Yamaha FZ6 Motorcycles Reviews (172)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ6 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ6 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-02-23 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like many others - I passed my MSF basic course and looked for a practical, sporty, light bike that I would not outgrow too soon. That was four years ago. It's easy to operate, fun, good torque, quick, fast when you want it to be. It's reliable and oh my gosh - such a value! It's the best kept secret for mid-level sport-touring/commuting/carving. I've taken mine to Montana, Alabama, Ohio, and it's a great tourer (your butt will get used to it eventually) and commuter. You can pick one up for around $3,500-4,000 on e-bay. What a steal! Put a Cal-Sci windshield and crampbuster throttle pad on it and your good to go cross country. The underseat exhaust allows you to use inexpensive soft luggage easily. Strap on a tank bag. I now have four bikes, but I'll never get rid of "Hector", and I taught all three of my boys to ride on him (16-23 yrs. old). Enjoy!
- Shawn, Jasper, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-10 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a tiny guy, all of 5 8" and 115 lbs. This thing is nimble and responsive. My previous bike was a YZF600R, so I thought I was sidestepping to the FZ6 but it's definitely a step up. The front wheel can be lifted at will in most gears and the fuel injection is beautify smooth. It gets great mileage and still carves into the corners like the R6 that it thinks it is. The only thing I would do different is the under-seat storage is small at best and the license plate frame is awkward looking.
- Jay Shet, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-20 2009 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike used in 2010 and I have not regretted it one bit. It is plenty aggressive and also user friendly at the same time. It is the perfect bike for a day to day commute or a weekend in the mountain twisties. I really enjoy the instrument cluster. It is always nice to know how much fuel you have and I can't understand why more manufacturers have not taken a hint from this. I would not say this is a beginner bike, anything that has close to a 100 hp. I do not consider beginner. It's probably a little under powered for two people but if you want something for two, this would not be the bike to look at. But other than that I highly recommend this bike. If you are looking for "bang for the buck" this is it.
- Chuck A., Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-04 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Highs - The modern UJM - it does almost everything OK, and many things very well. It's a tremendous value. - It handles light touring and two-up riding. - It's nice upright riding position soothes my aching mid-forties back (after the past several years on sport bikes). - It's a very reasonable sporting alternative to an all-out sport bike. - The engine pours on the power above 8,000 rpm. and up past 13,000. - It has a light, easy and consistent shifter. - The Harleys can't keep up. - It's 100% reliable over four years and 4,000+ miles. - It's averaged 55-60 mpg so far. Lows - It could use a bit more torque at low rpms. - The clutch is a little tricky off the line (minimal freeplay). - The seat height is a bit tough on my inseam. - You should use both headlights on low/high beam. - The suspension could have more adjustments. - The brakes will fade a bit in the twisties.
- T. McConnell, Waukesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-19 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hope I die before my FZ6, it's that perfect for me. It has its flaws so I can't honestly give it 5/5 stars, but first, the good; It has fantastic power. It's docile and manageable in the city and a screaming rocket at higher RPM. It's light, has responsive handling, is very well planted in the corners and with plenty of clearance for track days. The brakes are crazy strong. It's a very good tourer, has a nice upright riding position with just enough wind protection, not so much that you sit in turbulent air. It has fantastic fuel range, 350 km. per tank at a calm cruising speed (52 mpg). There are nice features like a center stand, oil cooler, fuel gauge, good passenger grab rails (aka tie downs) and a nice bun warmer (aka undertail exhaust). The cons; uncomfortable seat. I can bare it for a day long ride, but I don't enjoy it. Also, the shifting is problematic. There are lots of false neutrals and the occasional popping out of gear. It would have been nice to have adjustable front forks too. It's not a suitable bike for dirt roads due to peaky engine, firm suspension and performance tires.
- Martin, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2009 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently went from LA to Las Vegas on my new Yamaha and it ran smooth and quick. It was extremely reliable and I ran it between 75-90 mph. most of the time. The bike was comfortable because you sit staight up, but you can also move around on the seat and lean forward to get a good angle into the wind. The upper fairing cut through the wind fine. On the way back it was very windy but it didn't affect the bike. It's very aerodynamic. This is the best bike I've ever owned. Before this I owned a 1988 Kawasaki Ninja 750. This bike has more horsepower and is a 110 percent better bike and it's only a 600. The fuel injection and the whole bike is awesome!! I will always stick with Yamaha from now on. This is my 8th motorcycle. The 2009 Yamaha FZ6 rocks!!!!
- Johnny M., Woodland Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-12 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in 2010 PO did a wonderful job of upgrades to front suspension with R6 forks and front brake calipers and braided lines, LSL sliders, Fender Elim. heated grips, FZ1 bars, Puig screen. Handles tight corners extremely well with bike leaned over. Throttle and clutch takes getting used to as throttle is small tolerances and clutch is short to engage. Rear brakes maybe too good as locking up rear tire is too easy to achieve. I recommend using only fronts as they're good enough to stop the bike with 2 fingers without losing traction. Initially thought seat was stiff but after 1700 mi trip with no pain feel seat is perfect. Bike handled high desert crosswinds, drenching rains, and snow like a pro. 50-60mpg average. My friend's 06 Honda CBR F4i was only getting 37-40mpg.
- Kern, Union City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-17 2008 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've logged about 2400 miles so far and really dig this bike. I was looking for good performance in a 600-650cc bike and this one has it. The four cylinder sport engine is hardly breaking a sweat in day-to-day riding conditions, and runs as smooth as a top. Other bikes in this engine size tend to feel a tad cramped to me, but the fz6 is a little taller and rangier, which I like. Excellent acceleration, excellent braking, very "tight" feel in turns, very stiff frame. Nice. When I first got the bike I thought the tranny seemed a bit clunky, especially in lower gears. BUT, I've discovered the main reason is that you tend to shift too early on this bike. If you rev to at least 5000 rpm before shifting - much smoother shift. You have to keep reminding yourself that this engine LIKES TO REV. Engine performs so well even at lower rpm that you keep forgetting there's a beast inside there! that's another thing I like about this bike: if you don't consciously "push" it, she's nice and tame and docile. Very relaxed. But if you intentionally rev it (7000 to 8000+ rpm, say), you "awaken the beast within." Gives you lots of options out there. It's why this bike is legit for experienced riders but still fun and safe for newbies, SO LONG AS they understand what'll happen if you rev it! Be prepared if you do, that's all I can say. Comfort wise, you tend to slide forward and wedge your nads between the front of the seat and the back of the gas tank (whoever started calling the gas tank a "nut ramp" is to be commended). But this happens on most non-cruising bikes. You just have to shift back occasionally or get used to singing soprano. Lots of great practical features on this bike: excellent instrument package; huge gas tank; standard center stand; nice standard fairing. The rear view mirrors are mounted on the fairing so they stick out a bit wider than mirrors on a fully naked bike. You don't get a perfect rear view, but it's okay. You just have to shrug your shoulder a bit to get a complete view. Here's a useful tip: you can't get to the battery on this bike without lifting the tank, and you can't lift the tank without first removing the fairing, which is a b****. So if I were you, I'd install a permanent charging harness that sticks out from under the front of the tank, and plug it into a Battery Tender Plus whenever you're not riding it. Increases battery life considerably and helps avoid the hassle of having to change out the battery. that's what I did, and it's working out great. Overall: truly excellent bike. Highly recommended. If you're a newbie, just be cautious when you rev it. There's an animal inside this thing.
- Bob, Western Springs, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-19 2008 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll start with the negatives: mirrors are not wide enough, small friction zone, well, that's that. Now, the good stuff: great riding position, fast or slow - you'll enjoy the ride. It's always turning heads too. I've taken it up past 110 mph and it did not feel like I was going that fast and I wasn't even tucked behind the windscreen. It's mild mannered or a beast, take your pick. Touring or twisting, it's all good. IT DOES IT ALL WELL, WHAT MORE CAN I SAY?
- Ryan, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-03 2009 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the FZ6 in July 2009 after months of analysis, comparing it against Suzuki, Honda, Kawasaki offerings in the 600cc to 650cc range. I needed this bike to be a great commuter first, since I ride 70-100 miles per day, and a great performer second, since we all like to have fun on the weekend rides! After owning this bike for 2.5 months and having clocked about 3,500 miles I can say that I am extremely pleased with my FZ6 purchase. The bike is well-built around a solid chassis/frame and great performing engine. The attention to detail is also evident everywhere you look. If you treat this bike nice, you may see 50 mpg, which is what I am averaging on commutes. Sure it will drop to around 42 mpg if you start using the power band but then that's to be expected. This bike handles very well around town and at slow speeds, making it an excellent choice for commuting. When you let the horses out of the corral, boy does the motor sing and the bike instantly transforms into a totally different animal. At speed the bike is sure-footed and leaves even a novice rider like myself full of confidence in the bikes cornering ability and stopping power. Selecting a bike is mostly about personal preference these days since the manufacturers are putting out high-quality products that perform. I'll just summarize and say that for me, the FZ6 was the perfect choice and I can see me owning this bike for many years to come.
- Paul Hiles, Tomball, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-26 2008 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have bought or ridden. I love the naked look, closely resembles a streetfighter, but I also like the cowling and windscreen. This bike has way more power than I thought. 8,000 to 11,000 rpm's seems to be the sweetspot. No regrets w/ the bike.
- Chris, Arnold, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-25 2009 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seems like it can do it all. Twisties, touring, it's comfortable, very quick, ergonomically sound, looks awesome, great on gas, what more could you want? This bike is Jekyll and Hyde for sure. I own a Vulcan 1600 classic and it's great to have something that is the total opposite to that. This bike (to me at least) is very quick and can get anyone into trouble with hardly any effort at all. The stock seat seems ok but will probably be replaced sooner than later. I've coveted this bike for about 4 years now and I am very glad to finally own one! the deep blue is nicer than the black as well.
- Bill, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-20 2008 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far this bike can hang with the big dogs. Very comfortable, half sport for the fellas and half cruiser for your back. All the fellas love it because it's different and still sporty, I love it because when I'm tired I can relax and still ride and my back thanks me also. I haven't ridden it enough to give it a five but it's damn near close. Thanks for reading.
- Rudy, Brooklyn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-27 2008 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for almost a year and I have had so much fun with my bike. I would suggest this bike for anyone including first time riders.
- steve, Auburn, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-25 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle. I purchased it new in October of 2007 and have logged over 11K miles on it thus far. I wanted a bike that could serve both as a recreational and commuter bike and this is the perfect combination bike. The bike can roar fast with other sport bikes, and cruise well with the less tame bikes. It also handles well on the twisties. I have taken a few long distance trips on the bike and it rides comfortably. The best feature to me is having the fuel gauge; you will appreciate it more when you're riding with other riders and they are pulling over to switch on their reserve fuel supply. Easy break-in period, smooth gear operation, and a good gas mileage bike. I purchased a maintenance pkg. when I got my bike, so I haven't spent anything for maintenance yet. I got my first set of new tires at around 9k. I highly recommend this bike for the new beginner.
- Malik, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-13 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 8th bike and is by far the most exciting one. I also own a XVS-1100 that stays parked most of the time because the FZ is such a joy to ride. She handles the twistys well, runs like a scalded cat (156 mph indicated), and looks great. The only drawback is that butt killin' seat! I plan to customize it myself soon. Still, all in all, I love this bike.
- Kenny DuBois, Freeport, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-19 2008 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the best choice I've made. It has great handling and looks amazing. It's a comfortable ride. It has more of a straight up sit, which gives you a lot more comfort. It has nice tires and the exhaust sounds good. I like all the gauges telling you your fuel amount, your temps, and your rpm digital MPH meter. Plus the tank is not jamming on your stomach like other sports bikes. I definitely recommend this bike.
- Abel, Rohnert Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been without a bike for a year until I finally decided on this one. I'm able to sit up or lay on the tank at higher speeds. I can keep up with the rockets no problem or blend in with the cruisers at the lower RPM scale. This bike really comes alive at 9000 rpm, being the red line is at 14000. You have to be careful though once you get to cozy with it, you won't realize how fast your going until you see the strobes in the mirror. I took it for a 500 mile trip and got the expected sore backside but the bike did well.
- Gamet, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-02 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For eighteen years of watching my father parade around on his Harleys and my mother never letting me join the game I finally bought an FZ6 at age 26. After extensively reviewing the market for an above the norm sport bike without the cramping of a rocket while maintaining comfort on the long ride the FZ6 filtered out as the best choice. It's great with a passenger as the lady will feel more comfortable than bending over on a rocket, but its stylish appearance has the charm of its fast backed brother the R6. This bike performs well while cruising under 7K and thrills you after. This bike hits you on all cylinders. Go get it.
- Patrick Campbell, Green Bay, WI, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-30 2008 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this machine and have no regrets at all. At first I wasn't sure, but the sexiness of this machine charmed me to buy it. It is still in the break-in period but the handling is superb. My friends are crazy about its look. One thing I like about it is the instruments, which tell you how much gas you have, the coolant temperature and air intake.
- Victor, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-18 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well people, I have to say that I have passed the 20,000 mile mark and could not have been happier with this bike. It is an awesome hidden thrill ride. It is easy to ride in slow traffic while I split lanes. Brakes are great. And if you want to go fast well just pass 7k or 8k RPM and you better hang on because it will yank your arms off if you are not ready for it. I absolutely love this bike and will recommend it to anyone interested in riding for the first time. It is a great confidence and maturity growth bike. Forgiving and fun all wrapped into one naked/standard/sportbike. I write this because I am thinking of upgrading to its slightly bigger brother the 2008 R6 but I am having a very, very, very hard time letting go of this hidden jewel of a bike. If anyone else reads this, you will not regret getting this thrill ride! It is absolutely fun!
- slider762, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-11 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is truly fun to ride! It's great for whatever mood I'm in. If I want to go for a back road ride it handles great and is very quick to whip back and forth. The bike took a little practice to be able to get a good wheelie, remember to slip the clutch at 8,000 RPM. A 300-mile day ride on the highway is was a little rough at first, and then I bought the Corbin Gunfighter seat and WOW what a difference it has made. The bike truly can be whatever you want it to be with the huge difference between the lower and higher RPM. I suggest a new wind screen, I put the Puig racing screen on it. It takes the wind resistance down to nothing. 120 MPH feels like 60 MPH with it.
- Mots, Imperial, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my FZ6 for a little over a year, and have absolutely ZERO complaints. Great gas mileage, fast (enough for me anyway), sexy, and still as fun as the first day I got it. I originally wanted an R6, and still do, but I'll hold on to this baby for quite a while. Couldn't recommend a better first bike!
- Jeremiah, La Jolla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-21 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 22 year old who learned how to ride on my dad's enormous BMW. As soon as I got my full time job I started shopping. I was amazed by the look of the FZ6 and all of the good reviews it had gotten. I began doing my research and agree that it's a great bike. I couldn't ask for a better first bike, with its great power for its size. Only complaint is its comfort on longer rides. My bum got pretty numb after 150 miles or so. Other than that I recommend the bike to anyone.
- JT, Asbury Park, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike may not be as fast as the R6 or a CBR for that matter but it's pretty close. This bike is awesome, it is probably hands down the best all around bike for the price. Keep the RPM's low and it's a nice around town cruising bike, hit the throttle and after 8 thousand RPM's and this bike turns into a beast. The engine is the same engine in the R6 sportbike but it's detuned for more midrange power which makes it much more practical for a newer rider for myself, but the bike is phenomanal for an experienced rider as well. I love this bike and I'll never trade it in, I LOVE IT. You can't beat the sound of a 4 cylinder bike. The beautiful part is that this bike isn't classified as a full out sport bike so insurance rates are good too. If you want an awesome bike you should definitely give this bike a ride, you won't be disappointed at all unless you're a total maniac speed freak. If that's the case pick up the CBR or R6.
- Justin Slocum, Endicott, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: