Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha TW200 reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.3
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

ken godinez

bakersfield, California

Reviewed on 2007-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Got this bike basically to play with it. It's street legal and a great trail bike. It also turns heads because it's different. Big tires makes it handle great off-road and equally great on the street. The bike comes with a stock 50 tooth sprocket in the rear which makes it rev high at 55mph. I changed mine to a 45 tooth sprocket and it's a lot better. I have been to the freeway with it for short runs (10 miles or less). With the 45 tooth, it tops out at 70mph. I will recommend this bike to everybody especially shorter riders for it sits low to the ground and center of gravity is low. There is a tw forum (yamaha tw200 forum) that has endless info on this bike.... I hope this review helps.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Rider

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
I love this as a beginner bike. It is so fun to ride because you are always changing gears. It is great on and off road. Very reliable and simple machine. The bike is very light and easy to control. I love the tw200 community. You can have any questions answered on their forums. Cons- I wish it had a slightly higher top cruising speed. I wish it was a taller seat because I’m 6’2” with long legs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

honda guy in utah

salt lake, Utah

Reviewed on 2012-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a very good all-around bike for anyone. I want to get a 450 engine put into it for a little more zip on the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jvalkanet

Gurnee, Illinois

Reviewed on 2011-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The bike is geared too low so I changed the rear sprocket. This bike is not for adults. It's just too slow on the road. I put a Maxxis ATV tire on the rear and a Dunlop 606 tire on the front. It now goes great through sand and snow. Get the DRZ400SM or the DRZ 400S! I've also had the DR650 and the KLR650 but they're both too heavy for going off road. The DRZ400 is perfectly balanced for on and off road with the right amount of power. don't buy the TW200.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Johnson City, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2009-11-07

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second TW 200. I have owned many motorcycles over the years, but none as enjoyable or versatile as this one. One of the most comfortable seats and riding positions I've ever enjoyed. You can ride at 60 mph for hours at a time in relative comfort. It cannot be stopped when going off-road either. It will climb straight up the side of almost any hill and it is almost impossible to get stuck in the mud (but if you do it is easy to pull out because of the low seat height and light weight). This is a great bike for a beginner and capable enough for the experienced rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sLaTeR420

Iron-hood, Michigan

Reviewed on 2009-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike about 2 months ago and it has some road miles but its in better shape than most new bikes I see. It's in very mint condition. It's altogether a fun bike. You can walk it basically on crazy trails, and at the same time get on a road or highway with ease. I've heard its top speed is 60mph. that's bullcrap, I've had my 2001 at about 70-75 on roads. I usually ride on the trails around here at about 40-45.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dale

Juneau, Alaska

Reviewed on 2007-03-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wanted one for years. Finally broke down and got one and there's nothing about it I don't like. A good Yamaha dealer will stand behind their product, I know because I work at one. And, in this neck of the woods, you have to be good to your customers or you will go out of business.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred Fein

Loveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-01-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first road bike after several dirt bikes. This little boy is fun. It pulls my fat butt around w/o problems. I love that I can just turn off the road and follow a trail or railroad tracks ... great for short runs around town ... but not a bike for highway driving ...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Bowles

Brazil, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this '05 hold over in August of '06. It had never been started! There are deals to be had out there! After 15 years on 4 wheels, I decided to get back on 2. It feels great! The TW200 and its 'fat' tires really work well in the soft or where traction is limited. Though handling on the road is a little odd, it's not objectionable. I needed something to get me to work and take me down some trails now and then. I was looking for MPG and utility. Two things motorcycle salesmen just DO NOT understand. The TW200 delivers it. My two complaints: The instrument lights (neutral / high beam / turn) burn out quickly. I've had the high beam go already and only owned the thing for two months. Also, the engine sounds noisy to me. I'm used to my old Hondas and, well, if they sounded like this, I'd tear them down and rebuild them. I can squeeze 98MPG out of it. Yes! Almost 100 miles per gallon! I average 85MPG. Most of my driving is in 45 MPH speed zones. 35 = 95+MPG, 45 = 80+MPG. I'm experimenting with various mixes of E85, No data yet. The bike is great around town. It's fair on the trail. Low speed handling is shakey. It does well on the road but high speed cornering with that fat rear tire is a bit wierd, though, predictable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JM

LAFAYETTE, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-01-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TW200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned 26 motorcycles so far and this one is the most fun by far. I can ride in the snow, on gravel roads, dirt roads and off-road through the woods or any place I feel like going. It's very reliable and I'm getting 74 miles per gallon.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: