Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Motorcycles Reviews (36)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-06 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As an old motocross rider, I had never ridden street bikes much so I really didn't have a frame of reference. I do now. I bought my 2007 RSMV in May and I love everthing about it. With 19K already on, it was well broken in and the power is strong all the way through the band. A six speed would have been nice on long trips, the only reason I didn't give it 5 for performance. My bike looks and feels brand new and for $8K less than new so I am extremely pleased. I think HD's are too expensive for what you get. The only thing my bike doesn't have that HD's do are the HD insignia's and carburation instead of FI. One pet peeve - a cassette player? Come on man! Great Bike!
- Steve Napier, Bakersfield, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-18 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over 350000 miles in 40yrs of riding on the road and I saved the best for last. It just don't get any better than VENTURE. One ride on this bike will get it done.
- richard drake, ada, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-03 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2006 Midnight Venture. This is the 4th bike I've owned and the best by far. This bike is powerful and comfortable for the long rides. It's great for two up riding. This handles twisties better than any cruiser I've ridden. The radio sounds great at 70+ MPH. The cruise control works great. This bike is carbureted, but it is very responsive and mine always fires right up, even on cold mornings. I've heard other owners of this bike complain about primary gear noise. All I can say is that mine does not whine. I think this is an awesome bike and would recommend it to anyone wanting a long distance tourer.
- Tom Krzesinski, Streamwood, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-13 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking at buying a Royal Star Venture, buy one! You won't be disappointed! I own a 2003 Midnight Venture that I bought in '04, used, with 5,000 mi. on it. I transferred the remaining 5 year, unlimited mileage warranty (no charges either!), and only had to use it twice for minor repairs. I've put over 20k trouble free miles on it since then. This bike is the best bike out there in my opinion. It is rock solid!! I pull a clam-shell type trailer quite often for extended camping trips, and it has plenty of power for it, and then some. The ride is awesome; stereo is very clear sounding at highway speeds and electronic cruise control works great. You have probably read reviews about gear whine issues. Well I'm here to tell you that I have not heard any from my bike, or other friends' bikes at all. I also own a '97 Royal Star Tour Deluxe, and it has the same engine with 40k+ on it - no gear whine at all. My only complaint is the Ventures are not fuel injected. But the carbs (4 of them), do work fine. It's just that it's very cold blooded in the cold morning start-ups. You just have to warm it up a bit longer, that's all. Buy one, and then you to will soon learn that it is the best long distance carrier out there on the highways! Ride safe.
- K-9, Inkster, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-06 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now had my Royal Star Midnight Venture for one year now and I can say that I still absolutley love it. If there was one thing that I would change on it, it would be just a little more horsepower. That can be remidied fairly easy. I added leveling links from diamond r and what a difference. It makes the bike feel totally different. Raising the back shortens the rake of the steering and also lowers the center of gravity slightly, making the bike much more nimble. Now I can throw it through the s curves with all the confidence in the world. I am very pleased with what Yamaha has built and I will probably ride this one for a very long time. One thing about the horsepower. I did not mean to imply that there is a lack of power. I have had it in the tripple digits a few times, and she does it with ease, so power is not bad just some times in the lower rpm ranges it would be nice to have a little extra umph when in a higher gear. Anyway no complaints. My Yamaha dealers service department has also done a wonderful job of taking care of me and my bike. Anything that I have had an issue with they have more than come thru.
- jet man, vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-01 2002 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my Midnight Venture on several long trips from NC to CA and I have only had one problem. A vapor lock. I loosened my gas cap, listened to a whoosh and everything was a go from then on. I would recommend a Venture to anyone that wants an excellent touring bike. I also have a GoldWing and I prefer the Venture when riding by myself. Double, I prefer the Wing.
- Chuck Baker, Aberdeen, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-17 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read all the reviews before buying. It was a choice between this and a Harley Ultra for me because I wanted the classic styling, plus I couldn't afford the price tag of a Gold Wing. This bike has the styling, but it is a lot quieter than a Harley, which is great for me (no more ringing in my ears after a long ride). One review mentioned gear noise, but I can't even hear the gears on the highway -- the bike is quiet enough to actually hear the stereo at comfortable volume levels on the highway! I only complained about 3 things after my first 100 mile cruise on the bike: 1) Heat on the feet -- there is no airflow below the shins, and the heat from the engine makes it quite warm for the feet. I will have to solve this by buying a set of lower wind vents to help with this, but the Yamaha part is $248CDN -- pricey! This is the reason why I only gave the bike 4 stars for comfort. Otherwise, no complaints! 2) The brake pedal is too close to the engine for me, but I'm starting to get used to this now. 3) I missed the clock in the odometer of my last bike -- but I discovered that all I had to do was hold down the Select button for 2 seconds to make the clock appear -- problem solved! (OK, so that was a very minor problem, but I couldn't find anything else to complain about.) This bike is a perfect fit for me. Being a tall rider the bike height is just perfect, and doesn't feel at all top heavy for me. I have now worries about ever dropping it. Smooth power, a quiet ride, and it handles like a dream. Gearing is good and it purrs along comfortably at 60 mph. My wife's only complaint is that maybe there is too much room for her on the back seat! Other than that, she's really riding in comfort.
- boardhead, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a new (left from last year's stock--3mi. on odometer) '06 Midnight Venture, about a month ago. Commute about 55mi. each way to/from work. Mechanically, seems excellent, so far--a good, solid, secure feeling when riding. Read reviews about being top-heavy, which concerned me before test-riding. My previous bike was a 2000 Kawasaki Voyager XII, so the Venture doesn't feel that top heavy, relatively speaking. Had issues with the sound system not responding to controls when temperatures were under 50 degrees F, but dealer checked connections under the fairing, and no problem, since. No other issues, at this point. Quite satisfied with decision to buy this bike. Clutch basket chirp, which I read about before buying, is a little annoying, but doesn't happen at hwy. speeds, so I'm dealing with it. I understand that it can still go on, even if the basket assembly is replaced.
- Skooterchimp, Madison, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is truly the best bike I've owned. Bought it new last year 2006. Put 4500 kms on it last year. didn't want to get off. Handles well. Stereo's great too. It's just an awesome ride. What else can I say?
- mike stokes, milton, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-23 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my Venture in Feb. '07. Never had a street bike but a lot of good reviews meant that this bike was well built and reliable. Since Feb., I have put on 400 miles and loved every minuate of it, also my wife loves the la-z-boy back rest too. Can't wait for warmer weather, had to ride in 37 degree weather because it was driving me crazy for it to sit there till warmer weather came. A+++ in all aspects so far...
- MIKE PROCY, TEMPERANCE, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-20 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 18th bike in 33 years of riding, to include 3 Harley-Davidsons, the last being a 2005 Roadking Classic. After spending a lot on the HD and 16,000 miles on it, my wife declared that it was the most uncomfortable motorcycle that we ever toured on. We travel each summer and fall, thousands of miles, too many to put up with unreliable bikes, which I put the 3 HDs that I have owned, into that category. This is by far the most comfortable & powerful tourer that we have owned to date. It is everything that the HD Ultra Classic would like to promise, but without the aggrevation of dealing with the HD factory and the lack of backing their warranty. Save yourself some stress and money, buy the Yamaha and forget the attitude and fluff that go with the HD and get back to enjoying what the ride is all about. Take the money you will save and plan a 4 week ride accross a part of historic America, with your partner, and you won't have to worry if the machine you're on will leave you stranded, as our last one did.
- Jerry, Jay, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Was wanting a bike like this for a couple of years but could not afford it. Instead, bought a 05 Venture. Rode for a year till someone turned in front of me totaling it out. Found 05 MNV used with 2700 miles on it with a bunch of add ons for same price as new one. Rides really great. Work two jobs so don't really get to go on long rides much. Just ride to work on it every day. But I really love it.
- RICHARD TRIMBLE, GROVES, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-23 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine new in 2001. I've ridden it cross country, all I did was put a sheepskin seat cover on it. Other than that, it is stock and I love it. Never had any problems, breakdowns, etc. It is a big bike to commute cross town on, but great for any distance traveling. It handles great for its size, has plenty of power and more standard features/equipment than anything else in its class, especially for the price.
- Waterdog, Hamilton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second RSV, the 1st spoilled me and my wife. We started riding again after 23 years. We started with 1100 shadow spirt and we got hooked. I saw a 2002 RSV and we rode 15000 on it and it was used. I was impressed, then I saw the Midnight. Well I got one now and we put some Barons nasty boys on it, LEDS and a bunch of bling bling. My 2005 rsv midnight is the best. It has sound, speed, and handles and we can go for miles.
- Eddie Mathews, henderson, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Found the perfact bike. Most of the miles on my bike are two up (my wife and me ). The first year we rode 12,000 miles. Now its 7/30/06 and we now have 17,000. To many good things to list all. The real test was Deals Gap (Dragons Tail)Tn. Done this several times (Two Up) handles great.
- Doug Caryer, Defiance, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-13 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over the past 2 years I have owned two other bikes, both were new. This Yamaha Venture is a pleasure in the ride comfort, ride realiablity, and is down deeply a true Motorcycle in every sense. After riding for all these years, have finally found a bike of pure joy. Also comes with more accessories off the showroom floor than most cycles.... with a lower price.
- Jim Babin, Prairieville, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-13 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned several bikes in the 35 years I've been riding including a couple of old Goldwings but the power and performance of the Venture is far above anything I've ridden. I'm sure the new Goldwings compare in comfort but I much prefer the looks of my 2006 Midnight Venture.
- Dennis Hayes, Lake City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-23 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved my 2002 V Star 1100 Silverado BUT it can not be compared to the 2006 Royal Star Venture Midnight. This bike is so smooth and comfortable. My wife loves the back seat and that means more than money to me.
- David Dotson, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-21 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first, I was skeptical about the new style since my old bike was an 83 Venture but after I took the plunge, I was grateful I did. The bike is not only as stable as my older one but far more stable while on the interstate. I was a little surprised with the added weight or at least it felt heavier but not unmanageable all in all - A great bike...
- Wayne G, Palm Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my 2003 when my wife complained about my last ride being too uncomfortable for any rides over 15 min. long. Fell in love with the classic looks and incredible power of the V4. A high center of gravity and extreme weight is something to be careful of and I have heard of shorter riders dropping the bike, but I haven't had that problem, and once rolling it handles like a dream. The high ground clearance makes the twistes that much more fun when your not worried about dragging your pegs around every corner.
- James Strickland, Sexsmith, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-12 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 25 years on and off. This bike is exactly what I've been looking for! A reliable, powerful, comfortable, touring bike with the great cruiser looks. The majority of my riding is unfortunatly in town with weekend trips, which it handles just fine. Get it on the highway and watch out!
- Douglas M. Jordan, Seminole, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-01 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the 1999 Venture after coming back from a deployment in Afghanistan for most of 2003. It's my first touring bike. I don't have anything to compare it to and honestly I don't need to. It comes standard with features that cost extra on a goldwing plus the great 5 year warranty. It provides a comfortable ride with great handling. I pull a cargo trailer when the wife travels with me and I have to keep reminding myself that the trailer is back there. The Venture has great power and runs through the twisties with amazing performance. You can drag a floor board and stay in the turn. What a rush! Yamaha did it right with this one.
- CSM Dana Braquet, Groves, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-08 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since 1970 and this is my 9th bike. I've had two Wings in the past and like the Venture better. I'm planning on some long rides this summer and on one of them I will ride 1,000 miles in a day. I've done it on my first Wing and want to compare it to my Venture.
- Patrick Burgin, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden seriously for 20+ years and I got hooked on the 1st generation Venture last summer when a friend asked me to go on a long trip with a group. I found a used Venture and I was amazed at the quality of the ride and the bullet proof engine. Now after the trip I decided I was back into cycling once more and sold the 1st gen and picked up an '02 Midnight Venture. Looks great, rides great, powerful, and has many options to make a ride really comfortable. I thought about other options but knowing the 1300cc engine will go for 200k miles gives me a good feelig about the investment.
- Sal C, Essex, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-31 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the past seven years, I've had nothing but Goldwings (4 to be exact...all brand new). I got tired of the recent recalls (two alone for frame welding), so I decided to try something new. WOW!! Not only does this thing look more like a real motorcycle, but it rides like a true touring machine!! And the savings on standard items compared to a Goldwing saved me a small fortune!! I'll never look back. I'm one happy camper.
- Ken Golubski, Grafton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: