Yamaha V Star 250 Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 250 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 250 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-24 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being an experienced rider that took a few years off, I decided to get a small inexpensive bike. I was really surprised how well this bike performs for a 250, plenty of power. I would almost go as far as to say that it rivals the Intruder 800 I used to have. I had it up to 80 mph. with a little more throttle still left. The V twin gives it big cruiser looks and has a little rumble to it as well. It blows the Honda Rebel clear out of the water.
- Iverr6, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-30 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, this is a "kick butt little cruser." I just got a 2009, that was new at the dealer. I went from commuting in my X-Terra which was costing me $15 a day to riding my V-Star at a cost of about $8 per week. I could have bought a bigger bike and I probably will in the future; however, I'm keeping this 250 V-Star until it falls off the wheels. I watched all sorts of U-Tube clips by owners of this bike and there is no shortage of fans all over the net. For my money, $3,695 new from the dealer, the thing looks nice too. I'm hearing all sorts of people saying they ride it 60-75 mph. on the freeway; however, I don't have to get it on the freeway in my daily routine. This bike feels good between 50 to 60 mph to me. I did notice the first week that 50 mph. seemed to feel right on the bike; however after the first 300 miles, it seems to like running between 55 to 60. To be quite honest, I'm not sure I want to take it much over 60 mph. I don't think the stock front tire is made for speeds much beyond that. That is one thing I plan on changing soon. I like the rear stock tire just fine. This bike is great around the suburbs where I live ranging from feeder speeds to posted 55 mph. There's no real problem moving around traffic and it's not a dog at all in traffic at reasonable speeds. I had a windshield put on it and that really improved the bike's stability. Full coverage insurance is only $30 a month where I live. This thing is costing me well under $200 a month to drive and I'm having a blast doing it. A guy with a Yamaha 1300 came up to me and asked if it was a 500? Thanks Yamaha for not putting 250 on the tank or side covers, I won't tell if you don't. I'm short and I get both feet flat on the ground no problem. The stock seat feels great on my fat backside and it's a very comfortable ride for me. A year ago I owned a Honda XL 250 and a 550/4 for a couple of years after that. This Yamaha 250 is not underpowered for what it is. If you want more or expect more, buy a bigger one. I have the urge to do some highway driving in the future and when I do I'll probably buy something bigger on eBay. I really like that new Yamaha Striker. Sadly, my wife says she won't get on a bike so whereever I go, I'm going solo. In my humble opinion, if you buy one of these V-Star 250's to cruise around town on, you won't be disappointed or broke. What don't I like about the bike...? Not much but, whay didn't they put the ignition key start on the handle bars? The great thing about the cost of this bike is that I can do some cosmetic things - luggage rack and sissy bar first. I have a feeling that saddle bags may cost some miles per gallon. I'll probably add some additional lighting and a better horn. Lots of folks change the sprockets for more top end. For my use, the factory sprockets seem to work just fine. This bike sounds great when you start it, however it runs quiet once you get moving. I'm not drilling holes in my pipes, however I will ask the dealer about some drag pipes if it won't kill my warranty. I hope this helps anyone considering this bike.
- MT, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-15 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like to cruise around the city with this bike and I use the bike to travel to work and home. Everything is ok, except when it windy, it kinda pushes the bike and rider around. Overall, I love it..I roll like the big boyz & in style.
- Hung Huynh, Utica, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-14 2008 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for about six months now. I have been riding it 30 miles to work, on the weekends and even with my girlfriend on the back. It has plenty of power with just my 200lbs on it, with my girlfriend and I on it it is fine unless going up a good size hill, then you'll need to down shift. I have been getting well over 80 MPG. It is comfortable although after a half an hour or so my legs get a little cramped and I stick them out to stretch them. The bike handles great, no problems so far and looks amazing! I didn't like the mirrors at first but I have gotten used to them and don't mind them anymore. This bike shifts very smoothly. It seems to be geared very low as it tells you to shift into 5th by 25 mph, I tend to rev out the engine a little more, but hey do ride how you like to. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Dan, swymour, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-27 2009 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I couldn't have asked for anything better. This little gem has taken me from being scared to death to ride in heavy traffic to feeling very confident in just about any traffic situation. If you're looking for the big cruiser image in a smaller package, look no further. With the dual pipes and all the chrome you could ask for on a 250, the stock version of this bike will get noticed. Without comparing this bike to its big brothers, the starts on this little machine are pretty healthy - I haven't had any problems taking off from a stoplight/stop sign/steep hill with a car wanting to go over the top of me. It doesn't quite have the rumble of the larger bikes, but it does have a little bit of a purr. This bike also started beautifully after sitting in the Kansas cold, untouched, for two months. You would have never known it wasn't being used regularly. Overall, if you're looking for a starter bike with enough power to get you around town and big cruiser looks, this is the bike for you.
- Ashley, Overland Park, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-02 2008 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my V-Star 250 in May 2008. As of 01/02/09 I have put over 8,400 miles on the bike. I am completely satisfied with my bike. It rides and handles very well. Gas mileage has averaged around 85 to 90 miles per gallon. The fit and finish is excellent. I would recommend this motorcycle for a beginner, or if you are like me and have not owned a bike for many years, it is a great way, and very inexpensive way to get back to motorcycling.
- Jim Whisenhunt, Independence, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2008 Yamaha V Star 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride motocross when I was a teen. 18ish or so years later I decided to buy a street bike. Everything I looked at in the 250 class seemed plain and, well... blah. I kept coming back to the V-Star (Virago) 250. The lines are nice, the V-Twin looks great and it just felt better while sitting on it. Every sales rep at the dealerships kept telling me to get a 650+. However, I have had 2 full hip replacements and the extra weight of the 650 class is just too much for my hips. I would like to state for the record that a large guy can fit comfortably on this bike. Nowhere was I able to find a review where a large guy such as me (6'2275lbs.) liked or disliked the bike. I am here to say that this bike will haul me around at 55-60 with ease and it's very comfortable for your typical work commute. Three hour hauls on the other hand, you do begin to feel it. I will agree that the bike does not have a lot of power when pulling hills, but you have to remember it is a 250, and it is a starter bike. It does exactly what it was engineered to do. I do have to give it kudos though. I have a hill in my area that has a 4-6% grade. As long as I hit it at 55, with the throttle open, it handles it just fine. No need to downshift. The hill is about 1/4 - 1/2 mile long. Even with my fat... um... self' I'm seeing slightly above 75 MPG. So if you're looking for a great starter bike that's easy to handle, gets great gas mileage, looks good and is still comfortable for a big guy, treat yourself to the V-Star 250.
- Rich D., Brandenburg, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: