Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V-Max reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

36 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Steve C

West Chester, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-02-07

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am very pleased with the straight line performance of my Max. The handling leaves a bit to be desired. Stops very well and goes like... well you know. No wonder they have been around for 20 years.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick Cooper

Port Richey, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike. It has excellent power and looks and there is no way to confuse this bike with any other. I really like the fact that it is different. It is a legend in its own time. I would have no problem recommending this bike. I hope this helps out someone if they are considering a V-Max.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

blake

fort payne, Alabama

Reviewed on 2004-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The v-max is a high performance bikers dream. It is the hot rod of bikes. I have rode a lot of bikes and none as impressive as this one. I have made a few upgrades to my own but it has an abundence of performance stock. I put a three thousands rpm v-boost, which eats away at the already bad gass mileage, but gives you the the acceleration at a flip of the wrist. Also I removed the stock exhaust and replaced it with a kerker 4-in-1 muffler. Also I replaced the stock handle bars with drag bars and removed both the blinkers and mirrors. It gives it a much sleaker look. The only draw back to this bike in my opionion is that the comfort is not the greatest. But all in all it's a great bike and has an abundence of power.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

99 V-Max

Arlington, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-04-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned 93 Katana 1100, 03 SV 650s, 03 Harley V-rod and yes a 99 V-Max. So far the V-Max is my favorite. I must admit I love the V-Rod but The V-Max still wins. I am just waiting for an updated version. If and when that day comes I will be first in line to purchase one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

al

bloomfield, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have owned Mr. max (how could anyone call this bike a she) for 6 years now and I still love the bike. He has a Hole Shot racing pipe, K&N filter, and jet kit. I can't help but wind it up through the first couple gears every time I get on it. With the exhaust I have it sounds like a dragster. It's strange, I can't explain it but other bikes won't pull up next to me at a stoplight. But reality sunk in when I rode my son in laws 02 Yamaha R-1. Miserable bike to tool around on with horrible ergonomics, but what awesome power! It is truly 1 or 2 levels beyond Mr. Max. It truly left me wanting more power from my bike but if I had to choose between slightly less power or the cruel and unusual riding position of the crotch rocket I'll stick with Mr. Max.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2004-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike gets respect wherever I go. Just the sound of it turns heads. The thing goes like stink! Its heavy but really doesn't handle all that bad. It's the original muscle bike. Get yourself one, before they stop making the legend.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Pekin, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Awesome power but jetted too lean from the factory. The engine is set to run way to hot for my taste. The Max handles poorly in curves but that is not why I bought this bike. The frame is not rigid enough for all the power the Max produces. The factory brake pads are less than desirable as well, they will ruin rotors. The Max is neither for beginners nor the knee-dragging cyclist. The MAX is purely for going really fast in a straight line.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt

phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2003-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
5'9", 32" inseam and 180 lbs. Previous bikes owned include the vulcan 500, vulcan 750, bmw 650 and bmw 1100. ridden a variety of others. Quite simply, there is nothing like this bike. Great torque throughout the powerband and teeth-clenching acceleration when v-boost kicks in. I am most struck by how well it handles, all reports and my expectations to the contrary. It steers extremely well at very low speeds so people and carts in grocery parking lots are less of an issue. And while I've yet to take hard highway curves at 90+ (still in break-in) I find the bike more flickable than my vulcan 750 and without the dreaded wobble I've read so much about when taking curves at legal highway speeds. My only complaints are ergonomic: putting my feet down at stops with butt planted mid-seat makes my ankles scrape alongside the pegs before finding purchase; the pegs are a bit more forward than most street bikes I've ridden and well back of any cruiser. but this could as well be the bike's complaint about my ergonomics and the problem is alleviated by adapting a different foot-lowering and raising technique. Also, putting the tach on the tank was just silly, though one does get used to it. I still occasionally miss the fit and finish and manners of the bmw 1100r, but I suspect once break-in is done, I will miss them even less. I must say this bike is not a cruiser. It is a street bike disguised as one, with bolt upright seating and knees forward of your feet. those in search of motorcycles which rest ankles above glute-level would do well to look elsewhere.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-10-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been through a few bikes. 1984 Yamaha Seca 750 1993 Yamaha Vmax 1996 Harley Anniversary Addtion 2001 Suzuki GSXR 1000 Guess which one I still own. Guess which one I still love to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Hemet, California

Reviewed on 2003-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V-Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Vmax is not a bike for the weak hearted. It needs a few mod's after you buy it. No other bike has lasted around for almost 20 years with the same style. I rode my first Vmax in 1985 and still today I love the power and looks. My 2003 Vmax is just an awesome looking bike keeping to it's self, until it's pick on and opens a can of woop-ass.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 36 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: