Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Motorcycles Reviews (83)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-04-02 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been shopping around for a Cruiser. I have recently sold my sport bike and am not thinking twice about it since I purchased this V Star 1100 Custom. It rides great, sounds excellent, handles like a dream and has nice chrome. The spoke tires are a bit to be desired but I can settle. I have a Kuryakyn Hypercharger Pro-R, jet kit, and Cobra Lo-Boy exhaust system. It has a great sound and delivers on power on the highway. It's a must have for the great comfort of the ride, also. It's a great transition bike for those who want to get out of the sportbike phase and into a cruiser. Have fun and happy riding.
- Josh, Gloucester City, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-14 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in December of 2011 from a local dealer with 23,500 miles on it. I have right at 27K on it now and could not be happier with my choice. I love it overall, but that seat gets uncomfortable on long rides after several hours.
- Robert Wagner, Sand Springs, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-23 2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a leftover 2009 custom 1100, in March 2010, and rode it all season with a 700 mile road trip to Pittsburgh with some friends. The bike did extremely well. I am so glad I bought this bike. Also, this is the first bike I ever owned. After riding 3 Yamaha scooters, I would never buy another brand.
- Matt Snyder, Allentown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-12 2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Second bike after learning last year. Bought in May. Was looking for bigger bike but this 1100 Silverodo fits my short stature perfect. Even with my girl friend and luggage way more power than I will ever need. Bike rides and handles with ease. It's just a really awesome bike.
- Tom, Everson, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-31 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose the '06 V-Star, 1100cc for my first bike. I just bought it last week and it is awesome! Great from a stop, handles very well. I know I will enjoy years of riding on this bike!!! I have looked at many bikes in the past month and this was my ultimate choice.
- Steven Koldys, Springfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-23 2008 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did my research looking for the perfect bike. It's my first bike and hopefully a good enough machine to be my last bike. I must say that I am completely satisfied so far. It has a smooth ride, great handling and great looks. I haven't had to do anything to it mechanically in 4400 miles, as I purchased the maintenance package. I get great service with no problems or complaints. The bike starts every time; just gas her up and go! I have to be honest; the only downfall to the factory bike is the exhaust - it's too quiet in my opinion. LOUD PIPES SAVE LIVES! That is going to be the first upgrade. I had a couple of friends who rides other bikes make fun of me until they rode it. They shut right up! The only thing they said it needed was real pipes.
- New Rider, hershey, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-21 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is very well constructed and very comfortable. I'm proud to own this machine. I have added many extras to this bike. It is very simple to find parts and accessories. I would recommend this bike to everyone.
- ryan werner, madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-28 2008 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my brand spankin' new V-Star 1100 Custom right after it was prepped. It had a single mile on the odometer from the factory. From the first time I let the clutch out and took off from the dealership, I knew I had made a good choice. Within a mile from the dealership, I was smilin' like crazy! Now with over 2,000 miles on her (in only 3 1/2 months) I am thrilled with my choice! She handles like a dream and rides better than all the other motorcycles I have had in the past. No problems at all and the service from the dealer is excellent!
- Lee Hogman, Mascoutah, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-13 2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride years ago. Recently, the circumstances in my life finally came together to get back into riding. I had tried several different bikes in my search when my boss suggested I look at the V-Stars. In short, I came, I saw, I bought! As soon as I climbed aboard, I was hooked. The sales staff at the dealership was great and I was on my way home in no time. Before I got two miles from the dealership, I was grinning like a kid and knew that I made the right choice. Now just 2,500 miles down the road, I've gotten used to her and she is FINE! I am looking forward to many more miles on my Star. I am glad my ladies get along too, as the woman in my life understands that she has a spot on my bike until she gets a Star of her own (GRIN)!
- Lee H., Mascoutah, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-19 2008 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a wonderful, smooth bike, this is it! They look great and ride perfectly. My previous bike was a 1981 Yamaha 1100 Special. I couldn't put my feet down well at stops but loved the ride and power. The new 1100 Custom lets my feet rest flat on the ground. And it has great handling and power. I've been riding for over 20 years and have ridden most bikes available and would not trade anyone even just up the road. The only downside as always is keeping the wheel spokes clean from road debris. Also, the 1100 still comes with the shaft drive; that I won't do without ever.
- owner, harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-25 2008 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in July of '08. I was very impressed with the low center of gravity of this bike and the fact that it handled extremely well at low and high speeds. The quality of construction is great. I love the fact that they used large amounts of chrome all over the bike. In the past I have owned mostly Hondas, but when it came time to buy a new bike this time, the V Star 1100 Custom was a no-brainer choice for me. I have added Yamaha studded leather saddle bags and a Yamaha windshield as well as a sissy bar and crash bars. My only concern with the aftermarket Yamaha products are the fasteners. After three weeks on the bike the chrome bolts on the crash bars and the sissy bar started to rust. I removed them and swapped them with high grade stainless fasteners. All in all I love this bike and look forward to many miles of riding.
- chris walter, oak harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-01 2008 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The V-Star 1100 Custom is my second bike. I had been riding a VERY old Honda 750. The V-Star is much more comfortable, powerful and reliable. The quality of the bike is apparent upon first view, and becomes more obvious as you get used to riding it. I'm not very tall (short, really), and have no problem sitting with both feet flat on the ground. The bike cruises well at highway speeds, and is still very maneuverable at low speeds, in tight areas. My only suggestions for improvement would be to add a 6th gear for highway riding, and to relocate the oil filter so that oil changes would be easier for the owner to perform.
- Ward, Trenton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike and a lot of fun. I have taken it on several long rides and it performs great and is a comfortable ride. It also has the power for the freeway.
- david kerr, caldwell, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2007 Vstar 1100 Custom after being out of the bike world for 5 or so years. I had some very specific requirements, namely comfort, handling, decent usable power, and heavy duty enough to take a nice trip on yet still light and nimble enough for daily commute. The Vstar delivered on all counts.. sure, there are bikes out there with much more of any of the above, but on average this had everything. I have put a backrest and bags on it, and a windshield will be next. After that, probably some slipons and a big air kit. My only complaint is that this bike really could use a 6th gear. The shift points are so low that you are in 5th gear by the time you get to 50 mph, then it just seems like you are wringing its poor little neck and it's begging for an upshift. Maybe the performance mods will help that. Besides that, this has been the perfect bike for getting back into motorcycling in a dangerous environment (Dallas) without the temptation to get myself in trouble with it :-)
- Adam Y, Wylie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-11 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My V-Star 1100 is still humming smoothly, easily, and comfortably 4 years after its purchase. Although I still don't have enough time to ride as much as I'd like to...foliage touring (leaf peeping) has never been better! Great bike, great product(YAMAHA)and great dealer support. It doesn't get much better than this! Ride safely AND ride something YOU enjoy!
- John, Hudson, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-27 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike. Get lots of compliments. No dipstick? What? It isn't too fem to include a stick. Ever tried to change the oil yourself? Had to put a relocation kit on. I've replaced my headlight twice because it warps...go figure. I still like it. Makes me smile when I ride.
- Glenda, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really enjoy riding this bike. It has very respectable low torque and shifts smoothly thru all gears at low RPMs. Easy to control with good road manners which seems to like being thrown into tight corners, I have never felt out of control... (which I have on other bikes). Only complaints are vibration at midrange and above RPM and poor passenger seat...
- Steve Blaylock, Orrington, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for about 7 1/2 months and I gotta tell you, there is nothing better than firing this beast up, and feeling the wind in your face. It is my first bike, and this was the perfect choice.
- Doug Andrus, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 06 red flame model and have gotten many compliments on the paint and have even sold a few for yamaha after letting some people ride it. For a smaller bike, it handles well and has very good power. I am thinking of installing a set of handle bar risers or drag bars to get the controls back another inch or two and I could also use a little more leg room. The seat is a little hard for long rides but over all I am very happy with this bike.
- Nathan, Ogema, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-07 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I did it, I broke down and purchased a left over 2005 Midnight Custom, V-Star 1100. I don't know if this is the rating that the bike should get, for I am new to the "cruiser" catagory. I traded a 2002 Kawasaki ZX6R, Ninja for the V-Star. So far I have put 200 miles on the bike and the more I ride it the better it feels. I do however have a question about a metalic ticking noise that is quite loud when the bike gets hot. I asked the dealer about it and he claims that it is natural for this model.
- chaser, Penfield, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-06 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in september 2005 right after it hit the showroom floor. Everytime I stop at a light or pull into a parking space I get a compliment about the bike. I dont have the midnight version I have the candy red with silver flmes. The bike is very reliable and it doesn't lack at all in the power side either. If I had to go back and by a bike agian this would be the bike. All Show All Go the complete package!
- Ryan Britt, Huntingtown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-29 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this new bike for 6 weeks and I tell you, it is the best bike I have ever owned. With over 4500.00 in accessories including Corbin Seat, Air Kit, Fog Lights, Front and Back Steps, Mini Windshield, and Burb Pipes, I can say it's a great looking and performing machine. I highly recommend if you have the means, to pick one up for yourself! A class A machine. It is time to ride, baby!
- William Skipper, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-24 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very happy with this bike. It rides like a dream, easy to manuver and smooth. Oh and it looks great too. I get a lot of compliments. Great choice.
- JD, Redford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-07 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned this motorcycle now for three weeks and by far, I have lot of great compliments. My Dad used to own a Yamaha and I rode for five years whenever I can. that's where I learned how to ride a motorcycle. I was looking at different brands before I bought the 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Midnight Custom. I like everything on this bike. And it's MINE!!
- Norlan Victa, Spring Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-12 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was difficult to find a new bike for someone as vertically challanged as myself, as well as getting a bike that isn't heavy OR doesn't have power enough for highway riding and cruising. The VStar 1100 Custom was my choice. I chose the Midnight version of this bike. In its stock state, the bike was a great looker. But I've added a few personal touches and now it's everything I've ever wanted in a motorcycle.
- Rosie DeLorey, Maynard, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: