Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Motorcycles Reviews (45)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-06-26 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I stepped up from an '06 Shadow Spirit and this bike truly lives up to the hype. V Star consistently beats out HD year after year in quality and price. This bike is the perfect example. I didn't want a ride that would shake me like a rag doll (HD) nor did I want a weekender (BMW/Goldwing) that costs as much as a luxury cage. I simply wanted a bike that performed nicely, sipped fuel and handled well. This purchase was the best money I ever spent. Unlike HD owners, I don't have buyer's remorse and my wife liked it so much that she went out and bought herself a '10 Star 950 Tourer. Oh, and I didn't have to pay $5k extra for a tank badge...if you know what I mean.
- Matt J, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-01 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 100k on a Suzuki Intruder 1500LC and then got this bike and love it. It has plenty of power and is a very smooth, balanced ride. And yes, this bike excels on the freeway. The only drawback is the stock seat and the low, awkward handle bars. the seat feels like I'm sitting on my tail bone. If I did not see other comments about the seat I would think it was because I'm a tall guy, but many others are having the same issue. I will be replacing the seat A$AP. I love the sound of the Cobra pipes.
- SoCalWyatt, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-18 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchaced a new 2009 1300T and it's exceeded all my expectations. There is plenty of power for the mountains and looks that would stop a crazed deer. Tight U-turns are difficult and I have to stretch a little more than I like for the handlebars. That can be corrected. Overall, she is a looker with features that make her best in class for the dollar.
- Dan.L, Blairsville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-31 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth bike, and finally I have found what I need. It has enough power to keep up with the hubby and a comfortable bike for someone my height. I did a 6-hour ride the first weekend I had it, and no back or butt pain. Still, I added a Mustang seat and the Royal Star Tour Deluxe handlebars to bring me into the perfect riding position. I didn't even think that was possible!! Now, I have to convince myself it is time to go home.
- Jacqui, Newark, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-18 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 2009 V 1300, left over, (0) miles. After about 100 miles thus far, I give the Star high marks on finish, fit and power. It has tons of power!! It is very impressive. I had the handle bars raised a little and still find that they should be just a little closer to the rider for maximum comfort. Turning, handling is very precise. I had a mustang seat and VH pipes installed. VH pipes growl very nicely. I am looking forward to a long relationship with this star!,, nice work Yamaha. I had owned a Honda Shadow 1100 for eight years, this star blows that out of the water.
- Shoes, Montrose, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-27 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding bikes for six years. I must say it is my greatest pasttime. The V Star rides so comfortable and smooth. This machine rocks! I haven't had any problems with this bike. Yamaha I salute you over the price, and all the goodies on this bike. V Star gets between 45 and 52 miles to the gallon with plenty of power right out of the box. I wouldn't change a thing on this V Star.
- Dave, Detroit Lakes, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-17 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is far and away the best mid size cruiser for the money. I still haven't figured out how they can call it mid size. It looks and runs like a heavy-weight. I get thumbs-up on the looks by the cagers all the time. It handles like a dream, even at lower, parking lot speeds. I would definitely ditch the stock Dunlops for Metzeler Marathons (much better ride and tread life). I bought this bike new in March, 2008 (last one in Houston) and have put about 15,000 trouble-free miles on it, to date. The stock seat was the first thing to go, after about an hour in the saddle, kinda got the numb bum ya know? I got a Mustang 3 piece with rider back rest and Voila! no more numb bum! V&H 2 into 1 Cobra FI2000 K&N Air filter Cobra Fatty Hiway Bars Kuryakyn pegs Star passenger floorboards and Star luggage rack round out the accessories (so far!) Fuel economy on road trips is knockin on 51 mpg. around town it's about 44 mpg. I'm not kidding quit thinking about it and head down to the dealership with your checkbook you will not be disappointed!
- sur5er03, Hockley, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-15 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this motorcycle for approximately six months. This V-Star 1300 runs great. It has as much power as I need and hauls my wife and myself with no issues. It's very comfortable to ride. The gas mileage is almost the same as my V-Star 650. It has more than enough power.
- David Mercer, Bryant, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-02 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything I have been wanting in a motorcycle! It came with a shield, bags, and a passenger backrest -- my wife loves riding on the back of it - and because it's so well balanced, I can hardly tell she's there! The only issue I've had is that the handlebars are a little too far forward for my comfort, so... I ordered some Royal Star touring handlebars to give me an additional 3" of pullback, and bam -- much better. All in all - I can't complain, and I get a ton of compliments on how sharp the bike looks. Would DEFINITELY recommend this bike to anyone!!!!
- Firetom, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-25 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 58 years young, have been riding since I was 16 and have had many bikes. For a cruiser I don`t think you can beat this one. I was looking at the 950 and even though I don`t plan on doing long distance rides, I was afraid if I did, the 950 would not be enough with my wife and the bags loaded. This was a leftover '09 so the price I could not turn down. This bike is well balanced and does not seem as heavy as it is. In 1996 I had a Goldwing and did not want a bike that big again. Just changed the oil and filter at 600 miles and it could not be any easier. The drain plug and oil filter are easy to get to. This one is a keeper. I`ll give an update a few more miles down the road. Keep the chrome side up y`all.
- Mike, Tyler, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-01 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had not ridden in 30+ years. Couldn't sleep knowing I had to get back into riding. Wanted a cruiser, looked at them all and selected the v star 1300 Tourer. Took it easy and learned to ride again. I love this bike. Have owned Kaw., Honda, Harley, Moto Guzzi. I believe I made a very good decision to buy this V Star and would do it again.
- Jim Heberlein, Annandale, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-12 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike and can only say good things about this dealer. I've been riding since 1967 and have owned a lot of bikes over the years. This one tops them all. Being a short guy, this bike is ideal for me. Handles great on the highway as well as around town riding either two up or single. It's a keeper.
- Hubert Letendre, Lowell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-09 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To date I have logged nearly 20,000 in about 10 months of riding. I have ridden The Dragon at Deals Gap, The Badlands, Sturgis, Yellowstone, Bear Tooth Canyon, Devils Tower, Mount Rushmore, Blue Ridge Parkway, and more and I have never been disappointed. I have ridden in rain, hail, sleet, snow, 80 mph wind gusts, mud, 100 degree days with high humidity, and 25 degree days at 11,000 feet. The bike handled it all with grace and poise. The handling is much lighter feeling than the size would imply and carving out switchbacks riding 2 up is effortless. Braking could be better but it is not bad for a tourer. I love my Star.
- Fastlane, Wilmington, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-04 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just returned from a 3-day/2-up Colorado mountain trip to Black Hawk/Central City, Keystone and Vail. My 1300T continued to perform perfectly, especially through a lot of rain and hail. (Thank goodness for our Nelson-Rigg rainsuits and HJC helmets!) The OEM saddle bags didn't leak at all, and haven't ever leaked through previous downpours. The gas mileage, using 87 octane, was an impressive 54.58 mpgs. This is my fourth motorcycle and by far the best, especially for touring. After the trip, it took several hours to detail the bike. But it was worth it. We're now ready for another venture.
- Tom, Castle Pines North, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-26 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back from a 2100 mile ride to Durango, Silverton Co. and Moab Ut. area. Pulled a trailer, and it did great in the mountains. This is probably the best bike I have owned so far.
- Doug Byarlay, Randolph, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-29 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike!! I love it...just got to make it louder. I ride with Harleys so it has to be loud!! Would not change anything.
- b. holmes, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-25 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 4 months now and I absolutely love this bike. The comfort is unbelievable and it handles smoothly especially for a big bike. Plenty of power to go! I hope to get a lot of miles out of it.
- Jim Hoffmann, Eureka, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-13 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I ride double ALL the time. I've added pipes/Thunder air kit and Cobra FMS (plus LOTS of chrome). It gets over 50 mpg, has power like there is no tomorrow and handles like a dream. I have absolutely NO complaints, other than living in Wisconsin and NOT being able to ride year round! Otherwise the bike would have 50-60,000 miles on it by now! It is an awesome machine!
- Steven Olson, New Richmond, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-23 2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been a great bike from day one! It is very comfortable for me and my wife. I have recently added pipes and a power commander and she is a real beast now! I have not found anything that I do not like about this bike! Great value! Great power and great fuel economy! I have blown the doors off of many stock 96 ci bikes and a few with some add ons!
- Chuck, Flowery Branch , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-20 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a 2005 V-Star 1100 to the 2008 V-Star 1300. I love just about everything about this bike. The only reason I gave it a 4-star on performance is the lack of power acceleration at very low speed. I have to gear down to 1st when making a slow turn, like at a stop light, or else it will clunk. However, once the rpm is up it accelerates very quickly. It cruises with ease at highway speeds and the stock seat is exceptionally comfortable. The cornering and handling are also exceptional. It is averaging between 45-50 mpg riding 2-up! It actually got 54 mpg on one tank riding solo. This bike is a great value for the price and is fun to ride.
- Stan Scott, Pueblo, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-01 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything and more than I could ever have expected. The 1300 V Star has great power and acceleration. It's a very smooth and easy to drive bike. This bike is a very balanced bike. I usually get about 45 mpg but have gotten as much as 56 mpg. I love riding this bike and have over 1,200 miles in less than three weeks of driving. This bike has a great sound from the stock pipes while not too loud while cruising down the highway. The Tourer comes well equipped for the price. I only have one complaint - when cruising between 60 and 80 mph the needle on the speedometer is in the way of the digital display. I suggest getting a Breakaway cruise control for any highway driving more than half an hour as you will love riding this bike so much it will be hard to drive less than a half an hour. Yamaha sure got this one right!
- Robert, Lorton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-23 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1300 Tourer since April and have only put on 3100 miles, but this has been a great bike. This is my wife's and my first bike and it works just great for us. It is extremely smooth and has plenty of power and speed. We have NO regrets with our decision to purchase this V-Star 1300 Tourer.
- M.A.D., Aitkin, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-29 2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is smooth and comfortable at any speed or condition; you'd think you were riding your favorite lazy boy. It is powerful yet quiet, strong at any speed and virtually no top end. This bike is made for the open road and goes where you point it, whether you're riding solo or with your favorite passenger. It has excellent performance and great comfort on either short or long rides. It has great gas mileage (~45MPG), easy to handle and hard to keep at the speed limit. It's a perfect mix of performance, price and style in an easy and fun to ride bike. Get yourself one and find out!
- Splatman, Aurora, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-06 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the bike from the dealer and rode home (over 100 miles) and I knew then I had made the right choice! About 40 miles into the ride it felt like I was floating; the baby is smooth. If you are looking for a bike to do most everything (work commute, weekend cruise, night ride, or long distance haul) this is your bike. It is comfortable on highway with lots of power and very easy to handle in parking lots at slow speeds. don't sleep on this one!
- TMJ, San Angelo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-14 2007 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Even as a big guy I can easily support every good thing that has been said about this bike, including the praise about the power. At no time do I ever want for more power and, while no speed-demon, I'm not a "putterereither. As for comfort, no complaints there. On my one trip so far I rode from fill-up to fill-up with no stopping (I did have some extra luggage on the bike, arranged in such a way that it formed a backrest). This is a really nice bike at a great price and I think it's beautiful. If it weren't for riding it all the time I'd probably pull up a chair, with a good drink, and just stare at it.
- David Gifford, fate, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: