Yamaha Raider s Motorcycles Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Raider s Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Raider s Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-09-19 2014 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like Thor's hammer, Mjolnir; "in Norse mythology as one of the most fearsome and powerful weapons in existence" Yamaha Raider has a 'Thunderous' feel due in large part to its torque no doubt
- Jason, Central Washington State

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-04-01 2010 Yamaha Raider s Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been on a lot of bikes over the yrs. I baught the raider just to have as a bare cruiser to go with my Victory XC bagger. I was amazed by this bike. My raider has a vance hines 2 into 1, cobra fi 2000 and bam air mod. So here we go: (1) Handles like a Vic Jackpot. Feels lighter than a HD sportster. (2) Holy torque! Who cares about a 6th gear. Most fun I've had on a bike. With very few mods this bike is a beast. (3) Looks amazing! Bikers ask what it is all the time. Test ride it and you'll be shocked (4) It's cheap to own. NEED I SAY MORE! Best foreign bike out there. I'll always have a vic bagger since I ride long distances but I'll also have a raider for fun. First review on a non-US cruiser ever and it deserves it
- Bruce, Ottawa, il

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-06 2014 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first impression of pictures of this monster was wow. But then I saw the beast in person and was in stunned silence; pictures cannot do justice. It is absolutely incredible & makes my heart palpitate every time I see it. And now that I actually own one, well lets just say, its my therapy. All the reviews on this are spot on especially regarding the raw power and handling. Even stock is just fine for me with no plans in the foreseeable future for any upgrades. I cannot get enough of riding on this machine; its man and machine at its finest. Very contented and satisfying experience that keeps rewarding with every twist of the throttle. I'm not much into speed, but as some have commented, this will get you up to speed effortlessly; the fastest I have gone on this is a little over 100 mph. I am more into torque which is the very reason why I acquired this bike; it has tons of it. The torque actually scared me on my first ride; but of course I got real used to it & love it.
- Anonymous, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-29 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rented a Raider a few years ago and rode six hours straight from the Finger Lakes Region of New York to my home in Delaware. The only stops I made were for fuel. I have to say I was surprised how comfortable it was. The first thing you'll notice is the torque. If you have a passenger you'd better have a back rest for them or they'll fly off once you hit second gear. On Route 15 in PA I got 50 mpg. with straight highway driving at 75 mph. I found a great deal on an '08 Raider a few weeks ago. It had 12K miles with Cobra pipes, passenger back rest and luggage rack. I'm looking forward to many years of great rides with good friends. Ride safe/Semper Fi.
- Ron Iocono, Middletown, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-08 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Raider is a 2008. I bought it in Feb., 2009. I ride when ever the weather lets me. It handles great. The bike speaks for itself. I was looking to buy the M109 and then I sat on the Raider. I told the salesman ring me up on this one. It handles well for all my needs. I have the red w/flames. I love the black power coated.
- Tom, dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-21 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started out with a Roadliner but wanted the Raider; however, it didn't have enough leg room. Since the 5-inch extensions came out, I HAD TO HAVE THE RAIDER and haven't looked back since. This is one bad son of a gun. This bike begs for attention and the fella gets it! Yamaha hit the mark with the Raider.
- Curtis K, Jax , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-16 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Raider S is by far, the best bike I have ever ridden. It has great power and comfort!
- kd armstrong, keller, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-25 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved the look of the '08 Raider S (Candy Red) and just had to have one. I was a bit concerned about the handling of the raked bike, but it handles very well. Engine has plenty of power (even riding two-up). I have taken the bike on 5 trips of more than 1300 miles and have had a great time. Just got back from a 2400 mile trip to Utah. The only problem I have had with the bike is some valvetrain noise (planning to take to to the dealership next week for a look/see). Star really hit a homerun with this machine!
- Kent Kechter, St. Francis, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-23 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first sat on a Raider last summer at an open house at a dealership. I wasn't looking for a bike at the time rather I rode my 1980 XS1100 Special there and thought I was happy with that bike. I took a Raider for a test ride and when I returned, my response was, "Where do I sign?" What an unbelievably comfortable ride. Low and well balanced, PLENTY of power, smooth as can be and a great looking bike that turns plenty of heads. The only negative thoughts were the exhaust pipes as I thought they were way too bulky. I immediately replaced them with the Vance & Hines pipes. No issues at all with attempting to get around large trucks on the highway. Just a slight turn on the throttle and you'll go from 60 mph to 80 mph with barely any effort. Riding with a passenger is effortless for the powerful 1854 cc engine. This bike is my absolute favorite. I wouldn't trade it for anything...except maybe the new 2010 Blue Raider. lol
- Don O'Brien, Raymond, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-02 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I decided to get back into riding I bought an 800cc cruiser to get back my motorcycle legs. Then went to every manufacture demo ride that I could find to see what the all the new bikes were like. When I went to the Yamaha demo I like the look of the Raider but thought that it would be too heavy and it would be hard to steer. I was so surprised with the Raider. All of the other bikes I rode from then on I compared to the Raider.. I rode the HD V-Rod and Rocker along with the Suzuki M109R and Victory Vegas but none of them matched up with the power, ride and handling of the Raider. It's got the looks with lots of muscle but it's agile too! It's The Power Cruiser to beat at this point!
- Chris Roberts, Seminole, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-08 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser. I've had 35 motorcycles since 1974. I have ridden many cruisers, but this has got to be the smoothest and most comfortable with the most power and agile handling for a long wheel-base! Thank you Yamaha for showing the rest how it should be done.
- russ johnson, modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-14 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Raider is the most impressive bike when it comes down to it. No other cruiser can compare to the bike in any aspect of the ride. It simply blows any cruiser out of the water especially Harleys. Smooth ride with the wide rear tire and amazing torque combines to make it the best. I traded my 2007 Honda vtx in for the Raider and that was the best decision I have made.
- ben fagan , lakeville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-26 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 4 bikes in my garage that I can ride, BMW R1200RT, FZ1, SV1000S, and the Raider. The other bikes where made to handle well and they do. The Raider S with the racked out front, does not give the appearance of a bike that turns well. But after a couple of hours on the bike, dragging the foot pegs is no problem, and it is fun to do. The bike has one bad ass motor also. Put the V/H 2 into 1 pipe and WOW, it sounds better then any Harley that I have heard and does awesome burn outs.
- geoff , Castle Rock, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-07 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in Feb 09 as a demo with 600 mi. I have the Tommy Blue S. It's cool that the color has been discontinued as not many others on the road. Also, not many in Gainesville, so I get a lot of comments from other riders. The bike is very easy to ride and is well balanced. I think it's kind of easy to corner, but you do have to give it a little more throttle into the turn. Plenty of power. A sixth gear would be nice. Only add on so far is a sissy bar for my wife. I tried a windshield, but it seemed to add to the wind noise. Comfortable saddle too. Would get another one in a second.
- Steve, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-01 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Raider March of 09 and from the moment I saw it - I was in love with the looks. I describe the looks as intimidating. It has such a great balance and sits so nice underneath the rider that it is almost indescrible. You just have to experience the feel. On the road - ir rides just a little rough because of the low profile tire on the back but the wind goes right over the top of you without a windshield. Most cruisers need a windshield, not the Raider though. My first thought as I pulled out of the parking lot onto the road - Whoa baby! - absolutely amazing. Cap this feel with the outstanding relationship that the people at the dealership develop with their customers - you have a winning combination, something to be proud of, and something to ride and brag about. You don't have to brag too much though - the Raider and crew at the store rake in the compliments.
- Dave, Belton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-03 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding since I was in my teens many years ago (55 now) and I have never ridden a better bike for style, comfort or power. It handles better than I ever expected. My wife rides with me and loves it. This is an absolute plus guys. I also enjoy stopping to help those bikers, who spent A LOT more, when they rattle apart on the side of the road. "Metric rules,as my son says.
- Jim Laverty, Cambridge, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-09 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever purchased, and I have had more than my share over the years (57). The price was low compared to other chopper-inspired bikes. It rides and looks like you paid far more. The Star people really put some nice touches on this bike. Other bike owners always compliment me about this bike when we ride together. This bike makes me feel young again. It is very cool. I'm glad they didn't change anything for the 2009 model. That makes my 2008 Raider S even more of a value. I wouldn't trade this bike for anything. Be safe out there and watch out for those 4-wheeled things. May your rubber be down and a wind at your back.
- Pat, St. Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-25 2009 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this new in November of 2008. I had been considering another brand until I rented one. Even with a windshield, the other brand had a rough, windblown ride above 65 mph. The vibrations felt in sixth gear at the foot pegs were very uncomfortable for my passenger. The Raider, on the other hand, allows me to cruise at 80 mph without a windshield and it feels very comfortable and controllable. It has a smooth ride and tremendous power. I added a set of Cobra dragsters, power commander and a K&N air filter. The bike now has even more power and great throttle response. I have to watch my speed when getting on a freeway. It effortlessly will hit 85-90 and still be on the on ramp. Passing a car just requires a small twist of the throttle, just hold on tight. The bike gets a lot of compliments, both on looks and exhaust note, even from riders of other brands. Cornering on this bike does take some getting used to. It feels like you have to force it through the corner. With a little more throttle, it is not a problem. The only thing negative that I can say about this bike is the tank should be bigger. Four gallons doesn't get you very far down the road. I get about 35 mpg on average. I maybe could get higher mileage if I rode it more sedately, but that isn't why I bought it. You can't go wrong with this bike. Get one and ride it like you stole it.
- Mickey, Conroe, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-05 2008 Yamaha Raider S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so cool. It looks great, performs great, feels great and rides great. We went on a 900 mile trip and never really got tired. My wife road with me and never said a word about being uncomfortable. She is in love with this bike; more than myself. It really is a lil' piece of heaven. I promise if you buy it you won't regret it. It's the top dog. Everyone that likes the bike comes over to look at it. I have gotten a thousand compliments on the bike.
- JOHN LABORDE, MARKSVILLE, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: