Yamaha FJR1300A Motorcycles Reviews (37)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FJR1300A Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FJR1300A Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-10-28 2013 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
don't know how I am the only one here with a review of the FJR1300 since 2009 but this bike is quite the sport tourer. Sadly, I haven't logged many miles since I only got it this season but it just rocks. Coming from an '09 FZ6, this bike has gobs of power in all five gears. It has smooth power, yet pulls. My only gripes with this bike are the sheer weight of this beast and the handlebar setup. Nothing to do about the weight but a relatively cheap pair of risers brought the bars up nicely and make it more comfortable for sure. Trying to get used to moving this beast around my garage is no small feat. I just ordered the park and move dolly to help with that.
- S.D.Willie, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-24 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike three years now and am closing in on 40k miles. I've had several long road trips with many 700+ mile days, including a 4,200 mile trip through British Columbia, down the Pacific coast to So. Cal and back to Colorado. The bike is dependable, fast, light, comfortable, cheap to own, easy to maintain, fuel efficient and fun to ride one or two up. I'm taking my honey on a jaunt to Mt. Rushmore and the Badlands this weekend and know it'll perform flawlessly. I've considered other touring bikes like the Victory CCT, but that bike's size and crappy gas mileage make me realize I already have the best bike for my riding style. I fully expect to reach 100k on this ride.
- Gary Smith, littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-03 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one class act. FJR - best bike for the money. I have put 8k miles on mine since I bought it and have enjoyed every mile whether it's the beat back and forth to work or a weekend outing. Once again, Yamaha sets the mark.
- James Lowry, Atlanta, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-11 2009 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new in March '09. I put on 19K miles the first year. I live at the base of two mountain ranges (San Gregornio and San Jacinto). It keeps up with most of the sport bikes no problem. It handles extremely well in the twists and turns but is very stable on the interstates. I normally have to hop off every couple of hours to stretch the legs but it is very comfortable on long rides. 600+ miles a day is no problem (that's about 2 tank fulls). You will make no friends with the Harley crowd as you cruise past them in quiet comfort. The only problem is front fork bushings, covered under warranty. I talked to a motor cop who rides an '06 for fun (when he is not on a Honda) and he experienced the same issue. It might be coincidence but worth keeping an eye on the front tire for cupping. As previously mentioned, there is no helmet lock but the helmet fit easily in the side bags (which hold a lot and are very easy to operate/remove). I only wish I could ride it all the time.
- Peter, Redlands, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-15 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many bikes and I bought this one new a few years ago. Ninety percent of my riding is 2-up with my wife. The riding position is still a little too far leaning forward even with the risers. I plan on adding a Heli triple clamp this year. The stock BT-021 tires didn't last very long and caused a steering shimmy on decel after some wear. After two sets I now have Roadsmarts. I get 39-45 mpg. The foot pegs are a little low and drag frequently when mountain riding. Other than the ignition switch recall and the ECM replacement per TSB to fix an altitude surge it has had no other problems. Yes, the bike is not light. But it is smooth in the twisty turns with lots of smooth power and almost stalker quiet. We love this bike.
- Steve, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-15 2009 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a brand new 2009 FJR in early May 2010. I just don't like silver (= 2010). I'm giving it 4 stars only because I don't have a lot of experience beyond cruisers. There must be some things that could be better that I don't know about. I can't believe how I have fallen in love with this bike so fast! Never would have expected it. It's FAST, nimble. Aside from just handling like it could out-maneuver a pending accident, its got ABS which I was wanting badly. It's fun, and as fast as I'll ever need a bike to be, and comfortable on long trips. I did a weekend tour in PA (800 miles or so all of which was before full break-in). I've also ridden to Manhattan and Westchester, NY (from VA). Comfort was not an issue. Oh - buy a big tank bag and you can lean your head on it under the adjustable windshield (at full height) for an almost silent ride (except for the soft hum of the engine). Downsides: On a hot day, sitting in traffic! You just want to get off of it at traffic lights it runs so freakin hot. Also - why no helmet lock? That said, I paid cash for the bike and don't miss the money (like I expected I would).
- Bob Barry, Reston, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-09 2009 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A few years ago I owned an 07 AE and didn't like the automatic. I ended up trading it of for another bike. Last September, I was in a dealership and decided to test ride an 09 FJR1300A. Loved it. Rode to Minneapolis and back the second week I owned it. Great ride. Super smooth with nice power. The best of all touring bikes due to size, weight and balance. The only complaint I have is the seat. I ordered the gel seat from Yamaha but after three hours on the road it is just as brutal as the original seat. Ended up buying a Day Long seat.
- G Vail, Springdale, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-05 2009 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 09 FJR in June of 09 and have logged more than 4,400 miles on it. This is a comfortable bike as soon as you take a break every 2-3 hours. The performance of this bike is outatanding. It has very strong accelaration and braking. I pushed this thing up to 130 MPH on hwy 50 in Nevada one time and it remained extremely stable. My bike did have a minor problem with the front wheel bearing since new but the dealer fixed it with no charge 3 months ago. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a touring bike at a very affordable and reasonable price.
- ElkGroveSam, Elk Grove, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-16 2009 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased an 08 FJR with 850 miles on it. Took it in for an inspection and it received a clean bill of health. That was in April of this year.(2009) I had not ridden a bike for more than 34 years. I joined a group and to date (09/09) I have more than 19K on the clock. With no problems at all, it has been a wonderful machine. The bike has performed as expected or better in every way. I did a great deal of research on-line before making the purchase and I am Very Very Happy with this great machine. My average ride is 550 to 650 miles per day with more than 700 miles per day on more than one occasion. Twelve to fourteen hours ridding time per day is not unusual. No issues at all.
- Jim Carroll, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-07 2008 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my FJR for over a year now. First, I'd like to say that it is the best motorcycle I've ever owned. I've been riding motorcycles for over 30 years. It does so many things well, but not everything quite perfect. It has been reliable, and it is relatively comfortable. For example, it is very fast, handles very well, but you can ride it for several hours without fatigue, unlike pure sport bikes, because of obvious ergonomic reasons. Saddlebags are great. Adjustable windscreen is fantastic. I upgraded mine to the larger touring size which gives even more cold weather protection. I love the centerstand too. The oil filter location is pure genius and makes changing simple, as it should. On the downside, this is without question the worst fuel injected motorcycle I have ever ridden. It needs sync adjustments appx every 4000mi. I've had to do it twice so far, and it is ready for the third adjustment as I approach 8000mi. The engine is not smooth as some of the Honda's I've owned, and tends to surge as you approach the need for Fuel Injector adjustment. Another downside to this bike is the amount of throttle pull required. I had to buy a throttle lock in order to ride this bike for more than 30 minutes. I never had this problem on any other bike I owned. The pull required fatigues the wrist. The final downsides are the sheer weight of this machine. It is a tank, and a crappy sidestand. Thank god for the centerstand, as now that is all I really use to park the bike safe and secure. The kickstand released twice. And picking the breast up is a challenge. Fortunately not a scratch on anything! But as stated, overall this is an excellent machine for 3-4hr cruises. The bike is very fast, comfortable, and corners well. It does eat through front tires because of its massive girth. I've had to replace the front at about 4500mi, and I'm close to having to replace it again. I'm still on the original rear tie, which is holding up fine. I'd recommend getting a Throttlemeister throttle lock. There are some mods for the throttle springs, but I just use the throttle lock for wrist comfort. Also I purchased the rear trunk and use that as a backrest for the wife. She enjoys cruising on it and reports that it is the most comfortable bike we have ridden on.
- J Nicholas, Montgomery, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-20 2008 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Previously owned first generation Connie. Connie was great. FJR is better. Smooth and plenty of power. Most people change windshield and seat.
- allen lee, bluffton, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-29 2009 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my first fjr1300 used. It was a 2003 model. I did a lot of research and compared bikes like the Honda ST1300 and several BMW's to the FJR. The combination of power, features, handling, and looks along with luggage capacity and value easily made the FJR1300 the logical choice in a group of very fine bikes. As sport touring bikes go...the FJR has loads of power, sportbike like handling, and all day comfort. (Although an aftermarket seat will go a long way towards better comfort).
- Antone, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-15 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great sport touring bike, it does everything well - both sport and touring. Its strong points are: great looking, powerful, great handling, great OEM sounds from the engine and the exhaust, complete dashboard instrumentation. Its weak point is some engine vibration at higher rpm's, not a big problem, but some tingling.
- Ron, Beaumont, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-02 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You cannot find a better blend of performance, reliability and comfort for the money. The first bike I've owned that my wife said was comfortable. Seats are a little high for my height, but that's the trade-off I was willing to make to get a FAST long-hauler.
- Mike Todryk, rockford

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-31 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For years I lusted after the FJR1300 but settled for something less costly. That was a big mistake because I was missing the best riding and handling bike I ever rode. This bike is great in the city, on a country road or the interstates. Traveling at 75 mph is easy and putting many miles in a short amount of time is a cinch! Additionally, my wife also likes this bike and has helped me to do some traveling and put miles on the odometer. I highly recommend this bike.
- Joe, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second FJR. I bought the 2005 used with 5,000 miles. I lucked out and found a new 2006 in June of 2007 and snapped it up! Just the fact that this is my second one should speak volumes. Every bike has issues. These are the issues I will be working on with this rocket. 1.) The throttle is a jerk. I like to gas it the second half of curves and with this bike, you have to work at it to get it smooth. 2.) The seat sucks after about 100-200 miles. Are there many stock seats out there that actually do not suck after a good ride? I will be putting a Corbin modular seating setup on it. Also, the seat wobbles if you set it to the upper level. 3.) The windshield could be harder (less flexible). If it was the same thickness material as most, it would not flex so much. The group I ride with all have differnets makes of bikes: BMW, Suzuki & Honda. This Yamaha FJR1300 is second to none of them. This bike loves to take trips. It eats Harleys for a snack and dines on most others for meals. You can treat it like a crotch rocket and it begs for more. If you can only have one bike, this is the one!
- Andrew Bauer, Copley, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-28 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This rocket is not for beginners. After 8,335 miles and 13 months of ownership, I'm pleased enough to keep it, and I think it is an outstanding bike for me, but that does not mean I recommend it for you. My previous bikes are a Honda Magna VF750 and a VTX1300C. The electric shift & auto clutch system is the wave of the future - available now. If you are old school, and there's nothing wrong with that, you probably will not like it. It takes completely new and different shift/throttle/brake techniques to take full advantage of it's maximum performance potential. Whereas using standard clutch, throttle, and foot-shift skills & habits learned from years of riding will make it hard to change. Overall high points: Prodigous power, exceptionally good ABS braking, high-speed Interstate riding stability and comfort, and the lack of handling quirks. Reliability has been excellent, with no repairs or problems of any kind outside of 600, 4,000, and 8,000 mile maintenance service. Weakness: 680 lb. weight, making it hard to horse around power-off. Would I buy it again? Yes. Now, if you are looking for a comparason to the new Connie-14, the 3rd generation FJR has a larger fuel tank, better fuel consumption mileage (44MPG) and thus greater range, but only 11 less HP. Plus it has dual exhaust, slightly larger bags, better fit and finish, better styling, everthing else being equal except for the heat. Initial reviews of the Concours-14 in mildly cool northern California weather did not expose the HEAT that this engine generates in warm weather above 85 degrees. The latest FJR has tamed this problem but only after the 3rd generation model. So before you buy, try to ride both bikes on a HOT day.
- hornet224, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-09 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an 06 Roadliner and while a great cruiser was frustrated with its highway performance. Also, my other bike is a Honda Interceptor so I liked the speed and flickability and wanted something that combined both while offering greater comfort and practicality. Enter FJR. The bike is, in a word, incredible. I can spin her up to almost 90 within break-in guidelines (keep her under 4500 rpm). She runs like a freight train and is rock-steady stable. Absolute comfort on the highway. Love the power port and glove box, full gorgeous instrumentation and electric windshield. Also love the shaft drive, standard ABS and huge very-well-integrated hard bags. Looks good with them on or off. Also the adjustable suspension and twin exhaust cans. Awesome. Twisties are not quite as easy-going as the Interceptor, but darn stable and user-friendly for a big bike (big comapred to the Interceptor). My only gripes - the throttle spring is tight which puts your hand to sleep in 10 minutes - this bike should have the cruise control system on the Royal Star. Also the bike is almost too pretty and gets scratched just by looking at the gorgeous black cherry paint - especially on those bags! I was initially concerned with only having 5 gears to choose from, but they are very well-spaced and there's plenty of power to push you to whatever speed you want whenever you want it...
- Michael A, Franklin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-02 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the '07 back in March, and I am liking the bike. Plenty of speed, good performance and a smooth ride and no heat issues so far.
- BW, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This FJR 1300A is my first bike in over 12 years. I originally wanted a sport bike, but was more comfortable with a cruiser. I decided to get both in this bike. This bike is so so so easy to ride. It has massive power in all gears at all RPMs. I have wound it through tight corners.... been awhile so it was nice to have the stability this bike offers. I have been in bumper to bumper traffic. I have no issues with it, lots of fun. Has a great WOW! factor with co-workers, etc. Best bike I could have chosen, very pleased!
- Rob Race, Stone Mountain, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The FJR1300A is a motorcycle that can do it all. Want to tour with detachable hardcase luggage, a large fuel tank, adjustable on the fly windscreen, adjustable seat, and more power than most of us will need? Or, do you want to ride like you're on a pure sportbike? Push the FJ on a twisty road and you will be surprised how quickly you will forget there's hard luggage attached. The FJ feels lighter in the corners than it is and is very stable. Once you set the suspension, which has rebound and compression settings, as well as the rear shock having a quick preload, you can ride the FJ like a R1 and truly have the best of both worlds...
- joe parr , eagle, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-18 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fantastic bike. This bike has incredible power and torque and pulls like a truck at all speeds! The fuel economy has been much better than I thought it would be as I am now averaging around 48mpg while running on the freeway 70-75mph. It is a fairly light and nimble bike so it handles quite well. My wife and I are planning quite a few trips in the future on this bike!
- Sovereign, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-13 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After spending over a year in research, I picked the FJR because it had all the desired features (shaft drive, power, ABS, hard luggage that holds a full-face helmet, power point) and was less expensive than any of the full-featured alternatives. Professional reviewers also picked the FJR over or tied with the closest competitor - BMWK1200GT - which costs much more. After the two stages of break-in, I'm happy to report that the reviews were accurate and that the performance is as billed and beyond my expectations for any sport tourer. Kawasaki's new Concours will make more power, but it's hard to imagine even riding the FJR to its power limits. The brakes are smooth and strong, the handling is stable and as nimble as a smaller bike, and the ergos and comfort are superb. My only criticisms are that the engine feels more like an electric engine, the polar opposite of my rorty Ducati Monster 750, and that the aesthetics of the front are not up to the gorgeous profile - which is generic UJM with slightly crossed eyes. Also note that until I wrapped the throttle in bicycle handlebar tape the vibration would put my hand to sleep in 15 minutes. Niggles aside, if you're going long distances and you enjoy twisties and speed as well, this is the top of the line.
- Geoff B, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-11 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many bikes and always modified them for performance. This time I don't need to. It was hard to find a road to really break in this bike. In the first 15 miles she briefly cruised up to a paltry 115 mph. After 480 miles I finally took it over 6000 rpm, I took second gear up to 7000 rpm. It doesn't redline until 9000 rpm. At 7000 in second gear I was doing a hair over 70mph. Sweet. What do you think it will do at 9000 rpm in each gear? The first 300 miles I put on it were riding from St. George, UT to Park City, UT (home). It was the most comfortable ride I've had. When you duck down under the windscreen it is virtually silent! I also like how the bike feels at different speeds. It feels smaller and lighter at low speeds, but feels heavier at high speed so it tracks well and isn't blown about.
- Rob Smith, Park City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Who would have ever thought that you could have a nice touring bike with the power of a crotch rocket? This bike is it! I remember all of my friends trying to scare me to death about the size of the bike. But when I finally picked it up and rode off to the eastside of Cleveland, it was as gentle as a lamb. But after I broke it in, all hell broke loose! I really felt like I was in a jet fighter! It was an unbelievable ride. The adjustable shield is a blessing in disguise. It really comes in handy when you just want to enjoy the scenery without the extra wind in your face. Although I still have some tests to take it through, I know this is a bike I will have a for quite a long time. I've recommended this bike to anyone that wants speed but wants to travel.
- James Bellanca, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: