Yamaha V Star Custom Motorcycles Reviews (39)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-28 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2003 V Star Custom and I have 5100 miles on it. I bought the bike new as a left over. The bike is all I need. It has good pick and handles good. I live in New England and it handles the mountain roads very well, you need to shift more. The back tire is one of the biggest, even the new Harley Sportster has a smaller tire. Bike is great at 55 to 60, you can do this all day long. The negative so far has been a replacement of the fork seals at 3,000 miles at a cost of $225, the 500 mile check up which includes valve adjustment came to $310. The maintenance schedule call for valve adjustment every 4,000 miles. I tried to have Yamaha pick up some of the cost of the fork seals as I told them that they were either put in wrong at the factory or the seals themselves were bad, no luck. If the bike truly needs valve adjustment every 4,000 mles this is going to be an expensive bike to own. I have retired and plan to do a lot more riding. The dealer here gets about $200 to adjust the valves. Love the bike but I have owned other bikes where the valve adjustments were every 10,000 miles. They were not V twins. I am going to listen carefully to the valves and see if I can go to 7,000. To date I have spent over $500 dollars and have 5,100 miles on the bike and if I do the valves it will go up to $725. This seems a little high. I should have checked the maintenance schedule before I purchased the bike. I have some good manuals. I am thinking of adjusting the valves myself, this could be a bad idea. Have fun out there.
- Aldo Rosingana, Westfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best all around motorcycle I have ever owned and I have owned a lot of motorcycles even larger. With 69,000 miles it still runs like the day it was new and as smooth as can be and I cruise the highways two up at 85 MPH plus. Except for general maintenance and regular tune-ups I have not had to replace anything and this honey starts with the touch of button and awesome to ride anywhere. This is one of the most under rated motorcycles to most people and I wouldn't be shocked if this motorcycle gets 200,000 plus miles. It might not be the fastest quarter mile bike but very reliable and the babes love it, I call it the babe magnet without question and great on gas 55 MPG Plus. Very light weight at 484 LBS. dry, very easy to handle and a pleasure to drive 500 plus mile per days with the Mustang seat. You can never go wrong buying one of these Yamaha V Star Customs they are built to last and a complete joy to drive anywhere, pure fun and joy that I will treasure always, thanks Yamaha!
- Bad Boy, Savanaha, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-06 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am excited to say I got my 2003 v-star custom with only 310 miles on it last week and before I even had my license. Thank- goodness I passed the BRC. don't have much to report on it. But when I first sat on it I knew it was the one for me..plus the color was perfect....I got the purple. Had to keep it in the star family. My better half has a 2005 tour deluxe that could out do a harley in looks and value any day... Be safe.
- KAYLA, RAPID CITY, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 650 custom with 1600 miles on it. The dealer had done the tune up. She rides very well, nice sound and comfortable. The longer rides tend to leave my rear end a little sore. I have yet to get used to the foot peg placement which I find a little awkward but all in all it is comfortable. Once the wife gets her motorcycle safety course completed I think she will get this bike and I'll move up to an 1100 but I will be staying with the V Star family.
- Spencer Olson, Port Angeles, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-05 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 V-Star in August 2003. I traded in my Suzuki Marauder 800 and have not regretted it a single bit. There are those that complain about the speed, or lack of, on the V. If that is the case, buy a Warrior! My V-Star carried my wife and myself home from Little Rock at speeds of 75-85 miles per hour the whole trip and never missed a beat and this is about a 100-mile trip. If you're looking for a reliable cruiser, and that's what it is, a CRUISER, you can't go wrong with the V.
- Scott A. Pickett, Camden, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-27 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There really isn't much I can say that experiencing for yourself won't tell you. I compared a lot of different bikes and finally chose the 1100 XVS custom.When we traded up from our 750 it's like day and night. just like the shoe says you just gotta do it."
- matchbox, Akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't know what I did to my bike to make it run as good as it does but it does go. I read other reviews and people aren't extremely pleased with it but I am happy with mine. Some people also say that they can only do 90-95 miles an hour but my V-Star will run 105. But the bike has great ergos and is comfortable for miles and miles. The only complaint I have about it is that the pegs hit the ground rather quick when I lean it hard into a corner. It is also very pleasing to onlookers because of the color I chose which was deep purple and it makes heads turn, I get a lot of request from girls about giving them rides and the passenger seat has seen plenty of passengers. The only thing I have changed to my bike was the air filter and that was all. It now breathes more freely thanks to a K&N. It also looks great in the sun and going down the highway and when I want it to it will light up the rear tire with the flick of my wrist. It would be a great first bike for anyone who wants to get into this sport and learn.
- Frank Carrillo, Eunice, New Mexico, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 650 Custom for almost 6 months and 4600 miles. I may want a larger cc bike, but I don't know why except for ego. I want to ride an 1100 or 1300 just to see what the difference in ride might be. On Sat. & Sunday I rode from S. West GA. to N.C., 890 miles round trip. Travelled secondary roads 50% and interstates 50%. The bike performed very well at all speeds, including 80 mph on some stretches of interstates. Averaged for the trip 46 mpg. No mechanical problems, just a small amount of air loss in the tires. Oil level was the same as when I left. Yes, I want a Harley and I will own one in the near future. But for the money, this is a great great bike. I would recommend it very highly to anyone 5' to 5'9" tall, less than 200 lbs, or just getting into biking like I did last May. 5 stars all the way. Happy Safe Riding
- T. Wilson, Leesburg, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-12 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had 4or 5 other bikes all diff. brands. This is a great bike just big enough for cruising, on those great back roads, or a trip to the store. The only thing I had done was changed the exhaust and had the carb.jetted. That made a HUGE differnce in performance. I would buy another in a heart beat.
- Chuck Demos, Prospect, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-09 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My husband bought me a Yamaha 650 Vstar Custom as a gift, I am a beginner and have only been riding for about two months, I make a lot of mistakes and this bike has been so forgiving of me, In practicing for the skills test to obtain my class CM license, I tried using a smaller bike and found that I was able to ride the test course better on my Vstar, so took and passed the test on it, I would highly recommend any woman looking for a beginner bike to consider the Vstar,
- unknown, Riverton, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-21 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife said to me, "I want a bike to ride to work." Imagine my surprise when I heard this, but I took it to heart and the search was on. I researched each bike that I felt was going to be appropriate for her and after it was all said and done, I was a V-Star groupie. They are absolutely wonderful to ride. Low seat height, long wheel base, easy, smooth flowing clutch system and plenty of horsepower to move a big guy like me around town. The V-Star rides so smoothly you forget you are going 60-75mph. The air-cooled V-twin is low maintenance, easy on the gas mileage as well, 45 around town, 55 on the road. I cruised up the canyon and it loves the curves and the pavement tremendously. Nothing could compare to a V-Star, either the sport custom or the smooth lines of the classic. I preferred the sporty custom, in two tone purple and pewter. Absolutely gorgeous. You will love the ride. "Guaranteed"
- Brian Heugly, Salt Lake City , Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-12 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for lots of reasons, price, shaft drive, looks (chopper appearance), ease of handling for a new rider, and the Yamaha superior brand. But the most important reason was that it fit. I am 5'7" tall & 165 lbs, and this bike is absolutly the perfect fit for me. In my humble and inexperienced opinion, I would recommend this bike highly. I now have over 5000 miles in 5 months & couldn't be happier. I also like the 50+ mpg. Laid the bike down recently however, forgot to lower the kickstand and tried to get off the bike. Fell over on me while car operators were looking on. So much for the great bad biker. Safe riding
- R. BRICKHOUSE, ROCKINGHAM, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-12 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 29 years. My dad bought my first bike when I was 11 years old and I have had many since then. The decision to buy the Yamaha 650 custom was based on looks and price. I appreciated the custom chopper appearance rather than the "fat boy" look of the classic. The price was affordable for me, a selling point with my wife and that's always a plus! I wasn't disappointed when I rode the bike home. I am 5'8" and 220lbs and the bike hauls my teenage daugther and me around with no problem. I try to ride it to work as often as I can, which is a 70 mile round trip. The trip is mostly highway riding and 70-75 mph is no problem...very smooth. In fact, it's diificult to keep it below 70 on the highway, mostly because it is smoother at 70 than 65 mph. It would be nice if the 5th gear was a bit lower but it's not that bad. Who needs to go 100mph anyway? that's just a quick way to jail and you can't ride your bike there. Hey, it's a great bike...buy one!
- Carl Brown, Elyria, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-04 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall great bike for anyone. Last summer when I bought my V-Star custom new I only got about 1400 miles due to work situations but this year so far I've put in about 3000 miles with a lot more season to go. For the beautiful 2 laners up here in new england the bike performs superbly. It has enough power to go the freeways to but does seem to strain a bit over 70mph. I had thought next year of trading up to the 1100 but I've changed my tune, think I'm just going to get a custom paint job (anyone knows a good airbrusher up this way that's reasonable let me know), get a backrest for my lady and maybe different pipes for a bit more sound. I must say I'm very happy with the reliability, looks and performance of this ride. Get in the wind and ride safe.
- vstarwolf, westerly, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-31 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great first cruiser and riding it like crazy! put over 500 miles on it the first week.
- Tim King, Largo, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-29 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like the overall look and feel of it. Fell in love the first time riding it. It is the all rounded bike for riding. the only thing that I wish it could have been a bit better is the leg room. I am only 5'10" but already have to put my knees level higher than the tank when riding. I wish that the foot peg could be a bit farther. Other than that... love it.
- Alan Chung, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-10 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider as of 06/03, I believe this bike is a great 1st bike. I chose it because it fit just right, great for a small person (5'5" 155 lbs), with the low seat height. Feet actually touch flatfooted on the pavement when stopped. Plenty of CCs for this new rider, & very easy to learn to ride. I believe the 650 V-Star Custom will do me for a while, hopefully a long while. Very smooth ride, no vibration, 50mph or more. I am getting a 1/2 windshield installed Thursday. Cobra pipes were already installed at purchase, love the sound, like I imagined a bike should sound. Would recommend this bike to anyone who is learning to ride, wants the right amount of power, & has rather short legs & is worried about handling it safely. Go for it!
- Terry G. Wilson, Leesburg, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-20 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I originally wanted the 1100 but didn't have the $$ for the down payment. After discussing my options with the dealer I decided on the 650 custom. I was able to afford the price and some extras. In addition to the extensive chrome already on the bike I soon discovered that the options we're unlimited! I had cobra drag pipes installed and took the baffles out as soon as I got it home (Ilike it loud!!) what a cruiser! So far I've put 185 miles on this magnificent machine and no matter where I go people have questions and comments on it's incredible looks and sound! This is my 7th bike and by far the best! I'm sure in a couple of years I will upgrade to a larger version but in the meantime I will have loads of fun cruising this mean machine!
- suembata, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-05 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased through private owner very few miles. This is a great ladies bike, I stand 5'3, feet flat on ground. Very well balanced, great handling on curves and comfortable for the longer trips. Averaging 48 to 51 miles per gallon. Very Happy w/bike
- Lesley, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-15 2003 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After discovering it was costing more than 10 bucks a day to commute in a cage, I decided to buy a bike. I'm a middle-aged professional in the entertainment industry. I was looking for a gas-miser and was eyeing bikes like the Honda Rebel. My friends with bike experience highly recommended 500cc or more, as I would tire quickly of the 250. They were right. At my age, safety is more of a concern than speed. But with the V-Star 650 I have found I can suit both needs reasonably. With a light twist of the right wrist you can cruise comfortably. The bike turns heads, there is no shortage of chrome. If you need power, to get up that freeway onramp or lose a tailgater, simply twist the throttle into the higher RPMs. I regularly get 50+ MPG the way I normally drive - like a cruiser should be driven, but I've unoffically timed it 0-60 in 8 seconds flat. I lingered too long in first, didn't apply power shifts, and didn't rev to the top of each gear. A professional will probably coax a time in the 6-7 second range. The brakes are strong, although I'm getting a little noise now and then from the front disc. The gear-whine, overbearing at first, has diminished a bit but is still a little annoying. Most people would prefer an exhaust system that produces a deeper growl, but I'm not the type that likes to attract attention to myself. Freeway speed (65+) requires a rather high RPM range which provides an exciting bit of vibration. This is good, it's right where the best power lies if you need to make a quick velocity change. Of course, one tires quickly of the vibration, and I've found it necessary to make a few stops on longer trips to give my butt a break. I would recommend this bike to any beginner or everyday commuter. But seasoned bikers will want something with more power. Hey, power to ya, but the V-Star 650 Custom suits me to a T.
- Ghostman, Hollywood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 10 years of riding Harleys switched to the star. I loved my Harleys but for the money I saved and the performance of this bike I will never go back. Have received many compliments of bikes appearance and it will cruise all day with the bigger bikes. Smooth comfortable and alot of fun
- b. mccutcheon, salem, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-24 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is really a great bike and super buy for the person who has just learned how to ride and wants a cruiser. I put some shorter cruiser style mirrors on mine which helps cut down on above 60+ vibrations. All and all you can ride the heck out of this bike and don't be afraid to punch it out over 70 miles per hour. I have already taken it on some 6-8 hour cruises with no problems. This bike runs better after you ride the hell out of it for a few months.
- Chef D, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-06 2001 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 vstar 650 custom in June of 2001. Realy love the bike, beautiful styling for a 650, i only have 2 complaint's for this bike 1)front brake sqeeling 2)gear ratio too close.if it had a better gear ratio i wouldn't be changing for a bigger bike this coming fall. best bike i ever owned so far.
- David, Grande-Digue, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my V Star 650 custom July 12. No real complains at all except if I had more money, I would have bought a V Star 1100. Getting a windshield soon so that I can cruise the interstate. Highly recommended for low budget riders. Gear up and ride safe!
- Gary Leong, Shawnee, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-07 2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 1100 custom in May and have 1900 miles on it to date. I can't find hardly any flaws with this bike, the worst thing I have found is that after 200 miles the seat gets uncomfortable. Other than that it runs well ,corners well,and looks totally great! I liked it so well i bought my wife a 650 custom a month later.
- Landus Dutton, Harrison, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: