275 pounds, and the Trophy hauls me around with no problem. It sits comfortably but my knee angle could be reduced a little. It s only noticeable after two or three hundred miles continuous riding. Last September my wife and I rode to Enkoeping, Sweden (75 kilometers) northwest of Stockholm. We averaged five hundred miles per day on the way there and on the way back. NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER! We were loaded like it was moving day and that inline fournever even breathed hard. In fact I had trouble keeping the thing under 90 miles per hour on the Autobahns. We ran into some crosswinds going over the bridges in Denmark that were pretty "hairybut even the cars were having problems. In moderate winds I haven't had any problems to speak of. The bike is solid all around and an absolute joy to ride. Crank the throttle and hang on because the bike is very responsive and it doesn't take a lot of twist to find yourself "flying lowdown the highway at speeds well in excess of 120 MPH (and this is a TOURING bike). I'm anxiously waiting for Triumph to bring out the next generation. Gotta have it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Cooney

Montgomery, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-10-11

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the bike new in Sept. 2002. Runs great, loads of accleration. Ultra smooth suspension. Paint is awsome.Gas milage with only around 1,300 mi. on the clock is about 35 mpg. I found the handling great for a bike this size. Downs; the seating position places the rider too far forward. Placing the rider a little further back would put the knee position in a slightly more favorable bend and/or positioning the foot controls a bit more to the front. The idiot lites, especially the turn indicator lites are too small and impossible to see in sunlight. All in all I love the bike. Great ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Morgan

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my Trophy 12 in December 2001 as my new bike for use in my motorcycle school as my dedicated training bike. I didn't test ride it before hand but read various reviews. Had never fancied it when it first came out bascically because of the Oakley 'frog-eye' lights. Having thought about the BMW R850RT, (would have been ideal for city riding but BMW salesman didn't want to know me??!!) and also the Pan, and having always used ex-Police BMW to instruct I reckoned that the Trophy offered excellent value for money. I shopped around the UK for best price and with the extras I wanted (heated grips, fender extenders and a top-box) they came up with the figure of around $7000. My local dealer (Shirlaws) met that and took another $100 off. Since January as I was away on holiday at the new year, i have clocked up 22,000 miles (2750pm) and have only had a faulty thermo switch indicating the engine was running hot. She is excellent around the town catching my pupils on the 500cc Kawasaki ER5s up and effortless out on the open road (e.g. Aberdeen to Orkney Islands) and thrives on twistys and scenic sheep occupied single track roads. I am amazed that around the city whilst instructing i still get 200 miles to a tank (approx 44mpg!!), I never have a sore behind and can easily show my pupils a U turn in 15ft. The major difference to my ex BMWs is you can put her into a corner and she'll take it as well as any sports bike. My only complaint is that the screen could be doing with being 2" taller but i hear there are aftermarket ones available. I would recommend the 1200 with all my heart.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ted

Charlotte, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2002-05-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have been riding for over 40 years... so you say just and old fart... well my other bike is a ZRX1200..... and my last fast bike was a TOP GAS DRAG bike ran in the low 8's at 170 mph... have owned some 30 + bikes and riden over 100 varried models... need to tell you this TRIUMPH TROPHY 1200 is the BEST all around motorcycle I have ever had the opportunity to ride.. so I purchased it... and the more I ride it the more I love it... what a great machine.. both on the highway and back roads... good power... great breaks... and it handles too..... have had it for 3 weeks and have put 2,800 miles on it.. have not found a weekness... except the seat... Try a test ride on one... and I am sure you will take it home.... Thanks TRIUMPH.......
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

Orlando, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my Bike during bike week in March. Since then I have added a 45-liter Tour Trunk, mud guards up front and back, a Corbin seat, foam grips, as well as a Scott oiler for the chain, a 5 over Gustovsen shield cured the wind turbulence around my head. The bars still need to be moved back about an inch for the best ride. Maintenance items have been 3 temp sensors replaced, balancer shafts, an annoying Temp light that always comes on on a warm day when stopped for more than about 30 seconds. And normal services. The gas mileage is atrocious unless speed is kept under 70. When tooling around at about 60-65 as high as 45 can be achieved per gallon. When any speed over 75 for extended periods of time are used mileage drops like a rock to around 35-37. Thank God for a big tank. 12,000 miles in about 6 months has showed some of the flaws of the bike, but it's still a good buy for the money. I think the suspension needs some finer tuning but I haven't had the time to really tweak it. Over all the bike seems to run well and the power is good for a bike its size. A trip to Canada In July was great. The luggage is superb as well as watertight. Over all I would say as long as Triumph supports their products I will continue to buy them. And I will recommend them to a friend.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Byrd

Miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Trophy 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had many bikes during my 2-wheel riding tenure. I started off on a sl90 and most have remained Hondas. I recently had the opportunity to trade for the 2001 "Triumph Trophy". This 1200 4-cyclinder, is probably one of the best-kept secrets in the world of 2-wheel transportation. I say transportation because I am no longer just a weekend warrior. People choose the bikes they ride for many different reasons. This bike not only is for weekend rides on some freeway. I find it pleasant for mundane everyday transportation to and from work or even to run errands. I had looked at the new gGold Wing but the price and all of the unnecessary do-dads did not impress me. To many things to take your attention from the road. The trophy weight is just over 500 lbs. The engine has a smooth accelerating ride. Its response and handling give a tremendous confidence to the rider. It is remarkably agile in corners as well as accelerating on a long stretch of roadway. The finish consisting of a full fairing and bodywork allow me time for not having to spend hours polishing chrome gadgets. Like most bikes there is some room for improvement. The seat is not the most comfortable. The handlebars are more forward than i would like on a bike made more for a straight up riding position. But all in all the bike is class with a lot character. It is a true workhorse of the industry.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: