Yamaha V Star 950 Motorcycles Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 950 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 950 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-24 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like how this bike handles and looks plus this bike gets great fuel mileage. I am averaging 55 mpg. I replaced the factory seat with a saddleman seat. What a difference.
- Michael Browning, Rock Cave, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-13 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the ride, stance and the feel - smooth, easy ride. It has a fairly large feel, but not intimidating for a rider of my skills. I dragged the floorboards a couple of times, but in all I love it! The anemic factory exhaust will be my first upgrade probably followed by a more comfortable seat.
- Corey, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-26 2012 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike. No problems, only regular maintenance, except for the recall for new fuel lines. I wish there were more aftermarket accessories for it. It's a smooth riding bike, I even still have the original rear tire on it. I am thinking about replacing it.
- martin parrish, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-08 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes since I was 11 years old, and (at 56 now) that means I have spent a lot of time on two wheels. My 950 is the best bike I have ever ridden - by far! It has plenty of power, and the balance is second to none. The throaty sound of the stock pipes as you take to the road is music to my ears. You will not regret buying this bike. It is in a class by itself.
- Dean Herring, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-25 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2009 V Star 950 in April of 2010 and by November 2010 I had 14,000 miles on it (I took it 12,000 miles around America for the summer). The bike really is great, especially for the price. It handles great while being a big solid bike. It also has enough speed where it will do anything I need it to, without ever getting out of control. It has plenty of power for 2-up riding. I have had absolutely no mechanical problems and have only changed the oil myself (very easy to do). I will take it in for the full 16,000 mile service, though. The only problems were with the stock seat and that it vibrates a bit over 75 mph. I put the Mustang seat on it and can now easily ride for 600 miles a day without a break. Kuryakan grips help with the vibrations, which really aren't bad to begin with. I get around 55 mpg. around town and about 47 mpg. on the highway. The bike is a real looker, a very sleek and sporty cruiser. Although people do ask me "What's a Star?" every once in a while, they tend to be people who only know about Harley's. There might be better bikes out there, but you will have to pay a lot more for a small increase in quality and performance.
- G, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-18 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning this bike for 6 months and 5600 miles, there have been no problems with this bike. Even after riding other bikes at demo days, nothing compares with the maneuverability, power and speed of this bike. I just wish the seat was comfortable enough to allow riding until the tank is empty before a need to get off and walk.
- Tony D Tiger, Dawsvonville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-10 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was at the dealer the morning they pulled the Candy Red 950 onto the showroom floor...it was love at first site. It rides good, handles good, has more than enough power and the seat height is good for my short legs. The stock seat is a little uncomfortable so I will probably get a gel seat for it. I can't believe I waited so long to trade in my 650 Custom. My husband and I have been looking at the 950's for a long time so he decided to trade up to the 950 the same week (his is black). We do a lot of long distance traveling so we can't wait to take our first trip.
- Dot, Southaven, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-08 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I fell in love with this bike at the Greater Vancouver motorcyles show and had to have it..I was right. It is so easy to ride and feels great. I don't have many choices at my height so this bike is great. I have to agree with one of the other reviews about the seat. I have installed a Mustang Daytripper and it's a huge difference. Thanks Yamaha!
- Debbie, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-29 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lovin it!!! Low seat height and lots of power. Added Risers to bring the handle bars back and much more comfortable, stock seat kinda hard, added a gel pad and no more hot spots. No regrets great ride!
- Bobbie, Kerrville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-22 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought the 950 V Star the later part of 09. I looked at a lot of cruisers after my sport bike days and found this one to just what the doctor ordered. The low center of gravity makes it a well balanced bike, the style makes it a beautiful bike to look at going down the road. Compared to other bikes I looked at, this gave me my monies worth and more. I can say with all honesty that I'm proud of my 950 V Star and would highly recommend it to any one.
- Rusty Baker, Gumboro, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-16 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an AWESOME bike. Previously I had a reliable 1982 Virago that made me stay with the Yamaha product line. The salesperson said that Yamaha was now marketing their bikes as Star bikes to keep in step with USA made products. I think that the YAMAHA brand name needs to be clearly labeled as it is a well-made product. We Yamaha owners should be proud of our bikes an be able to show the name off to all who admire our machines. The only fault I find with this bike is the noise the engine/exhaust makes as you downshift prior to stopping. I was told that this is normal for the Vstar.
- Andy F., West Bountiful, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-06 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW! What a bike. Bought in December and finally had a chance to ride for first time today. What a thrill. I was worried this would be too much bike for me, but how quickly I was proved wrong. Low seat height, well balanced and excellent handling. I had no issues handling the bike and it leans well (no footboard scraping yet). I gave comfort a 4 Star only because of the whimpy stock seat/pillion. I bought an after market Mustang seat and would recommend highly that you purchase an aftermarket seat. Riding position is excellent and first time I used footboards and they're great. Accelerates to highway speed very quickly. The gear ratios are a tad on the high side, but are easily learned.
- MikeK, Niantic, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-05 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. It has plenty of power and handles in and out of traffic with ease. With my height I probably needed a bigger bike. But I'm not an everyday rider so this was the next best bike for me. I prefer its looks and ride over the 1100. If you're looking for a nicely priced mid size, bike the 950 is your bike.
- Hawkeye, Rowlett, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-22 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle. After 66 years I deserve it and I love it. I ride on the freeways and in the North Georgia mountains. No complaints whatsoever.
- Paul Duetemeyer, Dahlonega, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-21 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a mid size, but man she rides like the heavy weight. Lots of guts when you need power. Very smooth ride, city or hit the high way you know it will do what you want it to do. This bike is worth the money, looks cool and ride like a dream.
- AJ, plainfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-20 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I had recently bought a 650 custom and it just wasn't enough power to drag me around. So, I traded it back in about 3 weeks later for the new 950 and it couldn't have been a better decision. This 950 is comfortable, though after riding for a couple hours I get a little sore and have to take a break. The power is more than enough for me to cruise on the open road. Would definitely recommend this bike to anyone who is an experienced rider or even those who don't have much experience, or none, at all.
- Kevin, Rohnert Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-12 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My husband bought this bike (the touring model) for himself about 3 months ago; after my first ride as a passenger, I decided I needed to learn how to ride myself. The bike is now mine; as my husband bought an 08 Roadliner Midnight 1900 (demo). It was my intention to buy a smaller bike for me but was quickly convinced by both my husband and our sales person that I needed to stick with the 950. Am I ever glad I listened to them. The bike is an awesome ride; very smooth and easy to handle. Once I got used to the bike's take-off power (after a few pointers from our sales person), I've had no problems. I took the riding course last month and this is my first bike. I've only been riding for a little over a month now but I would recommend this bike to anyone who takes the course and learns how to ride before buying a bike. In my opinion, Yamaha offers the most beautiful bikes at a value that gives you more bang for your buck.
- Kay Giammanco, Vacherie, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-09 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the 950 as a replacement for a Shadow 1100. I was concerned about the power difference but I found that the bike did just fine on the highway or in the mountains. I was really impressed with the responsiveness and agility of the bike, it is definitely one of the easiest bikes to handle that I've ridden. I would absolutely recommend it for a begining rider or someone looking for a fun, agile smaller bike but still with plenty of get up and go. While the exhaust is beefier sounding than most stock exhausts I am pretty sure I'll want to upgrade it. The other comment that I have is about the very plain and plastic looking assembly around the belt. I've seen some chrome accessories that will spice this up a little bit but I think the stock parts detract from an otherwise very sharp looking bike. One thing that I noticed in other reviews and would definitely agree with is that the floorboards drag while cornering. You don't have to lean it too much to get enough contact to drag on the road. All in all though for the price it is an exceptional ride. I shopped around a lot and it definitely stands out from the pack!
- tjm80218, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-21 2009 Yamaha V Star 950 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike sits nice and low easy handling and like the toe/heel shifter, keeps up no problem with the v-star 1100.
- dan, fergus

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: