Yamaha V Star Classic Motorcycles Reviews (305)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-14 2009 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this V Star on Friday, March 30, 2012. I was looking at a new C50T but the cost was a little high. This bike only had 1,300 miles and the waranty extended until August 2014. I bought the bike without my temps. The service manager drove it home for me and I started it up everyday until I got my temps. I've been riding in my neighborhood everyday. I'm going to take the state motorcycle training course soon. Us older guys need to be careful. Can't wait to get on the open road.
- Firefighter Neal, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-02 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding on two wheels and a trike, it's time to down size to a 650 Yamaha. It's a nice bike. It's not at all heavy. Keep on riding.
- Bill, Wallingford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-11 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second V-Star 650 so you know where this review is headed. It is not a stoplight rocket, it will not go coast to coast at 80 mph. in supreme comfort and silence and no, it was not designed to lay nearly flat in the curves. This is my ninth motorcycle in nearly 40 years of riding and overall it is the best bike I've owned. While HP is modest, some throttle roll will leave most cars in your rear view mirror but again - it wasn't designed to smoke the rear tire. Torque is plenty available wherever you are in the gear range - just twist and go. Remember - it is a mid-size cruiser despite it's big boy looks. Handling is near perfect for me. It's plenty easy in parking lot speed turns but also straight as an arrow at 60+ mph. and in between, just enough lean available in the curves to make you smile. The transmission shifts effortlessly and yes, the clutch doesn't engage until the last bit of lever travel - by design I suppose. You just get used to it. Yes, Yamaha could have added a 6th gear as the engine sounds busy at 60+ mph. - don't be fooled - the bike will run the legal limit and more all day long with no complaints and no issues - you'll just feel/hear it more than on a large displacement bike. For my riding which is mostly back roads at 60 mph. and under - it is terrific! What can I say? Great fit and finish, plenty of chromed goodies available, low seat height, great handling, fairly decent comfort for a stock seat and enough power to please most. I bought both of mine used (the first one had 20,000 miles and ran perfectly, my 2005 has only 6,000 miles and of course runs like new). Go sit on one, go ride one. Perhaps the best mid-sized cruiser on the market.
- Mike, Palm Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-18 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is heavy enough to cruise well on the open road yet, light enough to handle extremely well. I wished it had a 6th gear. The seats were a little hard, but I love my bike. After adding a set of Vance Hines pipes, and a Mustang seat with the driver backrest (which was worth the $$$) riding now is more enjoyable than ever.
- Rod, Summertown, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-19 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2006 V Star 650 Classic in September 2009. It's a perfect fit for my size, like others have commented...not too big, not too small. Corners great, suspension is very forgiving of the bad Dallas roads (potholes galore and I haven't bottomed out yet), and the weight is perfect. Every chance I get to take a twisty road I take it, it's a blast on this bike! Only 2 complaints: 1) exhaust was too quiet 2)clutch lever/friction zone way out there at the end of lever travel. Both were easily fixed. that's one thing I love about this bike is there are more and more aftermarket components being released. Overall, I am very satisfied. A lot of people often mistake it for an HD Fatboy (I removed all badging for a cleaner look). I'm quick to correct them and they usually respond....a Yamaha? Really? :)
- John, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-14 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a newbie, I wanted to make sure that I had a bike that would be easy to learn a manual shift and balance on. This motorcycle is very comfortable and is very forgiving when I dump it.
- Heidi Arvin, Powell, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-21 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my bike all over the Northern Ohio area and around Western PA. I ride it to work almost every day spring thru fall. The only upgrade I would suggest the factory do, is to put a 6th gear in it so I don't overrev at 75 and 80 mph. If you ride long distances, you'll want a better seat and a sixth gear.
- RICH, North Olmsted, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-22 2009 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2003 Classic in April '09 and ride as much as I can. This is a great bike for a new rider and especially for a woman. At first it seemed big, but after taking the riding course and using the tiny 250's, this one is just right. I only gave it a 3 on performance because sometimes it doesn't seem to have a lot of power especially when passing other vehicles (maybe it's because I was going uphill :) ). Very happy with the bike and with 50mpg it's great for commuting. FYI - for anyone having trouble with the 'friction zone' there is a spring you can get which I highly recommend...it helped tremendously...
- Yama Momma, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-09 2009 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I thought after buying 2 bikes and not really getting into it that I might not ride again. I decided to give it one more shot after looking into the new 2009 V Star Classic... I bought it a few weeks ago and can't seem to stay off it. This bike is so easy to handle. I ride with all of my biker friends (anything from Honda to Harleys) who all have 1300's or 1450's. This bike keeps up with all of them. Perfect for a lady rider who has short legs. I've never felt more comfortable on a bike (and I've test ridden 20+ models).
- Reborn Rider, Barnstead, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-02 2009 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike at the beginning of the month without a license and it sat in my garage for 3 weeks. I took the riding course (and passed) and I haven't stopped riding it since. For someone that hasn't ridden in several years, this bike is perfect, not too big, not too small. I can keep up with traffic without feeling like I am going to get run over. It's nimble and quick enough for me. Can't wait to really hit the road this summer.
- Shawn, Chantilly, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-27 2009 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 2003 V-Star, in Auburn, back in 2003. I have ridden over 27000 miles without a single problem. We, a few over the hill guys, 70+ plus years, take a ride every year to where ever. Last year we wound up in Idaho. Two of us ride the V-Star two ride Harleys. We had a ball. Still doing it at 70 years old is a gift, but we don't plan on stopping. Next week we head to the Grand Canyon...
- Dave, Lake Tahoe, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-28 2008 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is gorgeous. It is more than affordable. It rides like a big bike in a lightweight package, at only 550 pounds. I can't wait for summer - I have enough confidence in this bike to take it on trips.
- Jim, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-30 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 V-Star 650 Classic in April of this year as my second bike. I've consistently put over 1000 miles a month of this bike without a single problem. Maintenance is pretty easy, and just recently I upgraded from the stock exhaust and air filter to some aftermarket parts and it definitely made a difference in the power; not that it was lacking to begin with. In short, I can't see why anyone would need a bigger bike, when I can cruise highway at 75-85 MPH all day without a problem. What more do you need?
- Adam, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2008 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I run my 650 V-Star Yamaha Classic at expressway speeds which is 70-75 mph. I just returned from Decatur Alabama on it. It took me 15 hours straight through each way! The mileage was 42-44mpg. My bike is black with 28000 miles on it. One problem I had was my left mirror occasionally loosens up. This is a strong machine. Most people think this is an 1100. It is comfortable. It does not vibrate, as many will say and it instills confidence. My recommendation would be to buy one! You will love it! And after 28000 hard miles, you can take my word for it!
- Copperminer, Northwoods, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-07 2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up with Harleys. Everyone in family rode a Harley. Unfortunately I couldn't afford a Harley so I started looking around and got the V-Star 650 this past September and fell in love. It is my first bike and it does everything I want it to. It handles well, is lightweight and easy to move around in. It is a great bike and I would recommend it to anyone.
- Juan Plakio, Seaside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-30 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike I've owned, and after riding Harleys that friends and family have, I've got to say this is one of the most comfortable bikes to cruise on. It could use something more on the highway, but overall for everyday use, it can't be beat. I've put over 4,000 miles on it last summer, and have had it out a few times during some warmer winter days. It has great styling, great value, great comfort and is a GREAT BIKE.
- TMAC, Galesburg, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-12 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking for an inexpensive, yet dependable cruiser, this is it. It is a good bike. I ride it daily on the highway and routinely cruise at 70 mph. It carries my 300 pound frame just fine. This bike will top out at about 90 mph, but it's not intended to be a sport bike. It will get you where you want to go, it looks good and is a comfortable ride.
- Keith, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a wonderful bike. I got my V Star 650 a month ago and love it already (previously was riding a GZ-250). I do not have any problems with the seat. I ride 50 miles a day to and from work at 65-70mph and my butt is just fine. Do have to say it does take a bit to heat up in morning but after that - hold on! I have turned a lot of heads with this bike (they all think it is an 1100). I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a good commuting bike. The bike/engine does sound a little loud on the highway at 70+ but it does just fine (I have never felt at risk from being underpowered). I am going to add a little chrome but the pipes and seat are just fine. There are enough overbearingly loud bikes out there.
- David Spangler, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V Star 650 at the beginning of '07. I love the look; the paint is great - black with ghost flames. I haven't rode in years, but this bike is great to get that feeling back. It's easy to control and the ride is comfortable for the most part. A gas gauge would have been nice, but I have gotten used to not having one. A sixth gear would be great, but it is what it is - a speed limit bike. I ride 75 mph with no problems. I love my bike and get compliments all the time. People even think it is an 1100 - that's my little secret. Overall, it is a great bike. I plan on keeping and customizing it.
- David, Camdenton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-16 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just purchased my first bike and it is a 2007 VStar 650. I love the bike. It is comfortable and has plenty of power. I just wish it had a 6th gear. You crap in 5th gear at 40 and by 75 the bike is screaming for another gear. I have just ordered new exhaust to give it a deep rumble like a Harley and ordered passing lights and a jet pack. I will give more info after the upgrades are installed.
- Adam, Honey Brook, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-02 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I say great little bike, because it leaves me wanting a little more (power, perhaps another gear). It's a bit hard to keep up with the big boys, but I guess I'll get a big boy bike next. Great first bike, great comfort, can't wait to give it to my wife, and step up to the Warrior.
- Will, Houma, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish I would have bought one of these bikes a long time ago. It rides smooth and the balance is great (compared to my old 250). This is just a wonderful bike whether you're a beginner or intermediate, etc. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone.
- Michelle Murphy, St Michael, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-27 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. LOVE it. So much so, my wife is jealous. I agree with the one person who said that the seat is not meant for long rides. Very true. I can go about 30 - 40 miles before I have to get off and massage my butt. That can be embarassing when you're on a busy street. I also agree that it could use another gear on the top end. My only complaint is that it is a little under-powered and light for Interstate highway travel. I'm looking at the Roadliner but I will definitely keep this one.
- Grant, Prairie Village, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike (up grade from a 250cc). It has the power one needs when out on the interstate. Most people think it's an 1100 or a Silverado. If and when I upgrade to a larger bike, this one I will keep. I LOVE THIS BIKE!
- WAYNE, ABERDEEN , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-19 2007 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For my first bike, I love it. I loved the feel of it as soon as I sat on it. I would recommend this bike to any first time owners.
- ROb Nordenstrom, New Caney, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: