Yamaha V Max Motorcycles Reviews (38)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Max Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Max Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-12-01 2006 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I waited 22 years to get the awesome V Max. It was well worth it. It has outstanding acceleration, a comfortable ride and killer looks. Plus, it's not very common in my part of the world. Routine maintenance is super easy. It takes one hour at most for an oil change, drive shaft gear oil change, K&N filter recharge and antifreeze change (when needed). It does take some time to clean. Since the powerhouse is exposed, there are tight areas to get to. It's worth it once you are done you get the beast back!
- ADPJOE, Pharr, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-24 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a returning motorcycle rider after 15 years. Starting with a 1987 Virago 535, I quickly realized that a V Max is what I wanted and bought a used 1989 V Max. I loved the bike but wound up selling it a few years later due to buying a new house and a baby on the way - read "threats from wife.Well the baby is in high school now and through lots of negotiating I got permission to buy a bike again. I ran across a clean, used 2005 20th Anniversary model V Max, #1731, with less than 3200 miles for sale in a local motorcycle shop. I spent a sleepless night deciding whether to buy it or not. Decision made, I called the shop shortly after they opened the next morning and put a down payment on the Max. This bike is wonderful and quite a looker. I've had it for close to 2 months now and have logged 1400 miles on it. I have had absolutely no problems with it. The fit and finish is showroom clean. This bike is like getting a second chance on something I hated to lose the first time. If you're lucky enough to run across an Anniversary model, buy it.
- Mark, Memphis area, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-10 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 1985 I bought both Honda Sabres - the VF700, then the VF1100. I fell in love with the V4 configuration, smooth power band and ease of maintenance. I sold them both in 1990 and had no bikes since. Just 2 weeks ago I researched and bought a 2005 Anniversary V-Max, #83. It is a beautiful bike, well worth the wait. Flawless paint and chrome. I found out what the V-boost is. It almost scared the sh** out of me. But at the same time, what a ride! If you want some respect from the crotch rocket riders and the cruiser crowd, this is the one to buy. I can't imagine what the 2009 model with 200 hp is like. I am starting to add toys to mine, but in my opinion, they are very over priced. So a little at a time I'll add the extras. It is a great bike with great engineering and great looks. If you want a good all around bike, this is the one!
- Larry Franklin, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
More power than any other cruiser for thousands of dollars less. If it's a power cruiser you want, why would you buy anything else? I bought a new 2004 model V-Max. This is really an awesome bike, especially for a bike in the price range. Handling was not and issue for me. It handles the twisties better than most cruisers. I can guaranty you that your cruiser riding buddies will only want to race you once. Mr. Max will run the quarter mile in the 10 second range. Good bye, v-rods. I am not one to be putting down Harleys. I like Harleys. I have owned a couple and I liked them both. I just like to try something different once in a while. I do like the V-Max and it will blow the door off of a v-rod. Guess the only cruiser that will take a v-max is the Truimp Rocket III at 2300 c.c. and then only slightly. These bikes cost several thousand dollars more than a V-Max. Talk about bang for the buck. It's V-Max hands down. One issue I had with the V-Max was steering wobble.
- Gary, Kimberling City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have wanted a V MAX for 20 years but raising kids, paying mortage etc dictated otherwise. Now at the age of 51 I got it, this bike is everything and way more than I dreamed it would be. A comfortable cruising speed for the Max is 65 mph, and just hitting 4.75 rpm, if you need to pass there's no need to down-shift at this speed, just crack open the throttle and hold on, it just keeps getting stronger. A perfect 45 degree upright seating position with a very well padded seat keeps the stress off the lower back and legs. The power band delivers unbelieveable muscle and speed when needed. If you don't get too crazy you can get a little over 40 mpg, but if you open that v-boost often you will cut the mileage in half. Was it worth the wait? Hell yeah. Will never ride anything else but the MAX.
- Mike A, Springfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've read several reviews by both private riders and publications about the Vmax. After buying one however, I find it necessary to set the record straight on a few things that I believe are inaccurate in many of the reviews that harp on and on about the same things. So, from top to bottom, let's review some of the myths: Myth 1: This bike is not for the novice. Inaccurate. The bike is a pure joy to ride when ridden reasonably. Keeping the bike below 5000 RPM results in a ride very much like a V-twin cruiser bike of any make. It's not overpowered, throttle response is smooth and easy and it's a very comfortable ride. To hear some tell it, if you barely touch the throttle you wind up flat on your back with 600 lbs. of Max sitting on your chest. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, it may just be the perfect bike for a novice in that the novice will never outgrow Max. It's very well behaved below 5000. Day to day riding to work is a pleasure. That leaves plenty of miles and years for the novice to grow into the bike and discover a new level of performance for years to come, rather than getting a smaller bike in the 750cc range and two years later winding up totally disappointed with the performance. Myth 2: The Vmax doesn't handle. Inaccurate. This was one of the big concerns for me going into buying this bike after reading a great many reviews. Sport Bikes not being an option for me (neck and back problems), I was more than a bit wary of this. As it turns out, it's a total NON-issue. I think that people who went out and wrote the handling issue reviews were comparing Max to an R1/RR/Gixxer. In writing a review, one has to compare to bikes in class...not bikes that handle better by being 200 lbs. lighter with race slicks on them. For a bike tipping the scales at 600 lbs., Max gets into and out of corners amazingly well. But let's be reasonable: This is NOT a sport bike. If you're idea of a good time is 50 degree-plus lean angles, get on an R bike. At speed, handling is actually very smooth. Just a slight slip of the hip and Max goes right where you want him to. Again, don't get the idea that you're going to keep on your buddy's tail end while he and his RR tear up the mountain. It's NOT going to happen. Be reasonable. BUT...there aren't any other cruisers out there that are going to hang with you and Max. That much I can promise you. Myth 3: The Vmax brakes aren't up to snuff. Somewhat true. PLENTY of rear brake, but the front brake could be upgraded. I'm of the opinion that another 10+ mm of front brake would go a long way towards giving Max the whoa it really needs. It is a heavy bike. Under heavy braking (which I've only had to do once so far thanks to a make-up-putting-on-soccer-mom-in-an-suv) it does get a bit dicey. This is an area that I will definitely look into upgrading in the years to come. I've already read about a few aftermarket upgrades, and I'll check them out eventually. Myth 4: The Vmax has more power than you can imagine. True. Take what you read and add some. I've only opened Max up a couple of times as I'm taking it easy on the wear-in period, but already it is impressive. Enough power to rip down small buildings, make you bow down before graven images, grow hair on your hands and keep the country from winning the war. I've not had that much power at my wrist since I rode a buddy of mines customized 954RR...and personally, I'll take that RR to the bloody cleaners in a straight line and not break a sweat. Although VERY well behaved under 5000 rpm, if you grab a fist full of Max you'd better eat your Wheaties, put your game face on, squeeze those legs against the tank, say a few hail Mary's (stations of the cross and a quick trip to Lourdes wouldn't be a bad idea either), and hang on tight...because Max flat gets with the program after 6000 rpm. It's like waking my wife in the early morning: Something only the very brave need do. OVERALL EVALUATION: Great bike in every way. Meets or exceeds expectations on every level save one: Brakes. Max could definitely use more front brake.
- Tom Owens, Suwanee, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2006 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Max in November 2005 and it has been a great bike. If I was to comment on one thing, it would be the power band. I thought it would have a bunch of low end torque being a V4, but the real power doesn't show up until the 4000/5000 rpm range particularly when the V-Boost kicks in (5000 rpm). don't expect big-bore V-twin low end power from this bike. Its power band is more like an inline 4. don't get me wrong, when you want the power, all you have to do is twist the thorttle. It will deliver. A K&N air filter and Dyno-Jet Stage One jet kit will help improve the low end power. Also, considering the age of this design and now that it is the year 2007, you would think Yamaha would have incorporated a wider back wheel and tire to keep pace with competition. Otherwise, I have no other beef with this bike and will be keeping mine for awhile.
- Steve Rommel, Dover, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far the best fun on 2 wheels! If you want speed, torque and looks get a V-Max!! Beware: This beast is not for the novice. I bought a used one in 2000 (99 model) with silver rims and no red flames. After purchasing it and taking it for a 10 minutes test drive, the salesman was impressed with me. He said there are 2 kinds of people: the real good drivers and the duds who think they can ride! I guess he was suprised I came back riding as opposed to puking...LOL! After a few days of getting used to the power I was abble to lift up the wheel at just about every gear!! If I twisted the throttle too hard from 0 to 60 I would get a weird yet addicting feeling in my gut...it was the massive torque propelling me forward! After a few hair raising rides, I decided to let someone else enjoy it...yes, I sold it. :( Yet to this day, I have not found an engine that can measure up to the V-Max. I have had a vast amount of really fast cars and none of them compared to the power of the Max! I had a Mustang Cobra: 345 HP, Mercedes Benz E55(AMG): 349 HP, Jaguar XJR(Supercharged): 375HP...you get the gist!
- Madmax, Potomac, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Tires are everything when riding this bike. Metzeler ME880 work well, I installed a plexstar wind sheild, the down force improved the handling and control of the bike at higher speeds. 3000 v boost kit helps a lot. For 20 year old tech, it will out perform anything in the 1200 class in quarter mile and is amazing for 600 lbs. Only problem is, young kids with sport bikes always want to race and end up long faces.
- Lewis Wormuth, Clifton park, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is totally AMAZING. I love it. It's fun and powerful. Wow. It's got my bang for the buck vote. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking.
- Ryan OHagan, Whitecourt, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-29 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For me, a ride consists of no less than 500 miles below 8 hours. Started riding on the west coast. Break in trip was 1970 on a single cylinder Harley 250 to Salton Sea from Pasadena Calif. as a member of 4 Horsemen mc club of Pasadena, Ca. Shortly after moved to a 70 Kaw 500 (smokin), then a 74 Z-1 Kaw (smokin x 4). Purchased bare 89 MAX (22360 orig mi.) from individual in Knoxville, Tn. and rode it to Houston, Tx. Left Tn. 9am Nov. 25, 2006, arrived in Houston 11pm same evening, safely. I am impressed with everything about the bike except cruising range. This machine has earned my respect, so I will keep it. I was in the market for a BMW1200K model until the MAX roughed up a couple of them Feb 2007. This Ugly MAX put straight faces on my Bimmer ridin' buddies. Now I only drive a Bimmer. I can not find a V-Max Scart (V-max powered car). Lucky them.
- Reginald L. Spates, Houston , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-24 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only got 75 miles so far, but I am very impressed. The VMAX is very tame under 6000rpm. It is comparable to most torquey V-Twins, but at 5800rpms VBOOST starts kickin in. That is where I start to get wood. The bike is very smooth and responsive, unlike big V-Twins. I get a lot of rubber-neckin at stop lights. People are curious to what kind of bike I'm riding. I just grin and twist the throttle. The VMAX handles much better in turns than I expected. So far, so good. The seating position is a little tight, but much better than my old crotch rockets. This bike is not for beginners. Your feet will be flappin in the wind if your not careful. I will give an updated review at 300 miles.
- Scott, Elizabeth City, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-06 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike works well, at about 235Kms/Hr, the bike does lift-up on the front-end, reducing control of the bike. The bike does need a lower cowel and drop the front-end down a little to give the bike a better stance and more pressure on the front tire. Very nice balanced bike, as well as symetrical. The design on the 'gas tank' is very cool and subtle. The 2006 'tank' has more of a stand-out flame pattern. The handlebars need replacing or need to be raked back more or a different style of mirror that does not have you looking at your shoulder. The seat is not designed for long distance rides, and the gas tank is lacking in volume. The Tach is in a poor location and should be situated near the speedo.
- Lucas Hval, Pincher Creek, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-15 2006 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great fun update at 4,700 miles. 2006 Vmax and not one problem unless you count a new V-rated rear tire at 4,000 miles. Love that straight up comfortable riding position. Replacement UFO seat is way better than stock and I would change that first. I also recommend LED shift light mounted on the speedometer and set at 8,700 rpm (peak power) so you can shift before 9,500, max rpm. Also, advise a change to louder mufflers so cars can actually hear you. For safety!! Yes, I really mean it, safety! The Super Trapps exaggerate the V4 'rumble'. It is a sound that is truly 'habit forming' as well as noticable. Unless you drive a nitro burning dragster for a living, you will always be thinking about riding your Vmax....you'll be cursing rainy days and having to work for a living...you just want to ride.
- bob, miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-12 2006 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have wanted a VMAX since they 1st came out 20 years ago. Sold my 2005 Screaming Eagle Fatboy and bought my 2006 VMAX and had money left over! The Fatboy was nice but the VMAX brings a huge grin to my face when I ride it's very smooth and quick, wish I would have bought it sooner! I will not change a thing I even like the stock exhaust, love the throaty sound at idle. I do agree with other reviewers a 6th gear would be nice but who cares I can live with it as is.
- Jgraham, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-08 2006 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had wanted one of these things since its inception 20 yrs ago. Usually wanting is always better than having but not in this case. It is better than I have ever thought it would be. I have had a grin since I laid rubber leaving the dealership. I can go as fast as a lot of the crotch rockets but the difference is I feel good doing it. I wish it handled better in the turns. The V Boost is as good as the hype and the bike is a real eye catcher.
- DH, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-13 2006 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At least a dozen people have spoken to me at gas stations asking what it is & saying that they like the look of it. It is an incredible ride whether commuting or touring. It needs a larger fuel tank, an aluminum frame, and general redesign to make it more saddlebag/tank bag/windshield friendly. I will trade it in if/when the next generation V-Max appears.
- Andrew Jenkins, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This will be my third V-Max I bought the first one in 1985. I logged over 24,000 miles on it and loved every moment of it. Then along came my son and my wife wanted me to sell it. So in 1993 I sold it. Still miss that bike, but then in 2003 I purchased a used 1990 V-Max and all those feelings came back!! Absolutley loved the thing, and obviously so did someone else. It got stolen from my garage. I had my new Corvette in there too and they didn't touch it. That says a lot for the bike right there. Hopefully I can find the anniversry edition so I can fulfill the feeling cruising down the road on another beloved V-Max. The only downfall of the bike is the cornering can't lay it in a corner like an R1 but the confort of the bike out weighs it.
- Bryan Bowen, Syracuse, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-02 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been 20 years since I was in the 11th grade. I remember when the 1985 Vmax made it to the local dealership where my friends and I like to go to salivate over new motorcycles. As the years went by I had purchased a few different bikes (Nighthawk 650, Maxxim 750, and V65 Magna), but I always wanted to own a Vmax. No other manufacturer ever came close to producing anything like it. This year I feared that the 20th edition may be the last one so I decide to buy one. It is everything that I imagined it was. The power is nothing short of amazing. It is one of the best purchases I've ever made. It looks as if Yamaha will continue to make them. Why would they stop? My Max is stock and will remain that way. The only thing I changed was the air filter (upgraded to K&N). I love it. Great all around.
- Rich Crawford, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-28 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can only compare the VMAX to my other bike which is a 2004 R1. Obviously, they're different bikes. The R1 has killer power especially in the upper RPM's and will eat up a VMAX without question. I got both bikes and both are stock (no engine mods - yet). HOWEVER - the VMAX ride is luxury compared to the R1. I can't go more than 15 miles on the R1 without thoughts of selling it. Last weekend I cruised 175 miles on my VMAX with 10 other situp bikes without any discomfort with the exception of scrunching of the legs. I would recommend highway pegs for long cruises otherwise your hamstrings will bind up.
- John, Morris County, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-21 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With 1,200 miles on the Max I am extremely happy with my choice. I have had no problems with the Max and it is very, very fast, must be careful to not receive a ticket. I have had no handling or braking problems and the seat is not all that uncomfortable, try bike shorts with the gel pads under your pants. The Max is just to Sweeeet!
- JSC, Chesaning, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-18 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like the other reviewers I can remember reading about this bike when it first came out 20 years ago and I have always wanted one. I am still in the break in period. I am 48 years old. I love the looks of this bike. I really like the way Yamaha did the 20 Ann Ed. I agree that the bike looks much better than the pictures you see of it. I can realistically say that I will probably never part with this great machine. The power of this thing is just awesome and I haven't even pushed it yet.
- BIlly, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-30 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Can only say I'm glad I looked around some more before getting back into biking. Had not owned one in 13 years, renting the occasional Harley here and there for a few days at a time. Always glad to turn them in though, as they are hardly adequate rides. Almost went for the Triumph Rocket III, and it is very unique. Questions about reliability and available service kept me off one. What I was reminded of was that the Triumph is regarded as the only serious challenger to the 20 year old VMAX. I had it in mind to try to find one of the '05 anniversary models to see for myself. Lucked onto #1777 of 2000, and bought it on sight. It has been everything it should be, and more. Only 200 miles on it, but every mile with a smile! Added the factory cowl fairing, love it too. Have been into the V-boost a couple times, feels good. All previously heard complaints about brakes, forks, or handling seem to have been addressed well on the 2005. This machine is spot-on!
- Ed, D/FW, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-22 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
gAt 15 I was in the school library drooling over an article on the 1985 Vmax. I told myself that someday I would own one. Now 20 years later I am the proud owner of #1284/2000. The air cleaner cover is absolutely beautiful, however watch when waxing it. I had the cloth get caught on the number plate and it came right off the 20 year badge. The plate didn't have enough sticky stuff from the factory to hold it on. The power is everything I imagined and more. It easily does power wheelies with my wife on the back, and she loves every minute of it.
- Rick & Sherry, Latrobe, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to wait until I logged several thousand miles on this motorcycle before I submitted this review. I am 51 years old and got back into riding three years ago. I also own a 2004 Harley Davidson 1200R Sportster which I had modified (cams, carb, ignition, exhaust). I really like the Sportster, but it feels like an antique when compared to the V Max. This bike is deffinately the bike for me and I think it will be for you too.
- J Demask, Shorewood, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: