Yamaha FJ1200S Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FJ1200S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FJ1200S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-08-15 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 90 FJ with 32,000 miles on the clock (aug 2001). After much research, the bike performs as expected, which is to say very well. Comfortable, great power band, and appears "bullet proof". It has a Vance and Hines 4 into 1, with K & N filters. The bikes cruises the open road with little or no effort with 2 up riding. I agree with others, it could in fact use a 6th gear on the interstate. I plan on keeping it for several years, and would even purchase another one (ie "cherry condition") with no hesitation.
- male RN, aiken, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-25 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike second handed, I figured I would keep it until July and then sell it and make a buck or two. Well it dropped a cylinder so I went with the rebuild, bored out to an 1188cc. Stage 3 K&N jet kit with filters, ape pressure plate, Vance & Hines header and exhaust, wow !!!!!!!!! The bike won fastest street bike in 1985 I know why. I decided to take the bike to the street bike nationals after 5 runs my best time was 11:16@131mph. I took this same bike around Lake Erie in 3 days awesome no discomfort at all. The bike is now up for sale, I have over 3700.00 invested and asking 3500.00 or best so if you are interested please contact me, this is an awesome bike, the best all arounder you can find.440-985-3853 ask for Gary p.s. I only have 9000 miles on the complete rebuild, new pistons, head, ECT...NO SHORT CUTS TAKEN,THANK YOU GARY HANES
- gary hanes, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-14 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After spending years chasing the "latest and greatest" (the most recent were a ZX6R and TL-1000S), the state of my personal finances had me looking for the best choice in used. Along came the FJ and I've been hooked. Likely the most comfortable ride ever, for me. No, not the best choice for track day, althought the sparks coming off the centerstand are a hoot. Seriously, a great perch, still powerful even by today's standards as well as being reliable as an anvil. Rode from the WA/Canada border to Sacramento in 15 hours, could've kept going!
- HLJjr, Elk Grove, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last spring I bought an FJ1200. It came with Avon tires that were in need of replacement. After fitting it with Metzler MEZ2 tires and a stage 3 K&N filter and jet kit I put about 3K on it over the summer. I mounted free flow dual mufflers that give a nice tone to the engine. Other than slight clutch slip when the engine is cold I love it. I like the weight and ride quality and the handling is plenty good for the type of sport touring I do. The only cosmetic change has been repainting the upper fairing and changing the scoops to red. Next spring I have planned a longer trip on it and I will mount hard bags before I go. I have had no problems with it other than a broken headlight adjuster. It is fast, reliable, handles well and is very comfortable. The tank is large enough for longer runs between gas stops. I see it as a very beautiful motorcycle and plan to keep it for a long time.
- Walter Sorensen, Beldenville, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-28 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually have a 1985 FJ1100, but there wasn't such a model to pick. I have had my bike since 1988. It is a great bike, very comfortable end very reliable. I have never had any problems. It is an older bike, but it is still a gorgeous machine with loads of power. The only negative point is that it should have had a sixth gear!!
- Anonymous, Irvine, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-27 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased an 86 FJ1200 with a Vance and Hines Exhaust and I love it. I have a Corbin seat which is much more comfortable than stock. The performance is right and so is the comfort. I could ride this bike at ninety all day.
- Michael Grote, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-22 1986 Yamaha FJ1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned one now since new. It has been a very dependable comfortable bike. It produces very good power over a very broad rpm range. Although not as sharp a handler or as light as the current crop of large displacement bikes it will provide you with a great ride. I own 4 other bikes including a 2000 Triumph 955i and I still enjoy riding this machine.
- Anonymous, Honey Brook, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: