Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-09-03 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Actually, the year is not over and Winter riding is never out of the question. My wife looks forward to the next ride at every opportunity. I like riding for two reasons: the preparation and the journey to and from. Just finished replacing brake pads, fluids, air filters, oil filter, spark plugs, and greasing moving parts on 36,000 miles. I did this before and get the same results. It's just like riding a new, broken-in bike. Since my 20,000 mile review I've installed front fender trim and little chrome doo-dads. Been to Missouri and all in between, and San Antonio, Texas this year. At this point I have half of the 5-year warranty left. Only warranty claim was for a faulty fuel pump. Hopefully that is all that is faulty until the year 2020. Next year I'll put some Baron pipes and see if the sound is to my liking. By then, at the rate of local legislation, I'm hoping my pipes will be legal.
- tatatito, Thoreau, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-02 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My RSMTD recently had its 600 mile servicing. Afterward, she seemed slightly peppier at high speed, perhaps due to syncing of the four carbs. Had the heel/toe shifter replaced with the Yami billet single-arm. Much better for me, considering that that's what I'm used to. Installed a rear-seat luggage rack myself -- 'went together nicely -- also a chrome choke lever cover (10 second install), and a leather tool pouch, which I affixed to the crossbeam between the forks, just underneath the main headlight. By the way, the pouch is made in China, though it does appear to be of good quality. Best of all, I had a Bakup fully-adjustable driver's backrest installed, and this further improved what was already a very comfortable 'bike. The kink I had previously felt between my shoulder blades after a half-hour of steady riding has been eliminated. I no longer experience any discernible fatigue at all; it's really wonderful. Gas mileage hovers around 40mpg on 87 octane, but I concede that gas mileage would significantly improve if I could bring myself to keep highway speed down to 65mph or lower. Maintaining 75-80 is so effortless and confidence-inspiring that I feel I'm practically loitering at posted limits. As I had previously posted, my clutch has been engaging somewhat further into the let-out than it did when I first purchased the bike. I had the clutch bled; no difference. It's really OK, it's just that there was definitely a change in the let-out after the first few hundred miles. Since the weather turned quite hot and humid, I've taken to wearing a half-helmet that enables me to hear the high-pitched chirping between 55-65 mph in OD to which many RSTD owners have complained. No biggie to me, and you must consider that the only reason I even notice the chirping is because the exhaust is virtually silent at practically any highway-cruise speed. Only when the engine is heavily loaded -- like when ascending a grade at 45mph in OD and then rolling on power -- can I detect anything approaching an exhaust 'BLAAAAATTTTT'. I actually like it that way, except when I was riding with a coupla loud bikes last weekend. When we'd stop at an intersection and then pull away, I couldn't hear my own engine at all. It's vibration-free as well, so I really couldn't even 'feel' my way along in feathering the throttle and clutch. I ended up having to watch my Baron mini-tach (mounted on the brake reservoir) just to keep from either stalling or over-revving / riding the clutch. The only performance issue I have is that I have to remember to rev 'er up to 2500rpm in first gear if I'm ascending a hill. If I shift into second gear at 2000rpm or less, she kinda bogs down and accelerates VERY slowly until the rpms come back up to 2000. At or beyond 2500rpm, it's as though somebody threw The Great Magic Switch, because she very suddenly comes on terrifyingly fast for an 855 lbs. behemoth. I'm going to opt for the Bub 4-into-2 headers, and pop (3) 3/4-inch holes in each of the two air cans, to give me a little more pleasing exhaust note, better 'feedback' in noiser riding environments, and to let that V-Max motor breathe a little better. I'm more and more impressed with the speedo. 'SO easy to read, plus, the reserve-tank odometer is a very helpful riding aid, as is the easy-to-actuate clock. In my humble opinion, the opportunities for use of the cruise control have turned out to be far fewer than I would've liked, but I really look forward to highway rides with little or no traffic so that I can engage it, and then relax just a little bit more, without worry that I might inadvertently pile into the rear of some unsuspecting 4-wheeled econobox. Having that little doo-dad on-board makes me feel very snobbish as I wave to people I pass -- with my right hand. No luck yet in finding someone who might be able to cut the windscreen down a couple inches. Yeah, I'm getting used to it, but it IS an impediment to anticipating hazards. Overall, I'm very pleased with having chosen to purchase a new RSMTD. I'll update my review after I have the Bub headers installed and have the air cans ventilated. 'Regards to all, DC
- David Cox, Trumbull, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-30 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll start with the things I didn't like because there are so few. The transmission whine and the lack of a clock. Ok, the first is not too bad as for the second, I can always get a clock. People worry about the weight of this bike - don't. The 150s stick to the road and the thing is very, very stable. On my ride (traffic, town, country, highway) I never left 4th gear and the thing is going at 60mph before you realize it. I never one had a problem with balance, low speed turns or ever feeling like the bike was overweight. The engine in the thing is a thing of beauty. It's not a ripper like a race bike but crank the gas and you'll get there. Aside from some low RPM rumbling there is almost no vibration, even at the handlebars (which are dampened). The side bags could have a more substantial hinge retainer (I was afraid they would break falling open) but have plenty of room for a couple of 3/4 helmets, hats, towel, pavement puck, drinks, phone, wallet, small lunch and paperwork - and that is in just one bag. The controls are very accessible, watch out for the speedo as it's in mph and kph - I kept mistaking kph for mph because it's much clearer and closer to the needle. While I've heard some people don't like the speedo it's fine with me and I don't like looking down at my gas tank to see how fast I'm going. The saddle sucks but that is to be expected. I'll replace it with an ultimate but for now it will be fine. I'll add new grips, highway pegs, iridium plugs, clock, EZ pass holder and a place to mount a gps but this bike needs very little out of the gate. I had a V-Star 1100 (worked) and was considering a Roadliner/Starliner - do yourself a favor, get the Royal Star.
- gork, Harleysville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-08 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. We traded in a Silverado 1200 V-Star because my wife was not comfortable riding on the back. Our first ride on the Royal Star Tour deluxe was this is our bike. It is smooth, responsive, and the 5 year warranty speaks for itself. If I had any complaints on the bike it would be the lack of color choice. The model we have came in all black or all white. I would like to see Yamaha offer more colors on all the Star Bikes.
- Bruce Gotthardt, Carroll, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WENT TO THE DEALER TO GET A PART FOR A FRIENDS BIKE. TOOK THE BIKE OUT FOR A TEST DRIVE AND WANTED TO TAKE IT HOME WITH ME. ENDED UP BUYING IT A FEW MONTHS LATER.. GREAT BIKE
- Jim, NEW BERLIN, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-28 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike since April, it's a great long haul bike. I get 45mpg on open road, but average really drops in slower traffic (steady 30-40 mph), I then get 30mpg. It's also not the most nimble bike on the road but it does move when it has to. Friends call it a 2 wheeled car and that's coming from Roadking and Ultra Classic riders. I think they are just jealous because my bike doesn't leak. Overall, it's a great big comfortable ride that gets a lot of looks.
- jc, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 Royal Star Midnight Venture with 23000 miles. It's an awesome highway bike, cross winds and truck drafts are not a problem at all. It is very stable. Initially, the bike was starving for air and the stock exhaust was too restricted thus performance was not so great. So, I made a couple of mod's and wow, what a difference headers and k&n filters made. Now it hauls butt, Goldwing 1800's watch out. Remember, this is a V-max engine, it needs to breathe. The headers with the intake mod's really made a huge difference.
- jim hoy, colorado springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-20 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this bike for 3 months. Upgraded from 600 cc Honda Shadow. Absolutely love the cruise control. Bought an Aerostich roadcrafter suit. The hards bags are sooo roomy that I can take my lunch and several office supplies with me. I have been commuting as long as it is not a downpour. My only complaint is the floor board vibration. It is more noticable at higher RPMs (gear change) and on the fifth. The first dealer said it is just normal. Other riders said that this bike should be silky smooth and recommended a carb sync check. I am talking to another dealer. Hopefully this issue will resolve.
- gm, marysville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-02 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike is a 2005 Midnight Venture with a few modifications so it's a muscle crusier. I have made two trips from Colorado Springs to Los Angeles and it's an incredible highway bike. It is very stable in cross winds and truck drafts and with the mod's I've done, watch out 1800 Goldwings. Performance, well, all I can say is, I let a friend who has a stock Tour Delux ride mine, and he came back grinning and said I got to make mine do this. Just remember, this engine is a Vmax, it needs to breath. All I did is open up the intake and exaust. Any one wanting more info send me an email please.
- james l.hoy, colorado springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I placed the first review on this bike back in May with 900 miles on it. Here is an update. All the things that were good about this bike before are even better. The seat softened up just right. The Utopia drivers backrest - I won't ride without it, it's that good! Added air to the front and rear shocks and this thing rocks! I lowered the handlebars just a little and it now feels perfect. I added a cramp-buster because the carb springs seemed a bit too strong and this unit relieved any and all issues that I had, (I strongly recommend for all bikes). CONS: Only ONE... This clutch whine HAS GOT TO GO!!! It is deafening and is driving me insane! It's so bad that I am having to wear ear plugs, and sometimes that doesn't even help. This is becoming a serious safety issue as it is taking my concentration and focus away from the road. I have had the clutch basket replaced 4 times and all the others were even worse than the original. One was so bad that every time I got on the bike I started to shake due to shot nerves! It's going back into the shop one more time, then I am going to call it quits. Although the dealership has been busting their butt to fix this issue, Yamaha appears to be resisting the necessary motivation to make this noise go away. I have now been riding with this issue for the entire riding season and cannot take it any longer. I cannot, and will not, ride this bike again next year in this condition. I am dropping the quality and overall rating again due to the clutch whine...
- Hiker, Hudson, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About a year ago I purchased a C90T after having looked at the Royal Star Tour Deluxe (RSTD) Midnight Edition (ME). At the time, I just thought there wasn't enough there to warrant nearly a $2,000 dollar difference. Now, after a driver took a left hand turn in front of me on a country road, I was back in the market for a new motorcycle. I walked into the Yamaha dealer and there she was! The 2006 RSTD. This bike is sooooo much more stable in corners, absorbs the bumps better, rides smoother, shifts smoother, accelerates better, sounds better, carries more in the saddle bags, and is so much better built that I now see where the two thousand went. The backrest and windshield are removable so you can just cruise the Boulevard (Pun on the name for the C90T!) or pull all the gear back on and just go forever! The only little thing is that the gas mileage dropped a little bit. But it's still around 40 mpg. Great choice!!!
- Mike D., Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-12 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a 2000 Harley Road King to a 2006 Royal Star Tour Deluxe and, believe me I have never looked back! This bike is better looking, Smoother and a lot more fun to drive! And YES, it's even faster! This thing boogies! I have never driven such a solid feeling stable bike. If you are in the market for a new cruiser, you must put one of these on your list or you are not doing yourself justice!
- Bullets, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: