Yamaha TT-R250 Motorcycles Reviews (35)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha TT-R250 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha TT-R250 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-04-15 2005 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 20 years without a dirt bike, I got the Jones for something to hit the backcountry with. The last bike I really had a great time on was a KDX220, but I didn't really want a 2 smoke. I looked at CRF and TTR 230s and then CRF and WR 250s, and this bike almost slipped through the cracks. For my type of riding, though, I'm extremely happy with it. These are rock-solid all-day trail and dirt road bikes that will plug along (like a tractor, as one poster put it) or pull right up with the pack. The rear disc, stronger engine and better suspension puts it way ahead of the 230s and lighter trail bikes, and it does seem like a much bigger bike, maybe a drawback for some. I think it carries its weight kind of high, but it is very nimble and stable on rocky and tight trails. That said, it's not a WR or a YZ250. If you want to jump triples or roost on your buddies, save your money and get the bike you really need. This ain't it, and the boards are right - there aren't a lot of performance options for them. I'm very happy with it, and very happy to be keeping one of these fine bikes in circulation. Matter of fact I might get another one, I like this so much.
- RedRockRyder, Everywhere, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2000 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Bike is awesome for riding anywhere. Real good suspension, and even better power. 3rd gear is great, it just pulls forever! The front brake is so powerful, I fell down the first time I used it. The electric start is worth the extra weight and it's way more handy then you would think. The best thimg about is that it is a blast to ride.
- Brahm, Mission, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-03 2006 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been a blast to own so far, although it didn't take me long to exceed the limitations of the front suspension on jumps. To be fair, I didn't think I would ever do 40 foot jumps, and I'm sure Yamaha didn't design the TTR for that kind of abuse. My next bike will be a YZ. Anyway, the TTR is smooth, comfy, easy to ride, powerful enough to push me around and lands smaller jumps (under 25 feet) very cushy. Buy it if you want to ride... Buy a YZ or a WR if you want to jump.
- Sparkmite, Billings, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-17 2005 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike since April 2005, 36,568kms on the clock now, bunch of mods, can not get enough. Little issues with head wind and trying to sit on 110kph with all the camping gear. City, bush, sand dunes, all good. 800km day was sore but felt less tired than a car, no issues at all with bike build or it working as it should.
- Allan, Melbourne, Prince Edward Island, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-04 2006 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike last week and I love it. I was used to riding my friends TT-R125 and what a difference it was riding this machine now. The bike has got plenty of torque. The only problem is it heats up fast when I don't get air flow through the engine. The seat is comfortable for the tough trails. I don't consider this bike for racing. My friends YZ250F is still faster lol. I don't do any racing though, so I don't care about how fast it is. I think this is the perfect trail bike. It has the power. You can also customize the suspension too!!
- Mark, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2006 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamaha TT-R250 is probably one of the best trail bikes around! One of the positive aspects about this bike is the disk brakes. This thing can beat my friend's KDX 200, and that's a two stroke.
- Dirk Wieneke, west branch, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-15 2005 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All reviews I've seen so far are only bragging about TT being a really good trail bike. Let me tell ya, I personally think it is also an excellent beginners moto x bike. It corners very well with a heavy rider, after having stiffened up the pre-load on both front and rear suspension. The bike also jumps like a pro. Responding very well to panic braking and revving. Even with my large butt, the suspension has never offered to bottom out. The engine is a little cold natured, but after a couple of laps she seems to heat right up to normal temps. For one of the greatest "rubber-tired chainsaws" on the market. I give the TTR-250 great big thumbs up!
- Mark Finley, Rogersville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-04 2004 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 15 and this is my first bike, I have ridden ag200 and crf250x's before. I only got it one week ago and I'm very happy with it. No problems so far and it has more than enough power for me. It easily does 120km/h. The only problems are that I havn't been able to get the front wheel up, I can do it on a ag200 so its very suprising that its hard to do on a ttr250, and the other problem is the amount of fuel I'm going through from riding it almost non stop.
- shane, tullamore, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2005 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Australian version of the TT-R250 has the bonus of electric start and kick start, giving the added security of starting the motorcycle when the battery is low. (a bonus for all those who have had to push the darn thing to start.) Also included is the indicators and dual beem headlight, brake and tail light together, which is great for letting those guys you constantly 'roost' know what the heck you're doing. A gut-load of torque and acceleration, combined give the perfect handling in those tight spots. Enjoy!
- Andrew Buck, Emerald, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-02 2005 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The TTR-250 is a great motorcycle for riding the woods, trails, logging roads --- the electric start can't be beat. The engine has more than enough power and torque to speed off, or tackle the hills. Ground clearance and suspension is more than enough to carry my weight in any trail condition so far. The only "wish I had" is for a stop-light in the tailight, a dual beam headlight (instead of the single beam), and optional kick-starter (although I've never needed one with the electric start)-- but would be added assurance when riding way out in the woods. For the money-- TTR250 can't be beat.
- Ralph ( 99 TTR250 ), Michigan, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-20 2005 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great for trail riding. Has plenty of power through all gears....especially at higher RPM's. I am a heavy and tall guy and this bike hasn't let me down. Will climb most any grade of hill if RPM's are high. Would recommend this bike to anyone who wants a trail bike. Very reliable and hassle free.....great 4 stroke engine that Yamaha apparently worked all the bugs out years ago. It's been in production for several years, and still kicking. All I can say is GET ONE!!!!!
- S. Hayman, Raleigh, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-10 2003 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for trails and dual sport riding. Good power. Great looks. Love the electric start(great when you stall on hill climbs!!!) Handles great on road as long as you are going less than 50mph other wise it gets light in the front end(what do you expect it wieghs about 250lbs. This bike is sold as a dual sport in Japan.
- Jarrett Grant, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-02 2003 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has so much power. It has an easy electiric start no matter how cold it is. The only modifications...Yamaha should have put a skidplate and a rack on it. The bike is a hill climber. The bike has crazy low end torque. I wooped my stepbrother on bike he has a WR250F. This bike dominates!!
- Brian, Sonoma, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-29 2005 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After watching my son having fun on his TTR125 I decided to take the plunge and join him with a TTR250. The bike was everything I thought it would be and then some. In no time my old dirt bike skills were being challenged by the good power range of the 250. Excellent ground clearance and plenty of low end torque for getting this large frame rider up the steep stuff. We had so much fun that it should be illegal!
- jkechef, Conshohocken, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-20 2004 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put on about 50 miles so far on this bike and loved every minute of it! The overall performance and handling of this bike is good. Enough power is kicked out of this 250 to give you a fiesty little ride. The bike handles well on trails and is a great adult entry level ride. Good looks, good performance, great price, what more can I say?
- Jim Turas, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-03 2004 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a former motocross racer (about 20 years and 70lbs ago :) and a Honda guy, I set out to buy a play bike to chase my kids around. I looked at the Hondas and decided I really don't need the water-cooled, race-type machines for the type of riding I was going to do. So I went over to my Yamaha dealer and checked out the TT-R250's and fell in love. I've ridden the bike three times now and all I can say is WOW! This bike is fun, fun, fun. Starts right up, great power and lots of low-end torque, nice and quiet, and I love the fact that I can adjust my suspension settings. There is just not one bad thing to say about this bike. I'm a big guy and it pulls me around without a problem. This is the ultimate no hassle play bike.
- Steve Santini, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-20 2004 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my TT-R 250 new in 2004 and have become addicted to it. The bike has good low and midrange torque and the six speed transmission assures that there is a gear for every situation. The front suspension came set up soft but some turns of the screw at the bottom on each fork tube fixed that. The frame is plenty rigid and the build quality is great. I would recommend that any rider of this bike put a plate to protect the rear brake master cylinder because it is exposed. My complaints with the bike are 1: it is too quiet stock, and 2: the wheelbase is great for turning on a trail but too short for high speed stability in loose packed dirt or sand and 3: I wish a kickstart back up came standard instead of being a $300+ accessory. The TT-R 250 continues to impress me and the electric start is great for cold starts. It may be the best value in entry level adult bikes.
- Joe, Manteca, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-09 2004 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is only my second motorcycle that I've purchased. The first was a 1974 Suzuki TS185L. I still have the Suzuki and needless to say, the new Yamaha is a better bike. I can't even compare the two. But anyways, the TTR250 is a great bike, easy to ride, more power than I need(and I am a big guy), and the electric start is a great feature. Yamaha has put together a great bike. Please email me if you have any questions.
- Chris, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-01 2004 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is powerful. I like its six speeds and the fact that it has lights and two cams. I would recomend this bike to anyone. I let my friends ride it and one of them is a honda person and he says it's addicting and fun to ride mine. I had been riding a 2001 TTR 225 and I noticed a lot of differences. The power, turns better, and will do a wheelie easily in second and third gear. Yamaha has made one of the best bikes (I think) to come out. Thanks Yamaha!
- Bryan, Frederick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2004 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2003 Yamaha ttr250 and i love it. It is a great trail bike and can do great wheelies. I'm a big guy but this bike can handle me and it's got good power for a 250 trail bike. The only thing I did to mine is got a new fmf pipe because the one on it sounds like a sceaming baby.
- Matt Glenn, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-03 2003 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I purchased a 2003 TTR-250. I was very happy with the bikes low-end power and it also has a decent top end. I raced my friend on his Grizzly and topped out around 65 it is a great wheelie bike and I would recommend it to anyone.
- tim , ware, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-26 2002 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got a TT-R250 and I must say its an excellent bike. This bike handles trails beautifully and has smooth acceleration which makes it very enjoyable to ride. Most of my friends ride 2-stroke's but I didn't want all the maintenance involved with one and this thing is great! Just gas and go. I was considering a Honda CRF230F but went with this and im very glad I did. I rode it at night the first time I got it home and the headlight works excellent as well. I could not be more pleased with this bike. The only downfall it has is that it's slightly heavy but the weight of the electric starter is worth the few extra pounds, another great feature on this great bike.
- John Barcase, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2003 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2 TTR 250's, and they're just like the day we got them. power is excellent, riding wheelies is no problem, rouch 4 wheeler trails are no problem, the suspension is great, the power is DEFINITELY adequate, and the best part is, it comes at a great price, minus the annoying sound of a 2-stroke. overall, PERFECT BIKE
- Ralph, Dearborn, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-08 2003 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is pure torque! going at about 2,000rpm in second gear and tapping the gas will take you for the longest wheely of your life. This bike is great and is all about torque. Good job Yamaha.
- Shane Baldwin, woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-29 2003 Yamaha TT-R250 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very powerful bike, I read it's about 28 horsepower @ 8500 rpm, and about 20.5 lb/ft of torque @ 7000 rpm. This bike is probably the best mid-displacement off-road/trail bike on the market, seriously. I tried the Honda XR250 and it didn't perform as well as this Yamaha did. This TT-R250 has gobs of low and mid range torque. And it has plenty top end if you really want to fly. All in all, the price was an incredible buy. It makes a darn good trail and/or enduro bike. Plus it has electric start and lights!
- jason, colorado springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: