Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (2,200)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Carol from Meridian, Mississippi says:

I went from a V Star 650 to the V Star 950 Tourer and love my new ride. I did have to buy the wind deflector for the forks as the wind came up ar

Read More (2200 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a V Star 650 to the V Star 950 Tourer and love my new ride. I did have to buy the wind deflector for the forks as the wind came up around the tank and hit me in the chest. Once those were installed all is great. I can't wait to get on the road.
- Carol, Meridian, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-27 2005 Yamaha 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first heavy cruiser is like a big old truck. Good power to rear wheel and can pull out of 1st gear at idle speed ( like a big truck in 1st gear). Handling always suggest to (just Cruise at the posted speeds). Is capable of highway speeds with more to spare. The 1998 Yamaha 650 also I have preforms close to the 1100 and is very capable in the street and highway also! They are Not a dirt bike. Cross bike or sport bike . They have a quirky, fun and casual feel to them. Reminding me to Just Cruise and ( get there when You Get there). Whether taking a 100 mile trip or cruising around town it is reliable and casual! Outfitted with windscreen and saddlebags , it is a good fit for my riding style! Compared to larger Yamaha’s and other Brands of Cruisers, I am very satisfied with the Vstar 650 and 1100!
- Vince, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-25 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my 2009 Stratoliner S for nearly 10,000 miles of highway/city/country roads... The bike runs and performs very well. The finish, performance, and reliability are tops. The only problem I have had is that 1854 CC can get very hot especially in warm weather temperatures. I feel that the design did not take that into account. Other than that, the motorcycle is very attractive, runs extremely well, and has not given me one bit of trouble. The odometer currently is just past the 20,000 mark.
- swhiter1959, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-26 2015 Yamaha V-Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent all around Motorcycle handles fantastic extremely smooth and great on Highway and the back roads. Yamaha built quality looks fantastic and keeps up with the big Harleys and Indians. If you’re looking for an inexpensive capable cruiser look no further than the Yamaha V*950.
- Ron, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-27 2009 Yamaha V-Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this 2009 MC used for $3800. 2960 miles in seemingly perfect condition w/windshield (after-market), roll bars, padded passenger/sissy bar, everything else is factory. I've owned 3 previous 1100 cruisers. The 950 seems spunkier, easy to handle, smooth, and comfortable. Several reviews on YouTube, all of which laud this bike. Now, it's too dam hot to ride!
- rod.ruger, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-16 2015 Yamaha V-Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall very good bike for not a lot of money. Handles like it’s on rails and is extremely stable. Good power can do 85-90 miles per hour for the entire day (have done it several times) and the bike is still very stable at these speeds. The bike is pretty big a little bigger then an older model Harley Davidson Heritage Classic and heavy enough without being to heavy at 655 pounds. I traded my 2011 Yamaha V-Star 650 that I bough new in July of 2012 for a new 2015 V-Star 950 Tourer in August if 2017. I had put over 50,000 miles on my 650 and as of today I have 34,000 miles on my 950. Bottom line Yamaha makes very good motorcycles for not a lot of money and the Yamaha V-Star 950 is an outstanding all purpose motorcycle. In conclusion, it’s a reliable and very capable worlk-horse of a motorcycle.
- Ronald Coleman, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-31 1977 Yamaha XS400D Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1977 Yamaha XS360D2 was the first bike I ever purchased back in 2004 at 16 with 2900 miles on the clock. The price was 550 from a local dealer in a small town in northeast iowa. It was pretty clear it needed carb work right from the start as most of this age will by now. It was the blue one with spoke wheels, front disc, kick starter, and points ignition. Aftermarket emgo megaphone mufflers were also fitted and were plenty quiet. I wish I had the jetting skills I have now because it seemed as though it could have been a very nice little bike. All I could do was clean the carbs back then and they were stupid lean even before I fitted foam filters. Starting was always hard. I would often run the battery down to nothing (probably weak to begin with) then continue with the kick starter until it popped off. I suspect the starter was just a bit too slow, or the idle circuit was just a bit too long (lets out way up on the top side of the carbs) also often resulting in stalls on takeoff. That said, it always idled nice once running and ran well with few flat spots besides the lean top end (my own fault). Because of this fuel economy was amazing at 60mpg+ but I often struggled to do 65. I still put over 6000 miles on it in one summer and always got compliments and questions wherever I went. When you're a kid on a metric bike from the seventies everyone notices. Handling was steady enough to enable full speed back road riding if I so desired, and at 17 and stupid I often did. The bike was also very light and I only dumped it once trying to do a u-turn on crushed rock. Ah, fond memories of learning hard lessons. I didn't get burned too bad and was actually able to lift it off my leg. The engine was a parallel twin with a 180 crank and no balancer, oddly enough. Top end was SOHC, 2 valves per cylinder and tappet type adjusters (no shims required). Something about the sound drove dogs completely mad. Weirdest thing I've ever seen and I've heard others say the same thing. Shifting was always smooth with the exception of a somewhat remote feel to the clutch. This again, could also have been down to poor maintenance (cables) but it made it a bit hard to find neutral sometimes. Suspension was also pretty soft but it mattered less to me back then. All in all it was a high quality, stable, tough, little bike that would have been dead easy to maintain. Had I been as handy back then, it would probably have been a good performer too.
- Mike S., North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-19 2014 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like Thor's hammer, Mjolnir; "in Norse mythology as one of the most fearsome and powerful weapons in existence" Yamaha Raider has a 'Thunderous' feel due in large part to its torque no doubt
- Jason, Central Washington State

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-05-03 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding almost 60 years and owned everything from a Honda 50 to a Gold Wing and several Harley Ultras..... This thing is like a two-wheeled car......too big, too heavy and too ponderous in traffic. Look for something less.......
- Ron Forneris, Vancouver, Wa.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-02 2008 Yamaha v star 650 custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a great experience at Honda-Suzuki of Sanford nc the bike and the service there were more than I expected in quality I would recommend them to anyone
- DAVID EARLE, tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-02-04 2007 Yamaha Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ive owned about 50 bikes and id put this in my top 5. i had a 2009 warrior that i sold to purchase a new 2016 hd road king. after about 3 months on the road king i went out and purchased my 2007 warrior because i missed the 09 warrior so much. i tell people the road king is like a lexus and the warrior is like a mustang. to me its the best looking bike on the road. it does everything well. i put floorboards on both of my warriors which made my riding experance much more enjoyable. if you get a chance.......buy one!
- dave byer, stillwater ny

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-01-29 2007 Yamaha Roadliner S 1900 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only with mag wheels and all makes and models that look close to a heritage style
- Rico Trejo, Yellville Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-01-09 2015 Yamaha V-Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like the v-star 950. It handles very well and has enough power for comfortable long distance highway riding. Bought the bike in August and put about 5,500 miles on the bike. I can't wait for spring.
- Ronald Coleman, Western New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-11 2010 Yamaha Road Star S 1700 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike had some aftermarket parts to include pipes, air filter and PC5 but she doesn't run worth a crap took her back to the dealer and they replaced the fouled plugs and supposedly cleaned the air filter but the bike has less than 5000 miles on her so I am a little suspect on that. Never the less the bike is just not right and don't know what else to do. I spoke with the Dyno Jet folks several times and have tried everything they told me to do and to no avail still lunges backfires and looses power before quiting .
- James Walker, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-04 2006 Yamaha Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only had it for a month,it's ok very heavy and a little difficult at parking lot speed.ive owned big bikes before this ones different not sure if I'll keep it.
- Al, Fort dix n.j.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-20 1984 Yamaha VX1000 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
While the bike isn't fast or new it puts a smile on my face with its modified style and riding position and has more then enough torque to get me where i want to go!
- Devon Brown, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-12 2009 Yamaha fjr1300 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second one and love it. Agile when you want it to be and an all day tourer on the next. Very dependable, fast, smooth and comfortable.
- bob v, north east

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-02 2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
been riding the bike about 3 weeks. Only negative thing I can say is that I feel some vibration at speeds above 70 mph. Also, the stand footrests tend to scrape the pavement if you lean to much on turns.
- sal, Fontana, Calif

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-10-31 2011 Yamaha stratoliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
should have 6 speed tranny and a 6 gallon gas tank
- gene rands, cotton mn

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-08-19 2015 Yamaha V Star 1300 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love to ride this motorcycle. It has a GPS and Bluetooth system that works great.
- Mike, Redwood City

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-04-01 2010 Yamaha Raider s Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been on a lot of bikes over the yrs. I baught the raider just to have as a bare cruiser to go with my Victory XC bagger. I was amazed by this bike. My raider has a vance hines 2 into 1, cobra fi 2000 and bam air mod. So here we go: (1) Handles like a Vic Jackpot. Feels lighter than a HD sportster. (2) Holy torque! Who cares about a 6th gear. Most fun I've had on a bike. With very few mods this bike is a beast. (3) Looks amazing! Bikers ask what it is all the time. Test ride it and you'll be shocked (4) It's cheap to own. NEED I SAY MORE! Best foreign bike out there. I'll always have a vic bagger since I ride long distances but I'll also have a raider for fun. First review on a non-US cruiser ever and it deserves it
- Bruce, Ottawa, il

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-06 2014 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first impression of pictures of this monster was wow. But then I saw the beast in person and was in stunned silence; pictures cannot do justice. It is absolutely incredible & makes my heart palpitate every time I see it. And now that I actually own one, well lets just say, its my therapy. All the reviews on this are spot on especially regarding the raw power and handling. Even stock is just fine for me with no plans in the foreseeable future for any upgrades. I cannot get enough of riding on this machine; its man and machine at its finest. Very contented and satisfying experience that keeps rewarding with every twist of the throttle. I'm not much into speed, but as some have commented, this will get you up to speed effortlessly; the fastest I have gone on this is a little over 100 mph. I am more into torque which is the very reason why I acquired this bike; it has tons of it. The torque actually scared me on my first ride; but of course I got real used to it & love it.
- Anonymous, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-04 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The most powerful and smoothest bike I have ever ridden by far. Not many other bikes could keep up with it. I recommend getting 1.
- Anonymous, Barberton, OH

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-02-28 2010 Yamaha Stratoliner Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mama liked the 'couch rocket' (GL1800 Gold Wing) because it is so comfy. the Strat feels more like a motorcycle. picked it up two days ago so 100 miles is not enough... but I like it so far.
- Anonymous, Houston

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-01-07 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used. I am still getting to know it and I really like it. The power is outstanding, the handling is great (not what you'd expect from a bike this size). All in all, it's a very easy bike to ride. However, its small gas tank gives it short range between fuel stops. This could be good if you need a break to stretch your legs but it makes planning for fuel a must on long trips. The only other thing would be the addition of a sixth gear to help out with the mpg.
- HCB, C.C., Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: