Yamaha TT-R230 Motorcycles Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha TT-R230 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha TT-R230 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-11 2006 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was a beginner rider, this bike was great. It handles nice on the track and in the mountains and it's great for off road. It has the get-up-and-go that any new/intermediate rider needs. It's a great bike.
- Devin Tarantino, longmont, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-01 2006 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After waiting 30 years to ride again, I couldn't afford an expensive bike, so the wife let me buy this. It reminds me of the two strokes of the 70's, but easier to ride. It's both a hobby and fun ride. At 50, my mind would love a YZ250, but my body is in love with this bike. I have a young daughter to take care of, and this bike allows me all the fun of mods, riding all day and returning home safe. It's great weekend fun.
- GB, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-09 2007 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for about 4 months now and this bike is better than what I expected. I never got into a 4-stroke but this bike is fast, comfortable, and easy to ride. One thing I like about this bike is the knobbie tires; they have great grip in mud and light sand. Over the last couple weeks I have been letting my 11 year old son ride it and he loves it. Over-all this bike is the bomb. Great bike for trail riding and perfect for an intermediate rider. Great job Yamaha once again!
- Brian, Swarthmore, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-12 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My boyfriend bought me the TTR 230 last year. I was a brand-new rider with no experience. The 230 has plenty of power, is great for trail riding, and even took me through a motocross academy with ease. I have put it through whoops, jumps, corners, sand and mud. I broke up with my boyfriend 4 months ago and he took the bike away, so I've been out test riding every manufaturer's bike. The TTR 230 is, by far, my very favorite. I am buying a new one tomorrow! The electric start is fantastic, the bike is easy to pick-up off the ground (I should know, I've picked it up entirely too many times..hahaha.) Be sure to get a set of handlebar brush guards - they are very helpful. Two thumbs and 10 toes up!
- TAB, Lehi, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-14 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new TTR-230 this year (2007) in January. I still have my old XR 200 (1982) also which I completely rebuilt for enduro (trail races) but the TTR-230 is about 500,000 times better! It is fast, corners good and everybody that has ridden it wants to have one. don't mind no kick starter. If I could choose to buy again I would choose the TTR-230 again! Amazing what Yamaha achieved designing this little powerhouse with its wide range powerband!
- Henri Botha, Mosselbay, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-02 2006 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only put a few hours on this bike but thus far am very pleased. Great handing, power, and it is a comfortable ride. that's all I could want at this time. I do wish it came with kick-backup...as opposed to just the electric start. Yamaha has put out a great product with this machine. For the price, I don't think I made a bad decision.
- Rodney, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-12 2006 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my TT-R230 in the Spring of 2005, and I have no complaints. I agree with all the other reviews that it's a great bike for what it's built for. I primarily ride it on an MX track, and it gets me around just fine. Of course, I cannot keep up with the racer guys on 250F's, but I am not trying to keep up with them. My objective with the TTR is to build skills and have fun. The only problem I have with the bike on the MX track, as other reviewers have noted, is that the suspension is just not built for jumps over 5-7 feet high, and so it does tend to bottom out on the bigger jumps. What I like most about the bike is that it is great to learn on, build skills, and have fun, and best of all it is virtually maintenance-free. The reviewer who had mechanical problems must have purchased a bad apple. I ride on a full-fledged MX track, and the only maintenance I have had to do in the past year and a half is clean the air filter and change the oil regularly. I have not had to replace anything, and I have not had any mechanical problems. I will definitely step up to a full MX bike (like the YZ250F) soon as I think I have reached the limits on the TTR. If you intend to ride trails and fields, this bike will suit you just fine for a long time. If you are a beginner and intend to ride hard on a serious MX track, consider getting a used 250F or 125 two-stroke (or even a used TTR230) on the cheap just to build some skills, and save the rest of your money to buy a new 250F or other MX bike when you are confident on the track.
- MK, Columbus, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-28 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like this bike a lot! I don't know how all those other people can say it sucks. She runs great and I have never had a problem with it. It is a four stroke and handles like one, it can get up the big hills and speed up when you want it to. Overall, a great bike!
- Scottie K, cedar rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-25 2006 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike has great handling, acceleration, and braking. Overall, the bike is a great trail bike. Surpasses Hondas standards by far.
- Peter Ottle, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-11 2006 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my TTR for about 45days and I ride it every weekend, sometimes on the weekdays through capital forest (waddle creek, Rock candy, McCleary) so far this bike has been flawless with very smooth power (the bike is still stock)they say this is a trial bike for beginners, I disagree I have two other dirt bikes and neither of them can keep pace with this one. I ride with two other guys who have yz 250's and while they can beat me in the straight away's and on the track they are no match for me on the trails!!!! This bike has plenty of low end and can tackle any hill or trail riding you put in front of it, just when you think you have bottomed out the low end by being in too high of a gear, you hit the gas and it comes to life.
- Malcolm Miller, Lacey, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is sweet, it can handle almost anything you throw at it. I've had the bike for 8 months and only managed to break about 5 spokes, and I really ride hardcore. This is the first bike I have every owned so I decided to get something smaller to start off with. But now I will be upgrading to the wr250f. With a few dollars spent I have got the bike to top out at 80 mph. (clocked beside a mustang)
- J Dangles, silver springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been racing fourwheelers all my life and decided to get the bike this past December. I know how bikes work and all but decided I better not get a racing bike as my first dirtbike. This is an amazing bike. I've had it up to about 70 which is pretty good and I paid next to nothing for the bike. It is a great bike for intermediate riders and if you want speed out of it, all you need to do is get a big gun exhaust system, jet it and get a good air filter. It will keep up with all the other bikes and you can get suspension for it and it will keep up even on the mx track. It is a great bike for the price that you pay!
- Wes Duvall, Mt. Airy, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-06 2006 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first motorcycle I've owned, so I don't have any comparisons to other bikes which I can provide. I purchased two TTR 230's, one for me and one for my 14 year old son. These bikes can do everything we need, and more. We've ridden them pretty rough, had quite a few hard spills, and have climbed some pretty steep hills. In the falls we've had, nothing has broken off yet, but we have bent shift levers, clutch/brake levers. But, this bike has been able to do all the riding we need for off road fun. Now, what this bike isn't, is a Motocross model. Yes, we have taken them out onto the track and have had a blast. However, as we're improving and catching more and more air it is becoming painfully evident that these are not Motocross bikes. Now that we've ridden for months and have gone back to the shop, we of course wish we would have purchased a motocross model. They just seemed so big at the time. But, we continue to beat these bikes up and they just keep on giving.
- Tim Schmitz, Tracy, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-28 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in July and it's all I wanted. I wanted a bike that could go on trails with ease. So far, I hit fairly high jumps with no problem, crossed a 2 feet river and went through a wack of mud, and the bike didn't even bog out when I went up steep hills. On all the tight rough trails I've been on, I usually get it into 3rd or 4th gear with plenty of power. The suspension is fairly good, on trails and bumps, but not the best on jumps, which most people would expect considering it's a trail bike. The top speed is about 105 km. If you're looking for a very reliable machine that will do what you want it to do, get the TTR 230, it's just great!
- Jess, Bentley AB

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-14 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up the 2005 TTR230 this winter and have already been able to ride it 5 or 6 times this winter. (Typically we're snowed in here in the north east in Feb... but bare trails this year.) Anyho-- this bike was purchased as a replacement for my 1995 RM125. I was looking for something in which I could chug along with my 10-year-old son (rides a 2003 TTR 90) in tight single track and easy fireroads without fear of fouling spark plugs which I constantly did with the Suzuki. Obviously this is no mx racing bike but it's done everything I've asked of it without complaining one bit. Even takes small hits without bottoming and feels stable in the air. I'm 6'1 190 and it actually pulls surprisingly hard in the middle of the power band. The only negative things I can write is I don't understand why this bike didn't come with a kick starter over-ride. It's way too easy to hit the start button WHILE the bike is running so be careful... yikes! Baring any ridiculous mechanical problems, the TTR230 has been the perfect replacement bike and I'm happy I purchased it. My son is also happy since he's not ducking flying RM rocks when he's behind me or waiting for me to change yet another plug because we had to stop and I didn't keep revving the Pro Circuit pipe. Oh yeah, the kickstand is also nice to have too. (Wow-- electric starts and kickstands-- I'm getting old!) Also been very happy with the TTR90. Starts easy, runs well and has been very reliable. Thinking my son might want a pipe on it... <br /> 5 Brapps on the TTR230 <br /> 5 hooots on the TTR 90
- Scott Nelson, millbury, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-27 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the 05' TTR 230 about 3 months ago. It's a great bike to start on but if you plan on racing like I do you're probably going to want to invest your money into a racing bike. Not to take anything away from this great bike, it has great power for a trail bike easy to control on the ground and in the air, doesn't eat up gas and is easy to maintain. Suspension works for trails and hills but if you plan on getting air you're probably going to want to get a bike with better suspension, because I'm not that heavy for my size and I bottomed my suspension out on maybe a 10-15 foot jump. But overall this is an EXCELLENT starter bike!!!
- Anonymous, hamburg, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-06 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at a few off road bikes, we found the TTr-225. DH is a die-hard Honda fan, but they didn't have the right bike for me (new rider). The electric start is great, since I had a lot of trouble with the kick-starter on other bikes. I had no problems using this bike for the first time on the trails, I was able to keep up with DH's Honda 450 (couldn't pass him, but kept up). It is also low enough to the ground that I can reach and it was easy to pick up when I dropped it. This is a great bike and I love it!
- Christine, Kalamazoo, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-29 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased the 2005 Yamaha TT-R230T, as I wanted to get back into off-road riding. It's been about 5 years since I've been on a bike at all. I was looking for a reliable, shorter bike to get me back into riding again. I tested out a few KTM's, which were way too high for a guy my size. At 5'6", I can comfortably put the tips of both feet on the ground with this bike. Great overall bike. Dominates the trails.
- Stefano, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-28 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first dirt bike was a honda crf80 I got that last year then I drove a TTR125 an I liked the bigger more powerful bike so I looked around and went to cycle world and bought a 2005 TTR230 this bike has loads of torque at low rpms and lots of horse power. This bike is fast, my dads friend has one and it did 8.70s in the 1/8 mile and the bike tops out at 76 mph prety fast 4 a stock 4 stroke I've also heard that these can beat YZ85s this is the best trail bike ever.
- ryan , baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-17 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A buddy and myself just bought a couple TTR230's and we love them. We had limited experience on dirt bikes, and have not ridden in quite some time. We took them out and rode on about 30 acres. After negotiating the primary trail to get to an open field we got used to the bikes after about 15 minutes and took off for the more advanced trails. We had no trouble at all with the bikes. They faired very well through thick brush, and steep hills. These bikes have great power and control. I recommend this model very highly.
- ACE, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I compared this bike to the CRF230F and the Yamaha wins hands down. It's a few hundred $ less, has better quality switch gear, the oil fill is in a better location. The downside is that because it's so new, the aftermarket parts aren't yet available. I talked to BBR and they said they're working on the TT-R230 and hope to have exhaust and more available summer of 2005. The bike has been awesome, even with my size, the power is more than enough to chase my son around on his TTR90. Sure, I wish I had a bit more hit coming out of some turns, but working the clutch and shifter usually give me all the speed I can handle (I'm not Chad Reed!) The bike has been bulletproof, starts right up hot or cold, gets good mileage. Could use a bit stiffer suspension - but it's not too bad. Amazingly, the carb is not set up to lean as most bikes are these days. It runs fine hot or cold. This is undoubtedly the best deal out there. I've clocked it on my GPS at 61MPH in fifth gear and that wasn't wound out. haven't had a chance to even get it into sixth. Perhaps a bit bigger gear on the rear will get me the added hit in 2nd &#038; 3rd I'm looking for out of the corners. As for jumps, I imagine a six footer would bottom the soft suspension. I've landed it well with 3-4 feet of air. It's not ready for doubles or god forbid, triples, but it's about 3 grand less than a YZ or CRF. :) I ride it HARD twice a week or more and I have never once regretted buying this bike.
- Bert, North Central, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden in 20 years and I got these bikes for me and my son. We love 'em. Very low maintenance. Plenty of power for any trails we've been on so far. Just push the electric start and you're on your way. If you want to race, get the YZ. If you want to enjoy some great trail/off road riding, get the TT-R. You won't be disappointed.
- hodgey704, flint, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-28 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The TT-R230 is a great bike. A friend of mine bought one a few weeks ago and I liked it so much I decided to get one myself. The hardest part was convincing my wife why a 41 year old wants to buy a dirt bike. The great financing Yamaha has is what saved me. The awesome Z competition styling makes this bike look awesome. This bike has great power and the suspension is very smooth. The electric start is very convenient and always starts up right away. Would have been nice if it had a kick-start also. I am able to pop wheelies at will, and I feel like a kid again when I used to ride a YZ80. This is the first motorcycle I have been on in at least 12 years or more. I looked around and found this bike to be the best for the money. It all depends on what kind of riding you are going to do. Of course if you want to race motocross you will need to spend a lot more money. But if you plan or riding trails and just having some fun, this is the bike to get. Happy trails!
- Smack Attack, Pembroke Pines, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-24 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Dad just bought me this bike for Christmas and my Birthday. And oh my gosh, I love it! In all gears this bike has enormous amounts of torque, speed, and power. Oh yeah, did I mention power, speed, and torque?? I can get up any hill no problem. I don't think I will ever need to go past 4th gear on my TTR 230. This bike has great acceleration for a 4 stroke. Great for beginners and experienced riders. The most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. Great suspension on rough trails and good gas mileage. This bike is awesome. don't think twice, just buy it and remember YAMAHA all the way all the time!!!
- Eric Frey, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-19 2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked this bike up and it's terrific. I mainly intend to ride trails and around our fields with it. It has good power for my needs, but I'm not going to try to race any CR's or YZ's with it. The electric start is great, especially because it's a little cold-blooded starting at this time of year. The suspension seems good and smooth for trails and minor jumps. For security, I wish it had a key, rather than just an on-off switch.
- Judi, Clarksville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: