Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Billy Nolfe

Mobile, Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2001 Midnight Star is more of a bike than I coud have ever hoped for. I bought it used off the internet from a car dealership in Florida and was kind of skeptical about what I would recieve. Man was I thrilled with what was delivered. It was in like new condition and ran like a dream. All my friends love the way that it looks, sounds, and rides. The Harley riders still put it down because it is a Yamaha but end up being quiet after I blow by them on the interstate. Yamaha has out done the competition in the cruiser class when they introduced the Roadstar line of motorcycles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hughey

Covina, California

Reviewed on 2005-11-16

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned and ridden everything from a 50cc ATC to an Electra Glide. Overall, the Road Star is my all time favorite. I love the power, sound and handling. It's an exceptional machine. I am VERY pleased with my Midnight. The reason for the four-star comfort rating is highly personal -- being 6'4" doesn't put me in the "fit most people" category. I purchased the bike in July '05; at the time, it had just over 2k miles. Today, (November '05) it has well over 12,000 miles. Needless to say, this baby doesn't get much time to rest. It is ridden virtually every day with NO major problems or concerns. I love it, my wife loves it, my buds are envious. I especially enjoy riding with those who have Harleys --- for several reasons: My bike is ALWAYS ready to go; we can run off and leave just about all of them; my YamaHog runs smoother and gets better MPG; we have more money for nicer rooms and better food ;-). When shopping for a motorcycle, I found a Harley which was smaller, was 5 years OLDER yet was selling for twice the price I paid for my Star (actually more than twice). My only regret is buying from the place that I did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2004-07-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my roadstar as a second choice after I couldn't buy a Heritage Softail at my local HD dealer. I've owned a Harley before, and I like v-twins. The Roadstar has almost...but not quite, outdone HD in the v-twin area. If you're an old-school rider, you'll like this bike: air-cooling, v-twin engine, spoked wheels, etc. Positives: Performance-wise it's a cut-above a stock HD. Fit and finish is great. Reliability is excellent, despite the tranny recall from Yamaha. The bike is very comfortable on long trips and vibration is less than I thought it would be for a big v-twin engine. The bike tracks on rails through turns if you maintain a little throttle. It has pretty good braking for a 700 pound bike, and the dual disc in front is a nice touch. Negatives: This bike has the UGLIEST turn signal/tailight/license plate combo I've ever seen. Also, Yamaha Corp. does not like to talk to customers with issues. I called the corporate office to find out how long I'd have to wait to get my bike in for the tranny recall, and got nowhere, to include not getting to talk to the next higher person in their food chain. The tranny was fixed cheerfully (eventually) by a local dealer though. Gas mileage is not real good, even for a large v-twin. The air injection system is ugly and useless unless you ride in California. Aftermarket plugs to seal the injection ports are available for under $10. Once that's done, you can remove and toss the piping and air pump to clean up the front and left side of the motor. I wonder why the bike didn't come with the Warrior engine? Getting 90+ horsepower in a cruiser from the showroom would almost guarantee a waiting list to buy a Roadstar. Recommendation: Aftermarket pipes to get a little sound from the exhaust, BIGGER air cleaner and carb jetting to get some air into the engine, and a new ignition module to raise the rev limiter to a realistic RPM.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kwazimoto

Riverhead, New York

Reviewed on 2004-01-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I hadn't ridden a bike in almost 20 years and recently decided that, now that the kids are grown, I'm going riding again! For weeks I looked at many bikes from all different makes, I really like the look of the Harley "Fat Boy" with its "Terminator" attitude. Then I saw its price at over 17k and decided to look elsewhere. My kids will be starting college soon and at 43, I really don't care about impressing anyone with a "Hog" logo. The Victory line of bikes were somewhat overpriced and Indian had just announced it was going out of business, again! The new Honda VTX's were nice, as were the new Kawasaki Vulcans but for some reason my wife didn't like the look of either of them. When I went to the Yamaha dealership, they had a Road Star Silverado in char-blue on special for just $10,500! I was sure I could get the salesperson to knock another $500 or so off that and get out the door with a truly excellent deal. I told the dealer I was interested, they marked it "sold" and I went home to think the whole thing over. It was that very night that I opened the classifieds and found my new baby. The ad read: Yamaha 2002 Road Star (Midnight Star) 2k mi, pipes, bars, hypercharger, other custom & performance parts, still in boxes, $8500. I called the number and went to see the bike that was located about 20 miles away. As soon as he opened the shed doors revealing the bike, in better than showroom condition, I knew I had to have it! The bike was in the center of this 12'x12' room with nothing else around it, the structure was purchased just to keep the bike in and nothing else! Nothing else that is all except for the box of yet-to-be-installed custom parts with a calculated value of over $1700! His reason for selling was because he was overextended with family obligations (mortgage, new van, new baby, etc.) and his wife even wanted him to keep the bike! Did I forget to mention he also had a totally stock mint condition classic 454 Chevelle in his garage? He sure had some toys! Anyway, as I was loading the bike onto a trailer to take it home it seemed that every neighbor had to come out for one last look at this beautiful bike. I felt like I was adopting one of his children and nervous that he was going to change his mind. Well, I finally got the bike home, signed up for and took a motorcycle safety course which taught me much and I highly recommend for anyone who rides, I do still need to be around to pay those tuition bills and every little bit helps. At the end of the course I got something I never bothered to get when I was younger, my license! The bike has been awesome! It started out feeling a little heavy; it weighs in at around 700lbs. Now after a few months, it feels very comfortable, like it's become a part of me when I ride. The bike has plenty of power and has no problems keeping up with my friends on Harleys. Even with my 125lb. wife riding on the back and me at 210 the bike hardly feels the weight. I see that the new 2004 Road Star has a 1700cc engine, but I don't care, the 1600 has plenty of power and if my reason for riding was to drag race I would have bought a crotch rocket! This bike is a very solid piece of workmanship and I can't wait for the weather to warm up enough to go riding again, I find myself to be constantly checking the extended weather forecast. I have noticed that whenever we stop somewhere during a ride, from a distance I can see people walking by and glancing at all the other bikes, but they always stop and stare at my Yamaha Midnight Star. The motors sound from the Vance & Hines pipes are smooth and mellow at idle but can rock-the-walls with just a flick of the wrist, this bike can be as quiet or as loud as I want it to be. I know the V&H pipes have nothing to do with reviewing the stock bike, but it's a good example of just what potential the bike has when it's customized. I love this bike and would recommend it to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kerry Lewis

Danvers, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2003-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased the Midnight Star for one reason. I thought it would be a great bike to customize. Well after putting $5000 into parts the bike is just about done. I've got a bike that turns heads and has about 100 HP for less than the price of a stock Fatboy.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Buddyjay

Secane, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my Midnight Star a couple of weeks ago. Like many others, I was considering a Harley but it was tough to swallow the $7000 differance between the two. Another reviewer once wrote that if you can get by the "ego" of owning a Harley, you will be happy with the Yamaha. They were right. I have added V&H pipes, windshield and bags and am very pleased with the looks and performance. The torque on this bike is amazing and unless you want to go from 0-90 in 3 seconds, you will be pleased with the power. Vibration is comfortable and much less than a Harley. I highley recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve M

Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviewed on 2002-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
WOW!!! I thought that this bike wouldn't really compare with my XS1100 Special but it sure does! Not as quick as the Excessive One but it will definitely be much more comfortable on the long rides. Thank you YAMAHA for another acheivement in EXCELLENCE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

gregg ledford

holden, Maine

Reviewed on 2002-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
if you are interested in a cruiser, you cant go wrong with the roadstar. i bought my black beauty the midnight star 6 weeks ago. i havn't had a bike for the last 10 years, i am thoroughly impressed, i just fell in love again. couldn't be more pleased or impressed a beautiful inspiring piece of iron, buy one now and enjoy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darth Vader

Vermont

Reviewed on 2001-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my new Midnight Star 6 weeks. Just had the 4000 mile service done yesterday at Roadside Marine in Vermont. I changed the stock pipes to V & H Longshots. My God, it's perfect ! Best bike I ever owned and I'll never sell it. It handles too well on these Green Mountain back roads. Get one and keep the shiny side up !
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Bragg

Eatontown, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2001-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Star

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Road Star back in March and have logged over 4000 miles on her since, both highway and backroads. My dream has always been to own a Harley cruiser but after careful consideration and comparisons not only with Harley but with most of the other major bike companies I came home with my midnight star. It's a everyday rider for me and only sits in the garage when it's raining too hard or the snow is falling and I have no complaints. My longest trip so far is a little over 400 hundred miles at an average rate of 80mph the whole way and she didn't even sneeze. If styling and performance is what you're after I highly recommend that you give this bike a long look. Just one note! I would recommend the longshots, rumbles down the road undistinguishable from the Harley and sounds great. Have fun and enjoy the freedom that only comes from riding a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: