Yamaha Sport Bikes Reviews (1,140)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2019-11-13 1998 Yamaha R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had to lower it, 2nd gear slipps, super fast, not the most comfortable but I am in the wind. I hear loosing second gear is notorious on the R1. Midprocess of repairing 2nd. Biggest bike I've owned since my CBR929.
- Bruce Blount, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-09 2017 Yamaha FZ-09 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle is extremely quick and sensitive. This bike is not comfortable. This motorcycle is very flick-able. This motorcycle has a good maintenance schedule. It is also a good looking bike in white.
- Phillip Bernal, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-06-13 2013 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The FZ1's now span 3 generations. They have R1 engines in an upright sport bike chassis. Insurance costs are 1/4 what an R1 is which brings ownership costs into the budget level. FZ1's can be modified with R1 suspensions for track. This series of bikes have been bolted with hard luggage for touring. It is not uncommon to see an FZ1 that is street toured to reach over 200K miles with only normal maintenance performed. The dependability of the FZ1 is none other than legendary. I purchased my bike with the idea of tracking it a few times per year for skill building & using throw over bags for traveling. The center stand makes maintenance a breeze. Very few bikes these days have center stands.
- Radman, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-06 2008 Yamaha FJR 1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The FJR 1300 is a very good all around bike and handles most every command well. I found the handling very good until pushed to sport bike speeds. The weight and lack of lean angle clearance becomes an issue only if you're chasing a pack of sport bikes. The power delivery is a bit snappy/jerky off of idle. I'm told a power commander or progressive grip tames this issue. The bike makes a lot of torque everywhere which makes it easy to ride without searching for an ideal RPM. Top speed is 150 MPH give or take 5 MPH. The FJR is horribly uncomfortable due to the seat. I could only ride 150-200 miles until my can was on fire. I almost immediately replaced it with a Seth Laam seat. I can now put down 600 miles a day. I have ridden 10+ hours for 3 days in a row with a passenger through the Smokies. The 08 did not have a cruise control option. I do find my hands falling asleep after 3-4 hour. Throttle body synchronization is recommended to help with vibrations. Wind protection is great.
- Anonymous, Indy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-05 2014 Yamaha Fz6r Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was purchased this bike with 0 miles,for commuting and occasional weekend rides. Love the bike...but for second thought, I'm gonna sell it. Pros: power,77 or so...perfect for commuting Nimble handling Reliability, never had a problem Cons: super uncomfortable over 1 hr ride,I'm 6 foot/200lbs Transmission clunks,I hate it, my old Honda was smoother At age 42 I have to change for more comfortable bike.
- Anonymous, San Marcos

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-02-27 2008 Yamaha FJR Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just tripped over 53,000 miles and only problem ever had was a rear master brake cylinder fail-Bullett proof motorcycle-JE
- Anonymous, Lewisville, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-10-28 2013 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
don't know how I am the only one here with a review of the FJR1300 since 2009 but this bike is quite the sport tourer. Sadly, I haven't logged many miles since I only got it this season but it just rocks. Coming from an '09 FZ6, this bike has gobs of power in all five gears. It has smooth power, yet pulls. My only gripes with this bike are the sheer weight of this beast and the handlebar setup. Nothing to do about the weight but a relatively cheap pair of risers brought the bars up nicely and make it more comfortable for sure. Trying to get used to moving this beast around my garage is no small feat. I just ordered the park and move dolly to help with that.
- S.D.Willie, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-09-02 2010 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2014 YZF-R11 and it is a 2-headed vicious, violent monster. It is still in break-in period until it has a 1,000 miles on it. I haven't went over 6,500 rpm. on it yet but it still likes to lift the front wheel. I can't wait until I can get into its power band. This is the ultimate super bike and I can't say a bad word about it - awesome!
- louie, bethel park, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-07-16 2015 Yamaha FZ-07 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The reason I'm doing this review is due the simple fact that I was told I am the only person that has purchased the 2015 from the dealership - the bike is flawless. Having come from a racing and autocross background, I have had several GSXR1000s and other liter bikes. At first I was scared due to the smaller engine and what I thought would be a lack of power. Eli, the salesman who attended me, was extremely detailed and explicit in his explanation of the vehicle. I took his advice and purchased the motorcycle and can't be any happier. It's extremely fun, durable and surprisingly powerful and full of torque! The bike is not a Ninja 300. This bike will lift until 3rd gear with a experienced rider and stock BT023 Bridgestone tires. I can't be any happier with the bike along side the crew at the dealership, especially the service. Kevin and Mike are awesome! The bike had some small adjustment needs. Their gear head of a mechanic had my bike back fast and better than when it left the factory. All clutch adjustments, brake and throttle adjustments were perfect for my style of riding and nothing, not one flaw, that I could find on the service. Also get the maintenance plan! It makes it a breeze. No out of pocket when serviced and just adds to one of the many luxuries of purchasing a vehicle from them. They are one big family. I definitely recommend anyone to go check them out!
- Joseph Espinosa , Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-10-27 2013 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding only Cruisers for the past seven years, I decided I needed a change. I spoke to the folks at a couple of local dealers and narrowed my search down to either the Suzuki Gladius or the Yamaha FZ6R. I got a much better trade in value for my V-Star 1300 Tourer from the folks at Yamaha and they also were asking $1,500 less than the Suzuki dealer was asking for the Gladius. Needless to say I went with the FZ6R. It was quite a change in riding style and position from my previous bike. After a couple of hours of riding however, I was able to get more comfortable with the FZ6R's higher seating and more nimble handling. The dash display was well positioned for easy viewing and it's nice having a fuel gauge for a change. The FZ6R handles the wind and open roads quite well considering how much lighter the bike is compared to the Star 1300. Shifting is not as smooth but getting used to it quickly. Fun factor is very high (can't wait to hop on it again). Engine power is not intimidating but by no means weak either; this bike has more than enough power to entertain most if not all riders. I will update my review after the 600-mile service but so far the bike is great and would highly recommend.
- JD, Flemington, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-09-11 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a bike that offers plenty of speed and comfort for longer rides, look no further. This bike will keep up with the fastest bikes on the road. With the upright riding position, it will give you all-day comfort.
- Robbie Green, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-24 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike three years now and am closing in on 40k miles. I've had several long road trips with many 700+ mile days, including a 4,200 mile trip through British Columbia, down the Pacific coast to So. Cal and back to Colorado. The bike is dependable, fast, light, comfortable, cheap to own, easy to maintain, fuel efficient and fun to ride one or two up. I'm taking my honey on a jaunt to Mt. Rushmore and the Badlands this weekend and know it'll perform flawlessly. I've considered other touring bikes like the Victory CCT, but that bike's size and crappy gas mileage make me realize I already have the best bike for my riding style. I fully expect to reach 100k on this ride.
- Gary Smith, littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-03-05 2011 Yamaha FZ8 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved to this bike after riding the following: 2004 R1 (with 50,000 miles) 2009 R1 2009 R6 After getting sick of the riding position of the sportbikes on the street, I decided to go this route. I couldn't be happier. The FZ8 is a great bike all around. It's designed for the street with increased low end torque as well as plenty of snap on the top end. The riding position and comfort makes this bike the perfect commuter bike or weekend warrior machine!
- Ben Wieberdink, Cedar Grove, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-02 2012 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! It's the best purchase I ever made. It's a fun bike, reliable, fuel efficient, has a sleek look and great sound, too. It's the best bike by far.
- Rob S., Dunkirk, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-22 2009 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Please note, I am 55 and have been dreaming and waiting. This was the ultimate birthday present to myself. My first bike has great looks. While I have only been riding for a few hundred miles, the bike is manageable, nimble and more than I expected. I have only had a mild taste of the power on tap. 65 is a trot. Most of my riding has been old two-lane highways with a 45 limit, lots of elevation changes and curves. Now I take on interstates to cross state lines. I am planning to ride in the cold. I got the bug bad. The FZ1 is the cure. Oh, by the way, Sasha is a red 2010 FZ1
- Mr Gone, Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-14 2012 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for five years and this is my 4th bike. I started on a Gixxer 600, went to a 1000 then to a Harley which I hated and now I just picked up a 2012 YZF-R6. I switched to a Yamaha because of a few reasons. I think it's the best looking bike out of the 600 class. I know it has tons of power for a 600 and it's a little cheaper than a Gixxer 600. I am definitely going to look into an aftermarket seat because like all the other bikes, it feels like you are sitting on a piece of cardboard. I only have about 50 highway miles on it. Break in period is up to 600 miles. I'm dying to open it up around the turns but I'm going to be good until I hit the 600 mile mark. If you are considering a 600cc sport bike, take a look at the R6, you wont be disappointed!
- Joeybots2615, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-05 2001 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing! I went from an older Sportster to this bike, deciding that I wanted to go a little faster. This bike did the trick. I acquired a 2001 YZF600R for myself for my 26th birthday and have been scraping pegs on it since. The only down side I have found is tires for it aren't cheap. If your looking at this bike for a first "crotch rocket", I would highly recommend it, great motorcycle.
- Larry, Hiwassee, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-10 1984 Yamaha FJ1100L Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a pick on the wall when this came out. I was 14. I rode a buddies in 1999 and I vowed to get one. I finally did and by howdy am I glad. It's reliable as the sunrise. It still has good power after all of these years and relatively easy to maintain. It's much more comfortable than today's sport-bikes. It has decent mirrors and is good for short riders believe it or not. Downsides: I can feel every bit of those 630 (wet) pounds. The engine can feel agricultural compared to modern in-line 4 cyls. It turns about 5k rpm. @ 70 mph. I plan to keep this future classic until it disintegrates.
- NWilliams, NLV, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my old bike and just wanted to let everyone know that it has been very well taken care of. The full Arata sounds great and the GP style shifting coupled with the speed shifter is the best thing ever.
- Kevin Hornocker, Corydon, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-12 2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Run after run...this '02 R1 still holds its own extremely well. It's seen later R1's, ZX's, GSX's come and go that still haven't surpassed its unbelievable low/mid range torque. Some prefer coffee in the morning for a kick, but this machine offers one screaming intense rush of adrenaline, all while maintaining a civil posture on the road. This much low-end power, combined with the near 600 class size frame and generous mid-range, is well suited to stay out front of the pack long enough to make the others feel silly, staring at your backside and giving it everything they have to catch up. Only those that have owned one and truly put it to the test can understand how unique this set-up really is.
- JB, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-02 2008 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used on 2/11/12 with 2,980 miles on the odometer. This is my first running motorcycle. I can't begin to tell you how wonderful it is after 10 years of renting HD and 35 years of shopping. Yes, it is "Scary Fast" to have a Sportbike with a partial upright sitting position, but is so much more comfortable than laying across an R1. The 1st owner did all the cool upgrades, then traded it in at 141 miles, on a GSXR1000. The 2nd owner rode it 1-2 times a month for four years. For touring I am adding the taller wind shield and soft saddle bags. I just added Shogun frame and swing-arm sliders.
- Dwood, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-21 2011 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought it but I'm already enjoying it. It rides smooth, is pretty quick and the acceleration on corners is great. Dee at the dealership traded me out of a V-Rod! The staff was great to do business with. I miss my V-Rod's pure hp, but for my needs, this bike should be great. The only drawbacks I see are the wind affects it and it is too tall. Thanks to Dee, Rick and Krista!
- butch, birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-16 2011 Yamaha FZ8 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after totalling a Monster and could not be happier with my decision. A comfortable riding position, plenty of power, and good suspension make it the perfect all-around bike. It's good for commuting and the "spirited" rides on the weekends.
- chris, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-12 2009 Yamaha FZ6R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike, affordable and has plenty of power. My wife and I both ride this bike together. You can not tell you have a passenger on the bike. I can get 50 miles per gallon in the mountains where we live. The only thing I would change is there is not a big after market parts selection as far as exhaust and other performance parts but maybe I'm looking in all the wrong places.
- Brian, Pound, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-23 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like many others - I passed my MSF basic course and looked for a practical, sporty, light bike that I would not outgrow too soon. That was four years ago. It's easy to operate, fun, good torque, quick, fast when you want it to be. It's reliable and oh my gosh - such a value! It's the best kept secret for mid-level sport-touring/commuting/carving. I've taken mine to Montana, Alabama, Ohio, and it's a great tourer (your butt will get used to it eventually) and commuter. You can pick one up for around $3,500-4,000 on e-bay. What a steal! Put a Cal-Sci windshield and crampbuster throttle pad on it and your good to go cross country. The underseat exhaust allows you to use inexpensive soft luggage easily. Strap on a tank bag. I now have four bikes, but I'll never get rid of "Hector", and I taught all three of my boys to ride on him (16-23 yrs. old). Enjoy!
- Shawn, Jasper, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: