Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-05 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2001 Midnight Star is more of a bike than I coud have ever hoped for. I bought it used off the internet from a car dealership in Florida and was kind of skeptical about what I would recieve. Man was I thrilled with what was delivered. It was in like new condition and ran like a dream. All my friends love the way that it looks, sounds, and rides. The Harley riders still put it down because it is a Yamaha but end up being quiet after I blow by them on the interstate. Yamaha has out done the competition in the cruiser class when they introduced the Roadstar line of motorcycles.
- Billy Nolfe, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-16 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned and ridden everything from a 50cc ATC to an Electra Glide. Overall, the Road Star is my all time favorite. I love the power, sound and handling. It's an exceptional machine. I am VERY pleased with my Midnight. The reason for the four-star comfort rating is highly personal -- being 6'4" doesn't put me in the "fit most people" category. I purchased the bike in July '05; at the time, it had just over 2k miles. Today, (November '05) it has well over 12,000 miles. Needless to say, this baby doesn't get much time to rest. It is ridden virtually every day with NO major problems or concerns. I love it, my wife loves it, my buds are envious. I especially enjoy riding with those who have Harleys --- for several reasons: My bike is ALWAYS ready to go; we can run off and leave just about all of them; my YamaHog runs smoother and gets better MPG; we have more money for nicer rooms and better food ;-). When shopping for a motorcycle, I found a Harley which was smaller, was 5 years OLDER yet was selling for twice the price I paid for my Star (actually more than twice). My only regret is buying from the place that I did.
- Hughey, Covina, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2002 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my roadstar as a second choice after I couldn't buy a Heritage Softail at my local HD dealer. I've owned a Harley before, and I like v-twins. The Roadstar has almost...but not quite, outdone HD in the v-twin area. If you're an old-school rider, you'll like this bike: air-cooling, v-twin engine, spoked wheels, etc. Positives: Performance-wise it's a cut-above a stock HD. Fit and finish is great. Reliability is excellent, despite the tranny recall from Yamaha. The bike is very comfortable on long trips and vibration is less than I thought it would be for a big v-twin engine. The bike tracks on rails through turns if you maintain a little throttle. It has pretty good braking for a 700 pound bike, and the dual disc in front is a nice touch. Negatives: This bike has the UGLIEST turn signal/tailight/license plate combo I've ever seen. Also, Yamaha Corp. does not like to talk to customers with issues. I called the corporate office to find out how long I'd have to wait to get my bike in for the tranny recall, and got nowhere, to include not getting to talk to the next higher person in their food chain. The tranny was fixed cheerfully (eventually) by a local dealer though. Gas mileage is not real good, even for a large v-twin. The air injection system is ugly and useless unless you ride in California. Aftermarket plugs to seal the injection ports are available for under $10. Once that's done, you can remove and toss the piping and air pump to clean up the front and left side of the motor. I wonder why the bike didn't come with the Warrior engine? Getting 90+ horsepower in a cruiser from the showroom would almost guarantee a waiting list to buy a Roadstar. Recommendation: Aftermarket pipes to get a little sound from the exhaust, BIGGER air cleaner and carb jetting to get some air into the engine, and a new ignition module to raise the rev limiter to a realistic RPM.
- Ken, Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-10 2002 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden a bike in almost 20 years and recently decided that, now that the kids are grown, I'm going riding again! For weeks I looked at many bikes from all different makes, I really like the look of the Harley "Fat Boy" with its "Terminator" attitude. Then I saw its price at over 17k and decided to look elsewhere. My kids will be starting college soon and at 43, I really don't care about impressing anyone with a "Hog" logo. The Victory line of bikes were somewhat overpriced and Indian had just announced it was going out of business, again! The new Honda VTX's were nice, as were the new Kawasaki Vulcans but for some reason my wife didn't like the look of either of them. When I went to the Yamaha dealership, they had a Road Star Silverado in char-blue on special for just $10,500! I was sure I could get the salesperson to knock another $500 or so off that and get out the door with a truly excellent deal. I told the dealer I was interested, they marked it "sold" and I went home to think the whole thing over. It was that very night that I opened the classifieds and found my new baby. The ad read: Yamaha 2002 Road Star (Midnight Star) 2k mi, pipes, bars, hypercharger, other custom & performance parts, still in boxes, $8500. I called the number and went to see the bike that was located about 20 miles away. As soon as he opened the shed doors revealing the bike, in better than showroom condition, I knew I had to have it! The bike was in the center of this 12'x12' room with nothing else around it, the structure was purchased just to keep the bike in and nothing else! Nothing else that is all except for the box of yet-to-be-installed custom parts with a calculated value of over $1700! His reason for selling was because he was overextended with family obligations (mortgage, new van, new baby, etc.) and his wife even wanted him to keep the bike! Did I forget to mention he also had a totally stock mint condition classic 454 Chevelle in his garage? He sure had some toys! Anyway, as I was loading the bike onto a trailer to take it home it seemed that every neighbor had to come out for one last look at this beautiful bike. I felt like I was adopting one of his children and nervous that he was going to change his mind. Well, I finally got the bike home, signed up for and took a motorcycle safety course which taught me much and I highly recommend for anyone who rides, I do still need to be around to pay those tuition bills and every little bit helps. At the end of the course I got something I never bothered to get when I was younger, my license! The bike has been awesome! It started out feeling a little heavy; it weighs in at around 700lbs. Now after a few months, it feels very comfortable, like it's become a part of me when I ride. The bike has plenty of power and has no problems keeping up with my friends on Harleys. Even with my 125lb. wife riding on the back and me at 210 the bike hardly feels the weight. I see that the new 2004 Road Star has a 1700cc engine, but I don't care, the 1600 has plenty of power and if my reason for riding was to drag race I would have bought a crotch rocket! This bike is a very solid piece of workmanship and I can't wait for the weather to warm up enough to go riding again, I find myself to be constantly checking the extended weather forecast. I have noticed that whenever we stop somewhere during a ride, from a distance I can see people walking by and glancing at all the other bikes, but they always stop and stare at my Yamaha Midnight Star. The motors sound from the Vance & Hines pipes are smooth and mellow at idle but can rock-the-walls with just a flick of the wrist, this bike can be as quiet or as loud as I want it to be. I know the V&H pipes have nothing to do with reviewing the stock bike, but it's a good example of just what potential the bike has when it's customized. I love this bike and would recommend it to anyone.
- Kwazimoto, Riverhead, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-11 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the Midnight Star for one reason. I thought it would be a great bike to customize. Well after putting $5000 into parts the bike is just about done. I've got a bike that turns heads and has about 100 HP for less than the price of a stock Fatboy.
- Kerry Lewis, Danvers, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-18 2002 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Midnight Star a couple of weeks ago. Like many others, I was considering a Harley but it was tough to swallow the $7000 differance between the two. Another reviewer once wrote that if you can get by the "ego" of owning a Harley, you will be happy with the Yamaha. They were right. I have added V&H pipes, windshield and bags and am very pleased with the looks and performance. The torque on this bike is amazing and unless you want to go from 0-90 in 3 seconds, you will be pleased with the power. Vibration is comfortable and much less than a Harley. I highley recommend this bike.
- Buddyjay, Secane, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW!!! I thought that this bike wouldn't really compare with my XS1100 Special but it sure does! Not as quick as the Excessive One but it will definitely be much more comfortable on the long rides. Thank you YAMAHA for another acheivement in EXCELLENCE!
- Steve M, Fairbanks, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-28 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
if you are interested in a cruiser, you cant go wrong with the roadstar. i bought my black beauty the midnight star 6 weeks ago. i havn't had a bike for the last 10 years, i am thoroughly impressed, i just fell in love again. couldn't be more pleased or impressed a beautiful inspiring piece of iron, buy one now and enjoy.
- gregg ledford, holden, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-06 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my new Midnight Star 6 weeks. Just had the 4000 mile service done yesterday at Roadside Marine in Vermont. I changed the stock pipes to V & H Longshots. My God, it's perfect ! Best bike I ever owned and I'll never sell it. It handles too well on these Green Mountain back roads. Get one and keep the shiny side up !
- Darth Vader, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-14 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Road Star back in March and have logged over 4000 miles on her since, both highway and backroads. My dream has always been to own a Harley cruiser but after careful consideration and comparisons not only with Harley but with most of the other major bike companies I came home with my midnight star. It's a everyday rider for me and only sits in the garage when it's raining too hard or the snow is falling and I have no complaints. My longest trip so far is a little over 400 hundred miles at an average rate of 80mph the whole way and she didn't even sneeze. If styling and performance is what you're after I highly recommend that you give this bike a long look. Just one note! I would recommend the longshots, rumbles down the road undistinguishable from the Harley and sounds great. Have fun and enjoy the freedom that only comes from riding a bike.
- Randy Bragg, Eatontown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-18 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The midnight star has it all !! I picked up my 01 Midnight* 2weeks ago.. the best cruiser out there. I had the dealer put V&H Longshots on the beast right away, I can't get over the sound it makes ! Pure power with looks and style. If you want a great cruiser or are going from a sport bike to a cruiser.. pick up a Road* and you won't be dissapointed..
- Chuck The Toolmaker, London, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-11 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello I bought my Midnight from Hollywood Yamaha. First of all I was not going to buy a Yamaha, I wanted the Kawi 1500. But when I went in to look at the Road Star, I was greeted by Jack the owner of the dealership. To my surprise I saw that bike and just fell in love. I mean LOVE. When i finally bought the bike I could not belive how nice this bike is. I rode a zx-7- for 3 years and i thought i would hate a cruiser but no way. I have 4 buddies that ride harleys and I have rode their fatboy's . I will tell you right now that this bike has so much more power then a Fatbot and feels and handles 100 times better. If anyone is thinking about buying a Harley or anything else do your home work and do not miss out on the roadstar. And if you live in California PLEASE GO SEE JACK//// OR ERIC AT HOLLYWOOD YAMAHA ON HIGHLAND///SOUTH OF SUNSET BLVD.
- Ken Young , Huntington Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-07 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought, or should say, traded some vehicles for my first Harley Davidson. It sounds good but you have to wrench a lot on it just to keep it going. So, I went by the local Yamaha store to purchase a tube for the flat on my Harley, and saw the midnight star sitting in the showroom. I sat on it and knew it was my bike! Two days later it is in my garage. I can't talk enough about it! The performance and cruising on this bike is absolutely wonderful. I'm still breaking in the engine so I have to take it easy. But at any cruise speed its pure comfort and vibration free. The modern technology for the gauges and other safety features are absolutely great. The large fuel capacity is a real plus for me because I plan on taking some long rides this summer and exploring the great outdoors. What I like most of all about this big cruiser is, it is just plain good looking! The Midnight Star is by far one of the best looking bikes on the road. And I own one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
- David Thompson, Grass Valley, CA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-06 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am so impressed with this bike it has power the hard lick I was looking for and all kind of class. Put on a set of cobra pipes and you will fall in LOVE!
- ivancalhoun, Cleveland, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-04 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
These are the first impressions I wrote after having bought the best V-Twin custom bike I've ever ridden (and I've ridden a few) First impressions on "Bam-Bam": * Excellent handling * Very efficient brakes for this size and weight * Mileage: 5.2 liters/ 100 Kilometers. * Need risers for handlebars * Excellent torque and low revs at 100km/h * No difference whether you ride solo or 2 up. Cruising uphill or on level roads: Tons of torque. By the way, my previous bike was a Shadow VT750. Loved that bike. BUT the Roadie gives me what I always dreamed in a custom machine.. Have been on the twisties this morning for a short ride. Boy is she sweet! All the cars that passed by went slowly, keeping on watching my Bam-Bam. She's a head turner! And on that long and pronounced up hill, on 5th gear, with my wife behind me, the bike just accelerated with all that enormous torque without revving up too much. Must have been doing 2.200 rpms or something at 100 km/hr. I weigh 225 pounds, my wife weighs 150 pounds: 375 total. She's cool, she's big and she's got class! And 5.2 litres/ 100 kilometres (45.2 miles/US gallon). Mind you, I cruised 2 up at only 62 miles/ hr. Which is the cruising speed I most like on open roads, less on twisties. It all depends on the prevailing conditions at the time. Of course the engine is noisier than my previous engine cooled Honda Shadow VT 750. But, this baby is what I ALWAYS wanted. It's like riding a beautiful shinny, chrome finished tractor at highway speeds! My Honda was a street bike with custom looks. My Bam-Bam is a custom bike, with huge custom torque and custom looks. Full stop. Five days on my new bike. I've ridden on twisties, highway and in city traffic. The bike weighs around 320 Kilos, a 100 more than my Shadow 750 ACE weighed. And here's how it handles. To start with, it is lower. You feel the weight of the bike when stationary. don't kid yourself, it is a mamoth of a bike! But let it roll and things start to change.... With my Sahdow 750, every time I approached a stop, let's say at a traffic signal, I found it difficult to hold the handle bars still: it seemed to become alive just before the bike stopped and wobbled from side to side. Very annoying. The Roadie does not do that. Steady and solid as a rock till the last second when it stops. It goes better into curves than the lighter and smaller Honda. MUCH BETTER. It's as if you "insinuate" the curve and she does the rest. She leans easily but without being callous. In and out accelerating, smooth as silk. Very maneuverable in the city traffic. I have to keep on telling myself to take it easy, this is no skinny scooter, to brace up and stop zig zagging in between cars! All in all a REMARKABLE and SURPRISINGLY manageable bike both in heavy traffic and on the open roads, whether twisties or straight highway. Sounds as an air-cooled engine should sound, but one day those long shots will adorn my Bam-Bam... And so, I can only congratulate myself for such a BRILLIANT acquisition! *****************************************
- Hani-Paul, Spain

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-27 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently took delivery of my Midnight Star. And I couldn't be happier. Before purchasing this bike I test road three Harleys, because I originally had my heart set on one. I road a 2001 Heritage soft tail. A nice smooth bike however it lacks power. I rode a 1997 Heritage soft tail, I found it to vibrate terribly. My teeth were chattering in my head. I then road a Fat Boy which was slow heavy and an incredibly harsh ride. I was reluctant to ride the Yamaha but I was persuaded to do so by the salesman. When I first got on the bike I was impressed by the right amount of vibration it had. It is more powerful, faster, better handling and more comfortable than any Harley I had ridden. I was simply blown away by the bike. It looks great too. I just don't understand what all the hype is about with Harleys. Considering A new Heritage soft tail is $21,500 why would anyone buy one when you can have a better bike, the Road Star for $7000 less. Good luck and ride safe.
- Mitchell Kaufman, Commack, NY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-09 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I became the proud owner on 31 March, and fell in love. I was torn between this and a Fatboy...I made the right choice, and got the dealer to include some bags and windshield. I'm sure he will be OK though, I have spotted some more good stuff and can't wait. I have 125 miles so far (small Island) but it will do!!! Aloha
- Jim , Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-28 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this great looking bike after seeing it at the Chicago motorcycle show. The chrome front end and blacked-out engine make it look like a bike that cost alot more than it list. I have added about 1k in accessories and already put over 1000 miles on it in the 6 weeks I have owned it. Recommend it to anyone interested, if you can get your hands on one!
- Mark , Cocoa Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-21 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my 2001 Midnight Star on March 15. I paid list price but the dealer gave me 15% off on the options. I traded in a 2001 VStar Classic which was my first bike. But after six months and 3500 miles I need MORE POWER. The Midnight Star looked stunning even before I added another $3800 in options which make the bike look and perform even better. The power is impressive, and the handling and ride are excellent. It doesn't handle as well as the VStar but the trade off for more torque is well worth it. Plus the heavier bike has a more solid ride. I've only put 500 miles on the bike but so far everything works perfectly. I'm very satisified and impressed and would highy recommend this bike.
- Ron, Oyster Bay, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-06 2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am currently looking to trade my sportbike in for a cruiser, and have pretty much decided on the Midnight Star. I test drove one last week, and it was great. I would like inputs from anyone who has recently purchased on about any discounts you got from MSRP, and how you are liking the bike. Thanks!
- Tim Hillard, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: