Yamaha V-Max Motorcycles Reviews (36)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V-Max Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V-Max Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-02-07 1999 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very pleased with the straight line performance of my Max. The handling leaves a bit to be desired. Stops very well and goes like... well you know. No wonder they have been around for 20 years.
- Steve C, West Chester, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-24 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It has excellent power and looks and there is no way to confuse this bike with any other. I really like the fact that it is different. It is a legend in its own time. I would have no problem recommending this bike. I hope this helps out someone if they are considering a V-Max.
- Rick Cooper, Port Richey, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-02 2002 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The v-max is a high performance bikers dream. It is the hot rod of bikes. I have rode a lot of bikes and none as impressive as this one. I have made a few upgrades to my own but it has an abundence of performance stock. I put a three thousands rpm v-boost, which eats away at the already bad gass mileage, but gives you the the acceleration at a flip of the wrist. Also I removed the stock exhaust and replaced it with a kerker 4-in-1 muffler. Also I replaced the stock handle bars with drag bars and removed both the blinkers and mirrors. It gives it a much sleaker look. The only draw back to this bike in my opionion is that the comfort is not the greatest. But all in all it's a great bike and has an abundence of power.
- blake , fort payne, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-14 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 93 Katana 1100, 03 SV 650s, 03 Harley V-rod and yes a 99 V-Max. So far the V-Max is my favorite. I must admit I love the V-Rod but The V-Max still wins. I am just waiting for an updated version. If and when that day comes I will be first in line to purchase one.
- 99 V-Max, Arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-11 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned Mr. max (how could anyone call this bike a she) for 6 years now and I still love the bike. He has a Hole Shot racing pipe, K&N filter, and jet kit. I can't help but wind it up through the first couple gears every time I get on it. With the exhaust I have it sounds like a dragster. It's strange, I can't explain it but other bikes won't pull up next to me at a stoplight. But reality sunk in when I rode my son in laws 02 Yamaha R-1. Miserable bike to tool around on with horrible ergonomics, but what awesome power! It is truly 1 or 2 levels beyond Mr. Max. It truly left me wanting more power from my bike but if I had to choose between slightly less power or the cruel and unusual riding position of the crotch rocket I'll stick with Mr. Max.
- al, bloomfield, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-05 2002 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gets respect wherever I go. Just the sound of it turns heads. The thing goes like stink! Its heavy but really doesn't handle all that bad. It's the original muscle bike. Get yourself one, before they stop making the legend.
- Ray, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-01 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome power but jetted too lean from the factory. The engine is set to run way to hot for my taste. The Max handles poorly in curves but that is not why I bought this bike. The frame is not rigid enough for all the power the Max produces. The factory brake pads are less than desirable as well, they will ruin rotors. The Max is neither for beginners nor the knee-dragging cyclist. The MAX is purely for going really fast in a straight line.
- Chris, Pekin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
5'9", 32" inseam and 180 lbs. Previous bikes owned include the vulcan 500, vulcan 750, bmw 650 and bmw 1100. ridden a variety of others. Quite simply, there is nothing like this bike. Great torque throughout the powerband and teeth-clenching acceleration when v-boost kicks in. I am most struck by how well it handles, all reports and my expectations to the contrary. It steers extremely well at very low speeds so people and carts in grocery parking lots are less of an issue. And while I've yet to take hard highway curves at 90+ (still in break-in) I find the bike more flickable than my vulcan 750 and without the dreaded wobble I've read so much about when taking curves at legal highway speeds. My only complaints are ergonomic: putting my feet down at stops with butt planted mid-seat makes my ankles scrape alongside the pegs before finding purchase; the pegs are a bit more forward than most street bikes I've ridden and well back of any cruiser. but this could as well be the bike's complaint about my ergonomics and the problem is alleviated by adapting a different foot-lowering and raising technique. Also, putting the tach on the tank was just silly, though one does get used to it. I still occasionally miss the fit and finish and manners of the bmw 1100r, but I suspect once break-in is done, I will miss them even less. I must say this bike is not a cruiser. It is a street bike disguised as one, with bolt upright seating and knees forward of your feet. those in search of motorcycles which rest ankles above glute-level would do well to look elsewhere.
- Matt, phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-01 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been through a few bikes. 1984 Yamaha Seca 750 1993 Yamaha Vmax 1996 Harley Anniversary Addtion 2001 Suzuki GSXR 1000 Guess which one I still own. Guess which one I still love to ride.
- Greg, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-22 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Vmax is not a bike for the weak hearted. It needs a few mod's after you buy it. No other bike has lasted around for almost 20 years with the same style. I rode my first Vmax in 1985 and still today I love the power and looks. My 2003 Vmax is just an awesome looking bike keeping to it's self, until it's pick on and opens a can of woop-ass.
- Rick, Hemet, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-15 1999 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
' just got my Vmax last week (1998 w/ 6k mi.-"used little"). Had/have a 1977 Honda 750 supersport which I loved but my wife wanted more back seat comfort. So far we like the max (It came with the sm. windscreen, forward foot pegs/engine guards, and the sissy bar). The only concerns I have at this point are; 1)The front seat/operators position forces all my weight onto the tail/pelvic-bone area -causing soreness after about 20 miles. 2)The handle bar grips could be about 2" more forward (my left wrist gets sore where it is (I am 58 yrs. and ~5'9"/ 162#). 3)Foot pegs/controls could be a couple of inches lower and/or forward.(seat ht. is 30" vs the 32" I'm used to.). Excepting for the seat discomfort -it's a "Keeper" for sure. p.s. That huge engine produces a lot of heat on a hot day and I see the temp. needle climb onto the lower red limit when we're sitting for a minute!-better get it moving.
- Myron Peebles, Oneida, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-06 2002 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Max new in '96, and with 8900 miles it still runs like new. The only work I've had to have done was standard maintenence, besides recommended valve adjustment after break in period. I would recommend this bike to those looking for something fast yet don't want the neck cramps from the crotch rockets. Also- if you want 140 mph + , you'll want to invest in a steering stabilizer(maybe standard now)? P.S. - When I do buy again, I'm getting another V-Max.
- alleycatt, columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-06 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was 17 when i first rode a max.And I fell in love with it then and I am still in love with it now. I mean what can a guy ask for? 100+ horsepower right out of the showroom...v-boost at 6000rpm.. Smokes every stock and customized harley and that includes harleys factory hotrod the V-rod in stock form. I even remember the slogan for it, fastest production bike in the world and it undisputedly was till Kawasaki came out with the ZZ1100.
- Kumar, Iowa Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-18 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I`ve finally bought my V-Max. She`s a 1985 beauty. It`s fun to drive, and it`s great to see the respect you get from others:"look he`s got a Max" If you`re still not sure what to buy, try one. It`s the ride of a life time. My Max roars and drinks, just like me. Greets from Holland
- VleksMax, Rossum DT, Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-05 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2002 Vmax and in the first month I tossed the fact rubber , the grips and bought a windshield.The rubber was all over the road so I put mettzler me 880s on it .the grips were small and cheezy and in the rain at 75mph the windshield is a must. Now,I have a rocket in a cruiser body that I ride EVERY day .I love to know I can ride without the worries of breaking down , or having any lack of power. No I don't like to have to stop every 110mi for gas but if you want a goldwing buy one. If you want the quickest production cruiser made (and be worry free) then the VMAX is your bike.
- rider, pasco, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-22 1999 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently own a 1994 V-Max, and the bike is yellow. This bike is great, i love the design, which is the same one ever since 1985. Performance wise the bike is unbelievable. I greatly encouraged people to own one.
- Damien, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-25 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 03 Max a few weeks ago and fell in love. Very fast and commands respect. Not the greatest for high speed turning, but I forgive her everytime the V-boost kicks in down a straightaway. Should have gotten one sooner. Can't wait to add a few items and make her even more fun to ride.
- Steve, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
See my e-mail address. Same as my tag on Mr. Max. Definately the "tork king" of street bikes. Totally stock except for Corbin seat, awesome acceleration. Handles fine. Never had more fun on a bike. Mr. Max will remain a permanent occupant in this cowboy's stable. Unless of course Yamaha USA gets smart and updates the dinosaur !!
- Fred, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-08 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fun to ride bike. A little wobbly in the sweeping turns at 50+. Added a Superbrace to forks...makes front end feel stronger. No wobble above 100 mph yet. Killer power!
- mabryjz71, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-05 2002 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ridden a number of cruisers, crotch rockets, and sportbikes in my twenty something years of riding, but the V-Max certainly gains my total respect and admitation. Bike handles reasonably well in the turns, and not too uncomfortable on long trips of say 100 to 300 miles. When it comes to acceleration, forget it, Max rules hands down. Only negative comment is the gas tank. If someone comes up with a 5.5 gas tank, he/she will make a fortune.
- Joe Bellber, Patchogue, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-11 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 1985 Mr. Max with just 7,000 miles in the summer of 2002. I owned a 2000 V-Star 1100 cruiser at the time, but that's sold now. The Max is just so much fun to ride. It gives you the straight line speed of a sport bike, with the comfort of a cruiser. It's not the best bike in the twisties, but that's not what I like do anyway. Buy a toe tag and take one for a ride!!
- Bob Maguda, Plantsville, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-06 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before you buy this bike, update your medical coverage and/or life insurance policy. First time I rode this Goliath, I damn-near flipped over. This bike is faster than one of those women trying to score with Joe Millionaire, especially after I installed a Jardine exhaust and re-jetted the carbs. I smoked more Harleys and "Import Racers" than Marlboros. My 27 y/o redhead girlfriend asked me if I'd rather have her or the V-Max. With a straight face, I said "her" then I went out and ride my V-Max and changed my mind.
- Dan, Lawrenceville, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-03 2003 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The V-max. Musle bike - extreme. I love my 2003 Max. Unbelievable power and acceleration. You want her to be pointed in a straight line when you turn her on. I found it to be very stable and smooth at high speeds (120mph plus)contrary to tales of speed wobble in older ones. I love to ride two-up, as it makes the Max want to rear up on hard throttling. Most fun and power you can get today without a chain. Most fun you can have with your pants on. It takes a darn good rocket to out-accelerate the Max. What can I say? Its a man's bike. It eats Harleys and spits out little bits of tattoo and leather. Only things I dont like, is the rider position is cramped for me - kills my knees and legs on a longer ride and I hate the flat black paint job. Oh, and by-the-way, the Max can be deadly on a driver's license!
- beeboy, B.C.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-09 1999 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last review written about three weeks ago was less than enthusiastic concerning the purchase of my '99 V-Max. There was so much about the bike I liked such as the looks, quality finish, comfortable ride, shaft drive, etc., but the all-out-white-knuckled performance I had expected just didn't seem to be there. I consider myself and older and mature rider (49), but I still like a good kick in the pants just like everyone ele who rides a motorcyle once in a while. Today I made a modification to the bike that made all the difference. It's called T-boost, and it works with the factory V-boost to bring in the extra carburetor power at 3,000 rpms, instead of 6,000 rpms. Now, for just about all normal driving, I have lots of extra power and acceleration which is what I expected when I bought the Max. It was there before but you had to get the motor up to 6,000 rpms which is just not practical or safe for most of the driving I do. The T-boost can also be switched off at any time, and I think it is probably a good idea when driving in traffic. Why don't V-maxes come from the factory with a lower limit for the boost to kick in? I have heard that it is mainly due to emission problems, but I wonder also if it isn't really just too much power for Yamaha to sell over the counter to the average rider. Whatever, I am now 100 percent exited and happy with my '99 V-Max and would recommend the cycle to anyone. -But add the T-boost -which is available on different V-Max websites; is fairly easy to install, and costs only around $50.
- Phil Mitchell, Kingston, , Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-25 1999 Yamaha V-Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a Yamaha V-Max for about a year. Still feels like the most powerful bike I have ridden to this date. When the V-boost kicked in it made me grin from ear to ear. The only bike I have ridden that has come close to the same feel for me is a CBR1100XX that had 140 RWHP. The V-max still made me smile more! I would like to add another V-Max to my stable some day and regret selling my old one.
- Matt Hammond, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: