Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Motorcycles Reviews (220)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-03-21 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second 1100 V Star Classic. I sold my first one after a year because my wife likes to ride and caught too much air on back. I bought an HD Ultra to solve that issue. I ended up buying another V Star to ride single because I truly love the ride. Especially nice is the low seat and low mass of bike that gives you the comfort of lower to the ground. The low seat at about 27 inches is great for those with short legs compared to the bigger cruisers. Quality for price is outstanding. The retro-like bicycle handle bars are just plain cool and comfortable to ride for shorter runs of 150-200 miles. Longer rides get a bit tiring, especially with the stock seat. You might want to upgrade there with a Mustang seat for comfort. I have a set of Krome double Ds for noise and power, Kurayakan filter for pep and a set of Yamaha passing lights and Iron saddle bags to set it off. I love this bike. PS: The oil change is still a pain with the need to remove exhaust, but once you've done it a couple times it gets easy.
- Ken, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-02 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Whether it's your first bike or you're an experienced rider, you will absolutely love this bike. It's very smooth and sounds great! It gets lots of compliments. The only upgrades I did were the exhaust, air box, risers and saddlebags.
- Yamaha Rider 525, Elk Grove, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-29 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gives me the style, comfort and power I need. The stock exhaust are terrible sounding. I put a set of COBRA pipes on it and it sounds like a true bagger. I've ridden Suzuki, Hyosung, Harley, Honda and United Motors. This bike is better than them all. I love it!
- Mark, Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-15 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Things to pay attention to on this bike - the drive train. 10% or so of the V Stars have midshaft failure or final drive issues (in the hub) around the 30k mile mark. No lie, I have had the bike for four years, I was mile one on it. It served well with very little mechanical issues. The biggest problem is right now I am living the final drive failure at 36,968 miles. Highway performance is great. Keep it at 65 and you can get almost 230 miles to a tank. Get over 75 and you'll lose a lot of miles per gallon, but you will still have power. Citywise, there are no issues other than the mirror height is the same as most cars on the highway so be careful splitting traffic.
- Ug, Oceanside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-22 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just rode my aging 1100 V Star from New Brunswick to Ohio then down to West Virginia, Virginia and the Blue Ridge Mountain Parkway back home. WOW what a fantastic ride! The Star did not miss a single beat and was loaded up to the hilt with gear. Ideal cruising speed is 100 KMPH. where you get about 55 MPG. imperial. The bike would sit on 150 KMPH. all day if asked to but the problem is that you get a little vibration over 110 KMPH. I was sitting all day on the Interstates at 120 KMPH. - the engine works a bit harder at that speed but can absolutely without doubt handle it - and I mean for 12 hours non-stop except for food and gas. Vibration at that speed is a little tiresome for the rider though as stated - but that is the only negative. Ironically it seems to smooth out again over about 130 KMPH. but then who wants to chat to the State Troopers about it? All in all these are great bikes (only known fault is the starter motors fail until replaced with a kit which has some improvement). I highly recommend if you want a cheap very reliable bike you can go anywhere on!
- Mark, Fredericton , New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-12 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great! Power and handling is well balanced. The stock seat needs improvement and the bike needs a sixth gear or overdrive at 70 mph. Other than that, the bike is perfect!
- Buzzie, walworth, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-19 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Visually beautiful bike. Mechanically perfect, so far (3000 miles). Riding by myself, the bike handles and performs impeccably. Riding two up is ok, but highway performance is lacking. My wife and I are a 350 lb package and anything over 60 mph seems to be a struggle for the drivetrain. The seats are good for about 45 minutes drivetime, without a break. Other than the highway, limited top end, the bike has been wonderful. Not to mention the bargain basement price.
- ccjj100, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-18 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought bike used 2 weeks ago. First day out, ran over a nail...my fault. The next day, battery dead. Dealer replaced and since then, this is by far the best bike I have ever owned. I've been riding 20 plus years and owned all different bikes. This bike rides better and handles better than any. Great mileage too!!! I would tell anyone who is looking for a reliable fun ride to buy one of these.
- Jeff Lathrop, Plattsburgh, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-11 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in Aug of 2009 with 3500 miles on it, it was a one owner. The last time we rode was the last week of october 2009. 2500 miles on the bike and I love it! The only complaints I have is the seat sucks after about an hour or so and the oil filter changing headache is a poor design. I will be going to an oil filter relocation kit soon. We rode 650 miles on a trip with 5 bikes last fall and we did 75 mph+ almost the whole way, never a hiccup or an issue. I am averaging about 45-48mpg (215miles/4.5 gallon tank, 47.77mpg),at those speeds with 2 riders and gear. The best mpg I have had so far is 56.45mpg, 175 miles-3.1 gallons. I have Cobra pipes, Kuryakin hypercharger and the dealership said a jet kit. The mechanic at the dealership said he has dyno'd a bike like mine and it had almost 80hp. Not sure how close mine is but it is A LOT faster than stock!! You won't regret it if you add these items. With the mods this bike hauls pretty good and people notice you because they hear you. I have 3 friends with V Star 650's and they like theirs too. I would recommend this bike to anybody. My bike has been mistaken for a Harley Fat Boy. :):)
- Greg, Plymouth, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-09 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2007 VStar 1100, this bike has all I can ask for. I get looks and great reviews every where I go in town or out on the road.
- Luis M, Greeley, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-25 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike at age 36, fell in love instantly and don't regret it at all. While I do drive it back and forth to work quite a bit, the majority of the miles have been put on it with my wife on the back. She loves the bike almost as much as I do. The only complaint is the stock seat. If you intend to do any serious long distance riding, invest in a Mustang Seat, it will complete a work of art!
- Chris Binion, Copperas Cove, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-05 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning two other bikes that broke down all the time, I decided to pay half the price and go with the V Star 1100 Classic. It is the best choice in motorcycles I have ever made. The shaft drive is smooth, the balanced V-twin is smooth, I put Cobra exhaust on it, jetted it, and it sounds and runs perfectly. I added some chrome detailing on handle grips, fenders, running lights, windshield, etc. I love this bike and I would keep it over any other brand any day.
- Todd, Yuba City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-12 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my V Star for 3 weeks. It had 348 miles on it! I got an unbelievable deal on it. It was on the showroom floor for 1 day. I lost my dear sweet honey to cancer 8 weeks ago and truly believe it was her that guided me to the shop that day. I could not be happier with the ride and performance of the V Star. I have just got to 1000 miles so it is just broken in. I have not had any valve tic as of yet. It is the best deal for the money and ride that I found. If you are looking for a bike you have to try a V Star. If you get lucky you might find a new 02 in 08 like me! But I had help from my honey. There was a guy looking at it before me and had gone home to get his wife to look at it and did not make it back in time. I bought it 5 min. before he got back.
- Kevin, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-07 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first time I've been on a bike in almost 35 years. This is one great bike. I looked at a few other bikes this size but none of the STOCK models had what this one does. Number 1 on the list would be the ride and seat. These can't be beat. I wish I had got it earlier last year. From September until December I put on 3000 miles in western NY (snow and all).
- A. Peters, Grand Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-10 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my V-Star 1100 in June of 2006 and really have fallen in love with riding. It's my first bike and I absolutely love it. I really can't wait for summer to get here so I can ride every day. My wife likes to ride behind me and that makes it fun also. Plenty of power and lots of fun.
- Michael, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-28 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up from a 550 and was a little intimidated at first, but it was easier to ride than the 550. I like the fact that both of my feet hit the ground comfortably and it can really get up and go. You get a lot of looks. I'm slowly starting to chrome it out. I just love the bike and you can't beat the price. This one I even got the wife on. I would do it again in a heartbeat!
- James Curthoys, rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-22 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike new in 2001 and still love it. Having short legs, it is still the lowest bike I have sat on and I have tried them all. This is my 12th motorcycle and is by far my favorite. The long wheelbase makes it a dream to handle. It has plenty of power and doesn't lose anything on steep hills. The stock seat is very comfortable even on long trips. For the money, I believe it is truly a bargain and the prices are almost the same now as they were in 2001. You won't be disappointed in this bike.
- Glen Strong, Red Deer

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-18 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my license in Sept 2004. My first bike was a 2000 Classic 650. By the end of 2005 I knew I needed more power. I traded to the 2003 Classic 1100. Wow, what a plus. It handles great. It's very comfy. I have put on 7,000 miles of mostly weekend summer rides (MN resident). Love the style of the 2003. I took my first road trip this year; it was perfect - no problems. Winters are very lonely and I can't wait until spring.
- Barb Donovan, Champlin , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-12 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for a bit and will simply say that it is, for the money, the best cruiser you will find in it's class. Honda has a similar but still heavier version that I feel doesn't compare as far as handling is concerned. If you are looking to commute 'stop-go, stop-go' type traffic as I do, the bike handles incredibly well. If you just want that slow 2 hour ride it's as smooth and easy on your body as I have ridden. The power is there all the time, even when carrying a rider. The bike itself gets a lot of looks and people comment about how nice it is. I have done quite a few addtions to my bike but even as it was off the lot it will get people talking. The seat is the only issue that I could comment about in a negative sense and it would be slight. You need to personalize a seat that will fit you right and this stock with the bike one simply is that - a stock seat. It will never feel perfect like an addition of a Corbin or Mustang made. Overall I am impressed with the cost of maintenance compared to my old Gold Wing and Roadster. Both previous bikes took a small fortune to service and they constantly were having to be worked on. This bike, full service, is about $180.00 every 2000 miles or so and I have not had a repair to do yet.
- Arthur Scarr, Anna, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not rode/owned a bike in 26 years. I looked at many different cruisers and I am very happy with my decision to purchase the VStar 1100. This bike is a pleasure to ride, looks great, and has all the power and acceleration I need. My wife, who was not a motorcycle person loves to go for rides with me, which is great. I hope to spend many hours on my bike and look forward to taking day trips with my wife on the back. I wish I had purchased this bike years ago. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone. Do it, you will be very happy you did.
- JHoff, Glen Mills, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding this bike for about a year now. I commute back and forth to work about 26 miles one way. My last bike was a Harley Sportster that I put 127000 miles on. I've been riding since I was 14 and I'm just past the double nickle now. I ain't slow but I'm careful. The V Star is low and although about 4 hundred pounds heavier than the Sporty, is much easier to handle. It's low ground clearance and floor boards took some getting used to. I still scrape them on hard turns. The Harley lumbered along and the V Star likes to wind-up like all true Japanese rides. The noise is different but you get used to it. I run 80 on the interstate pretty regularly without any problem. I thought the shaft drive would be smoother and quieter than a belt but it is about the same. This bike has very nice looks right off the floor. Lots of chrome. Nice big tank. For looks and price this bike has everybody beat. Technology wise it has some very unique features. The ceramic coated cylinder walls, heated carburetor and adjustable mono shock rear suspension make it quite technologically sound. Only bad part is the oil filter. You have to pull the pipes to change the oil. Needless to say there have been some choice words for that design. don't just sit there go get one and put yourself out in the wind.
- Bill Winkle, Williston, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my V-Star 1100 Classic a week ago and took it on its very first road trip this past weekend. It is now ready for its 600 mile break-in check. I can't begin to tell you how nice of a ride this bike has. The balance is great at any speed I have found. I am a short guy which hinders my ability to touch the ground on most bikes over 800cc, but not on this one! The suspension makes for a very smooth ride for both the driver, and the passenger. The bike runs very well, but does whine a little at higher speeds. During my road trip I averaged about 75 miles per hour and was still getting about 44 miles to the gallon. The stock seat must go as soon as possible because the passenger seat is not comfortable at all. It took my wife a whole 100 miles on the stock seat to come home and order a Mustang. I couldn't be happier with the bike. It is the best bike I have owned, and for the price it can't be beat!!
- Travis, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-08 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since purchase of my 05' VSC1100 on 05' Thanksgiving, I have put 10k miles on it. Engine has performed extremely well. Within these milages, me and my VSC1100 have travelled together through many regions of the western continent. We have been thru I-15 in 95 plus degree hot summer day from LA to Vegas and above 10,000 ft mountain on I-395, Pacific coast Hwy 1 to Seattle from Bay area under heavy pouring rain. It runs well too in Chicago's harsh cold winter windy day. It does take for a while for it to warm up on cold mornings. My VSC1100 always starts right up and performs well. It's been a pleasure to own this bike. If Yamaha could add a 6th gear for better Hwy cruising and fix the location of oil filter, VSC1100 would be a perfect bike to own forever. Ride on, Ride safe!!
- Lee P. Nawiat, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After several months of comparing motorcycles I finally made my purchase. What a deal! I was a little nervous at first due to the size but on my first ride, I fell in love. I had no experience riding except for dirt bikes and what little time spent on the 125 cc bikes during my MSF course. The bike handles like a dream. Very smooth shifting, and you better hang on while accelerating! The first thing I did out on my ride is take it to the nearest empty parking lot to practice all the manuevers taught in my MSF course. I was really surprised how easily it handled, even during the very slow and tight figure eights. There are only a few down falls I have noticed. The seat gets a little uncomfortable after a long ride but for short trips, it's great. The floor boards scrape around turns pretty easy but once you get familiar with the bike, you can judge how far to lean. Also when the motor gets hot, there seems to be an annoying ticking sound comming from somewhere around the top of the motor. This seems to be very common with other rider reviews and doesn't prevent a problem with performance. I'm sure with some after market pipes, you would't even notice it anymore. Overall I am very satisfied with my purchase. My friends are all Harley riders and they are very impressed with the looks and power of the 1100. Best of riding!!
- Brian, Vacaville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-12 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2000 Classic in 2002. Still riding it and liking it. Have added a Mustang seat, Pro-1 risers for the handlebars and a Phat Performance oil filter relocation kit. The bike looks good, rides well, is quite nimble and adequately powerful...although I plan on modifying it to squeeze a few more horsepower out of it. Still probably the best value in a cruiser out there. Just wish it had hydraulic lifters and a touch more low end torque. But I still smile when I look back at the bike.
- William B. Peel, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: