Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Max reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

38 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

ADPJOE

Pharr, Texas

Reviewed on 2008-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I waited 22 years to get the awesome V Max. It was well worth it. It has outstanding acceleration, a comfortable ride and killer looks. Plus, it's not very common in my part of the world. Routine maintenance is super easy. It takes one hour at most for an oil change, drive shaft gear oil change, K&N filter recharge and antifreeze change (when needed). It does take some time to clean. Since the powerhouse is exposed, there are tight areas to get to. It's worth it once you are done you get the beast back!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Memphis area, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2008-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a returning motorcycle rider after 15 years. Starting with a 1987 Virago 535, I quickly realized that a V Max is what I wanted and bought a used 1989 V Max. I loved the bike but wound up selling it a few years later due to buying a new house and a baby on the way - read "threats from wife.Well the baby is in high school now and through lots of negotiating I got permission to buy a bike again. I ran across a clean, used 2005 20th Anniversary model V Max, #1731, with less than 3200 miles for sale in a local motorcycle shop. I spent a sleepless night deciding whether to buy it or not. Decision made, I called the shop shortly after they opened the next morning and put a down payment on the Max. This bike is wonderful and quite a looker. I've had it for close to 2 months now and have logged 1400 miles on it. I have had absolutely no problems with it. The fit and finish is showroom clean. This bike is like getting a second chance on something I hated to lose the first time. If you're lucky enough to run across an Anniversary model, buy it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry Franklin

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2008-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In 1985 I bought both Honda Sabres - the VF700, then the VF1100. I fell in love with the V4 configuration, smooth power band and ease of maintenance. I sold them both in 1990 and had no bikes since. Just 2 weeks ago I researched and bought a 2005 Anniversary V-Max, #83. It is a beautiful bike, well worth the wait. Flawless paint and chrome. I found out what the V-boost is. It almost scared the sh** out of me. But at the same time, what a ride! If you want some respect from the crotch rocket riders and the cruiser crowd, this is the one to buy. I can't imagine what the 2009 model with 200 hp is like. I am starting to add toys to mine, but in my opinion, they are very over priced. So a little at a time I'll add the extras. It is a great bike with great engineering and great looks. If you want a good all around bike, this is the one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

Kimberling City, Missouri

Reviewed on 2007-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
More power than any other cruiser for thousands of dollars less. If it's a power cruiser you want, why would you buy anything else? I bought a new 2004 model V-Max. This is really an awesome bike, especially for a bike in the price range. Handling was not and issue for me. It handles the twisties better than most cruisers. I can guaranty you that your cruiser riding buddies will only want to race you once. Mr. Max will run the quarter mile in the 10 second range. Good bye, v-rods. I am not one to be putting down Harleys. I like Harleys. I have owned a couple and I liked them both. I just like to try something different once in a while. I do like the V-Max and it will blow the door off of a v-rod. Guess the only cruiser that will take a v-max is the Truimp Rocket III at 2300 c.c. and then only slightly. These bikes cost several thousand dollars more than a V-Max. Talk about bang for the buck. It's V-Max hands down. One issue I had with the V-Max was steering wobble.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike A

Springfield, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have wanted a V MAX for 20 years but raising kids, paying mortage etc dictated otherwise. Now at the age of 51 I got it, this bike is everything and way more than I dreamed it would be. A comfortable cruising speed for the Max is 65 mph, and just hitting 4.75 rpm, if you need to pass there's no need to down-shift at this speed, just crack open the throttle and hold on, it just keeps getting stronger. A perfect 45 degree upright seating position with a very well padded seat keeps the stress off the lower back and legs. The power band delivers unbelieveable muscle and speed when needed. If you don't get too crazy you can get a little over 40 mpg, but if you open that v-boost often you will cut the mileage in half. Was it worth the wait? Hell yeah. Will never ride anything else but the MAX.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Owens

Suwanee, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've read several reviews by both private riders and publications about the Vmax. After buying one however, I find it necessary to set the record straight on a few things that I believe are inaccurate in many of the reviews that harp on and on about the same things. So, from top to bottom, let's review some of the myths: Myth 1: This bike is not for the novice. Inaccurate. The bike is a pure joy to ride when ridden reasonably. Keeping the bike below 5000 RPM results in a ride very much like a V-twin cruiser bike of any make. It's not overpowered, throttle response is smooth and easy and it's a very comfortable ride. To hear some tell it, if you barely touch the throttle you wind up flat on your back with 600 lbs. of Max sitting on your chest. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, it may just be the perfect bike for a novice in that the novice will never outgrow Max. It's very well behaved below 5000. Day to day riding to work is a pleasure. That leaves plenty of miles and years for the novice to grow into the bike and discover a new level of performance for years to come, rather than getting a smaller bike in the 750cc range and two years later winding up totally disappointed with the performance. Myth 2: The Vmax doesn't handle. Inaccurate. This was one of the big concerns for me going into buying this bike after reading a great many reviews. Sport Bikes not being an option for me (neck and back problems), I was more than a bit wary of this. As it turns out, it's a total NON-issue. I think that people who went out and wrote the handling issue reviews were comparing Max to an R1/RR/Gixxer. In writing a review, one has to compare to bikes in class...not bikes that handle better by being 200 lbs. lighter with race slicks on them. For a bike tipping the scales at 600 lbs., Max gets into and out of corners amazingly well. But let's be reasonable: This is NOT a sport bike. If you're idea of a good time is 50 degree-plus lean angles, get on an R bike. At speed, handling is actually very smooth. Just a slight slip of the hip and Max goes right where you want him to. Again, don't get the idea that you're going to keep on your buddy's tail end while he and his RR tear up the mountain. It's NOT going to happen. Be reasonable. BUT...there aren't any other cruisers out there that are going to hang with you and Max. That much I can promise you. Myth 3: The Vmax brakes aren't up to snuff. Somewhat true. PLENTY of rear brake, but the front brake could be upgraded. I'm of the opinion that another 10+ mm of front brake would go a long way towards giving Max the whoa it really needs. It is a heavy bike. Under heavy braking (which I've only had to do once so far thanks to a make-up-putting-on-soccer-mom-in-an-suv) it does get a bit dicey. This is an area that I will definitely look into upgrading in the years to come. I've already read about a few aftermarket upgrades, and I'll check them out eventually. Myth 4: The Vmax has more power than you can imagine. True. Take what you read and add some. I've only opened Max up a couple of times as I'm taking it easy on the wear-in period, but already it is impressive. Enough power to rip down small buildings, make you bow down before graven images, grow hair on your hands and keep the country from winning the war. I've not had that much power at my wrist since I rode a buddy of mines customized 954RR...and personally, I'll take that RR to the bloody cleaners in a straight line and not break a sweat. Although VERY well behaved under 5000 rpm, if you grab a fist full of Max you'd better eat your Wheaties, put your game face on, squeeze those legs against the tank, say a few hail Mary's (stations of the cross and a quick trip to Lourdes wouldn't be a bad idea either), and hang on tight...because Max flat gets with the program after 6000 rpm. It's like waking my wife in the early morning: Something only the very brave need do. OVERALL EVALUATION: Great bike in every way. Meets or exceeds expectations on every level save one: Brakes. Max could definitely use more front brake.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Rommel

Dover, Delaware

Reviewed on 2007-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Max in November 2005 and it has been a great bike. If I was to comment on one thing, it would be the power band. I thought it would have a bunch of low end torque being a V4, but the real power doesn't show up until the 4000/5000 rpm range particularly when the V-Boost kicks in (5000 rpm). don't expect big-bore V-twin low end power from this bike. Its power band is more like an inline 4. don't get me wrong, when you want the power, all you have to do is twist the thorttle. It will deliver. A K&N air filter and Dyno-Jet Stage One jet kit will help improve the low end power. Also, considering the age of this design and now that it is the year 2007, you would think Yamaha would have incorporated a wider back wheel and tire to keep pace with competition. Otherwise, I have no other beef with this bike and will be keeping mine for awhile.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Madmax

Potomac, Maryland

Reviewed on 2007-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
By far the best fun on 2 wheels! If you want speed, torque and looks get a V-Max!! Beware: This beast is not for the novice. I bought a used one in 2000 (99 model) with silver rims and no red flames. After purchasing it and taking it for a 10 minutes test drive, the salesman was impressed with me. He said there are 2 kinds of people: the real good drivers and the duds who think they can ride! I guess he was suprised I came back riding as opposed to puking...LOL! After a few days of getting used to the power I was abble to lift up the wheel at just about every gear!! If I twisted the throttle too hard from 0 to 60 I would get a weird yet addicting feeling in my gut...it was the massive torque propelling me forward! After a few hair raising rides, I decided to let someone else enjoy it...yes, I sold it. :( Yet to this day, I have not found an engine that can measure up to the V-Max. I have had a vast amount of really fast cars and none of them compared to the power of the Max! I had a Mustang Cobra: 345 HP, Mercedes Benz E55(AMG): 349 HP, Jaguar XJR(Supercharged): 375HP...you get the gist!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lewis Wormuth

Clifton park, New York

Reviewed on 2007-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Tires are everything when riding this bike. Metzeler ME880 work well, I installed a plexstar wind sheild, the down force improved the handling and control of the bike at higher speeds. 3000 v boost kit helps a lot. For 20 year old tech, it will out perform anything in the 1200 class in quarter mile and is amazing for 600 lbs. Only problem is, young kids with sport bikes always want to race and end up long faces.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan OHagan

Whitecourt, Alberta

Reviewed on 2007-04-26

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is totally AMAZING. I love it. It's fun and powerful. Wow. It's got my bang for the buck vote. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 38 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: