Yamaha FJR1300AE Motorcycles Reviews (13)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FJR1300AE Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FJR1300AE Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-07-15 2007 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I replaced my VRod with the FJR 1300 AE. Rider comfort is the biggest gain for me, but I do love the ABS brakes and the futuristic styling and the body fairing. With the added trunk, it is an awesome touring bike. You can ride this bike in a rainstorm and not worry about it. Remove the side suitcases and trunk, you have a beautiful sport bike. Open it up on the freeway, tuck in behind the windscreen and marvel at the little Japanese 4 cylinder purring under your legs. If you've ridden a cruiser for a while and know something's just not quite as good as it could be, try the FJR 1300 AE .
- kim allman, Springville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-12 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used in 2008. It had less than 2000 miles. I ride this thing everyday to work and home so it is a real workhorse. It is one fast, smart and futuristic bike. It's got tons of power, lots of electronics, ABS, an electric adjustable windshield, electronicly controlled fuel injection, heated grips, and ABS. It's got so many suspension adjustments front and rear that I have to consult the owners manual. Pros: Set to soft, the suspension soaks up those superslab commuter miles with comfort, and on weekends it can be set to run twistys with grace. It rockets up to speed. It stores tons of stuff in the hardbags, it stores even more with the additional rear top box. The electric clutch means you shift fast without letting off the throttle. The ABS equipped brakes stop you fast, even when it is raining hard. It's comfortable on long trips and there is enough gas and gas mileage to ride for 200 miles. Cons: All that motor and a filled gas tank means that this thing is not only heavy, but it's also top heavy. Then there is the seat height: too tall for my 29 inch legs. As this thing comes from the factory, short guys like me find it way too easy to drop... and I have dropped it a few times. So I bought a pair of Soupy's Performance adjustable lowering links which allow me to take an inch or more off the seat height. I also had the front end triple clamps lowered by half an inch. But this is still a top heavy bike, and not so easy to muscle around the garage or a parking lot. Beware.
- DougA, Springfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-09 2007 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden cruisers for years and didn't realize what I was missing! The electric clutch was a little tricky for me at first, but once I got used to it I loved it. This bike handles like nothing I have ever ridden! What an awesome machine. The power is incredible, and the handling superb! If you want a super sport tourer, this is the one!
- Randy Watkins, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-17 2007 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike. It rides and shifts smoothly. It is very powerful and extremely responsive. It's very well balanced and handles great in turns. I was skeptical about the electric shift at first but one test ride sold me. This is a must test ride if you are shopping for a sport touring bike.
- Brian Mountain, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-19 2007 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride the FJR as an alternative to my Stratoliner. I mainly ride the FRJ in the curvy mountain roads in Ventura County. At first I found the AE difficult to handle. At the higher elevations the engine balked. Once I found the right RPM, the FJR is awesome. Keep the revs above 4000 and you can take the curves and hills with ease. I find the handling for a sport tourer equal to my Kawasaki Concours 14. Excellent gas mileage on regular gas at around 43 combined and over 50 on the freeways. For older riders this is an ideal motorcycle.
- Bob, Moorpark, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-09 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I couldn't have asked for a better bike to ride. Handling and performance are unreal. Power is in your right hand when needed. This is the first street/touring bike I have ever owned and it is a thrill to get on the FJR every time to ride. I just made a trip from Port Angeles, WA. to Houston, TX. and had the ride of my life. I went 2700 miles in 3-1/2 days. I was in the saddle 650-700 miles per day. The ease of cruising @ 80-85 MPH on the FJR at 4-4500 RPM with plenty more on the throttle, and the response of the bike at that speed was excellent. Fuel consumption for the whole trip was around 45 MP/Gal using Unleaded Reg the whole trip. Getting on the freeway from the on-ramp I was over the speed limit in most cases and had to throttle back. Handling rush hour traffic in LA with the YCC-S Yamaha Control Chip System clutchless electronic system was A-1. Only had to put my foot down once in heavy traffic and just throttle thru traffic for 2-hrs. didn't miss clutching at all. No left hand fatigue in traffic. Shifting with the toggles up and down made it simple. Only drawback was the comfort of the stock seat. It was comfortable for the first few hours of the day. I missed getting my Corbin Seat for the trip by a couple of weeks, other than that I would recommend the FJR1300AE to anyone who wants a great sport/touring bike. It handles like a dream whether you are doing canyons, mountains, or deserts straight or curves. What a ride! I can't wait to throw a leg over the seat again.
- Bobby Briggance, Port Angeles, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay, I've just had my 8000 mile service. As reported by others here and elsewhere on the net, the AE has it's issues with the throttle. One thing I can say is for anyone thinking about this bike, you will need to spend the money and purchase a PowerCommander. For me, it has completely changed this bike - in a good way. It has smoothed out the abrupt throttle so that it is tolerable. Also, as I have put more miles on my AE, my fuel mileage has gone up. Consistently getting 45-mpg with mostly freeway commuting (to and from work). And this is even with the PCIII installed. I've read reports that it may cause a decrease in fuel mileage but my bike has not been affected. I also have a Corbin seat. Bottom line: save your money. Not worth the $1,100 for the rider and passenger seat with backrest. At every single stop I slide forward and smash, well... that area. As well-known as Corbin is, I am disappointed in the seat and the workmanship. But for the backrest for my fiancee I probably would have just sold it and gone back to the stock seat; and now I see Yamaha sells a seat with gel pads installed for about $450 - half the price of the Corbin. Finally, living in So Cal and dealing with the traffic, I do like the e-shift on the AE. I did not buy this bike for canyon racing so it works for me. Over time I'm sure it will be improved by Yamaha on future bikes. Overall, I am happy with my purchase. Probably will keep it until my Y.E.S. warranty expires.
- 818Guy, Sherman Oaks, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-25 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, so you hop on, find neutral, engage the front brake and start her up. Hmmm, no clutch, so just kick into first. What's gonna happen when I let go of the front brake? Nothing - she just sits. Twist the throttle slowly and at about 1400 rpm she starts to roll and off you go . . . Down the 2 lane blacktop, using your left index finger & thumb to shift gears. don't roll off the throttle, no need, the computer's got it down. Coming to your first complete stop is freaky. Downshifting from 100 mph in 5th gear down to 1st and to a complete stop. OK, you're holding the front brake and you're stopped. The LCD display shows you're in first gear. You let go of the brake and it feels like neutral. How do I go forward again? Oh yeah, roll on the throttle - OK here we go again - wooosh. Riding 2 lane back roads in New Zealand during the summer - priceless. Fast, powerful, fun & sweet. I want FJR1300-AE but . . . It's bulky around 'town'. The big fuel tank makes for a high center of gravity. I could not get my feet down well (32 inch inseam) and yes, I had the seat adjusted to the lowest of the two available positions. With a full tank of fuel - ugly. Does the seat need to be so wide? Using the finger shift control is phenomenal, but the HORN button is just above the thumb downshift lever so you go to downshift and end up beeping the horn instead - scary, for you and the other traffic around you. The left handlebar switch block has way too much stuff: lights (norm/bright), bright flasher lever, L/R turn signals, horn, finger shift mode on/off AND the up/down gear shift. Too much stuff. Move SOMETHING to the right switch block - for the additional $1,800 for this model you'd think they could spend a few $$$ on ergnomic control layout, if for nothing else, safety's sake... No handlebar adjustments. Height would be nice and maybe some angle? The electric windshield 'whistles' annoyingly and when you switch the igntion off (getting fuel, short stops, etc.) the windshield retracts back to the lowest position; dumb, if I want to 'park' and put the windshield down I'll do it myself domo arigato. An absolute joy to ride on the open road, although I really wanted an overdrive gear - how about a 6th gear? The high sustained revs above 60 MPH (3,000 rpm) was distracting. Overall, this bike is a gas and a joy on the open road - amazing technology. I own four other bikes already and I'd buy a FJR tomorrow if it 'fit' better, but alas, I guess some of us are just vertically challenged so we don't get to play too. Hopefully Yamaha will put the AE on some other bikes (FZ1 or FZ6 are great candidates). Ride safe !!!
- S, North Island, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-21 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a bike that does it all well. A terrific compromise between sport riding and all out touring bike. With the bags off it will stay with virtually ANY sport bike on public roads unless a pro rider is on the pegs. The shifter is a true pleasure and with a couple of mods it get even faster and smoother. The only reason I rated it a 4 in comfort is that for max comfort there is no sub for a Goldwing - but I can't do that!
- John Allen, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-28 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Upgraded from a power cruiser (83 V-65 Magna). I couldn't be more pleased. I use the bike for sport riding more than touring, however since I have to drive 30 miles before I hit the 2 lane country roads, the touring part is a welcome part of this bike for this 54 yr dude. I find the electric shifting to well exceed my expectations as it makes the bike a sheer pleasure and joy to drive...you feel like you're in a Formula 1 race car...
- Starcruiser, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-14 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
State of the art motorcycle which works as advertized. Electric shift is easy to get used to and offers quick gear changes in the twisties. Much better than my 03ST1300A.
- H J Horton, Spring, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The auto clutch takes some getting use to, but overall this ride is sweet. Lots of power. Wind shield a bit small. Handle bars could be a inch higher and an inch closer to the rider. Overall, great bike!
- Carl, Lacey, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I too am very very happy with the bike. The auto clutch is better than I hoped for. The bike is smooth and very fast. The windshield could be bigger and the handle bars just a little higher. Other than that just perfect ride for what it wanted.
- Larry A. Miller, Rainier, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: