Ural Motorcycles Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Ural Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Ural Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-14 2011 Ural Patrol 2WD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
'We bought the forest green gear up in Arizona. It came with everything except windshields. After setting the sidecar up to handle to suit me (first time side hack for me), things have gone well. After putting 1,700 klicks on her I set out on a 700-mile round trip. The bike wasn't real fast on the highway, which I knew when I bought it. Half the the trip was on I-25 & I-40, the return was all the backroads home. This trip was from Deming, New Mexico to Gallup, New Mexico, and return. Mileage was good - 31 mpg. It was a fun trip. The seat was a killer. While at Farm and Tractor supply, I found a steel tractor seat, same as on my old Moline tractor. I welded four lugs on the seat so it would use all the original hardware from Ural. I painted it flat black with intentions of having it done up in matching fabric if I liked it. I have owned the bike since June 16, 2012. Today is August 14, 2012 and the bike now has 6,200 kilometers on it. I had the brake light switch go bad and a flat. Since I would have to order a new switch, I used a Honda switch, fit it in the same place and just changed the terminal ends on the wires. My original driver wheel was just rotated to the side car at 6,000 kilometers. It is wore maybe 40%. All my road miles are at 60-65 mph. One time with no wind and cover on the side car it really huffed but it hit 80 mph., and no I won't do it again. Would I buy another one? Yes, in a heartbeat. My wife loves it!
- Pete, Deming, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-18 2011 Ural Patrol 2WD Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read about Urals in the May 29, New York Times. I sold my last bike in 1994 and decided this looked like fun. I read a review on some website by an owner who recommended shimming the carburators for smoother operations and told the dealer. He did not have the shims in stock so the first 500KM were without. There was a lot of backfiring and I felt the mixture was too lean. After the shims were installed at the 500 km. service, the engine was a smooth as silk and the dealer is making their installation standard on all future deliveries. Last week we went to Stanley, Idaho and in the morning the frost was thick on the bike, temperature in the 20's. She started with two cranks and I turned the enrichers off as soon as I could reach them. This bike has been the most fun I have had in years! We have done 4,270 km. in less than three months.
- Frank Hilton, New Meadows, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-26 2005 Ural Retro 750 with Sidecar Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best Ural yet. Reliable, beautiful, & will drive at 65 all day. All steel, reverse, classic lines. The 3rd russian mc I have had. I have over 7000 miles on it & have had not 1 problem.
- bernard sampson, houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-07 2007 Ural Tourist LX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing is amazing. It rivals even the best Japanese and European bikes as far as quality and reliability are concerned. I've put almost 40k on mine and still not a single problem. It is the best thing I have ever purchased! First time I rode a friends I said, "I've got to get me one of these.
- bill, phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-10 2007 Ural Tourist LX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ural with sidecar and a real reverse gear, both standards, is more fun than an adult should be allowed to have. Our other motorcycle, a big V-twin, (you guess what kind), has stayed in the garage all summer. My wife prefers to ride in the Ural sidecar; it's more comfy and she says it beats looking at the back of my head! We've taken this machine places where we wouldn't dream of going on an expensive two wheeler. It's as close to a street legal ATV as you can get. And Ural has been obsessed with quality improvements. From sealed bearings, a 55 amp alternator and monster Brembo disk brake, there are just too many upgrades to list here. Take a look at the improvements and you'll see what I mean. No, I don't work for them; I'm just excited to be able to ride a motorcycle down a gravel road, on wet grass or just to the store and have a blast doing it. No worries about where to park or if the bike will fall over. It's not a freeway cruiser, it takes it's time getting up to 60, but it makes exploring fun. No problems at all with this bike. Did I mention how large the trunk is?
- Flint, Lac Du Flambeau, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-07 2004 Ural Troyka 750 with Deluxe Sidecar Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my Troyka Jan. of 05. Did quite a bit of research before buying and waited for almost 2 years before reviewing. Well...It's been a blast. I keep it most of the year in NC. My wife & I go riding on the Blue Ridge Parkway quite often. It's my honey do errand vehicle. She knows when I go out, I'll be out for a while. Have to answer a lot of questions. Winter it comes back to Florida for sunset cruises. No major issues to date. Starting to see some leakage in the front end seals. Just wish there were more dealers for service. Email with questions.
- Rich Keffer, Palm Harabor, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2005 Ural Gear Up 750 with Sidecar Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Readers of this review and potential riders of this bike have to keep in mind what this bike is intended for, where it was made, and its history. In short, don't compare this with the latest German and Japanese technology! that's an apples to oranges comparison. There is no apples to apples comparison on the market today for this bike. Mount from the left and the first thing you notice is that you don't need to balance. Sit on the tractor seat and your wallet and anything else in your back pockets will jam into your glutes - put wallet/phone/knife in your riding jacket and the seat is very comfortable. The rubber block holding the seat adds significant suspension. Controls, mirrors, and grips are easy and reachable. Foot pegs are soft and comfortable. Pull the left side manual choke, no need to wrap throttle twice (the old priming trick), push start button and it will start instantly. Pop choke back in asap to avoid fouling. Roller bearing engine with heavy flywheel means you must WAIT for the engine to lower RPM when you rev it. NOT modern Japanese bike! In neutral, pull clutch, LOOK BEHIND YOU, place right heel over chromed lever inboard of right footpeg, push down, no clunk, and go reverse. Easy, strong, and very very useful, especially in 2wd. CAREFUL! Reverse can be scary. Look forward, right heel can effortlessly flip chrome lever back up, push shifter down for first, CLUNK, and go. Bike has lots of torque, very smooth roller bearing engine, and non syncro trans. It will pull hard to the right when you gas it hard and pull hard to left when you let off gas abrubtly. This is sidecar inertia effect, don't be scared, learn to use it. Off road manners are a totally new experience. No more picking a line to avoid that rock or rut. Take your hands off the bars and it will just keep going straight, bouncing along. Earles fork is nearly indestructible, and the suspended front, rear, sidecar wheel, and rubber block seat do an excellent job of insulating you - again, this is NOT A JAPANESE MOTORCROSSER with 18 inches of travel! Put your wife and kid in the car, kid on back, and explore fireroads with a picnic lunch. Up steep loose hills, car will pull bike to right side and you will hate being stuck sideways with mom/wife/skeptic. Before big hill, engage sidecar drive, and it will go straight up. Amazing. On the way home, cruise hardtop with the whole family at 60mph. Why go faster? Why would you want to? Front disk brake groans at low speed but stops bike very well. Sidecar brake works nicely. My rear main brake wore out fast. The first gear should be 30% lower for trail/road/heavy load work. My valve covers rattled the threads right out of the heads (blocks fixed it right up.) Fuel lines rotted from the outside-in from Vegas sun/dry heat. Turn signal/brake light issues. Other than that, I love this bike and will hand it down to my heirs.
- R80G/S Eric, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-03 2005 Ural Gear Up 750 with Sidecar Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ural Gear-up is the fifth motorcycle I have owed and I am having more fun with it than any of my previous bikes. The bike is still in the break-in period but I have not expected any problems and thus far. The bike does very well in the city and will run at highway speeds, it is no freeway flyer. The engine, while not very powerful (roughly 40HP) produces a lot of torque and that allows the bike to get up to speed quickly. I have used both the electric start and the kick start and find the bike starts equally well with either. The Ural is a mite cold blooded and takes a couple of minutes for the opposed twin to warm up to a nice even lope. The switchgear is all quite nice and functions well. The seats have been the biggest surprise. The seats look very industrial and a bit rough but are really very comfortable. The sidecar accommodations are very pleasant and practical. My wife was a frequent passenger on the back of my Harley but, it was never designed for a person with 37" inseam. Now that she has gotten a taste of the sidecar she may never go back. Her comments revolve around on how nice it is to be able to see where we are going, how very comfortable she is, how nice it is to have a place to put things (her hair dryer/purse/camera/anvil collection). This bike is a constant head turner and seems to have universal appeal. I am constantly stopped and asked questions about the bike (you must not be an introvert if you own this bike). The bike seems to appeal equally to traditional "bikers" and little old ladies. While it is a bit of a "chick magnet" it is also an old guy magnet. Expect to give a lot of rides and answer a lot of questions. The nice thing about all the attention is it the constant positive reinforcement prevents too much buyers remorse. Overall, the bike is a blast to ride and has been maintenance free. Unlike most modern bikes that you can jump on without checking first, this bike does require you to look it over and check tire pressures and fluid levels and warm it up a bit before departing. Down the road it will take more periodic maintenance but, there is a very complete manual and it is a very easy to work on machine. If one is willing to accept some of the limitations this can be one of the highest smile per mile vehicles you will ever own.
- MT, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-08 2002 Ural Tourist Classic T75 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just about the most fun I've had on a bike! The quality is much improved over older models. Mine was purchased used this spring (2005) just out of the break in. I've had the alternator, speedo cable and ignition go bad, and replaced. The drive shaft splines also stripped. BUT, you can't go into this expecting a modern, problem free bike. Buy a Japanese bike, then. These are old tech, with few changes over half a century. But now this bike is getting better and better. It pulls like a draft horse, and easily keeps up in traffic. It handles great, and has become my daily rider (I also own a Yamaha Road Star and an Enfield Bullet). I make more friends on the Ural, as it always draws a crowd and everyone wants to talk about it. I'd get another with NO hesitation
- Chris, Middle Grove, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2002 Ural Patrol Classic PT75 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been my daily driver for the last 3 years and 53K km's...rain, sun, hot, cold (no snow in FL). I still have a ball with it and can't see myself riding anything else. This is one tough, easy to wrench, highly utilitarian machine. Many improvements have been made in design and quality since I got my bike in 2002, plus they now have a 2 year unlimited mileage warranty. If you're looking for a truly unique and fun ride, this is it.
- Bill Glaser, NSB, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-23 2004 Ural Tourist 750 with Sidecar Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my Patrol two days ago. The last time I had checked out these bikes was 1995 and I was not impressed. The bikes looked cheap, and their reputation was pretty bad so I decided against it. After quite a bit of research I decided to take another look. First off, the finish is 1000% improved, it's still a little rough around the edges but overall I think they compare well to BMW or Harley. After a short indoctrination by the dealer I was ready to get on the road. I had a 120 mile ride ahead of me and the prospect of not going over 40 mph was not exactly appealing. It turned out to be a very pleasant ride; the tractor seat is actually very comfortable. The bike tracks very well although pulling a hack gets some getting used to. The transmission reminds me of our old tractor back home, although it is already smoothing out some. This is definitely not a high tech, high performance bike. I think it will be a nice commuter; the reverse gear makes it easy to back out of a parking space. But the main reason I bought it is to take my 6 year old out on rides with me. And the kids LOVE it. Today I took the wife and the two kids (3 and 6) out to dinner. Both kids fit well in the sidecar and the wife rode on the back. The bike handled about the same, the engine has a lot of torque. Once the break in period is over I'll see how it handles highway speeds and off road. Already my son is asking to go camping and I think this will be the perfect vehicle to get us out there. Will keep you updated.
- Jose, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-14 2004 Ural Troyka 750 with Deluxe Sidecar Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Ural is the most fun you can have on 3 wheels. Plenty of power and an ultra classic look and design. You better like to talk to people because EVERYONE will want to know more about your bike. Take everyone and everything for a ride... Grandma, little kids, the pet. Simple, a no-hassle blast!!
- DON LONDON, SPEARFISH, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-20 2000 Ural Bavarian Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So here's the straight deal. You have to work on the bike to make it work, but it is worth it. In the 19 years I've been riding motorcycles, this is the most fun I've ever had. That is despite the fact that I had to replace the alternator, the speedometer cable, the drive shaft, and a valve adjuster screw I over tightened. If you want no maintenance, buy a modern Japanese bike. If you want a fun ride that requires easy tinkering, buy a Ural.
- Ed Higgins, Missoula, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-12 2000 Ural Patrol Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a '99 Patrol, bought it brand new. It was advertised as "the only street-legal ATV" so that is how I have driven it for the past 5 years, thru mud, snow, rivers, deserts mountains and plains. I ride it hard and put it away wet. It came with a 3 year unlimited mileage warranty so I figured I could beat the crap out of it and the company would pay for the parts that couldn't hold up. Much to my surprise (and pleasure), the machine kept going, and going, and going - put the energizer bunny to shame. I still ride it, in fact took it to a motorcycle rodeo today and even kept the shiny side up! Anyway, it is a great machine - has its quirks - it is old style, requiring attentive and regular maintenance as with all older machines, but it takes the abuse very well and only asks for more. It is the best investment I have ever spent money on - well worth every penny.
- sidecarsam, Wolf Creek, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2000 Ural Bavarian Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my BC-65 for four years now. It's one of three bikes I own and ride. It's by far the most fun bike I own. It's not a long-distance tourer or freeway speedster, but if you want to bop around town, ride backcountry roads and just generally have fun, this bike is great! Reliability has been very good. Once you get them broken in and keep up on oil changes and maintenance, they are bulletproof. I've had a couple small things go wrong, but I just got out the excellent manual and, even with my limited mechanical skills, went step-by-step to fix it. This 47-year-old woman loves this bike. It's easy to service, runs and rides very nice, lots of room, comfortable - I wouldn't trade it for anything in the world. Maybe I've just lucky with my bike, but it seems clear to me why old versions of these bikes are all over Cuba and Russia; they are practically indestructible and just keep going and going and going. Nothing high-tech here, just good old fashioned simplicity.... and did I mention that they are a blast to ride?
- sjm, pasadena, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-23 2003 Ural Wolf 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted something different. I like the old BMW R-series styling, but a big 1200 for big dollars isn't for me. The Ural Wolf fit the bill. It rides smooth, handles well and runs quiet. Odometer reads in KM. Negatives are: 1) Handlebars are too low and too far forward. It makes my backache to constantly reach for them. I'll be getting Honda GL1100 aftermarket from Flanders to fix that. They are 7/8 inch. A new brake cable is needed for the change. 2) Clearance between lower rear brake pedal and starboard carburetor is too small. It would be nice to have an adjustment on the brake pedal...all welded! It's a good thing for the forward controls. Watch your shoes on the carb extensions like the nub on the cup bottom and the choke lever. 3) 4 speed transmission is clunky. Positives are: 1) Price; $5K 2) Uniqueness; Russian war prize?Copyrights/Patents? Made from Russian tanks...Some good stories here. 3) Style; Designed by the Russian Night Wolves Club. Looks good in Black (the only available color in US). Classic timeless lines, forward controls. 4) Simplicity; this is one easy machine to tinker with. Everything is obviously accessible. So far everything is metric. Manuals are in English with good pictures. 5) Optional reverse, if you don't get reverse, the reverse shift lever behind the brake pedal will pop the trans into neutral very easily. Lever it up to enable the transmission again. 6) Reliability; So far, so good. It comes with a tire pump, shaft drive, kick-start, nothing complicated and no frills, just a great bike.
- Kript, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-31 2002 Ural Tourist Classic T75 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2002 tourist for a year now. It's barely broken in with 5000km on the clock. I've owned several air-head Beemers over the years, and the Ural has lots of things I liked in the older BMW's. It pulls like a John Deere tractor and just keeps getting smoother and stronger now that it's getting broken-in. I had a problem at first with the electronic ignition, but Ural replaced it free and I haven't had a lick of trouble since. The frame and suspension are very strongly built and the sidecar and luggage rack can carry lots of gear and a passenger. Driving a sidecar rig is "different" than handling a regular motorcycle, but once you get used to it, it's a lot of fun. The rig also draws attention nearly everywhere you stop, and you get to meet lots of nice people, too. It seems like all kinds of people are friendly to you when you come into town on the rig, as it doesn't seem to make people feel threatened. Since my Ural is my only rig, and I am usually alone, I do kind of miss having a standard motorcycle to play with--but I like my Ural too.
- Max Loudenback, Frankton

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-04 2004 Ural Wolf 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Wolf I have is more fun to ride than any of the Harley's, Nortons or Trumps I have owned. This isn't your father's Russian motorcycle. 65-70 is a comfortable cruise speed for this bike and the seat is comfortable for 2-3 hour rides. Handleing is A+ and while it does require some tweeking to get everything working right, once there it is an absolute blast to ride!! Quality is way up over earlier Urals and the new distributor IMWA is great and have shown me the best factory support I have experienced with any bike manufacturer or distributor.
- Mark Schmidt, Taneytown,, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-27 2002 Ural Patrol Classic PT75 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I get a few inquires from this site every month, I thought I would post a follow up after a year+ of Ural ownership. The update will be a little boring for most. No high tech. gizmos to wow about. No new fangled suspension to smooth out the ride. No twin turbo mega cc engine to rave about. Just a built-like-a-tank tough throw back to the 1950s bike review. The 2002 Patrol is my daily driver with over 30K hard km's (on and off road) put on it in just over a year. It has had a few electrical gremlins and component failures which were all easily and cheaply fixed. Everything on this bike is easily accessible for adjustment or repair due to its design (BMW) and military heritage. This is one tough rig which has never failed to do what I have asked of it. It is the 4X4 of motorcycles. What ever you can pile into it-it will haul. Loads of utility. If you are looking for a motorcycle that does more than make noise, look pretty and carry a gallon of milk home from the store...consider an IMZ/Ural. The only negative (if you consider it one)is, speed. With a top end of 74mph and a realistic cruise of 50-60mph this bike is probably too slow for most tastes (not mine). But what it lacks in speed it makes up in character and fun. When the time comes, it will be another IMZ for me.
- Bill Glaser, NSB, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-30 2000 Ural Patrol Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have now put over 500 miles on a Ural Patrol with sidecar in the last couple of months. Have a Harley for touring but the Ural is so much fun to take to town that it gets a lot of use. Plan on any trip taking a while as you will spend many hours with admirers every where you go. Happy at 50mph and any terrain is okay. Only wish I had gotten the machine gun option so that nobody would pull out in front of me.
- Zimmerman, Yarnell, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-15 2002 Ural Tourist Classic T75 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are interested in a sidecar the 2002 Ural Tourist, with the 750cc engine, is a great rig. Attracts a lot of attention - if you don't want to talk to people don't buy a Ural! Drives great. Easy to service. Fun.
- Stephen Miller, Apex, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-05 2002 Ural Tourist Classic T75 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
New 750cc engine provides 75mph cruising speed. Fit and finish is greatly improved. Controls are now comparable with modern bikes. Everything is smoother. People stop you everywhere to look and ask questions.
- BILL HEARNE, BLACKHAWK, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-05 2000 Ural Bavarian Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can not decide whether this bike belongs in a museum or in the garbage pile. It certainly does not belong on the road. Sure it has the vintage looks of a BMW right out of the fifties, but you have to content with a multitude of mechanical problems along the way such as alternators that come apart and final drive splines that strip. After being stranded the second time in one year, I took a big loss and got rid of this turkey. The company does nothing about recalling these defective parts but instead relies on the Internet owners forum to help fix problems. To reiterate, the enjoyment of this bike depends on three things. First, you must be a good backyard mechanic and make weekly checks of the bike. Second you must have a good towing service like AMA. Lastly you must get yourself a cell phone to call that towing service when you break down.
- Don Chriscoe, Flagstaff, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 2000 Ural Bavarian Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You (must) break in this bike to the TEE or it will give you problems. After break-in period, it rides smooth with no major mechanical failures. You will get the UDF (ural delay factor) syndrome. It will be the most attention getter you have ever owned. Keep checking the air and change the fluids often (1000km) and you will love it. Top cruising speed is about 65 mph. You will have a blast and with an unlimited mile three-year warranty.
- Jim Calender, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 2000 Ural Patrol Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We have a 98 Sportsman, almost the same only different. We have run it in mud, snow, rain and, as my neighbor said" you even use that in nice weather". Not a fast freeway bike, more of gravel or 2 lane up to 60 mph Cruiser. My wife and I love it.
- Anonymous, Lake Michigan , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: