Yamaha Road Star Motorcycles Reviews (90)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-05-03 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding almost 60 years and owned everything from a Honda 50 to a Gold Wing and several Harley Ultras..... This thing is like a two-wheeled car......too big, too heavy and too ponderous in traffic. Look for something less.......
- Ron Forneris, Vancouver, Wa.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-07-14 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a beautiful 2006 Road Star stock. It rides great and has plenty of power. I look forward to many rides/tours.
- Max, Sunrise, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-07-09 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a super clean stock 2006 Road Star Silverado. I love the bike!! It has plenty of power with two up, smooth riding and excellent handling for a bike of its type. I'm looking forward to many tours!!!
- Rider, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-15 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in August of 2011, with 1,300 original miles on it. I bought it from a Navy sailor in Chesapeake, Va. He had it stored for a few years while deployed to Iraq. He came back, and was expecting to be deployed to Afghanistan, and needed to sell to help his wife and child out, and I got a great deal. It was just a base model when I bought it, and completely stock. I have since upgraded the entire bike, because I like it so much. It rides like a dream, and has not had any glitches, whatsoever. It has plenty of power, and outruns my Roadking, and my buddy's Screamin' Eagle Deuce that has the 1550cc engine. I have fine tuned this bike, and did not require rejetting of the carb when fitted with the SpeedStar pipes which are manufactured by Yamaha and the K&N upgrade. I did not purchase a sissy bar or rear rack as I prefer the Retro-Classic looks of the bike without that garb. The addition of the fender tips with the flared fenders really set off the looks of this bike. I also bought a set of the OEM mini engine guards, as I thought the larger one looked quite gaudy. I bought most of my parts online, and have about $1,500.00 in upgrades, bringing my total investment up to $5,800.00. I just had it appraised for $8,500.00 last week. It now has 4,500 miles on it. I will be buying another set of whitewall tires in the near future, as the originals have become a bit hard...to be expected after six years. If you're considering buying a very dependable cruiser, buy a RoadStar!!
- Walt, Evart, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-11 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had purchased a 2nd hand 2006 Roadstar recently with approximately 18,000 miles on the clock for $9,000 (Australia). I had sold a brand new 2011 Victory Vegas as I was very disappointed with the transmission and the poor treatment from the dearlerships. I am very happy with this bike as I prefer not to have fuel injection and I like a well behaved and smooth transmission. The bike could do with a sixth gear and more horsepower. It's an easy bike to live with! It's easy to jet carby and adjust lifters with one end being hydraulic. Also it has rather simple pushrods as opposed to 3-4 feet of cam chain as in the previous bike.
- Jason myers, Mayfield, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-11 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everyday I get on, it feels like the first time. There is plenty of power and looks. A lot of friends have H-D's and say, take mine for a ride - wrong! A Road King with big juggs and cam and all the other so-called parts, can't compare. Comfort is day and night. When it's time to fuel up, they have to use high octane, and still ping along, and don't forget the added octane booster. Whenever taking off at a stop, somehow someone always misses a shift. Is it me, or don't these guys know how to shift, or is it running too hot? My only complaint is tire wear. I'm on my third set in 17,000 miles. Normal, I don't know and can live with that. Plenty of miles and tires ahead. Ride safe.
- GRAYLORD, WEEKIE WACHEE, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-23 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Late September, 2010, I bought this bike used with 5,300 miles, and I have not regretted it one bit. A lot of customizing has been done, however, it's a great bike. I have put 600 miles on and 300 miles on the first week I had it. For a larger man of my size, it is hard to find a bike that is comfortable for my wife and I, but I found one with more than enough room. My wife doesn't complain about being on it like she did my Honda Shadow 1100. The look....well let's just say she turns heads (raven black over burgundy). But the performance and reliabilty was what I was looking for and I have not been disappointed. She runs with the big dogs if you know what I mean. Overall it's an awesome bike. It will not disappoint.
- Jonboy, Venango, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-29 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a Dragstar which I thought was a great bike but after colliding into a crash barrier (The Barrier won)I was bikeless. After about 6 months with the insurance paying out I looked to the Roadstar and boy was it worth the wait. Far far superior to the Drag. Smoother, more comfortable, and beleive or not, easier to handle. Only poor point is the MPG more expensive than my Merc but wow what a ride!
- the GOG, Bedford, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-22 2007 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can say that the '07 Roadstar 1700 is a true beauty when cruising down the PCH! The handling and power are unmatched. The balance and comfort collaborate in a smooth riding experience that captures the attention of those who see it in action. This bike is very versatile and the accessories available can enable the rider to fully personalize this awesome machine. I have since moved on the Yamaha Royal Star Venture S, but will always cherish my cruiser experience.
- Dave Avant, Port Hueneme, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-27 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my Road Star for 2 1/2 years and had not one issue with it. It is very comfortable, plenty of power and even though is over three years old, it is still more powerful than the newest Harley's out there; they are still trying to catch up with Yamaha! Definitely a must have for long trips as it is very forgiving and looks great on the road!
- Carlos, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-30 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortable and fun motorcycle that I have ever had the opportunity to ride. My last bike was a Suzuki and I find the difference to be like going from a VW Bug to a Cadillac. I look forward to riding my Road Star each and every day.
- Clint, Lake Worth , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-22 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my second bike. But I have ridden several different bikes. This is a great bike it's got comfort, style and plenty of torque. The only thing missing is a sixth gear. Who needs horse power when you have vast amounts of torque? I have raced a few Harley's such as a roadking, fatboy, and streetglide and beat them all. I rode the newer 2008-09 roadstar and wasn't impressed. The fuel injection isn't as good and they cut some of the bulk out of the bike and it takes away from the feel. If you want a beefy, powerful, great looking bike then buy an older roadstar. Oh yeah and there are TONS of accessories for this bike.
- Ryan, Louisville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-27 2008 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have thoroughly enjoyed my new Road Star and think I made a good decision with this bike. It has good looks, good price, good performance, good accessories, good mileage (44 mpg!) and good times. I average anywhere from 100 to 300 miles per day ride and this bike is comfortable whether I'm gone for an hour or five hours. The handling is superb and I love to twist the throttle through the sweepers. I recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a big cruiser.
- Jerry, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2007 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been out of motorcycling for 10-12 years. I got the itch back and looked around. I tested several different bikes. I kept comparing everything to the Road Star. I finally realized that I should just buy the one I kept comparing everything to. It rides great. Everything is perfect. I couldn't ask for anything more from a motorcycle. Power, comfort and looks. It's got it all. I can't wait for a road trip to test it out on a long run.
- Roy Dover, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-02 2007 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 50 years old and looked at a lot of swap sheets and showroom displays before I even laid eyes on the machine shown here. My decision was made and I purchased from a local dealer within the week. My only regret is that it took until October to stumble upon it. I've owned 2 street bikes (under 700cc and to commute to work) and have ridden 40+ years in the dirt. This is a huge departure from the norm for me. I've wanted a big bike for a number of years and always thought a Harley was the ticket but the cost always made me shy away; even used the things are stupid money. I finally came across this bike and could have bought it AND a new 250cc dirtbike for the price of a Harley. This machine is pure enjoyment, fuel economy is great, handles and looks great and the brakes work with dirt bike ease! My 2 H/D co-workers are a little put out because they are now the smaller bikes in the parking lot at 1340cc, and in comparison, the fit and finish of this bike is nicer. For the price of the Harley every fastener should be stainless steel. My longest day is the saddle so far has been 5 or so hours, with a few stops to sight see, the comfort level remained high. The floorboards may touch down now and again but just to remind me to relax the pace a tad. They were the one thing about this bike I worried about, but I have to say that they are a real plus to the overall comfort. For my money this is THE MACHINE, and the icing on the cake is the Yamaha Extended Service contract. There is absolutely no better deal out there, especially when you have a good dealer to work with. Now if good weather will only get here so I can get my road trips under way!
- eric, newark, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-12 2007 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As you can see from my rating, I love this bike. This is the 2nd RS I've owned. The previous was a '04. I was looking to get a Royal Star this time, but went with the Road Star. Bottom line, I like the sound, rumble, and feel of a V-twin versus the Royal Star's V4. It just depends on what you're looking for. This bike has a ton of power, looks great, and is the best handling bike I've ever been on. And with a price for a brand new Midnight, I couldn't pass it up!
- Marty Gustafson, Cabot, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-29 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike. Wouldn't trade it for anything. Plenty of power. I had fuel injected bikes before, and I missed the honesty of a good ol' carburator. One of the best stock paint schemes I've seen.
- Thomas Zlotnick, Montreal, Quebec, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-16 2007 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 2007 Roadstar, candy apple red, last weekend. Excellent people at the dealership to deal with. The bike is very powerful and looks great! I have received an overwhelming amount of positive comments about my bike.
- James Pound, Van Buren, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding in 1969 and have probably thrown a leg over just about everything out there. I was ready to fly to Phoenix to pick up a Harley E-Glide when I stumbled across my Road Star. I sold a '98 Gold Wing for this bike. The Road Star handles soo much better than the Gold Wing but is is not as fast. But then, riding is supposed to be about relaxing isn't it? And who can relax at 90 mph? My biggest complaint about this bike is that I miss the tunes. I have had trouble finding saddlebags big enough to match the machine.
- Mark Lepche4nske, Layton, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-18 2007 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike all around. I'm one of those guys who prefers a carburator to fuel injection. I would definitley recommend this bike.
- Tommycanada, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2003 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! It couldn't be any more comfortable. It has a great stretched out riding position. My uncles Dyna Wide Glide felt too tall, my Budz Soft Tail felt kinda cramped and my Chopper budz Big Dog vibrated itself to oblivion. It cracked the front head bolt and almost killed him. My ROADSTAR ROCKS! Now I need more power!! PIPES AND JET KIT to come soon!
- Mike Ocasio, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-05 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a 2004 Yamaha 1100 V Star to a 2006 Yamaha 1700 Road Star. Both are great bikes, but the Road Star is by far the better of the two in every respect. My only regret is not having bought the Road Star in the beginning.
- Big Man, LaGrange, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-12 2005 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT THE BIKE ON CONSIGNMENT WHICH I WAS KINDA HESITANT ABOUT. BUT AFTER I GOT ON IT I KNEW THAT IT WAS A GOOD BIKE. THE PEVIOUS OWNER DID A LOT OF THINGS THAT I WANTED TO DO SO THANKFULLY IT WAS ALREADY DONE. I HAVE PUT A THOUSAND MILES ON IT SO FAR AND I AM WAITING FOR THE SNOW, ICE, AND COLD WEATHER TO DISAPPEAR SO I CAN RIDE AGAIN. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BIKE OVER MOST ESPECIALLY FOR PEOPLE WHO CAN HANDLE A BIGGER BIKE OR A BIGGER PERSON THAN THE NORM..
- ERIC, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-29 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just turned 70,000 miles on my 2002 stock R* and have to say, not only will you enjoy this fine motorcycle, but you'll do so for a very long time. I changed the oil/filter every 4,000 mi, air filter 12,000 mi, and plugs 16,000 mi. Engine is as strong as the day it left the dealership. 100% reliable 100% fun to ride. If I ever wear this bike out, I'll buy another R*.
- Ed Maine, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, I haven't put a lot of miles on yet, but the ones I have were pure pleasure and excitement. I bought the bike in October, 2006. I was planning on driving it up to Canada from Sioux Falls, SD. A freak snow storm squashed that plan, at least till I hit Great Falls, MT. I drove the bike from there to Red Deer, started out with 2 miles on it. I took it easy for the first 150 miles, but could tell right away I was gonna love this machine, the feel, the power and the comfort is amazing. I am now adding on accessories, getting her ready for spring...
- Steve Kitella, Red Deer, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: