Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Motorcycles Reviews (40)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-05-15 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have this bike & 07 Harley Davidson Custom Deluxe. Like the Harley, Love the Yamaha. On trips over 100 miles, this was always bike of choice, but now finding this bike getting used 75 percent of time. Guess it's time to sell the Harley. I am sold on this bike.
- E. C., Corpus Christi, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this bike for 2 years and enjoyed it immensely. The 3" Hard Kromes were extremely loud! Loved it. Not so much the neighbours! Torgue was awesome and no problems to speak of. Engine rattle was hard to ignore but several mechanics said it was normal so I just let it rap away. Besides the pipes pretty much drowned out the knocks.
- Bill Plancke, Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-09 2007 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Road Star for a few years. No other cruiser on the road out sounds, out moves, and out rides the Road Star. Bar-none, this is the best bike on the road. Hard Krome big straight pipes just make it that much meaner.
- marty keller, pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-01 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second Yamaha I have owned. I upgraded from a V-Star 1100 Custom. Both are wonderful bikes. The Road Star gives that little extra for those long rides. I have ridden all over Idaho on my bike and it is great lots of power and comfortable to ride. I have Jug Hugger pipes that makes it sound great.
- Dave Minshall, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-28 2007 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great overall bike. It is powerful, comfortable and has great looks. This is the best bike I've owned and I will never own anything else.
- LARRY WILSON, LEANDER, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-10 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was a totally enjoyable purchase. The bike is a please to ride. Needs a upgrade to the driver and passenger seat but is ok as standard equipment. This unit has more balls then anything I've ever rode, and is by far easier to control then my past crotch rocket. Nimble in traffic and awesome on the highway.
- Russ, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-04 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took got my bike new in April '07. I struggled with buying a Goldwing or Electra Glide Classic but just couldn't see the justification in spending several thousand more for a beer case in the back. We don't do that much long distance touring so I opted for a cruiser instead. Besides, I fell in love with the looks and feel from the minute I sat on it. Turns lots of heads and gets lots of compliments. Previous bike was a '99 Virago 1100SE and this bike is much easier to handle. The torque is awesome, you can pull tree stumps with this thing and passing is a breeze! It cruises beautifully and is pretty comfortable. Removing the seat for helmet storage is a dumb design but you get used to it. I raised the windscreen to the upper setting and it deflects better. The clock and odometer are very small and hard to read. The dial face is huge so they could have made the reading bigger. (mostly petty complaints!) I found the engine noise very unappealing. Sounded like a diesel engine during mild acceleration and a lot of the strange noises are very inconsistant. I solved this with a set of 3 inch Hard Krome pipes! I love the sound and am truly enjoying this ride. Buy one and you won't regret it.
- Bill , Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2007 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike now 10 months. During that time I have ridden some of my friends bike while they test rode mine. I won't be doing that any more. I just want to ride my Road Star. I am spoiled. The power is smoth and the layout is comfortable. It's like this bike was custom made for me. I like the storage too of the hard shell saddle bags.
- VIC HERRIN, LEWISBURG, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike new in April 2006. At first I did have a few overheating issues with it but all is good now. The R* is a great bike. We ride mostly 2 up and have ridden some long hard rides the past two seasons and the bike holds up very good. I have no noise issues but it is running a little rich so needs a little tweaking. I have also changed over to synthetic oil: 20/50. I receive lots of comments about the bike. Even from the HD guys!! All in all a great ride. I think I will keep it for a few more years.
- Jayare, Sarnia, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-06 2007 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After buying this bike and now riding it, I could not have picked a better riding bike; not even in my dreams. There is plenty of power, very comfortable and handles very well. If you are considering buying a bike, then consider this ride. You will not regret it.
- William E. Rivera, Flint, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-22 2007 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 2 years and it's the best bike I have ever had. The power is great, the handling is great and everyone will compliment on it. The changes I made were a more comfortable Mustang seat with backrest, jet kit and pipes. I'll own this bike forever...
- Bill Tevepaugh, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-26 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike turns more heads than a cruiser from HD. A co-worker's Fat Boy literally pales in power comparison and looks, yet I got mine for 1,000s less. An abundance of power which propels you forward so smooth that you don't even realize you're already up to 90 miles an hour. Suspension is good and stable; however, the stock tires are bad. Once they're done I will get the Metzler ME 880s, which are the best money can buy. Since the bike is so chromed out already I will not add that much. Will purchase the crash bars with pegs and a back rest for my bad back. Used to have two chrome air horns on my 1993 Venture Royale and might think about doing the same if the look agrees with the bike. I like the trip counters, but the speedometer seems to sit somewhat low. Could be the height of course, but I do have to look down to read it. Reflectors on the hard bags - awful idea. The opening of the bags is easy enough, but you have to hold the lid. They might want to think about a better system here. The styling designer deserves an Oscar for best looking cruiser on the road. The detail work is marvelous. All in all, this is more bike than you pay for. I can only recommend it to anyone who does not want to waste their money on a Harley. A real keeper.
- Stefan S, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-22 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a 2003 HD FXDWG to the 05 Roadstar Midnight Silverado. Great riding and handling, I do not believe it is of the same quality as H-D. But what does stick out is that I paid less than a comparable equipped Harley. The headlight rattles, and when first started, it takes off a bit even with clutch pulled in (engaged). It vibrates more than a Harley, and when exiting the freeway after high speed, the brakes howl for quite a while. Also the plugs and carb are a pain in the neck to work with; it is a real chore to make modifications yourself. Overall it is a great cruising bike, well worth the buck, and looks great with lots of factory chrome. I am weaned of Harley and used to the Jap bike, rode it from AZ to Austin, TX and back, nice... However, do not buy this bike thinking you're getting Harley for less, you're getting a Yamaha, and it isn't a Harley, not by any stretch.
- Mark lee, Vail, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-19 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Six years ago, I started looking for a bike. I was able to talk myself out of it every year. This year I decided was the year, so I sat on everything (I didn't have a license then) from the C90 to the Vulcan to the VTX 1800 (not comfortable) to even the Victory Kingpin. Based solely on looks and showroom comfort I bought my '05 Midnight Silverado and had my salesman deliver it. Now that I have my license I have gone back to ride all those other bikes and not one of them comes close to my Yamaha. And with almost 1000 miles on my bike, I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I'm just hoping for a mild winter here in Salt Lake.
- Dave, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently upgraded from a Honda 750 ACE to the Roadstar Midnight. As a female rider, this bike is great for my shorter inseam and lighter weight. The lower center of gravity allows me to handle the increased weight of the motorcycle with relative ease. I am absolutely in love with this motorcycle and would recommend it to anyone who wants performance and ease of operation! We just completed a 2200 mile roundtrip up and down both coasts of Florida. This motorcycle performed like a champ in as many types of environments as one could imagine. We spent a lot of time riding in fairly heavy rain and I could not have asked for better performance. This motorcycle is frequently mistaken for a Harley because of its solid build and beefy sound. I added Vance&Hines Powershot pipes and boy do they sound great. The lower profile of the custom pipes made the bike even easier to handle on the ground due to them being tucked up next to the motor. The only reliability problem I have had is with the driving lights. They have had a problem with shorting out. It took a couple of trips to the dealer to get it sorted out. Overall the motorcycle has performed very well. I would like to add risers to bring the handlebars up and back (being female, my arms are shorter) and a more comfortable seat.
- Terri M, Flowery Branch, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had Wings for the last 15 yrs and this year I decided to get a cruiser. After looking at all the various makes, I decided on the R* Midnight Silverado. It looks great, rides great and feels great!
- Wendell Garrett, Chester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently upgraded from a Yamaha v-star to Midnight Roadstar, and what a way to go. Only problem is comfort because of the stock seat. Have put 2700 miles on it in just over 5 weeks. NONE FINER. Lovin' it. Has power to spare.
- Jim Lanham, Shinnston, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to let everyone know that Yamaha has replaced the front wheel on my 2005 Midnight Silverado. They have also replaced the hard saddle bags as well. I have put around 1800 miles on this bike and I have been very pleased with its performance and ride comfort. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great looking, comfortable, well engineered, bike at a fraction of the cost of a Harley.
- Douglas Sills, Port Huron, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 6000 miles on the Roadstar. Overall the bike is great. I took the emblems off because the seemed to make the bike look cheap. I did the flip and grind to lower it. But my biggest gripe is the exhaust. 1700cc's should have a bark to it not sound like a sewing machine. Still one of the better bikes I have owned.
- Tim Clark, Paxton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-17 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding last year initially buying a 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 and stepping up to the 2005 Midnight Silverado last week. With riding on the highway and in the city the bike handles great at slow speeds, has excessive acceleration (will upgrade to Vance and Hines Longshots, High Performance Air Cleaner, Rejetting) and looks great. The bike has plenty of space on the hard bags, larger fuel tank and digital odometer with clock. I am a little disappointed that the engine has a regulator for high revolutions (safety feature for over rev in low gear), and may have this removed if possible.
- Benjamin Huff, Laytonsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-14 2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was skeptical to say the least. I've owned H-D's all my life, but when I saw this in the showroom, I fell in love. I got TWICE the bike AND power For HALF the price. Not to mention the lifetime discount through YAMAHA for parts and goodies. They are staring to go up in price now for the 05 and 06. Get it while you can !!!
- Moose, Temple, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-22 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently sold my HD and bought the Road Star Midnight Silverado. I have been extremely pleased with my decision. The lure of "A Harley" is strong but once I rode this wonderful machine I instantly knew this was the bike for me. It's styling, power, engineering and quality are top notch. I love this bike! When the 600 mile break in is attained, I am putting on Vance and Hines Longshots, High performance air cleaner and rejetting so this big 102 CI fire breather can breath and run! Great bike!
- J Murrell, Lakewood, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-29 2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wouldn't even begin to compare this to a Harley, why should I lower my standards. My 1700 Roadstar Midnight Rider is in a class of it's own. Why settle for less. If you're looking for somthing with a lot of style for a little $$$ then this is the bike for you.
- Louie Dell'Anno, Revere, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-08 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold a 2002 Road Star Warrior and a 2003 BMW K1200GT in order to buy my new Midnight Silverado. My wife is a new rider and I wanted something that would complement her new V-Star 650 while providing good two-up touring when needed. I've only put 170 miles on the bike to date but I am already extremely pleased with the performance, looks, and the fit/finish of the Midnight Silverado. This bike turns heads and the build quality puts anything in it's class (metric or American) to shame. I've added a luggage rack, passenger floorboards and visors for the headlight and passing lights. With all the standard equipment the bike comes with, there isn't an awful lot more you have to add to it!
- Tom Bottensek, St. Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-05 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at a lot of cruisers before picking the Road Star Midnight Silverado. I Think Yamaha has outdone all the others. It handles great in all traffic situations, has all the power you need to geterdone. It is truly a work of art. I'm lovin it! I would recommend it to anyone. The ultimate convertible.
- Ronnie Willis, Philadelphia, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: