Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

45 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Matt J

Bellevue, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2012-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I stepped up from an '06 Shadow Spirit and this bike truly lives up to the hype. V Star consistently beats out HD year after year in quality and price. This bike is the perfect example. I didn't want a ride that would shake me like a rag doll (HD) nor did I want a weekender (BMW/Goldwing) that costs as much as a luxury cage. I simply wanted a bike that performed nicely, sipped fuel and handled well. This purchase was the best money I ever spent. Unlike HD owners, I don't have buyer's remorse and my wife liked it so much that she went out and bought herself a '10 Star 950 Tourer. Oh, and I didn't have to pay $5k extra for a tank badge...if you know what I mean.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SoCalWyatt

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2011-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I put 100k on a Suzuki Intruder 1500LC and then got this bike and love it. It has plenty of power and is a very smooth, balanced ride. And yes, this bike excels on the freeway. The only drawback is the stock seat and the low, awkward handle bars. the seat feels like I'm sitting on my tail bone. If I did not see other comments about the seat I would think it was because I'm a tall guy, but many others are having the same issue. I will be replacing the seat A$AP. I love the sound of the Cobra pipes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan.L

Blairsville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchaced a new 2009 1300T and it's exceeded all my expectations. There is plenty of power for the mountains and looks that would stop a crazed deer. Tight U-turns are difficult and I have to stretch a little more than I like for the handlebars. That can be corrected. Overall, she is a looker with features that make her best in class for the dollar.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jacqui

Newark, Ohio

Reviewed on 2011-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my fourth bike, and finally I have found what I need. It has enough power to keep up with the hubby and a comfortable bike for someone my height. I did a 6-hour ride the first weekend I had it, and no back or butt pain. Still, I added a Mustang seat and the Royal Star Tour Deluxe handlebars to bring me into the perfect riding position. I didn't even think that was possible!! Now, I have to convince myself it is time to go home.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shoes

Montrose, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2011-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchased a 2009 V 1300, left over, (0) miles. After about 100 miles thus far, I give the Star high marks on finish, fit and power. It has tons of power!! It is very impressive. I had the handle bars raised a little and still find that they should be just a little closer to the rider for maximum comfort. Turning, handling is very precise. I had a mustang seat and VH pipes installed. VH pipes growl very nicely. I am looking forward to a long relationship with this star!,, nice work Yamaha. I had owned a Honda Shadow 1100 for eight years, this star blows that out of the water.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Detroit Lakes, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2011-02-27

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding bikes for six years. I must say it is my greatest pasttime. The V Star rides so comfortable and smooth. This machine rocks! I haven't had any problems with this bike. Yamaha I salute you over the price, and all the goodies on this bike. V Star gets between 45 and 52 miles to the gallon with plenty of power right out of the box. I wouldn't change a thing on this V Star.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sur5er03

Hockley, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-02-17

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is far and away the best mid size cruiser for the money. I still haven't figured out how they can call it mid size. It looks and runs like a heavy-weight. I get thumbs-up on the looks by the cagers all the time. It handles like a dream, even at lower, parking lot speeds. I would definitely ditch the stock Dunlops for Metzeler Marathons (much better ride and tread life). I bought this bike new in March, 2008 (last one in Houston) and have put about 15,000 trouble-free miles on it, to date. The stock seat was the first thing to go, after about an hour in the saddle, kinda got the numb bum ya know? I got a Mustang 3 piece with rider back rest and Voila! no more numb bum! V&H 2 into 1 Cobra FI2000 K&N Air filter Cobra Fatty Hiway Bars Kuryakyn pegs Star passenger floorboards and Star luggage rack round out the accessories (so far!) Fuel economy on road trips is knockin on 51 mpg. around town it's about 44 mpg. I'm not kidding quit thinking about it and head down to the dealership with your checkbook you will not be disappointed!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Mercer

Bryant, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2010-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this motorcycle for approximately six months. This V-Star 1300 runs great. It has as much power as I need and hauls my wife and myself with no issues. It's very comfortable to ride. The gas mileage is almost the same as my V-Star 650. It has more than enough power.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Firetom

Muskegon, Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is everything I have been wanting in a motorcycle! It came with a shield, bags, and a passenger backrest -- my wife loves riding on the back of it - and because it's so well balanced, I can hardly tell she's there! The only issue I've had is that the handlebars are a little too far forward for my comfort, so... I ordered some Royal Star touring handlebars to give me an additional 3" of pullback, and bam -- much better. All in all - I can't complain, and I get a ton of compliments on how sharp the bike looks. Would DEFINITELY recommend this bike to anyone!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Tyler, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 1300 Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 58 years young, have been riding since I was 16 and have had many bikes. For a cruiser I don`t think you can beat this one. I was looking at the 950 and even though I don`t plan on doing long distance rides, I was afraid if I did, the 950 would not be enough with my wife and the bags loaded. This was a leftover '09 so the price I could not turn down. This bike is well balanced and does not seem as heavy as it is. In 1996 I had a Goldwing and did not want a bike that big again. Just changed the oil and filter at 600 miles and it could not be any easier. The drain plug and oil filter are easy to get to. This one is a keeper. I`ll give an update a few more miles down the road. Keep the chrome side up y`all.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 45 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: