Yamaha Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (86)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Dennis from New Richmond, Wisconsin says:

I've owned bikes most of my life. Usually big CC Kawasaki's. I bought this bike for basic transportation. But in the first 10 months due to job circum

Read More (86 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned bikes most of my life. Usually big CC Kawasaki's. I bought this bike for basic transportation. But in the first 10 months due to job circumstances I've ridden this bike from Michigan to Miami (1550 miles) then 4 months later left Miami for Nogales, Az but took a tour through Mexico. In that trip I put 5,150 miles on it in 18 days. (3,300 in Mexico) I just love this bike! Is it fast? No! I never run this bike hard. That isn't what I bought it for. I usually cruse 50-60 MPH down the freeway and let people pass me. I've gotten as high as 93 MPG ridding 50-55 MPH with 50 lbs of lugagge on a rack in back) I get 80 MPG consistantly with 2 people on it. (GF 125 lbs) The secret to getting high gas mileage is to NEVER wind this bike out going through the gears. This bike has plenty of tourque and I ride it like an old woman going through the gears. With over 16,000 miles in 10 months, I feel this bike will run 50,000+ miles with no problems. Actually I want to see if I can get 100K out of it. If you're looking for a bike to go fast, then get a fast bike. If you're looking for a bike that's light, great handling, and GREAT on gas, this is it!! I've never enjoyed a bike more than this one. But, I'm 54 years old and not in any hurry any more.
- Dennis, New Richmond, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-10-23 2009 Yamaha XT250 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Two years and 2,000 miles later this bike is still running strong!! When I first purchased, I didn't like the way the taillight assembly sticks out so I purchased an LED taillight for a KLR from Amazon and mounted it up under the rear "visor" on the fender. It is protected by the luggage rack and the license plate is attached "vertically" to the rear fender. It looks so much cleaner now! I have trail ridden in Prescott Natl. Forest and in Payson, in all different terrain from rocks, dirt, sand and washboard roads. With its lightweight and centered seat position, it's very agile and maneuverable. It could use more power but it still performs nicely! It's very easy to load/unload in the bed of my truck. I have changed the oil and filter often and the mpg. is still the same. No complaints here!!
- Pipes, Peoria, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-07-29 2012 Yamaha WR250R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the most advanced 250 Enduro four stroke of all time. It's light weight, has great off road prowess, good manners on road and is OK on the freeway. I hit 98 mph. top speed. It has a great fit and finish and is a well thought out bike. However, it does have a huge price tag compared to the inferior competition. It's OK to pay more when you get more.
- MILAN JADE, SB, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-11-13 2008 Yamaha XT250 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you read a few reviews about this bike on the web, you'll keep reading the word "underrated." What does this mean? It means that no one who owns and rides this bike underrates it, only those who have not experienced the bike are underrating it. Furthermore, most of those people are unable to look much further than a bike's displacement when they "rate" one. I've been riding for 19 years, many of them off-road, but when I wanted a primarily-commuter bike for the big city, I did not want to be confined to the pavement. The turn angle caught my attention, the weight, the aluminum wheels, at the time the large disc brakes (front and rear), which now can be found on all the bikes in this bracket, a lightened crank...all of these point to a nimble bike that requires less power rather than providing more. The seat height is friendly to most riders (perfect for difficult, rocky trails and traffic lights)...and the riding position couldn't be more comfortable since it's really a "standard made to look like a dual-sport." A motorized mountain bike. The XT's air-cooled simplicity is another plus, since it doesn't require the extra power that you can get from a heavier water-cooled design. I've ridden the KLX250S alongside the XT and it's tall and clunky in comparison. The KLX provides more power, but it requires more as well so it doesn't have the spirited acceleration that the XT has. The grab handles on the back allow me to easily pick up the back end and swing it around to park it in a tight spot or spin it around on a trail. I should just write an entire article about this bike in order to give it a "proper" rating.
- ahilis, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-19 2012 Yamaha WR250R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a dual sport bike that is VERY capable off-road and still allow you to use it for your commute to work then this could be the one for you. If you are an experienced dirtbiker/racer then you may not be as happy with this bike. I wanted a bike to ride where my cruiser shouldn't go. I ride the WR to the trailheads and from there can take off on forest roads, Jeep and ATV doubletracks and occasional singletrack trails. NO problems! If I need to ride roads anywhere in between, no big deal, I'm street legal. I have short legs so the 36.5 inch seat height concerned me but this bike can be lowered up to an inch by turning a nut on the lower shackle of the rear suspension. It can be lowered even more with purchase of a "Yamalink". I found no need to change the factory setting as I quickly became used to the height. Typical road use gets me about 74 mpg. - off road closer to 55 mpg. It can easily be ridden at sustained speeds of 55-65 mph. (and more). The speedometer accuracy (reads too fast by approx 10%) is my only complaint so far but I mount a portable GPS unit on it for my "adventures" anyway so I get an accurate speed from it. Gotta go ride now...
- J, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-09 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very good all-around bike for anyone. I want to get a 450 engine put into it for a little more zip on the highway.
- honda guy in utah, salt lake, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-29 2009 Yamaha WR250R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this new in June, 2010 and have put on 7,500 km. since then. I use it for my daily commute and exploring on the weekends. It's very reliable--not a single issue (other than my own breakage). Despite the lack of a rack, I strap my Sea Eagle inflatable kayak on the back and hit some of the more remote, hard-to-reach lakes near here. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone considering a dual sport. It'll do 150 km./hr. top speed and climb most hills. My pet peeves are a small gas tank (7 litres), not terribly comfortable seat, and a rear turn signal that flops out when you look at it sideways. All in all, though, it's just plain fun.
- Chris Kempling, Kamloops

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-03 2010 Yamaha XT250 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for a few months now and love it more than my 2003 DR200. This bike is perfect to scoot around town. It rides excellent on the road at 40-50 mph. and is equally at home riding forest service roads. I actually prefer this bike to my Suzuki M50 for riding around town. It is much more nimble and has plenty of power for around town. I would like to add a rear rack and bags for carrying things back and forth to work. Other than that, this bike is perfect right off the show room floor. This would also make a great bike to learn on. It is light and easy to handle. I affectionately call it my mountain bike with a motor.
- Paul , Phoenix , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-22 2009 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is geared too low so I changed the rear sprocket. This bike is not for adults. It's just too slow on the road. I put a Maxxis ATV tire on the rear and a Dunlop 606 tire on the front. It now goes great through sand and snow. Get the DRZ400SM or the DRZ 400S! I've also had the DR650 and the KLR650 but they're both too heavy for going off road. The DRZ400 is perfectly balanced for on and off road with the right amount of power. don't buy the TW200.
- Jvalkanet, Gurnee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-12 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The lil' XT is a great dualie as a commuter/off road bike (not highway or rush traffic, mine will do 74 mph. but I weigh 210 pounds). The bike has a nice low seat position (I have a 30" inseam and I can touch both feet on the ground with some to spare). The 6th gear is great on level grounds (but is very tall and will pull it down on inclines). It has electric start (you can get a kick start for this bike for about $130, but it is extremely cold natured). You can take twisties with ease (with the right tires). The bike is a ton of fun to ride even though acceleration is slow (about 8 seconds 0-60 on tarmac and very sluggish after 60). With all that said, this is an excellent bike, and I couldn't imagine not having it (my pure street bike is a CB750). Bear in mind that it's not a KLR650, it is a 225. If you don't hit interstates or have to maintain 55 or higher going up mountains, and you are inseam impaired, this is an excelent lil' dualie. Off road there aren't any complaints. In fact it's light weight and its manuverability are why I bought it in the first place, but soon realized I was driving it more than the CB750 on the street as well. I highly recomend this little bike to anyone.
- Dwayne H., Milledgeville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-29 2008 Yamaha XT250 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to be an in-town commuter. Even though this may not have been Yamaha's primary intention for this bike, I have been very impressed with how well it performs on-road. The bike's strengths: light weight/compact design, maneuverability, and fuel economy are what made me choose it initially. However, I did not count on how fun this bike is to ride! There is plenty of power for in-town and even highway traffic. The fantastic ground clearance and dirt bike design mean you can find parking spaces literally anywhere. If I have one complaint it is the stock tires are truly terrible, which is why I took away a star for performance and comfort. I recently upgraded to more street-oriented enduro tires, so hopefully will be giving those stars back soon enough!
- John W., Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-05 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought mine (06) this weekend and it's about 40 degrees out. I've got to admit that these little 4-strokes are a pain to crank. It's taking about 30 seconds on the starter, when they're cold. I expect to choke it in cold weather for at least five minutes. So far in the past two days I've put 80 miles on this bike. After it's warmed up, it starts right up really quick, with just a bump on the starter. I've found it has ample power, but in 6th with my big butt on it, it struggles climbing inclines. But that's fine and was expected for a little 17 hp., 225. I'm short legged so it was a tossup between this and a DR200SE, and I'm proud I bought this one. Riding through the woods and logging roads this little bike shines. It has plenty of power for those 30-foot, 30-degree inclines and great clearance for riding over downed trees. The seat is a little hard for a dual sport, but I guess that's because it's staying true to its dirt bike heritage. On tarmac it corners very well, even with the New Pirelli Scorpions, which grips extremely well in sand and leaves - not so well in realy slick mud and clay since they clog easily. If it was warmer out I would trust the starting on this bike a lot more, but right now it's too cold for riding this bike anyways. I just got a good winter deal saving a lot of $$$. As far as quality,this engine has been around for a while and is considered to be bulletproof, with quick easy shim-less valve adjustments, and just all around foolproof. The tranny shifts great but at times it's hard to get that 1/2 shift into neutral. That could just be me. It's a Yamaha and it would be hard to beat if you're vertically inclined, and want quality, and durability in an easy to fit package.
- Dwayne, Gordon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-03 2010 Yamaha XT250 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Yamaha fits my riding style and comfort perfectly! The dealership was great to work with on a new 2009 that they had in stock. They gave me a fair price, answered all of my questions, and went out of their way to make sure I was happy before the sale, and after. This dual sport bike does everything it should and with enthusiasm. After comparing with the Kawasaki KLX250S and the Honda CRF 230L, which they had in stock, the right fit was the Yamaha, and I couldn't be more pleased. In the first 200 miles and following the "Break-in" procedures, I have been on the street, short freeway runs, and on some light off road trails, and the bike has excelled in each area. The 250cc engine is plenty of power, coupled with the light weight of the bike, make it user friendly in any conditions. The bike is made to last, typical Yamaha, with great styling as well. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a true, dual-purpose motorcycle.
- Robert Nichol, Norco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-07 2009 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second TW 200. I have owned many motorcycles over the years, but none as enjoyable or versatile as this one. One of the most comfortable seats and riding positions I've ever enjoyed. You can ride at 60 mph for hours at a time in relative comfort. It cannot be stopped when going off-road either. It will climb straight up the side of almost any hill and it is almost impossible to get stuck in the mud (but if you do it is easy to pull out because of the low seat height and light weight). This is a great bike for a beginner and capable enough for the experienced rider.
- Jeff, Johnson City, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-30 2001 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike about 2 months ago and it has some road miles but its in better shape than most new bikes I see. It's in very mint condition. It's altogether a fun bike. You can walk it basically on crazy trails, and at the same time get on a road or highway with ease. I've heard its top speed is 60mph. that's bullcrap, I've had my 2001 at about 70-75 on roads. I usually ride on the trails around here at about 40-45.
- sLaTeR420, Iron-hood, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-29 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my XT225 for almost 2 years. I have been riding for over 35 years and did a lot of research when I purchased this motorcycle. I wanted a trail capable machine that was highway legal, light and reliable. The XT225 is all of these things. Other than oil changes and one new spark plug, this motorcycle has required no maintenance. I use it to commute within town and it always delivers at least 75 MPG. This is not a machine for someone that wants to ride 70+ MPH. This is a motorcycle that is excellent in tough trail conditions with a close ratio 6 speed transmission with plenty of torque. It has pulled my middle aged overweight carcass over some incredibly tough terrain here in eastern Oregon. If you are looking for a motorcycle to ride the backroads, offroad, and 60 MPH or less commuting, this is your machine. Do not be put off by the 223cc displacement. The XT225 has been used by tourers all over the world and has been used on some incredible cross continent trips.
- inuvik, Hines, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-22 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike up pretty much new from a local mom and pop bike shop. It only had 700 miles on it and it was affordable, so I couldn't resist. I never had a motorcycle before and the owner said it was a good beginner bike. After riding it home, I agree with him. This bike is soooooo cool and handles excellently! Last weekend I took it up to my cottage and it handles even better off road. I always tell my friends it's a street legal dirt bike with some motorcycle mixed in, and that's exactly what is. You also have plenty of room on the seat. It fits two people perfectly and the shocks absorb EVERYTHING! My neighbor who has three motorcycles and even more up at his cabin is even a little jealous. When my dad (I'm 18 and still living at home) called my mom at work to see if it was okay with her to buy it, we stepped away from the bike for a second and another customer walked in and started eyeing up the bike. So right then and there I put a down payment on it before my mom picked up her work phone. So if you see one of these wonderful bikes on sale, grab it then and there! You will never be sorry with these bikes. They also hold their value VERY well!
- Scorpia, Green bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-27 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It runs smooth, is easy to handle and looks great. This bike gets great gas mileage. It doesn't hurt the wallet when you fill it up. I put a luggage rack on the back just to carry light loads.
- Timothy J Dryer, Chandler, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-05 1999 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is actually the first bike I have ever ridden. So light and easy to ride. I wanted something to save me money going to and from work 10 miles instead of my big truck. $4 a week in gas instead of $70. It is not a big bike but it will get up and move. I have hit 75 on the highway and it is right at home on the street or in the dirt. Great starter bike.
- Fletch, St. Charles, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-02 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey I love these bikes so much I bought two of them two months apart one for me and the other for my son to run around on his Army base with. Traded in my 2005 Yamaha FZ-6 with only 3018 miles on it for the last one key for key. It's just to hard to ride a fast bike slow and a slow bike fast, so now I got the best of both worlds, plus a good off roader to boot! My insurance is only $76 bucks a year on the two of them, and with the gas price of three bucks a pop, the 70 to 80 miles a gallon I'm getting is great, and I go about 22 miles a day to work one way, at around 75 miles and hour, and the cops don't even look at you. They stopped me all the time on the 600. So if you're looking for the very best all around bike stop looking and get this one!
- Dave, Wills Point, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-06 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have a 2003 that is still going. Recently got a job closer to home and now commute with this bike. It gets 70 to 85 MPG depending on how far I go with it. It can walk away from most cagers without a doubt. I wish they made a 500 version so that I could take my wife with me on rides. The 225 is a bit too small for two-up riding, but is great solo!
- Speed, Leesburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2005 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted one for years. Finally broke down and got one and there's nothing about it I don't like. A good Yamaha dealer will stand behind their product, I know because I work at one. And, in this neck of the woods, you have to be good to your customers or you will go out of business.
- Dale, Juneau, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-19 2007 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the bike 4 weeks ago. I got the 2006 for the color all blue. So far she rides like the wind. The dealer said it would go about 70mph; they are wrong, I got it up to 95mph. The bike is too light to keep that speed but it's nice to know you can wail on it. I will use my racing bike for that speed. It rides great for the street and dirt. I tried both - it's just fun and it feels great. The best thing I like is it's not tall like an off street dirt bike. Oh buy the way, it was new.
- Kirk simon, bellmore, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-08 2006 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got this bike basically to play with it. It's street legal and a great trail bike. It also turns heads because it's different. Big tires makes it handle great off-road and equally great on the street. The bike comes with a stock 50 tooth sprocket in the rear which makes it rev high at 55mph. I changed mine to a 45 tooth sprocket and it's a lot better. I have been to the freeway with it for short runs (10 miles or less). With the 45 tooth, it tops out at 70mph. I will recommend this bike to everybody especially shorter riders for it sits low to the ground and center of gravity is low. There is a tw forum (yamaha tw200 forum) that has endless info on this bike.... I hope this review helps.
- ken godinez, bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-10 2006 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first road bike after several dirt bikes. This little boy is fun. It pulls my fat butt around w/o problems. I love that I can just turn off the road and follow a trail or railroad tracks ... great for short runs around town ... but not a bike for highway driving ...
- Fred Fein, Loveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: