Yamaha Road Star Silverado Motorcycles Reviews (96)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Silverado Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Silverado Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-09-07 2002 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought our 2002 Yamaha Roadstar Silverado 1600. I rode her home last night and man am I impressed! I owned a 1998 Yamaha Virago 1100 just before this bike and it always felt like it needed a 6th gear at highway speed. So I decided I needed a bigger bike. I rode her home last night and not only is the seat height the same 28" as the Virago but the floorboards are so comfortable. I looked down, feeling like I was moving too slowly only to realize I was doing 70! No need for anymore gears! I've ridden for 12 years, have owned a Honda and now two Yamahas and hit a deer doing 60 mph. on the Virago. One dead deer and $4,000.00 later and the Virago was good as new. The Silverado makes me feel safer as well, due to the extra weight, the heavier steel tubing and the longer stance. All around I wish I had owned it all along! I don't feel you can get a better ride for the money. Mine came with a Mustang custom seat and Vance & Hines straight drags (which my Virago had as well) and I need to say, the pipes sound awesome without being obnoxious! So, if you're considering it, DONT WAIT! GET ONE NOW!!!
- MSally1965, Mechanicsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-02 2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Most of my rider buddies ride Harleys. They are the same ones who want to ride my bike after about three hours on the road. It's the best buy for the money on the road.
- David Cahoon, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-01 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Road Star Silverado new for Christmas 2006 (thank you wife) and have enjoyed it for many miles. I occasionally commute to SoCal for work, 740 miles round trip, and have not had any breakdown issues. We just completed a 3,900 mile ride to Memphis, Tennessee and had one minor issue: I added a BAK recently and an adjustable PMS screw. At 100 miles west of Albuerquerque, NM, I lost the PMS screw (I failed to install the spring and washer that holds in the screw) and had to pull the choke at idle or the bike would stall. With a 50-mile tail wind, high elevation and no PMS, I got 59 mpg!!! The bike runs trouble free and the engine mods give this bike some get up and go in the midrange with tons of low end torque, over 102 ft. lbs. at the rear wheel.
- dthorny, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-21 2010 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike yesterday. I rode it all afternoon. It's smooth, comfortable and has plenty of power. It handles good in rain.
- Darin Merrell, Natchitoches, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-25 2008 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of the best balanced bikes out there! The handling is great and handle bars are perfectly placed to promote rider comfort. You need to wake the bike up with performance mods! A six speed would freshen the bike up and make it more enjoyable. All in all I rate it 8 out of 10. Buy and you will enjoy the ride!
- Lee Gills, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-09 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lots of motorcycle for the $$! Starts every time on the first revolution of crankshaft regardless of temp. With stage 1 installed, (pipes, intake, advanced cdi) pulls like mad at 10,000 ft asl. Rode up MT. Evans 14,000 ft, will smoke rear tire without holding front brake. Ride with H.D.'s on highway at altitude. They Just fall behind....Good looking too. R.
- Rick Woods, Keystone , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-23 1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this bike, and after 10 years she looks and rides like new. These bikes really do hold up very good over the years, was saving up for a Road King...and for less than the down payment I own this bike. The 99 looks just like the 09 so when I ride with my friends this bike looks good next to a new Road Star or Harley. The ride is great, put some new Dunlops (white walls) on her and she just goes like a new bike. The stock seat is just fine for around town....I am going to have it shaped to get me lower and further back.
- Dave, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-24 2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike to ride occasionally for recreation. Boy was I in for an awakening. I ride every day. I am 50 years old and had not ridden a bike since I was 20 and I cannot believe how much I enjoy this bike. I have ridden a few other bikes but none touches the ride of my Roadstar. My wife loves riding so much we bought her a V-Star. She had never ridden before but after beginner classes she is riding her bike with me.
- Mark Campbell, Empire, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-24 2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Of the three Yamahas I have owned, this is by far the largest and, oddly enough, the easiest to ride. It has a low center of gravity making it very forgiving in the twisties. It also has enough power for two-up interstate work and does so in comfort.
- Andy Kelhart, Topton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-29 2000 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in the winter of 06 with 4500 miles. Now in the summer of 08 it has 27000 miles all trouble free with absolutely no oil usage. It is smooth, comfortable, and powerful. When I'm on vacation, I average 500 miles a day. I'm 60 yrs old and when I get off this bike after 12 or 13 hrs I am not sore. I am tired but not hurting. I've been riding for almost 50 years and this is the best bike I've ever owned. It averages 49 mpg.
- jim mieras, walker, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-03 2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a deal! Six years ago, I was on my way to see a Harley Softail Heritage Classic and pulled into my Yamaha dealer first. I'm glad I did. I got soooo much more bike for the money. The reliability has been the best I've ever had (been riding over 30 years). It's been ridden to VT, TN, FL and I can sit in the stock seat all day long. The stock tires lasted 20k miles! This is the best bike I ever owned.
- Bob, Burlington, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-30 2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far the most comfortable bike I have ever driven. Being in the Patriot Guard I do mostly highway miles. It is a pleasure even after 300 miles in one sitting to continue on riding. To date there have been no problems with my Road Star.
- Freddy Fricke, Trumbull, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles off and on for the past 30 years. I bought my Road Star in August 2006 well let me tell you if you purchase this bike you won't regret it. It has endless power and is very smooth. No vibration and handles like a dream. I've changed the exhaust pipes to vance and hines long shots, changed the stock seat to the Mustang seat (very comfortable), and added lots of chrome accessories. This bike turns heads even at the Harley dealer. The only problem that I had with the bike is the the bar that holds the running lights and the signal lights on fell off just as I was getting home from a ride - broke off right at the weld. Luckily I caught the bar just before it was about to land on my front fender. Called up Yamaha right away, they told me they had a problem with that type of light bar and reassured me that it wouldn't happen again. The dealership sent someone out the next day to pick up the bike and was fixed the same day. Now that's customer service! Thank you Yamaha. Once again this a fantastic motorcycle. See you on the highway.
- Wayne, Airdrie, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't rode in 15 years...last bike I was on was a Honda Interceptor. When I first looked at this bike I was concerned about an engine that size being air cooled. Secondly, it was carb and not fuel injected. After I bought it all the concerns there disappeared. This machine has plenty of power and handles like a bike with half the weight. Since the first day I bought it I have had nothing but positive comments and a lot of stares...from bikers of all sorts...sport bikes to Harley's. The only downside to this bike is it does drink gas and 93 octane will make it ride smoother. If you want the massive cruiser bike I really think this is your machine. Your only other real option is a VTX1800 from Honda. If you're into top heavy bikes that may be your alternative!
- Dave Eslinger, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-25 2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 35 years from motocross to the highway. Had lots of bikes, most of which were customized to my tastes. The Roadstar made customizing tough since most of what I wanted was already in place. I put more chrome, different grips, driver backrest, speedo visor, Big Bar, passenger floorboards, you know it's hard to add much. The power is good, the styling is old school and the handling is surprising for such a big bike. It gets plenty of eyeballing wherever I take it. From the Mountains here in Nevada to the shore in San Diego. I will have this beauty for a very long time.
- Jim Elliott, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-31 2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a first time bike owner and rider. I tell you, I should have tried riding sooner. I looked at a lot of different bikes including Harley Davidson and I am so happy I went with my Yamaha Road Star Silverado. I am a Rider for life now!
- Ron Caesar, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a 2004 Roadstar Silverado with fairly low miles. It's decked out with accessories and rides smooth. It's got aftermarket V&H pipes that really open up that powerful v-twin engine. I've ridden many bikes from Honda's to Harley's, and this bike takes the cake.
- Jon F, OKC, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new January 2004 w/zero miles. Dealer was still building/servicing the bike while I waited. Test rode and rode home (58 miles) same day. Bike originally got around 54mpg but I couldn't leave well enough alone. Added Hardchrome 3in Big Straights and Baron's Big Air kit. Now only get around 44 on the highway but power (and sound) is much better. I now have 26,000 wonderful miles on the bike with no complaints. Have only had to do scheduled maintenance. I use the bike as a daily rider to work and commute home (1,000 miles round trip) every other weekend when I'm not deployed. Couldn't ask for much more in a bike other than the handlebars could come a little closer to the rider. Great bike for all around riding.
- Mike Marsh, Fallon, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kinda of favor Yamaha, but from coming from a Yamaha FZ6, which is a great bike in it's own ranks, I didn't know what I was missing. No wind noise, smooth, and comfortable. I added right off, chrome fender tips, slash cut COBRA pipes and highway pegs. 1700 CC Monster... No pork here.. It's a riders bike....
- Dave, St. Johnsville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seems to ride okay, but it's hard to compare, as we came off of a Honda Goldwing. We sure miss the glass ride we got with the Wing. But the Roadstar is what it is. We'll ride it for a few years but most likely go back to the Wing. We found the seats a little hard on the back side. We noticed that when making left hand tight turns the rear wheel sides a few inches. We had the tire pressure checked and all was okay. We did nothing to the engine or pipes. We like to hear the radio, not the pipes.
- Mike Brady, Miramar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-25 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can have your FatBoys and your Runes...for overall boulevard bruiser good looks, power, options and comfort...I'll take my Roadie any day!! Simply put, this is a rider's bike. Gobs of torque, and all the bells and whistles one needs to make a ride in relative comfort to Sturgis, Hollister, or wherever the road takes you. The Silverado edition adds great value with the windshield, studded seats (if you like that classic style as I do), backrest and saddle bags. Have taken this baby from northern BC to Sturgis twice now, as well as rides around Washington and Oregon State, never had a problem with anything...just too much fun!!
- Tombstone81, Prince George, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-29 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden Harleys and Gold Wings all my life. I must say I was very suprised when I test rode this bike . 1 week later I had one in the garage. So far it has been very dependable, lots of power and torque. I love the looks of it. Also, with some headlight and turn sinal visors, a little extra chrome, it has that ole' school look I love. Harley heritage riders have to take a second look.
- scott, findlay, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-23 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Road Star I got is perfect. With the 1600 engine for the power, how could you go wrong. The bike had only 8000 miles when I bought it but now it has just over 13000 miles from riding. Repair wise so far has only been brake pads and oil change. A couple of stripped out screws but no big deal. The people at the dealership were all very friendly and helpful with me making the Road Star my bike. I would go back to them again for my next bike.
- Darren, Croydon, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Roadstar Silverado new in 2004. Ater the first ride I fell in love with it. Great torque and power. I have done 400 mile day trips on it with never a problem. Even if I got a new bike I wouldn`t sell this one, she`s a keeper.
- Dan Webster, Canyon Country, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-13 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2006 Road Star midnight Silverado after riding a friends for about 30 miles one day. I dumped my Harley and had the Road Star two weeks later. The bike has been trouble free and gets more comfortable every day it is ridden. I have an 80 mile round trip commute daily to work. I have taken it to the Rocky Mountains of Colorado for Star Days 2006. 2430 miles round trip. This ride included a couple of 500 mile days. Only complaint is the passenger pillon could be a little more comfortable for passengers. The bike had good power with two people and large touring bag on backrest. Fuel milage is good. Have not broken 50mpg yet but I do get very close when ridden with care. I think this is the best ride for my money.
- Paul, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: