Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Motorcycles Reviews (109)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-07-25 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has been reliable since June, 2011. My upgrades are grips, passenger floorboards and a top rack.
- Jeff Stephens, Kitchener, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-04 2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This my first brand new bike, and I love it! It has the perfect engine size for me, providing plenty of power and low end torque for cruising. I do keep looking for a higher gear when on the highway. But overall, this bike handles very smoothly, and has great balance, especially in low-speed manuevers. The build quality is definitely good, with plenty of chrome standard. Of course it is a neverending process to add more chrome -- it is hard to have too much. But really, it is the ride comfort, balance and feel, as well as looks that really make me love this bike. I definitely gets lots of looks and great comments on this bike.
- CByrd, Elizabethtown, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-22 2002 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike second hand last year with 50,000 km. on it. It had not been well looked after although it looked great. The worst thing was that the starter motor failed (a very, very common fault that needs to be fixed for your own peace of mind, if you own one that has not had "the kit" retro fitted!) and had to be replaced. Apart from that it has been 100% reliable. My only complaint is the fuel consumption can be high at high speeds. However if you stick to 65 mph. (110 kph.) it is reasonable although still not great (about US 40 mpg. at best and US 30 mpg. at worst - average of 35 mpg. US is about right). Anyway, I've owned three Harleys in the past - an 883 and 1200 Sporty and an Electra Glide. I honestly think the V Star is better once you get over the Harley image thing (although Harleys do sound better in my opinion and look better.....but they just don't have the relaibility). To me, the V Star is what a Harley ought to have been in terms of reliability.
- Mark , Fredericton , New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-27 2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I could not ask for a better bike so far. It is extremely comfortable, smooth and well balanced. It also has plenty of power to carry a passenger. It takes curves better than any bike I have ever ridden. Another big plus is the price tag. I highly recommend this motorcycle to anyone.
- Johnathan, New Hope, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-27 2009 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is great and I would definitely tell anyone to get one since this is gonna be the last year. This is actually the first bike ever that I bought brand new. Need to buy mustang seat though since after about 1 hour your rear end would feel it and definitely some after market pipe since the bike is so quite. Overall great bike and I hope it stops raining so I can start riding again.
- Toba, Murray, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-26 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only problem is the seat. It can get uncomfortable after some long hours (about 3-4 straight) of riding. Suggestion for improvement would be an added 6th gear, however, the bike does not necessarily need one, it has the power to use it and would make high speed cruising more efficient. Other suggestion would be the oil filter placement, just a bugger to get to during oil changes (manual recommends filter change every other 3K miles). For performance, there are no complaints. This bike has all that is needed and at a great price. Enough stature and maneuverability for tight spaces and city rides, plenty of power for highway. Sometimes the bike will seem angry at you around 70-75 mph, but it will smooth out after 75. With upgrades, the bike sounds great, runs better. I can squeeze out 54 mpg (staying under 70 on highway). 750 mies per week, 4 total maintenance (600, 2000, 6000, 18000) the rest was oil changes done my me. Maintenance, easier than some. As mentioned the oil filter is behind the front exhaust pipe on the side of the bike. The pipe needs to be removed to get to it. The first time took me about 2 hours to finish. Now I have I down to about 45 minutes. Not because it is hard, but because it takes time. The only times I have taken it to the shop have been to get the valve clearance checked/adjusted and to replace a carburetor bowl gasket (for 2007 v star owners, ethanol fuel will eat the gaskets over time. run all the fuel out of the carbs before putting away and use stabil marine formula - blue stuff, not red - or use sea foam brands ethanol fuel treatment. this will keep the fuel from drying through the gaskets and giving you a fuel leak.) Other than those points, every 6K miles oil and filter change, every 1500 is a drain and fill of oil. (yes Rotella T 15W40 will work in the bike - save you some money too). 21000 miles in less than 3 years. Show me a different bike that can do that, and I'll show you another well built machine.
- UG, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-22 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Yamaha. I previously owned an 82 650 Maxim. I found this one in a line of new bikes and I thought it WAS new. It was in great shape and 3 years later it's still starts first time everytime (with choke on at 1/2 way point) and has never disappointed me. 6th gear would be great but not many, if any had a 6 speed tranny in 03. My only complaint is changing the oil filter. If you wrench your own, plan on at least 45 minutes start to finish. The filter change requires removal of the front exhaust.
- Eric Groothand, Aiken, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-21 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just clicked 5000 miles last week. Best things about it? Comfortable and stable, stingy on gas (45-50 mpg), loads of aftermarket parts available. Things not so great? OEM saddle WAAAAY too wide, brakes kinda spongy,(accessory luggage rack) a joke...10 lb limit? Come on, now...and rear wheel air valve needs a contortionist to reach/fill/check. Would like to see passing lamps installed as standard because the headlight's not too good at night in the country. Otherwise, it's the best bargain around.
- Geoff Powers, Shaker Heights, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2008 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very solid ride. Enough power for Interstate. Gear ratio takes getting used to over 60 MPH. Sounds like it needs a 6th gear. Runs fine with power to spare though. This bike handles very well for a 1100. Looks like a much larger bike. Only cons are the oil filter location and you will probably need to change the stock seat. After about an hour your rear will let you know it. Overall this is a good all around bike for weekend trips or just around town.
- Martin, Auburn, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-27 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes all my life and only twice have I received more from a bike than I expected. They were my 88 Virago and my 2006 1100 Silverado. It is just a fun, predictable ride. I downsized to this from my previous luxury tourer. It is sweet, and the little woman likes riding on this better.
- Jim, Loudon , New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-05 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike. My first was a Suzuki Savage 650 and my second was a Honda Shadow A.C.E. 750. But, by far, this one is the greatest! I absolutely LOVE this bike! I ride it back and forth to work (27 miles, one way) every chance the weather permits. Comfortable, reliable, plenty of power when I need it and it looks awesome! Some people dream of other brands... I'll stick with my V-Star... at least I know I won't be stuck on the side of the road!
- David King, Pearl, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-29 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 2550 miles on my 1100 Silverado. This is the best choice that I made for a bike. It handles great and has plenty of power for two riders. I think the seat is just fine for riding about 2 hours. I get 50 miles per gallon and a lot of compliments on the looks. The saddlebags have come in very handy many times. They are very well made and the plastic liners keep them in shape. I am looking forward to many rides with this bike. I recommend this bike to anyone. If you're looking for looks, good mileage, easy handling and a fun to ride bike, this is the one.
- CASEY HUNT, HUBER HEIGHTS, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-10 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike used last October with only 50 miles on it. I've put about 1600 miles on since then. I love the looks and power. This bike is a great midsize that handles more like a smaller bike. It is low to the ground and has a low center of gravity. It makes this a good fit for me. The fit and finish on the V-Star is second to none.
- Ron, Merrillvile, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-07 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding since 1967. Back then, a big bike was 1100cc. Just because 40 years have passed, doesn't make an 1100 any smaller! This bike came equipped with everything I was looking for in a motorcycle - floorboards, toe-heel shifter, windshield, saddlebags, the 'right' feel, and tubeless tires for safety. I rode it on a 1,200 mile round trip in three days. The bike handled well and performed better than I had expected on the interstate. It has plenty of power for passing and quick acceleration. The only thing I had to adjust to fit me was the mirrors! At 12,500 miles I replaced the tires and brakes. That is it, no breakdowns. A lot of people have complained about the seat on these bikes, but I still have the original seat on mine. I am not a fan of driveshaft bikes and this bike is no exception, but so far it has been tolerable. I do not like to carry a passenger on this bike without having to have them sit more forward then the backrest suggests. Even so for me, in a turn I need to shift my weight forward. Changing the oil was not the nightmare some people have made it out to be; it is a good time to clean behind the pipes anyway. Unlike maintaining the old bikes, adjusting the valves was left to the Yamaha mechanic as well as balancing the carbs. The 1100 Silverado will make a great first bike as well as your 20th bike. It has a sporty engine and a solid feel.
- Martin Cvitkovich, Beavercreek, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-11 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded up from a Kawasaki Vulcan for the 1100 Silverado. The first thing I noticed is that this bike has much greater balance. The ride is very smooth with plenty of power. When I first purchased it, I remembered reading some reviews about the horrific location of the oil filter for DIY oil changes. It might take me 1 1/2 hours to do this, but it's not difficult at all. Besides this engineering blunder, this is a first class bike. I added some nice upgrades to make it one-of-a-kind!
- William Joel, West Wyoming, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-21 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had ridden a Honda Super 90 nearly 40 years ago, and decided that it was time to get back on a motorcycle. I am very respectful (maybe even fearful?) of the power that this bike has; however, it is so perfectly balanced and so responsive and maneuverable that it is easy to drive. I can manage very well in city traffic and on country roads without opening the throttle very much at all. I'm averaging about 30 mpg during break-in, and expect that figure to go up after the 600 mile service is performed. I am very glad I chose the V Star Silverado 1100.
- Geoff Powers, Shaker Heights, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was going to buy a Vulcan 900 LT, but the dealership couldn't locate one. After riding this bike, I was glad that I didn't buy the Kaw. Very easy to ride and lots of extras available. Looks and sounds great. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good performing bike and don't want to pay an arm and a leg. You will love this cruiser.
- Mark McIntyre, Pataskala, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchasing my V Star Silverado, has been the best investment I have made. This bike has brought so much fun to my life. The bike rides smooth and is the best bike I have ever ridden.
- G. Quintana, Ro Rancho, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike rides as nice as it looks. Easy to handle, good balance, comfortable, and power when you need it. I know that I don't have a lot of miles on it yet, but the miles that I have ridden so far have been a pleasure and I look forward to all the miles ahead.
- Tony Tripolone, Mohawk, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I OWN A 2004 SILVERADO SILVER/GRAY AND I HAVE TO SAY THIS IS THE NICEST I HAVE EVER RODE OR EVEN SEEN. I HAVE BEEN RIDING BIKES SINCE I WAS SEVEN (I AM NOW FORTY ONE). THE DAY MY DIVORCE WAS FINAL I WENT TO THE LOCAL HARLEY DEALER TO PICK OUT A BIKE. I WANTED STOCK SADDLE BAGS, WINDSHIELD, FLOORBOARDS, ETC. BY THE TIME I WAS DONE LOADING UP THE BIKE I WAS WELL OVER $20,000. I TOLD THEM I HAD TO THINK ABOUT IT AND HEADED DOWN TO MY LOCAL YAMAHA DEALER. WHEN I GOT THERE MY BIKE WAS SITTING ON THE SHOWROOM FLOOR NOT EVEN FULLY ASSEMBLED YET. THEY HAD NOT INSTALLED THE WINDSHIELD. IT WAS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT. IT WAS WAY SHARPER THAN THE FAT BOY I WAS JUST LOOKING AT AND IT WAS ABOUT HALF THE PRICE ALREADY LOADED WITH ACCESSORIES. THE ONLY THING I WISH YAMAHA WOULD CHANGE IS PUTTING A SIXTH GEAR OR OVERDRIVE ON THE BIKE. IT WINDS KIND OF HIGH ON THE EXPRESSWAY. NOT REAL BAD BUT TO ME EVERYTHING ELSE IS JUST PERFECT. I AM SHORT AND THIS BIKE SITS VERY LOW TO THE GROUND STOCK WHICH GIVES IT A VERY LOW CENTER OF GRAVITY. I WOULDN'T SAY THIS IS A GOOD FIRST TIME BIKE BUT MAYBE A SECOND. IT TAKES A LITTLE GETTING USED TO THE HEAL TOE SHIFTER. IT IS ALSO PERFECT FOR WOMEN THAT ARE SHORTER. BE PREPARED TO SPEND A LOT OF MONEY ON EXTRA CHROME PARTS THAT ARE AVAILABLE FOR ALMOST EVERYTHING. I WENT AS FAR AS I COULD ON YAMAHA ACCESSORIES AND THEN STARTED SURFING THE INTERNET FOR MORE. THIS BIKE GETS A LOT OF LOOKS AND I NEVER REGRETTED MY DECISION ON BUYING IT.
- JOE PHILLIPS, CLARKSTON, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-07 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike almost 2 years ago after getting rid of my starter bike ('86 Honda 700). I love this bike, low center of gravity, good speed, a larger bike (like a HD FatBoy), with all the add-on's she turns many heads. I would like to upgrade to a Road Star soon.
- John LeDoux, Bristow, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-05 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2007 after not riding for 25 years. This is one hell of a bike, easy to control in town and all the power you want on the freeway.
- Ed, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-05 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 99 1400 Intruder for my 07 1100 Silverado and just love this bike. This machine is so nice to ride and look at. I would suggest this bike to anyone looking for a new machine.
- dennis paterson, blaine, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've managed to put a little over 400 miles on this bike in the month that I've owned it and I'm literally head over heels about it. I've ridden bikes since I was 8 yrs. old but had been out of the scene for about 24 yrs. when I bought the V Star 1100. I have to say I was a little intimidated by the bike at first but within an hour in the saddle I was grinning from ear to ear. This is a bike your Grandmother could put through its paces. It handles like a dream, all the weight is low and centered and cornering is a breeze. It has the big V-Twin Pulse but is smooth and stable over the road. Quality is excellent with fit and finish second to none. It starts easily with just a tap on the starter button even on the coldest days and averages about 50 miles to the gallon (with windshield, bags, lightbars, etc.), and has plenty of power even when two up with the wife. She says the passenger pad is very comfortable and loves the backrest position. I would not hesitate to recommend this bike to anyone looking for a cruiser/touring mount, even to a newbie.
- Robert Price, Springfield, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-18 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased new 2007 in early November. The bike is smooth and comfortable. It gets great mileage, looks great and has plenty of power. But, as a first time rider, once I became adapt at the riding and handling of this bike, I started to think about why I did not buy the 1300. I really LOVE this bike, but I WISH I bought the bigger bike...probably will upgrade in 2 years to the 1300 or larger..
- dcurtis, s.windsor, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: