Yamaha Scooter Reviews on Cycle Insider (215)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Scooter Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Scooter? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-11-20 2004 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a great ride, until the CDI (part of the ignition system) needed replacing. Yamaha doesn't make the CDI anymore, and nobody on EBay or anywhere I search has one. Am I stuck w/ an otherwise perfectly good Vino because the CDI failed? Can anyone help? Please email me
- Jack Van, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-04-06 2011 Yamaha C3 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was amazed as I pulled away from the dealership and rode this scooter home! It has quick, strong acceleration and a smooth, stable ride all the way up to 40 mph. I love this scoot! I like how it provides a bigger profile in traffic than my Honda Met and a lot more leg room than the Honda Ruckus that I had for a first scooter. A grocery peg would have been nice but I can't complain about the generous storage. The fat tires make it versatile for some rougher back road riding, which I'm prone to do. I am very pleased and find myself riding this one over my larger scooter because it's just a blast to ride! Sad that Yamaha has discontinued this model. If you see one go get it! For a 49cc it can't be beat! It's great for both shorter and tall riders and has a very comfortable seat.
- Deb, Batavia, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-11-02 2009 Yamaha TMAX Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently sold my Burg 400 dog and unimpressive HD 883 Iron. I picked one of these up and I have to say this bike is pretty cool. As with most scooters, low end lacks real get up and go, but this bike really shines in the mid. Roll on the throttle at 4-5k rpm. and you will have to hold on, which is exactly what you need for powering out of the twisties, huh, go figure. Lighten the rollers in the variator and you just might unleash a monster.
- Matt, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-16 2012 Yamaha Zuma 50F Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great scooter for the money. It's cheap insurance at $100 a year. I get 132 mpg., plus it does go 40 mph. with me on it.
- joe, west bend, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-08 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great scooter. It is light and has power. I go through mud, and with water over the floorboards I still make it through.
- taylor, emmetsbuurg, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-30 2011 Yamaha TMAX Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is surprisingly fun and fast. It has great storage space and just a great ride.
- Clayton, Pikesville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-16 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike two days ago and so far so good. I'm very surprised I got over 55 mph. with my wife on it with me (I weigh 230 she weighs 115) and it still had very quick pick up to it. My first car was a Honda motorcycle but I haven't ridden in over 15 years so I was very surprised this bike operated so well for only being a 125cc bike. The comfort is excellent, performance very surprising and quick, quality again is excellent and so far reliable (only put 36 miles on it so far) but it started on the first try everytime so I will update my review as time comes. I would suggest this to friends and family - the only downside is the seat height. Now this does not pertain to me but my 5-ft. 1-inch daughter, who I hoped would be able to use this next year when she starts driving, but could not touch the ground with either foot. So for the shorter drivers this is a no go for them.
- everett davis, sicklerville, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-14 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It appears ugly but it grows on you. It's not fast but it's not dangerous. It doesn't have a ton of storage but certainly enough. It's not light but it's stable. OK, so it's not pretty, fast, or light, and tall people need not apply. So why do I love it? I have never owned such a high quality scooter. It treats me to 74 mpg. with decent capacity. The unusual handling is completely predictable and solid. The brakes are wonderfully predictable. It's whisper quiet as a scooter should be and has a smooth as glass ride. You'll notice big bumps but never jarring. It's completely highway capable. But I only use it to get to the curvy roads. Did you ever take a chance at work or in school and make friends with the weird kid that was a little bit different but interesting? Then found you became best friends because he had so much personality and was truly a good person and a dependable friend that was up for whatever it was you wanted to do? Well, You should have!
- Boston Dan, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-22 2011 Yamaha C3 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Yamaha on April 3, 2011. I still have it and am happy with it.
- Clark, phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-21 1999 Yamaha Zuma II Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 1999 Zuma a month ago, with less than 200 miles on it. It had been kept in a garage, driven infrequently, and was in excellent shape. My wife is driving it on her work commute, about 10 miles each way. It's a great little scooter, easy to ride, great pickup, easy handling and fun to drive. It will be a money maker as gas prices continue to climb.
- Smitty, Battlefield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-04 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Zuma 125 since August, 2008. I have put over 17,000 miles on it. It is durable to say the least. It gets great gas mileage and low insurance costs makes it a great vehicle for any student such as myself. I ride in Phoenix where it is hot during the summer months. It has had trouble starting each and every summer I've owned it when parked in the sun for a period of time. Covered parking and not riding in the afternoon prevents one from becoming stranded.
- Scott Mirgeler, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-11 2011 Yamaha C3 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished breaking in my C3 (600 miles) and it is running great. It has gotten 115 mpg. consistently and now that it has been broken in, runs between 40 and 45 mph. It is comfortable and handles well. It is whisper quite with a slow but steady accleration. It's slow compared to a two stroke but good enough to keep up with traffic. It is fun to drive and economic. It's also good for the evironment. It's an awesome little scooter.
- Andrew Woody, Monroe, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-10 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's just a smooth ride at 55/60 and the handling is great. I have had several scooters. The Vino is the best all around for me.
- ray, waynesville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-26 2009 Yamaha TMAX Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
5 out of 5 Stars! I have over 800 miles riding on my TMAX. It is a joy to ride - lots of speed and pick up when you need it. It's perfect riding and standing balance, almost can keep my feet up at 0 mph. Ride with your feet down (like most scooters), forward like a motorcycle, or back like a sport bike. It has the comfort of a touring bike and looks and pickup of a sport bike. Hard to believe it is a scooter until you do not have to change gears. I am getting around 50 mpg. city and country driving. There are lots of lockable, under the seat, lighted storage, plus two unlocked glove boxes. It's quality built and has a nice design. It rides a second rider with no effort. My next bike will most likely be another TMAX.
- JD Taylor, Poolesville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-30 2011 Yamaha TMAX Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing put the "scoot" in scooter. It's very powerful, very smooth, very comfortable and very efficient. I get just over 50 mpg. I was pleasantly surprised.
- jim murray, montgomery, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-27 2011 Yamaha TMAX Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most fun I've had since my honeymoon. This is not just a scooter. This beast has so much heart, it is a joy to cruise along at 55-65 mph.
- Leo Green, Dania Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-06 2009 Yamaha TMAX Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never been on any other bike with a better tight cornering ability than the Yamaha Tmax. My former bike was a Yamaha FZ6 and the Tmax has a better balance and cornering ability than it has. I can go faster, tighter and with more confidence around the tightest hairpin curve than any sport bike crotch rocket out there! I can lose any crotch rocket behind me on any curve. Yea, the crotch rocket riders will make fun of my Tmax cause its a scooter, but they can't catch up to me on any curve! After the crotch rocket riders make fun of my Tmax, I tell them they have a nice bike, too bad they can't ride it!
- Bart, Tyrone, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-04 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine slightly used (and saved on all those annoying freight & assembly charges). I can move my oversized-self up to 61 mph. on level ground. I have no problem keeping up with 55 mph. traffic. I checked the mileage once and noted 84 mpg. It's easy to change the oil. I found inexpensive tires for it but don't need any for awhile). I haven't seen one of these on the road except mine, and get asked tons of questions about it.
- CmdrScotie, Montgomery, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-29 2009 Yamaha TMAX Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is simply phenomenal: The perfect cross between sportbike performance and handling with scooter comfort. I am only 120 miles into ownership, but I can't get the smile off of my face. This bike performs and handles better than a Ninja 250 I've owned and is far more comfortable and manageable than a Suzuki GSX650F. I've ridden all with no shifting. You won't win any high speed races with high end sportbikes, but this bike is surprisingly fast at normal city and highway speeds. It's a great commuter. Yamaha hit a home run with this one.
- skwaustin, Georgetown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-01 2004 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this scooter for my girlfriend to ride around the neighborhood on. She now has competition, as I too like tooling around on our Vino 125. It's a simple, yet reliable bike that just brings a smile to your face every time you ride it. It has no problem keeping up with city traffic. In fact, it is quite quick off a light, usually leaving other motorists behind until they've had a chance to catch up. This bike is great and I highly recommend it to others.
- Brad, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-08 2004 Yamaha Vino Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this for my son to ride around the neighborhood to friends' houses, and he put about 2000 miles per year on it. We have never had any problems with this scooter at all until somebody borrowed it a few times. Now it will not start, but I suspect it is just a matter of the battery being charged back up. The 50cc Vino can be pretty sluggish going up hills, and at times seems slightly wobbly or unstable on bumpy roads. I think the wheels should be bigger, more like those of a small motorcycle. Overall, I think it is wonderful and I believe it most certainly paid for itself.
- Terri, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-08 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this for my son last year because his 50cc Vino slowed down so much when going up hills that he was holding up traffic. I didn't realize until we parked it next to the 50cc Vino that it is quite a bit bigger. I am short and can barely tippy toe touch the ground on it while sitting at edge of the seat. My inseam is 29". It rides great for a scooter and has a lot of pick-up when taking off. I think that it would feel more stable if it had bigger wheels though. The battery is easy to reach if you need to recharge it, unlike our 50cc Vino. The styling is nice, and I like the choice of kickstands. It seems weird to me that it will not start if the kickstand is down. This is inconvenient for me, because it is hard for me to use the kick start without the kickstand being down. We bought this used and it has always been a little trouble to start. We usually have to kick start it while pressing the starter button. The housing for the headlight is really expensive if you run into the wall and break it like my son did. I think it may have to stay broken unless he wants to pay $250 for a new one. The front leg shield was also cracked, but it is under $100 to replace that. Go figure.
- Terri, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-11 2008 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved my Vino 125. It had the get up and go speed but it did start to drag after 45 mph. I had the top speed at 65 mph down hill, 50 up hill and 55 on the straight away. It's great for around town. I even took it on the highway for about 50 miles and had no trouble. It's a lot of fun. I traded it for a Majesty 400CC. I wanted more power but the Vino was enough power for me. It has great handling manuevers. It's excellent, it's just an easy riding bike and turns a lot of heads. Even the die-hard Harley fans loved my Vino 125. From 0 to 45 it has a lot of zip. I was getting about 80 mpg. I wish I never traded it. The Majesty was a great upgrade but didn't manuever like the Vino. I totalled the Majesty three weeks after I bought it. I wasn't used to the power difference. But in my opinion you can't go wrong with any Yamaha product. Plus Yamaha has no problem getting parts.
- DAVE STRAUBE, FAIRFIELD, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-20 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best thing about this scooter is the reliabilty! Sat outside all winter with 5 inches of snow and ice and still started easy in the spring. Does not bog down up hills even with two people on it. The worst thing are the front brakes. Four sets in five years. The anti-rattle clips in the caliper have to be perfectly straight or they won't work. I left them out. Love this scooter! Would not sell it for 5000 dollars. Highly recommend tighening all bolts. Have lost some due to vibration.
- bob, lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-08 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: Good for riding streets with up to 40-45 mph limits. Corners and brakes well. Absolutely no mechanical problems. Cons: Limited uphill accelaration. Underseat storage is actually smaller than that on the Zuma 50. Stock mirrors have limited view. Summary: Based on my limited experience, I would rate this as very good for commuting and general riding.
- Brad W, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: