Yamaha TT-R225 Motorcycles Reviews (46)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha TT-R225 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha TT-R225 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-11-14 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought the bike two days ago. My first impression was that it was a big bike, but totally worth it. I love the thing. I am a big boy and that bike carries me around like it's nothing. As my first bike, it rocks. This bike is made for trail riding, nothing major like racing. But for what this bike was designed to do, it does the job great. My friend weighs 150 pounds and has a CRF 150 F and I beat him every time even though I weigh 100 lbs more than him. I bought it used for $1000 and it's a great investment.
- jake alters, fombell, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 2002 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very nice bike. Awesome for the trails. A little heavier than my XR200 but is also a little faster. Only thing is that it doesn't have a kickstart.
- KJ, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-07 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 3 years. At first I had problems with the start up on cold days. We cleaned the carb up and now it starts great. I have a great time on trails with this bike - it really tears them up. I take this bike to my friends track at their house just to screw around and it performs better than what I would expect for its weight. It really can get some air on the step up and table tops. It has plenty of speed. With a gps hooked up to the handle bars I got 72 miles per hour on road. I really recommend this bike to any body that is looking for a great bike, and wants to ride it hard.
- Tyler Brown, Tomball, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-01 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is definately no speed machine, but it will get you there and back with no problems. I am very satisfied with the reliablility. It will pull wheelies in second gear, but you really have to crank the throttle. The speed is fine for me. Overall I love this bike.
- cj, jackson, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-31 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The TTR-225 is a kick butt trail bike, last year I raced Harescrambles and this little bike brought me to victory numerous times. It may not be the biggest baddest bike out there, but it surely gets the job done.
- Nate Robison, Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-03 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for beginners to intermediate riders. My son loves it (5'9"; 150lbs) and it works for me. It has a low profile for woods and definitely NO SERIOUS JUMPING. All you need for a weekend warrior in our area. Now I would like to compliment it with a YZ426 for the father/son experience.
- Todd, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-28 2002 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike since 2001 when I bought it new. I live in the U.P. of Michigan and have been riding about 30 years. I love the bike. I have entered it in a cross/country every year and did quite well for an old geezer.
- nick knight, palmer U.P. BABY, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-26 1999 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is reliable and fast. This is my first bike and it's fast and powerful. The comfort is great and it handles very well when you're doing some off-road riding in the mountains.
- Nicolas Chatfelter, Lake Hughes , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-05 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for about a year, and it has been a joy to ride. This bike has a lot of low end power, but not mid to high power. I think for little kids starting out on this bike need to have a little experience. My bike can go around 80mph on pavement. The only two things I don't really like about my bike is that the suspension is way too soft, and parts are hard to find. Overall if you only ride on trails and fields at high speeds this is the bike for you. Take my advice don't jump it, you will be sorry. Now I am getting a KX250F or RMZ250 next, because the better suspension.
- Will Hunter, Chesterfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-30 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a PW80 and have never used a clutch. I learned in 20 minutes. Very easy and so smooth. Great bike. I stalled it a few times (never used a clutch) when taking off. Awesome. I switched from 2 stroke to 4 stroke.
- Devin , Hillard, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-19 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first off road bike I have owned in 35 years. I enjoy the electric start. I am very happy with the power and torque of the bike. The bike handles well and feels very forgiving but can still keep up with the larger bikes my son rides.
- Bruce, Glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-07 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like to ride trails and mountains. I also like technical riding. This bike is great for that. Not a jumper, or very fast, but plenty of power for trail riding. Soft seat and suspension. I plan to upgrade to a WR450, but will keep this bike for my kids.
- Rick Borland, Loganville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-29 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride on the street and trails and it performs great. I ride all over the neighborhood and because the bike is so quiet no one seems to mind. It rides and handles well on the back roads at high speed. Having a sixth gear is great. My buddy's CRF 250 is twice as loud and has more cc's and I'm able to keep up with him on the road. I also like the large 2.7 gallon tank. The bike is a little heavy and takes a little while to warm up. When this one is paid off I am going to buy the TTR 250.
- Ryan Williams, sykesville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-13 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. It is a great bike for beginners and doesn't cost a heck of a lot. This bike has very good suspension and looks great too.
- Alan Douglas, Kalamoazoo, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-29 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike about a month ago and I love it. I've only been riding for about 2 months now and i love this bike!! It is my starter bike and eventually I am going to move up to a YZ250F but not until later. I have rode my cousin's RM80 and I don't like that bike at all. It vibrates like the end of a rattlesnake's tail and that's no the kind of bike I want to start out on. This bike is perfect for trail riding and it will go up any hill you throw at it. This is perfect for any rider starting out.
- Damon Duckworth, Mt.Morris, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great for beginners over the age of probbaly 13. I'm 14 and it's probably the best bike I've ever driven or owned. I have 4 bikes and once again this is definitely the best, most comfortable , reliable , best performance and best quality. Take a look at the ttr 225 if you get a chance, even try to ride this beast. I love it and I'm almost a pro-rider. I'll turn pro this September. The ttr 225 is my joy-riding bike. I hope you have as much fun on you're ttr 225 as i do.
- ben Leshow, gibsonia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-21 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Low seat is nice and the electric start is even nicer. The front suspension is very soft and the steering seems to push in the turns. Overall the bike is good but very heavy. If I had to do it over I would look at some other options.
- Steve Erb, West Chester, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up to this bike from an old Suzuki 185 and I love it. Its perfect for riding trails and has great gas mileage. So far its been able to go over and through anything that I want it to. My only complaint is that it is a little heavy and not much suspention.
- alex, reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-17 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just put 300 miles on it. Fully broken in. Overall, it satisfies your needs, but its high-end torque is in need of more power. Front suspension not the best. But the low-end torque is good. It's got a nice kick to it. It's comfortable to ride also.
- Eunsei, Kotzebue, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-06 2004 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after not riding in MANY years as a teen; it was a very smooth transition back. It is a little heavy, but I wanted a bigger bike than a 125! It has mega power and dependability, I am a 135 lb female rider and it is wonderful to have a full size bike that isn't as tall as the 250. I love it! Can't beat the price!
- angie, santa fe, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-23 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have spent the last two weekends breaking in my new 225. I have never ridden a dirt bike before in my 33 yrs. I love it. I'm not yet comfortable on the MX tracks, but it is a blast on TCCRA trails. I hate to sound like every other poster. But hey, it's the best bang for the buck... now to compliment it with the YFZ450. My son also digs his TT-R90; he loves the mud and trails.
- TrailDad, McKinney, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-08 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great trail bike; it has done everything I asked of it with no problems at all. It is not a powerhouse, but has plenty of fun in it. I ride with my brothers (CR125, YZ125) on trails and didn't want or need that much power or money in it.
- chad, odessa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-05 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only bike I had ever ridden was an old Honda 90cc, and only for about an hour. I had wanted a TT-R125L for the longest time and went to buy a new one but the dealership wouldn't finance one to me. I saw a used TT-R225 sitting out front and ended up walking away with it. This bike is truly an awesome machine. Its plenty fast, and not too hard to ride. My first day out with it it had just finished raining and all the trails were mud. Considering it was my first time riding... I had only dumped the bike once or twice in the mud, in the 10 hours I rode that day! So it's fairly easy to ride for a midsized person. I would recommend this bike to any first time rider.
- Matt, Florida, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-04 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good bike, but has a small downfall on the weight factor. It is 230lbs, but the power of it with the 6 speed transmission gets you going fast and easily smooth. For only a little more than the TTR-125 its worth it but you will need strong legs.
- JH, B more, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-23 2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back into riding from a long break. I rode a YZ80 as a kid. I am very happy with my bike. I have ridden some rough stuff things, I should probably of had a WR or YZ but the bike can handle some good riding areas just don't try to jump to high you might not be to happy with the results. If you ride trails and stay off the mx track you will have a blast.
- D, ABILENE, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: