Yamaha Stratoliner S Motorcycles Reviews (61)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Stratoliner S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Stratoliner S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2015-01-07 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used. I am still getting to know it and I really like it. The power is outstanding, the handling is great (not what you'd expect from a bike this size). All in all, it's a very easy bike to ride. However, its small gas tank gives it short range between fuel stops. This could be good if you need a break to stretch your legs but it makes planning for fuel a must on long trips. The only other thing would be the addition of a sixth gear to help out with the mpg.
- HCB, C.C., Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-02 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's more power than I ever expected from a bike. You can ride for hours without getting sore or worn out like some other bikes I have had. There's power on demand, good looks and it handles more like a sport bike than a cruiser. It gets between 36 and 43 mpg. I couldn`t ask for a better bike or one that is more fun to ride.
- Mike, Findlay, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-22 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Roadliner in 2006 and after 5 years of riding I have yet to find another bike that comes close to this amazing machine. The strong engine and smooth shifting makes every ride a thrill. Reliability is head and shoulders above most manufacturers. The fit and finish is head and shoulders above anything in the cruiser class. I am 100% satisfied with this bike and after a test ride I think most anyone would be as well.
- MilwDave, Pewaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-21 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike. I got it new in 2008. Two years and over 30,000 miles later, I love it. It handles like a sport bike and still cruises at 90 mph. There is no problem but now I feel a pop when I put it in first. This is the only bike I ever had. Is this normal after breaking in the bike?
- vic, L a , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-06 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not unlike most, I'm still on my quest to find the perfect bike! The Stratoliner S is a fantastic machine, but with some shortfalls. In the last year, I've ridden several multi-day tours including several 500+ mile consecutive days. The stock seat is terrible. It's incredibly light weight and, compared to a Mustang seat, is a joke. The passenger seat is even worse. Mustang seats were a must. Also, the handlebars, after a longer time riding, are really not positioned anywhere close to where they need to be. I like it that they're spread out wide, but they're too low and too far foward. I had to put raisers on to make the bike comfortable for long distance rides. Aside from these comfort preferences, the bike performs like a champ and improves with every mile. I started running Amsoil and the bike loves higher RPM's. Around 9k it was like a switch flipped and all of a sudden it really started running great. It loves to accellerate and sounds better and better all the time. Engine vibration seems to be less now too as the ride is noticably smoother as the bike was broken in. I test rode a Goldwing last week and, using the Wing as a basis for comparison, am very pleased with the power and smoothness of the Stratoliner. But remember, this is a cruiser that can do touring, not a tourer. I'm still test riding touring bikes, but can't get past this huge V-twin that is running smoother and better everyday. My answer to ths perfect bike? If Yamaha would mount this engine in their Venture model.
- Rob K, Alton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-28 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Paint job and smooth lines sold the bike. I had to have it. It looks like a 1950s police bike. I love the looks. Now the ride. It's very smooth. I have all the power I need and can make a tailgater disappear. I love that. I get looks and thumbs up when passing people out on the street. The ONLY thing I can think of that I need to replace is the seat. The seat is cool for local trips and pretty good distance riding. But if I wanted to spend the whole day on this bike, I think I would want like a gel type seat. Other than that, the bike is awesome. I have not seen another bike on the road that looks better or makes me jealous. I have already had the insurance guy offer to buy it from me if I ever want to sell it. Great bike guys and the treatment I received thus far has been helpful and very cool. Thanks for the bike guys. Lovin' my new "Cop" bike.
- Matt Thornton, Brighton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-19 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, big bike, easy and comfortable to ride and maneuver. Great power all the way through the RPM range. Gas mileage is the same as my ole Shadow 1100 which is the low 40s, not bad for almost twice the CCs.
- RJM, St Augustine, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-06 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one great bike. I recently sold a Kawasaki Nomad because of my back and it hurting after a ride. The center of gravity, weight distrubution, and most important THE LOOKS. This is one mean machine. I spent thousands on my Kawasaki for chrome and this bike seems to have it all. There are some personalization that you will do but not a lot as Yamaha took care of it for you. As for the my back, no more riding pain due to that center of gravity and ease of control of the bike.
- Gino R., West Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-30 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got over 2,000 miles on my '07 Strat and can confirm that the reviews in this forum are an accurate description of the Star Stratoliner S. Yamaha put a huge amount of research and development into creating the Roadliner/Stratoliner and no significant improvements have been necessary since it's introduction in '06. Even though it's air cooled, the dry sump, oil cooler, and other internal innovations reduce heat so that the huge engine runs much cooler than one might expect. My dealer said you should get over 200,000 miles before needing any major engine work! One concept that hasn't been mentioned is that the Stratoliner could be viewed as two bikes in one. It's got huge amounts of torque for a very satisfying bottom end and that classic cruiser feel...cruising along at 2,000-3,500 rpm is a very relaxed, comfortable experience. However, if you want to hit the throttle, the bike wakes up and becomes a monster...extremely fast and agile for a bike this big/heavy! The adrenalin rush from 2,000 rpm to 5,000 rpm is immediate and significant...more like a high rpm sports bike than a cruiser. There may be faster motorcycles out there, but the Roadliner/Stratoliner has more power/speed than any sane person would ever want. For the rest of us...it's got just what we need!
- Kevin Rochat, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-12 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Fit and finish is top notch. Gobs of power. Very well engineered. The seat is pretty darn firm and the reach to the handle bars is pretty long and I have long arms to begin with. Other than the seat and the reach, this is the perfect bike. The removable windshield and back rest come off and go on very easy and stay put when attached. Head light is bright and the chrome and attention to detail is fantastic. The gas mileage is comparable to the other bikes this size which is 33 mpg around town (would be better but I can't stop twisting the throttle wide open) and 42 highway. It would be great if the gas tank was 1 gal bigger so fuel stops would fall in-line with the rest of the pack but it is what it is. The windshield does a great job of blocking most of the wind. If I compare this to other comparable bike and rate on scale of 1 - 10 it would go like this. HD - 6, suzuki boulevard - 7, honda vtx 1800 - 8, victory - 7, Stratoliner - 9, no bike is a 10 so don't get your hopes up to see one listed here. They all have their faults.
- Claytonthebrain, Cambridge, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-10 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man I can go on and on, but I won't, I'll keep it simple. This bike has great retro style, a beautiful shiny big engine, and has the kind of power that would satisfy any cruiser owner! I got exactly what I wanted: a big, beautiful bike that feels small to operate and that has almost endless power when operating on interstates. Gas mileage is about 35-36 average, although I did get about 50 once or twice, flaw? Gas tank a tad bit small, it would be nice if it had a 5+ gallon to push it to about 200 miles+ per tank full, but you can't have everything otherwise it would be 100% perfect, but I will take it as is! I promise, you will not be disappointed!
- John I, Oceanside, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-11 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love my Yamaha Stratoliner. This baby handles like a dream. I have worn out 3 sets of tires and 3 sets of grind pins on the floorboards. This baby handles! I haven't found a Harley yet that will run with it. (see you on Floyd hill) I did call the service manager, complaining about the clock adjustment(daylight savings time). It took him 30 seconds over the phone to fix while he laughed at me for not reading my manual. I will definitely buy another from the dealerhship, but this one stays. I rode the crap out of this bike and I have never had one single problem. I'd like to say that I put the bike together, but except for the seat, it's exactly the way I found it on the showroom. This baby pulls like a locomotive and I'm a big guy who rides year round. When you own a biker bar and you ride Yamaha, it better be a good one. The echos of their HD laughter go away after the first stop light and since then, I sure see a lot more Road Liners and a ton of Raiders. One ride and you'll be just like me.
- Rooster, Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-23 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2008 Stratoliner S as a leftover in May 2009. As of October 2009 I have 14,000 miles on it including an 8000 mile cross country trip. This is the best bike of the 30 I have owned over the years. It handles superb, rides smooth and has plenty of power. This one is a keeper for a long time to come. 500 mile days are a breeze....actually very enjoyable. I ride it every chance I get. Now my HD sets in the garage although I did put 100 miles on it in the last 6 months.
- Lloyd Wenger, Myerstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-06 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an 07 Strat S new just last week overstock, still sitting on the showroom floor with 30 miles on it. I also test rode and seriously considered the Honda VTX 1800, HD Road King, Yamaha Tour Delux, and Victory's V92C, so I have a basis for comparison. Since then, exactly one week of owning the Strat, I've managed to tally up almost 1k miles, including a trip from St. Louis to Chicagoland and back. Here's what I think. First impressions: the bike is HUGE but incredibly well balanced, especially compared to the Honda. It handles better than my Honda 1300 did. It is a smooth ride, but does create some engine noise and vibrations. The air cooled engine puts off a LOT of heat during these typical Midwest summer days. Off the line performance is great, but not nearly as noticeable as the cruising speed acceleration capability. The stock seat isn't all that uncomfortable, especially compared to the Honda stock seats, and the S model comes very nicely dressed in chrome, a lot of money to add on to the Road King. Oil filter and drain bolts are easy to reach. Servicing the bike is a breeze. The windshield does create a fair amount of buffeting. A more slanted shield might have prevented this. The bike feels exceptionally stable on the interstate and is pretty nimble for getting around town on as well. I would have liked a larger fuel tank, but I'm usually ready to get off and stretch after 120 to 150 miles anyway. My best MPG so far was 47 riding solo with a great tail wind on a state route going 60mph and my worst was 36 riding 2up coming South out of Chicago with a strong headwind on I55 in heavy traffic. The side bags are a little deceptive. When you open them up, you'll find yourself saying, Huh, I thought they'd be bigger, based on how they look from the outside. So far I'm very happy with my purchase. No motorcycle is perfect, but this one will suit me just fine for a few years, until I get the itch again.
- Rob K, Alton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-12 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner Midnight with 6000 miles on it. I am 72 years of age and I can handle the Stratoliner under any conditions with the greatest of ease. I live in New York City so I have to manuever the Straoliner through the heaviest traffic to get out of the city. It has the torque and power to handle the city traffic flawlessly. When I have to stop at a stop light the aluminum frame and low center of gravity makes the Stratoliner move with incredible balance and controlled power. I can turn it in tight corners and tight traffic with the ease of a gazelle. When I ride on the highways, byways, upstate New York mountains, I have never found a riding condition that the Stratoliner could not handle with tremendous agility, control, power and balance. At the age of 72 the Stratoliner makes me feel like a young man who can Trust this Trusty Steed to take him anywhere with comfort, reliability, controlled power and safety.
- Alan Fink, New York City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-04 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Strat is a very strong bike. At speed it handles very well. Like all heavy bikes at slow speed it is a bit cumbersome. For almost 5,000 miles my '07 (bought new in '08) has never failed to start on the first push of the starter button. No breakdown or issue of any kind. No backfires no nothing. The bike throws off too much heat to be called comfortable in the summer in FL. But that may be an issue regardless of your ride. The seat is the reson I gave this bike a four instead of a five for comfort. The padding/foam is not top notch. My old Honda VTX was much more comfortable. The quality issues are small, the windshiled bracket and fasteners are showing some rust (this on a garage kept bike that has only seen rain twice in a year). that's why I gave four stars for quality not five. All in all it is a very quick, strong bike that serves the Two-up larger riders well. The bike is worth the money they ask for it (compared to what else is out there). I however might have gone another route if I had the chance to test it for a few hundred miles before buying. My next bike if there is one might be a Sport Touring Bike. I looked closely at the BMW 1200RT That can be set up to be closer to what I want, the issue is it would cost over $20,000 & that to be fair to the Strat, is far more than I paid it. If you like cruisers. If you demand power. You will like this bike...
- Steve S., New Port Richey, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-19 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 07 midnight last year and have put 7,000 miles on her. The bike performs well and is smooth at any speed. I love the rumble and the room. I sit very comfortably except for stock seat. Too hard for long rides. I use a sheep skin gel pad. Plenty of power and turns heads as well. Gas mileage is poor and could use a 6th gear. Tank too small as well for the big beast. A head gasket was replaced at 7,000 miles and Yamaha would not cover under warranty because it had just expired 4 months earlier.
- Rob, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-13 2009 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever been on. The power all the way through is awesome in every way. The ride smooth, the saddle is great for long or short rides. The looks speak for itself this is one mean machine.
- David Hauck, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-12 2008 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must say that this is one of the most comfortable and easy handling motorcycle that I have driven. For being over 750 lbs, this bike feels like half its size. It is so well-balanced, you would not think that it weighs this much. It handles like a dream and you feel like you have total control of it. I feel so confident on this bike that it has made me a better rider. This is truly the Cadillac of the Cruisers!
- Todd Schoeberl, Platte City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-03 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently I made a trip of about 5000 km in 10 days with my Stratoliner. Everyday I spent approx. 5 hours in the saddle. I came into snow and heavy storms. The bike just works and works. Riding was comfortable, there is enough space to move around or change the position. By riding normally with 100 - 120 kmh the fuel consumption was okay. The saddlebags could take all of my luggage. And everybody admires your bike.
- Peter Klausli, Durban, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-06 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been thoroughly impressed by the Stratoliner S. The quality, fit, finish, attention to detail and beauty of this motorcycle is second to none. I've compared it to other and it always stands above the rest. The power, handling and comfort while riding, sets the standard of what cruising on a large bike should feel like. Yamaha's Star division has truly set the standard for cruisers.
- Tdubya, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-31 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a Yamaha 350 back in my 20s, then with kids and work, just gave up riding. When I decided to buy a bike and start riding again everyone told me to get a Harley, but after test driving Harleys, Hondas and Kawasaki's I settled on the Stratoliner S. After the first 50 miles of riding, I knew I had made the right choice. It has great power, smooth ride and handling. I've rode 400 miles in 3 weeks just taking weekend short trips in the early mornings when it is cool. I'm sold on this bike as the best cruiser on the market.
- Yorkpad, Wylie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a Yamaha since 1972. This is the best riding and handling bike I have ever ridden, period. It is so well balanced that the 800 lbs.+ is not a problem to handle. Now, it will surprise you with its 100 hp and massive torque. It just doesn't have a top end. As you can see above, I am not a small fellow and this bike is still pulling at 135 mph. Try that on another bike.
- Murel Hall, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-19 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put over 3500 miles on the Strat with no problems to date. I ride the curvy roads in Ventura County and the power is always there. The floor boards have scraped a few times. My gas mileage varies from 43 to 49. The only complaint is the poor factory seat. I purchased an Airhawk which helps quit a bit. I am considering a custom seat. Overall this is the best bike I have owned even better than my Gold Wing.
- Bob, Moorpark, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-20 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a Road Star previously and wanted more power for passing and cornering clearance for the mountains. I certainly got it with the Roadliner. It will corner better than most cruisers including the Harleys I frequently ride with but of course not like a sport bike. On the interstates it is solid and stable. The only place I have misgivings is in the dirt where its awesome power sometimes has difficulty getting to the ground and it is a bit higher off the ground in slow speed maneuvers. For passing, it gives me a new level of confidence on those small back roads and guys I ride with cannot believe the way I can blast off. My first rear tire lasted about 7500 mi which is not real good but okay. Another aspect I should mention is 2-up riding where my wife finds this bike the best yet. The suspension is far better than the Road Star's and we both enjoy the sound of the exhaust.
- mack, columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: