Yamaha Road Star Warrior Motorcycles Reviews (46)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Warrior Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Warrior Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-26 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I built this bike - a 2008 Suzuki GSX-R750 Front End. It has a Yamaha race kit with hi-comp pistons, valve springs, cams, big injectors, race ECU and a Barnett clutch kit. It also has a head porting, Barons big air kit, Bridgestone battle axe BT014 tires, radial mount GSX-R brakes and upside down fully adjustable GSX-R front forks with 17-inch front wheel (was 18-inch stock) for faster turning. It also has a rear Barons lowering link, 1-inch fatbars with wiring inside, Yamaha fender eliminator, Vance & Hines pro pipe with alum, billet endcap and much more.
- JAMES MACHNIK, JACKSON, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-01 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Warrior used 2 1/2 years ago with 6500 miles on it. It is now at 22,500. Simply put, this is one sweet ride. I've used it both for commuting from SD to Rancho Bernardo, and for a couple of long hauls - most notably, up PCH to Ft. Bragg, about 3 hours north of San Francisco. If you can still get your hands on a good one used, grab it; you won't be disappointed.
- Pete P, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-15 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2005 Warrior for 2 1/2 years and am still totally impressed and thoroughly in love with this bike. When I bought this bike it had three thousand miles on it. The salesman at the shop said it was very fast BUT not good for long distance riding. Haha! Well I have proved him wrong after riding from Orlando, Florida to Sturgis, South Dakota (I also rode through the Rocky Mountains on the way). The bottom line is this bike will do it all when properly accessorized.
- gordon w. pratt, orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-18 2004 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, it's the best looking stock bike made. Some people don't care for the big muffler. Some put different pipes on it, but I think that takes away from the style of the bike. It sounds great. It is quiet at 80 mph. The ride is so much fun and it handles great. I go on 220 mile trips many times a year. So far no other bike can replace this one. I had a Maxim 550 for 21 years and I hope this one lasts that long.
- Greg B., Waukesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-21 2003 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a one-owner 2003 Road Star Warrior less than a week ago and love it! I thought about buying this bike for quite some time, and now with a little more experience under my belt, own it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a hot metric V-twin. It has loads of power, is beautifully designed and is seriously a piece of artwork! I am 100% satisfied with the performance, ride, cornering and comfort (Corbin seat). I would buy another Warrior without hesitation.
- T-Bone, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-20 2004 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great looking and fit and finish is excellent. Power delivery is smooth and pulls like a horse with max torque at 3500 rpm great with 2 up riding. Fuel mileage is average for 102 cube motor arnd 33 to 35 mpg, the bad is the 4 gallon fuel tank. Handle bars are set too low and makes rider lean forward which puts the rider fighting the wind. Air breather too wide and foot pegs are too far back. These items I corrected due to the fact I ride on long trips. If you're the typical consumer and only ride from bike shop to bar, then back home, never going over 100 miles from home, you probably won't need to change a thing. Exact accessories are below.
- mtrhd, maywood, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-09 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the first time I tested this bike I loved it. The major minus was the seat and foot pegs. I put on drag bars from Yamaha, A cobra FI module, D&D pipes, forward controls, Corbin seat and the Yamaha breather. All in all this is a real fun bike to ride. Big or small you'll love riding this bike. I take short trips because I am lucky enough that this is my second bike, my first is a Wing. I had the transmission upgrade and that (other than normal oil changes etc) are all I have done with this bike. It's quick and I get between 34 and 40+ MPG. Less if you start smoking em'. If I were to do it over again I'd most likely get the power commander rather than the Cobra system. It's reliable, fast, relatively comfortable and fun ... did I say smiles too?
- Fred Jewell, Epping, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-12 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchaced my Warrior after shopping for Harleys. I found that there is no comparison in the two in terms of what you get for the money. The Warrior has way more power, better brakes an alloy frame and just as good of sound. Enough said.
- Brennan Barnwell, pittsburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-14 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles most of my life. I have ridden many different bikes, but all around, the Warrior by far is the best. It has power, style, comfort and more. I have had so many people pull up next to me and tell me how much they like the bike. I am not a fan of Harleys, but will still take a complement from a Harley rider. On my previous bikes, they would not give me the time of day, but now, give me props for the bike. Since I bought mine, my neighbor purchased one and my good friend is in talks with the dealer for his. Warriors must be doing something right. I love mine and would buy it again in a heart beat.
- Wade, Thornton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-08 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 3rd cruiser and 7th bike... Wow, I wish I would have started out with a Warrior. I have a 2005 Warrior in Deep Cherry and flames. How to describe it... Well I was at a popular bike ralley, and had over 100 people come over to check it out. A little hard for rides over 6 hours without upgrades, but awesome none the less. Great handling, excellent power and very good fuel economy.
- DG Fire, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-07 2004 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the bike 2 weeks ago and have not ridden it as much as I like but so far I have no complaints. I'm still breaking it in so I'm not riding hard at all but all the power you will ever need is there. I sat on the VTX 1800 and it felt heavy and bulky, this thing feels very nice and handles just as well. The riding posture (comfort) is not as good as the Goldwing I used to ride but much better than the 600R Ninja I use to own. Upgrade the pipe and you will like the sound. Honestly I have never heard the stock pipe, I rolled mine out of the dealership with aftermarket pipes already on it.
- Rich, Southaven, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't been on a cruiser in 10 years and finally decided I'm going to get one this year. My 2005 Midnight Warrior is absolutely gorgeous to look at and just torquey as can be. I can't wait to get past the break in period to see what it can really do. While I was making the deal at the dealership, there were dozens of people just looking at it and complimenting me on how cool it looked. I'm 40 years old and not really into the "bling, bling" thing, but it really caught me off guard how many teenagers just drooling over it. The sound of this bike is sedate, to say the least. It doesn't rattle your bones like so many Screamin' Eagle Harleys, but it is a deep growl that is menacing. I know that I can get more power out of the Speedstar kit, but I just love that boom-can exhaust. I will update as soon as the break in is over for a more accurate rating.
- Jim, Hayward, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-12 2003 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The performance is just unparalleled by any stock bike...and the look is just awesome. People always are pulling up and asking what I'm riding, even Harley riders. And this bike stock will take most bikes off the line and then with the mods it is just a demon waiting to be unleashed.
- jay, lindenhurst, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-29 2002 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning any bike for a while, the new wears off and you might start looking around for something else, maybe just to see what's out there. Many people do. But after owning a Warrior for a while, if & when you do start looking, you very soon come to the realization "It's very difficult to find anything else that compares". A classic motorcycle with high-tech features makes it a drivable performer. Big on bang for the buck right out the box. My only complaint is rear tires. Five in 15k miles. I've learned to mount them myself.
- Gator, OXR, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-09 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Warrior in February & get nothing but compliments on it!! The bike is very fast in its stock form, but even faster with the speedstar kit. The only disappointment was that it took six months to get all the components together & Yamaha could still not give me a date on the camshaft!! I wound up getting the cam, pushrods, and lifters. THE BIKE IS AWESOME FAST!
- Randy Munson, Sylmar, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-18 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking for that escapism on a bike, the warrior will not let you down. Comfort, power, and sexy style. I have not stopped smiling when riding this bike. H-D riders stare to figure out what it is as I fly by them. I could have paid for an H-D but after riding the Warrior I know I made the right decision. One of the best compliments I have heard so far has come from the owner of V-Twin, "it's like Yamaha caught a punt and ran it back to the end zone 4 times in one game", that was awesome. I keep riding and keep on smiling. Compliments to the chef.
- Brandon Santos, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-15 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I have not been riding in 20+ years. I just completed a Riders Edge Safety course, last month (highly recommended) and almost bought an H-D 1200 Sportster. But I got a great deal on the Warrior and the rest is history. Plenty of power in reserve, plenty of torque, very maneuverable for the size of this beast. The sound is not loud but a deep baritone growl, which just brings a smile to my face. Looks aggressive and has gotten plenty of compliments from old and young alike. At first this bike intimidated me, but with some time patience, practice in the parking lot and 900 miles later, I am just thrilled I purchased this ride. Your skills will grow for a long time and the ride just keeps getting better on this brute. This is not a beginner bike by any means, but is an excellent choice if you are looking for a true Power Cruiser. Did I mention it just looks COOL?!
- Dave Rivera, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-13 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've managed to log a lot more miles on her, and she only gets better and better. I have taken her through the twisties in upstate NY, and she can definitely hold her own (though, if you're coming off a sport bike, the lean angle isn't as steep. Get used to lifting your heels, as they touchdown first). The compliments have been abundant. She will easily smoke any stock Harley (except the v-rod... though, if you put in the money, you could upgrade to the speedstar components, and then smoke the v-rod, with about $3k leftover). The stock exhaust sounds great, albeit a little quiet at low rpms (not that it gets incredibly loud at higher rpms either but, even though it's not that loud, the note is so deep it still sets off car alarms). I still will most likely switch to a v&h pipe soon. Another key benefit, you don't see one parked on every corner.
- anon, nyc, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is incredible. I picked up an '05 dark cherry a week ago, and haven't been able to get the smile off my face yet. It has enough torque to pull stumps out of the ground. Also has a nice, fat 200 series rear tire (nice aftermarket 240 - 280 kits available, too). Awesome selection of aftermarket parts, too. I will definitely write a longer review after more miles have been been logged (which shouldn't take too long)...
- anon, nyc, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-18 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I've had the RS Warrior for three weeks now and I've already put 850 miles on it. The more I drive it, the more I love this bike. I know I lowered my comfort score from 5 to 4 mainly to make the rating a little more realistic. I'm very satisfied with the way it rides, handles, and feels, however, I have yet to get my wife to ride on the back. The rear foot pegs need to be lower and farther forward. The passenger on the Warrior is positioned like a passenger on a Super Sport bike. Then again my wife is spoiled and misses her sissy bar. If you want to hear this bike run, you're going to need to change the pipe. The HUGE pipe it comes with is throaty but not very loud. In my opinion the stock exhaust makes the bike heavy and too quiet. Loud pipes save lives. The Warrior is one mean looking machine!
- Nolan, Bloomington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-31 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at several bikes before I chose the Warrior. I looked at the Big Dog Mastiff(too expensive but very BAD ASS!), the Harley Davidson Softail Deuce (too expensive after the many upgrades I wanted), and the Yamaha YZF-R1 (I'm getting too old for that crowd but I sure love that bike!). Then I found the best of both worlds: The 2005 Road Star Warrior. It's a cruiser with a great engine, super sport technology (frame, breaks, etc.), and custom styling straight from Yamaha. The bike looks awesome (Black & Cherry w/ Flames), is very comfortable, and handles like a champ. You just "think" turn and this bike cuts around the corner (keep your heels up!). I've read many reviews of past years' models and many mention the "clamshell" rider posture and the "parachute" shape of the riders arms for the wide bars being uncomfortable. I just picked mine up 2 days ago and have only put 135 miles on it, but I haven't been uncomfortable at all. In fact I love the way it feels in the saddle and I'm glad I kept the stock bars. It feels right with the wide grip and your feet out front, very nice (mean and sporty)! My buddy has a CFL West Coast Chopper (Revtec 100 cubic inch @ 100Hp) and he used to just leave me in the dust on my '98 Virago 1100. However, with my new 102 cubic inch EFI V-twin, I hang right there with him. If you want a comfortable upright cruiser with serious good looks and can perform like a super sport bike, go check out the RS Warrior. You'll love the big back tire, LED taillight, and 1670 CC motor!
- Nolan, Bloomington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-20 2004 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a 1986 XV1100 since new and I must say this Warrior is a dream. Tons of low end torque, very comfortable and did I forget to say it is very fast! Yamaha really did their homework when they put this bike together.
- Randy Munson, Sylmar, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just traded our V-Star 1100 custom for this hot rod. What a difference in horsepower and handling. I looked and rode all the rest but wanted to be different and always like the looks of the Warrior but when I rode it then I new this was what I was looking for. It is more comfortable then previous years.
- msobolik, aberdeen, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-25 2003 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Believe it or not... other than having a dirt bike at one point, this is my first bike. I've had the bike a week and a half. Every morning I wake up and pray that rain is not in the forecast (luckily it hasn't been, and I've ridden everyday since I got my bike)! The Warrior is solid and fast. It's been relatively windy and the bike stays steady. I don't, but the bike does. I've gotten up to speeds of 100 and 110. Thrill!! I felt like I was going to fly off the bike. Not the bike's fault, of course. I just need a little more weight. For my small size, it's amazing how well I can maneuver it. So ladies, don't be afraid of the size or the power. Have confidence and the bike will do its part. The size and power makes me feel safer. I know that I have the zip to get out of other's blind spots and have the power on the on-ramp to merge w/ traffic. I love my Warrior!
- explosv1, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-14 2003 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been writing for years and this is the best bike pound of pound and price. I have street raced with my warrior against both the V-rod and the VTX and I smoked them both. I have had no problems with this bike. The Warrior is defiantly a head turner and traffic stopper. Every Harley rider I encounter wants to get a Warrior now. Nothing can compete.
- LA Ray, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: