Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha TMAX reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Matt

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2013-11-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I recently sold my Burg 400 dog and unimpressive HD 883 Iron. I picked one of these up and I have to say this bike is pretty cool. As with most scooters, low end lacks real get up and go, but this bike really shines in the mid. Roll on the throttle at 4-5k rpm. and you will have to hold on, which is exactly what you need for powering out of the twisties, huh, go figure. Lighten the rollers in the variator and you just might unleash a monster.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Clayton

Pikesville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2011-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It is surprisingly fun and fast. It has great storage space and just a great ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JD Taylor

Poolesville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2011-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
5 out of 5 Stars! I have over 800 miles riding on my TMAX. It is a joy to ride - lots of speed and pick up when you need it. It's perfect riding and standing balance, almost can keep my feet up at 0 mph. Ride with your feet down (like most scooters), forward like a motorcycle, or back like a sport bike. It has the comfort of a touring bike and looks and pickup of a sport bike. Hard to believe it is a scooter until you do not have to change gears. I am getting around 50 mpg. city and country driving. There are lots of lockable, under the seat, lighted storage, plus two unlocked glove boxes. It's quality built and has a nice design. It rides a second rider with no effort. My next bike will most likely be another TMAX.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jim murray

montgomery, Alabama

Reviewed on 2011-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This thing put the "scoot" in scooter. It's very powerful, very smooth, very comfortable and very efficient. I get just over 50 mpg. I was pleasantly surprised.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Leo Green

Dania Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2011 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the most fun I've had since my honeymoon. This is not just a scooter. This beast has so much heart, it is a joy to cruise along at 55-65 mph.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bart

Tyrone, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-11-06

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I never been on any other bike with a better tight cornering ability than the Yamaha Tmax. My former bike was a Yamaha FZ6 and the Tmax has a better balance and cornering ability than it has. I can go faster, tighter and with more confidence around the tightest hairpin curve than any sport bike crotch rocket out there! I can lose any crotch rocket behind me on any curve. Yea, the crotch rocket riders will make fun of my Tmax cause its a scooter, but they can't catch up to me on any curve! After the crotch rocket riders make fun of my Tmax, I tell them they have a nice bike, too bad they can't ride it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

skwaustin

Georgetown, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is simply phenomenal: The perfect cross between sportbike performance and handling with scooter comfort. I am only 120 miles into ownership, but I can't get the smile off of my face. This bike performs and handles better than a Ninja 250 I've owned and is far more comfortable and manageable than a Suzuki GSX650F. I've ridden all with no shifting. You won't win any high speed races with high end sportbikes, but this bike is surprisingly fast at normal city and highway speeds. It's a great commuter. Yamaha hit a home run with this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hal Bouton

Charlotte, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2010-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned my Tmax for nearly a year. It has all the comfort and power of a small cruiser motorcycle with better wind and weather protection than most bikes. I was in the market for an automatic motorcycle but found the few on the market very high priced. The Tmax is as close to a crossover bike currently available on the market. It has the power and handling of a sports bike with the convenience of a maxi-scooter. The CVT transmission is very responsive. A flick of the wrist and you leave other vehicles behind. Finally it's a lot of fun to ride! If you are tired of shifting a motorcycle and looking for a long distance capable ride you can't go wrong with the proven quality and reliability of Yamaha's new Tmax.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Bartock

Fairfax, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a new rider. I have never owned a motorcycle or a scooter prior to buying my TMax, so I cannot give a comparison review. However, I can honestly say that this is a great bike for beginners. It has plenty of power for the highways and is quite nimble in local traffic. It is a lot of fun to ride. The storage space below the seat is adequate, but I do not see how anyone can fit a full face helmet in there. I have a three-quarter helmet and can just barely get it in there. The seat may look like it would not be comfortable on a long journey, but it is. There is plenty of leg room, and the handlebars are far enough away that your arms are comfortably extended. The stock windshield was a bit short for me, and even at 25 MPH the wind in my face was pretty intense. I bought the large Givi winshield (Givi calls it a spoiler) for my TMax. What a difference! It is six inches taller that the stock windshield, but the top of the winshield is still below my line of sight. However, the extra height and the angle of it prevent all buffeting. There is only a nice breeze that comes in contact with my head, and it is much quiter while riding even on the highway. If you are over 5 feet 10 inches I highly recommend buying the tall Givi windshield. It also costs less that the Yamaha touring windshield for the TMax. I get a lot of compliments on my TMax even from regular motorcycle riders. Some are looking at buying one themselves.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

alisa helgerman

pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TMAX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Tmax is an absolute blast. At 500 cc's I can keep up with my Hubby's 650. Weight was a little hard getting used to and then bam after practice it's very easy to hold up. I love the 4 gallon gas tank, the high windshield, and the throttle that takes off with very little twisting. The brakes are great and I love that they are adjustable. Overall, I would recommend this scooter very highly.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: