yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (2,217)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Carol from Meridian, Mississippi says:

I went from a V Star 650 to the V Star 950 Tourer and love my new ride. I did have to buy the wind deflector for the forks as the wind came up ar

Read More (2217 reviews)

Have you owned a yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a V Star 650 to the V Star 950 Tourer and love my new ride. I did have to buy the wind deflector for the forks as the wind came up around the tank and hit me in the chest. Once those were installed all is great. I can't wait to get on the road.
- Carol, Meridian, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-11-10 2009 Yamaha XV650 Custom V-Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was the perfect upgrade as my second bike after getting my license. The bike is big but not overwhelming. Owned it now for almost two years and found it very satisfying. Bike handles well. Have had no major issues other than regular maintenance. Gas mileage is quite good and tank is huge so you can go a long time between fuelling. Did add a windshield for less turbulence on the highway. Does wind out a bit RPM wise on the highway but not unmanageable. Power is good most of the times. Sometimes looking for a non existent 6 th gear. Comfortable on longer trips. Lots of Chrome so if you want it to look good you’ll have to maintain it. I.e. requires lots of polishing and detailing for optimum aesthetics. Overall good value and reliability for the money.
- Dave Pretty, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-09-17 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2000 mm limited and I have enjoyed every minute on it . I have done some modifications on it and boy does it run now . I changed the carb, form a stock 40 mm to a 45 flat slide . I also had the heads ported by Patrick Racing. Then I installed 10.25-1 pistons , Vance and Hines longe shots and a Dayna tuner . I also own a 2009 road king ,guess witch one I’m selling that’s right the Harley . My Road Star is 21years old now and looks and runs like new !!!
- John m Smith, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-27 1985 Yamaha XJ700XN Maxim X Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Aa phenomenal. Machine genesis 5 valves of 90hp.they got their act together on point. Itss really does rev your heart. Its a blast from the past built to last aa nd very fast 0-100 in 3.3secondds. The style is very cool people who have owned this wisshh thhey hhaad it back. Its held its own aas it maintains its throne. Dont try to clone
- paul vonk, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-27 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love everything about this bike 1 best looking cruiser 2 belt drive can't be beat The 1300 has power up the wazoo 3 beautiful v twin sound 4 great price too 5 reliable always I could go on and on Thee best cruiser by far What more can u say Jim m.
- Jim Mason, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-26 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2007, Roadstar, had for 7 yrs now, take it out every chance I get. Has power, comfort, not too loud. Carburetor, wish it was fuel injected, still satisfied. Looking for a new one or get an Indian.
- Oliver Becenti, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-11 2009 Yamaha Raider Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had 3 Raiders, and was absolutely impressed with how well they worked, handling, performance and reliability. Never had an issue with them. The only thing that could have been better is the dual oil location. My current Raider is a 2009 with Vance and Hines 2 into 1 exhaust and power commander tuner. IT FLAT OUT FLIES. but still is very sedate when your just cruising around. Love the Raider.
- Randy Riehl, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-02 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this bike for a dozen years. nice and low. nice and wide. well balanced. 50 mpg. easy to handle. Said to be a great first bike or a ladies'ride. For me it was a re-entry to the motorcycle world. Hadn't had a bike for thirty years. see this link: https://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/a12889/4289328/
- thomas poelking, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-01 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What was supposed to be flipped I ended up keeping. I never even recalled seeing one before but it got my attention which isn’t easy after 28 years of riding. I’m also on the younger side too being 36 years old.. bought it from original owner with 8,700 miles with original front tire on it dating 04’..I purchased 4/21.reeking 4 month old stale ethanol gas I rode it 130 miles home..crazy, I think the top off fill helped. did a bunch of cleaning up. 3k miles on it since. Wife and kid love it.(which is why I bought it) I also have the 113 CI Vtwin Raider. The engine that they’re also using on the newer touring eluder. Etc. BUT I found this tour deluxe 1300 to be just perfect balance on power and fuel mileage for traveling despite carburetors.. They seem to perform great as they’re not used to the local gas station and back, these bikes crave long hours or distant miles more than 20.. it took me half a day to realize the tour deluxe didn’t disappoint me on power.. don’t know how it goes if heading up the mountains yet?? My Raider has a crappy mileage in town and a really raw attitude.. they’re both great on highways though. I couldn’t sell either ones for they both meet my needs differently lol. Adjust as to what fits you best and this bike will keep you fresh. Ride safe you all
- Patrick, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-07-05 2010 Yamaha VStar 950T Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it with 300 miles on it at the end of 2010 and have 80k on it now. Been a great bike. Dependable with normal maintenance. Definitely recommend buying one. Only complaint is stock passenger seat isn't comfortable.
- Jonny Dirks, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-06-29 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own two Yamaha cruisers, a '87 1300 Venture Royale (yes, with an E), which I bought the summer of '19 w/86k on it (all stock) which still runs like a champ..an incredibly smooth riding machine! One negative at least for me is, unlike the passenger who has floorboards, the driver has foot pegs instead, which makes a huge (comfort wise) blood circulation/leg muscle cramping difference, floorboards all around makes more sense on a cruiser. I bought my '07 1300 Midnight Venture late summer of '20 w/17k on it, runs like a beast. There are two negatives so far, one (unlike my '87) no passenger arm rests option, at least not that I can find, which I think is odd since it is a "2 up" cruising bike and the other is the trunk is way to shallow. I prefer full-face helmets but can only fit "half" helmets in it, unlike my '87 which easily fits two full-face helmets. As for riding/handling characteristics of either bike under various weather conditions, I cannot comment, I am a "fair weather rider". All-in-all..so far, both are awesome bikes!
- M. L., Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-06-17 2006 Yamaha Silverado Midnight Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used..a 2006 with the windshield..whitewalls..lots of high dollar accessories. It had been 30 years since I had a ride. Needless to say I had a learning curve. It's been 3 years now and it still wants to pull my hands off the grips from a standing start. Every time I mount this beast it blows my mind with its sheer torque and power. 102 cubes it rocks...and did I mention the paint is black lacquer with gold Metalflake from the factory?..simply stunning...I bought a short 1/4 blacked out short windshield or I can mount the stock clear full windshield for slow crusin..ornchanhe to a complete upper fairing lower fairings....so it can be any kind of bike I want it to be. Loweredinbtjebrear and mean looking no matter what's up front, heads turn and I'm sure most 9f them are guessing what steed I'm on. But the bottom line is it's fast...scary fast...yes even after 3 years it still makes my family jewels shrink before I hit 5th gear.I feel so lucky I came across this beast from someone without the appreciation of the perfect combination of style and performance. Oh...what a lucky man I am..
- Rick Taber, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-05-09 2006 Yamaha Roadstar Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike I bought used,customized and thoroughly enjoyed the trouble free miles i put on it over the 4 years I owned it. Deeply regret having to sell it due to health issues. Had my Yamaha dealer install a full Basani dual fishtail exhaust system and rejected the carb. Nice set of aftermarket leather bags. It sounded good,looked good and rose well. No complaints other than I miss it!
- James M, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-04-01 2003 Yamaha Roadstar Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own the 2003 yamaha roadstar silver edition. I own #108 out of 1600 that were built. The bike is comfortable for a stock machine. Reliable and is absolutly a head turner. I would put this up against any fatboy. My next add on is going to be a wind fairing.
- Henry Malet, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-02-28 2010 Yamaha VMAX VMX17 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamaha Vmax 1700 Gen2 is a great bike. After owning a 1985 Vmax I had to get the gen 2. This is the perfect muscle bike with many companies offering upgraded performance parts. I did a Nash Flash with a Arko mid pipe, K
- Dan, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-20 2005 Yamaha Roadstar Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Power, beauty, reliability, fun. That is what you get with this bike. I've always loved the Warrior and the other power cruisers. They are all great bikes. What makes me prefer the Warrior is the perfect combination of old school, air cooled V-twin with beautiful pushrods, and awesome sound, paired with new technology. With aftermarket pipes, this bike sounds just amazing.It's not to heavy, but is big comfortable, and stable. It pulls so strong, is impressive and puts a big smile in my face everytime I roll that throttle. It's fast, reliable, fun, and feels great. I've owned seceral cruisers, but the Warrior is the best of all. I do not recommend this bike as a first bike, because it's to powerful, so you need to know what you are doing, and respect this beast. No other power cruiser has the perfect Combination and character of the Warrior. I love all bikes, but the Warrior is really something extraordinary. The perfect combination of size, weight, power, and sound. I've waited years for mine and it's worth IT. I would like to ride a Yamaha Raider, because it should be different but awesome too.
- Ivan, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-09 2008 Yamaha Raider Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2008 Raider I purchased from a golf pro 2 years ago. This is an incredible bike that stole my interest. I was shopping for a muscle cruiser, I had just test drove a Harley Breakout and was going to suzuki dealer for M109 when I saw this red bike that look similar to breakout. I ended up test driving it. When I got back, grin on my face would not go away. Why haven't I seen or heard about this bike before.Amount of tourque this bike has nearly scared me at first. then as I drove it, I knew I had to have it. never made it to suzuki test drive. I ride this bike whenever temps are over 50 degrees. I am not a speed demon but, I love the way this bike gets me up to speed in a blink of an eye.I wish they had designed a tachometer on this bike. even though this is a cruiser and you don't really need a tach, i would have loved seeing that needle buried so fast in every gear. I have read a few reviews and some have said this bike is therapuetic. I agree 100 percent. When I have stress, a 15 minute ride does the trick for me. My riding group is around 8 bikes, (harleys, indians and triumphs) every time people come around to check out our bikes, they always end up asking me questions about the bike. some even ask if they could test drive. i have owned many bikes in my 56 years and 40 years of riding, this bike will always have special place in my heart.
- OZZIE, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-06 2009 Yamaha stratoliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2009 Stratoliner S that I have is very powerful, quick, comfortable, stylish, with agility. I have ridden motorcycles for 50 years and am 61 years old. The Stratoliner is the travel version of the roadliner. The only thing that I can think of that I would change about the Stratoliner is for the motorcycle to have increased breathing for the cooling system. It has an 1854 CC / 113.1 Ci engine that requires optimum cooling.
- stephen hiter, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-27 2005 Yamaha 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first heavy cruiser is like a big old truck. Good power to rear wheel and can pull out of 1st gear at idle speed ( like a big truck in 1st gear). Handling always suggest to (just Cruise at the posted speeds). Is capable of highway speeds with more to spare. The 1998 Yamaha 650 also I have preforms close to the 1100 and is very capable in the street and highway also! They are Not a dirt bike. Cross bike or sport bike . They have a quirky, fun and casual feel to them. Reminding me to Just Cruise and ( get there when You Get there). Whether taking a 100 mile trip or cruising around town it is reliable and casual! Outfitted with windscreen and saddlebags , it is a good fit for my riding style! Compared to larger Yamaha’s and other Brands of Cruisers, I am very satisfied with the Vstar 650 and 1100!
- Vince, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-25 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my 2009 Stratoliner S for nearly 10,000 miles of highway/city/country roads... The bike runs and performs very well. The finish, performance, and reliability are tops. The only problem I have had is that 1854 CC can get very hot especially in warm weather temperatures. I feel that the design did not take that into account. Other than that, the motorcycle is very attractive, runs extremely well, and has not given me one bit of trouble. The odometer currently is just past the 20,000 mark.
- swhiter1959, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-26 2015 Yamaha V-Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent all around Motorcycle handles fantastic extremely smooth and great on Highway and the back roads. Yamaha built quality looks fantastic and keeps up with the big Harleys and Indians. If you’re looking for an inexpensive capable cruiser look no further than the Yamaha V*950.
- Ron, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-27 2009 Yamaha V-Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this 2009 MC used for $3800. 2960 miles in seemingly perfect condition w/windshield (after-market), roll bars, padded passenger/sissy bar, everything else is factory. I've owned 3 previous 1100 cruisers. The 950 seems spunkier, easy to handle, smooth, and comfortable. Several reviews on YouTube, all of which laud this bike. Now, it's too dam hot to ride!
- rod.ruger, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-16 2015 Yamaha V-Star 950 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall very good bike for not a lot of money. Handles like it’s on rails and is extremely stable. Good power can do 85-90 miles per hour for the entire day (have done it several times) and the bike is still very stable at these speeds. The bike is pretty big a little bigger then an older model Harley Davidson Heritage Classic and heavy enough without being to heavy at 655 pounds. I traded my 2011 Yamaha V-Star 650 that I bough new in July of 2012 for a new 2015 V-Star 950 Tourer in August if 2017. I had put over 50,000 miles on my 650 and as of today I have 34,000 miles on my 950. Bottom line Yamaha makes very good motorcycles for not a lot of money and the Yamaha V-Star 950 is an outstanding all purpose motorcycle. In conclusion, it’s a reliable and very capable worlk-horse of a motorcycle.
- Ronald Coleman, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-31 1977 Yamaha XS400D Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 1977 Yamaha XS360D2 was the first bike I ever purchased back in 2004 at 16 with 2900 miles on the clock. The price was 550 from a local dealer in a small town in northeast iowa. It was pretty clear it needed carb work right from the start as most of this age will by now. It was the blue one with spoke wheels, front disc, kick starter, and points ignition. Aftermarket emgo megaphone mufflers were also fitted and were plenty quiet. I wish I had the jetting skills I have now because it seemed as though it could have been a very nice little bike. All I could do was clean the carbs back then and they were stupid lean even before I fitted foam filters. Starting was always hard. I would often run the battery down to nothing (probably weak to begin with) then continue with the kick starter until it popped off. I suspect the starter was just a bit too slow, or the idle circuit was just a bit too long (lets out way up on the top side of the carbs) also often resulting in stalls on takeoff. That said, it always idled nice once running and ran well with few flat spots besides the lean top end (my own fault). Because of this fuel economy was amazing at 60mpg+ but I often struggled to do 65. I still put over 6000 miles on it in one summer and always got compliments and questions wherever I went. When you're a kid on a metric bike from the seventies everyone notices. Handling was steady enough to enable full speed back road riding if I so desired, and at 17 and stupid I often did. The bike was also very light and I only dumped it once trying to do a u-turn on crushed rock. Ah, fond memories of learning hard lessons. I didn't get burned too bad and was actually able to lift it off my leg. The engine was a parallel twin with a 180 crank and no balancer, oddly enough. Top end was SOHC, 2 valves per cylinder and tappet type adjusters (no shims required). Something about the sound drove dogs completely mad. Weirdest thing I've ever seen and I've heard others say the same thing. Shifting was always smooth with the exception of a somewhat remote feel to the clutch. This again, could also have been down to poor maintenance (cables) but it made it a bit hard to find neutral sometimes. Suspension was also pretty soft but it mattered less to me back then. All in all it was a high quality, stable, tough, little bike that would have been dead easy to maintain. Had I been as handy back then, it would probably have been a good performer too.
- Mike S., North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-19 2014 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like Thor's hammer, Mjolnir; "in Norse mythology as one of the most fearsome and powerful weapons in existence" Yamaha Raider has a 'Thunderous' feel due in large part to its torque no doubt
- Jason, Central Washington State

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: