Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha FZ6 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

172 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Shawn

Jasper, Indiana

Reviewed on 2012-02-23

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Like many others - I passed my MSF basic course and looked for a practical, sporty, light bike that I would not outgrow too soon. That was four years ago. It's easy to operate, fun, good torque, quick, fast when you want it to be. It's reliable and oh my gosh - such a value! It's the best kept secret for mid-level sport-touring/commuting/carving. I've taken mine to Montana, Alabama, Ohio, and it's a great tourer (your butt will get used to it eventually) and commuter. You can pick one up for around $3,500-4,000 on e-bay. What a steal! Put a Cal-Sci windshield and crampbuster throttle pad on it and your good to go cross country. The underseat exhaust allows you to use inexpensive soft luggage easily. Strap on a tank bag. I now have four bikes, but I'll never get rid of "Hector", and I taught all three of my boys to ride on him (16-23 yrs. old). Enjoy!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay Shet

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a tiny guy, all of 5 8" and 115 lbs. This thing is nimble and responsive. My previous bike was a YZF600R, so I thought I was sidestepping to the FZ6 but it's definitely a step up. The front wheel can be lifted at will in most gears and the fuel injection is beautify smooth. It gets great mileage and still carves into the corners like the R6 that it thinks it is. The only thing I would do different is the under-seat storage is small at best and the license plate frame is awkward looking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck A.

Birmingham, Alabama

Reviewed on 2011-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike used in 2010 and I have not regretted it one bit. It is plenty aggressive and also user friendly at the same time. It is the perfect bike for a day to day commute or a weekend in the mountain twisties. I really enjoy the instrument cluster. It is always nice to know how much fuel you have and I can't understand why more manufacturers have not taken a hint from this. I would not say this is a beginner bike, anything that has close to a 100 hp. I do not consider beginner. It's probably a little under powered for two people but if you want something for two, this would not be the bike to look at. But other than that I highly recommend this bike. If you are looking for "bang for the buck" this is it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T. McConnell

Waukesha, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2011-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Highs - The modern UJM - it does almost everything OK, and many things very well. It's a tremendous value. - It handles light touring and two-up riding. - It's nice upright riding position soothes my aching mid-forties back (after the past several years on sport bikes). - It's a very reasonable sporting alternative to an all-out sport bike. - The engine pours on the power above 8,000 rpm. and up past 13,000. - It has a light, easy and consistent shifter. - The Harleys can't keep up. - It's 100% reliable over four years and 4,000+ miles. - It's averaged 55-60 mpg so far. Lows - It could use a bit more torque at low rpms. - The clutch is a little tricky off the line (minimal freeplay). - The seat height is a bit tough on my inseam. - You should use both headlights on low/high beam. - The suspension could have more adjustments. - The brakes will fade a bit in the twisties.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martin

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2010-11-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I hope I die before my FZ6, it's that perfect for me. It has its flaws so I can't honestly give it 5/5 stars, but first, the good; It has fantastic power. It's docile and manageable in the city and a screaming rocket at higher RPM. It's light, has responsive handling, is very well planted in the corners and with plenty of clearance for track days. The brakes are crazy strong. It's a very good tourer, has a nice upright riding position with just enough wind protection, not so much that you sit in turbulent air. It has fantastic fuel range, 350 km. per tank at a calm cruising speed (52 mpg). There are nice features like a center stand, oil cooler, fuel gauge, good passenger grab rails (aka tie downs) and a nice bun warmer (aka undertail exhaust). The cons; uncomfortable seat. I can bare it for a day long ride, but I don't enjoy it. Also, the shifting is problematic. There are lots of false neutrals and the occasional popping out of gear. It would have been nice to have adjustable front forks too. It's not a suitable bike for dirt roads due to peaky engine, firm suspension and performance tires.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Johnny M.

Woodland Hills, California

Reviewed on 2010-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just recently went from LA to Las Vegas on my new Yamaha and it ran smooth and quick. It was extremely reliable and I ran it between 75-90 mph. most of the time. The bike was comfortable because you sit staight up, but you can also move around on the seat and lean forward to get a good angle into the wind. The upper fairing cut through the wind fine. On the way back it was very windy but it didn't affect the bike. It's very aerodynamic. This is the best bike I've ever owned. Before this I owned a 1988 Kawasaki Ninja 750. This bike has more horsepower and is a 110 percent better bike and it's only a 600. The fuel injection and the whole bike is awesome!! I will always stick with Yamaha from now on. This is my 8th motorcycle. The 2009 Yamaha FZ6 rocks!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kern

Union City, California

Reviewed on 2010-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in 2010 PO did a wonderful job of upgrades to front suspension with R6 forks and front brake calipers and braided lines, LSL sliders, Fender Elim. heated grips, FZ1 bars, Puig screen. Handles tight corners extremely well with bike leaned over. Throttle and clutch takes getting used to as throttle is small tolerances and clutch is short to engage. Rear brakes maybe too good as locking up rear tire is too easy to achieve. I recommend using only fronts as they're good enough to stop the bike with 2 fingers without losing traction. Initially thought seat was stiff but after 1700 mi trip with no pain feel seat is perfect. Bike handled high desert crosswinds, drenching rains, and snow like a pro. 50-60mpg average. My friend's 06 Honda CBR F4i was only getting 37-40mpg.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Western Springs, Illinois

Reviewed on 2010-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've logged about 2400 miles so far and really dig this bike. I was looking for good performance in a 600-650cc bike and this one has it. The four cylinder sport engine is hardly breaking a sweat in day-to-day riding conditions, and runs as smooth as a top. Other bikes in this engine size tend to feel a tad cramped to me, but the fz6 is a little taller and rangier, which I like. Excellent acceleration, excellent braking, very "tight" feel in turns, very stiff frame. Nice. When I first got the bike I thought the tranny seemed a bit clunky, especially in lower gears. BUT, I've discovered the main reason is that you tend to shift too early on this bike. If you rev to at least 5000 rpm before shifting - much smoother shift. You have to keep reminding yourself that this engine LIKES TO REV. Engine performs so well even at lower rpm that you keep forgetting there's a beast inside there! that's another thing I like about this bike: if you don't consciously "push" it, she's nice and tame and docile. Very relaxed. But if you intentionally rev it (7000 to 8000+ rpm, say), you "awaken the beast within." Gives you lots of options out there. It's why this bike is legit for experienced riders but still fun and safe for newbies, SO LONG AS they understand what'll happen if you rev it! Be prepared if you do, that's all I can say. Comfort wise, you tend to slide forward and wedge your nads between the front of the seat and the back of the gas tank (whoever started calling the gas tank a "nut ramp" is to be commended). But this happens on most non-cruising bikes. You just have to shift back occasionally or get used to singing soprano. Lots of great practical features on this bike: excellent instrument package; huge gas tank; standard center stand; nice standard fairing. The rear view mirrors are mounted on the fairing so they stick out a bit wider than mirrors on a fully naked bike. You don't get a perfect rear view, but it's okay. You just have to shrug your shoulder a bit to get a complete view. Here's a useful tip: you can't get to the battery on this bike without lifting the tank, and you can't lift the tank without first removing the fairing, which is a b****. So if I were you, I'd install a permanent charging harness that sticks out from under the front of the tank, and plug it into a Battery Tender Plus whenever you're not riding it. Increases battery life considerably and helps avoid the hassle of having to change out the battery. that's what I did, and it's working out great. Overall: truly excellent bike. Highly recommended. If you're a newbie, just be cautious when you rev it. There's an animal inside this thing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan

Woodbridge, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-12-19

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'll start with the negatives: mirrors are not wide enough, small friction zone, well, that's that. Now, the good stuff: great riding position, fast or slow - you'll enjoy the ride. It's always turning heads too. I've taken it up past 110 mph and it did not feel like I was going that fast and I wasn't even tucked behind the windscreen. It's mild mannered or a beast, take your pick. Touring or twisting, it's all good. IT DOES IT ALL WELL, WHAT MORE CAN I SAY?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Hiles

Tomball, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-10-03

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the FZ6 in July 2009 after months of analysis, comparing it against Suzuki, Honda, Kawasaki offerings in the 600cc to 650cc range. I needed this bike to be a great commuter first, since I ride 70-100 miles per day, and a great performer second, since we all like to have fun on the weekend rides! After owning this bike for 2.5 months and having clocked about 3,500 miles I can say that I am extremely pleased with my FZ6 purchase. The bike is well-built around a solid chassis/frame and great performing engine. The attention to detail is also evident everywhere you look. If you treat this bike nice, you may see 50 mpg, which is what I am averaging on commutes. Sure it will drop to around 42 mpg if you start using the power band but then that's to be expected. This bike handles very well around town and at slow speeds, making it an excellent choice for commuting. When you let the horses out of the corral, boy does the motor sing and the bike instantly transforms into a totally different animal. At speed the bike is sure-footed and leaves even a novice rider like myself full of confidence in the bikes cornering ability and stopping power. Selecting a bike is mostly about personal preference these days since the manufacturers are putting out high-quality products that perform. I'll just summarize and say that for me, the FZ6 was the perfect choice and I can see me owning this bike for many years to come.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 18
  • 1 - 10 of 172 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: